This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr Paul from Doha

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

3

Excursions taken

0

My June 2022 trip

Zambia between 3 Jun 2022 and 14 Jun 2022

Trip rating: Excellent
"The overall trip was amazing. Two different locations Lower Zambezi and Luangwa. Three camps each one different.

Old Mondoro small intimate bush camp. Puku ridge luxurious and Chiawa some where in between. Interesting the habitat from Old Mondoro and Chiawa is quite different even though only 40 kms down/ upstream.

Seeing both Leopards and Wild dogs make a kill was very special and a rare event on safari.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

Cannot think of anything !"

Arranged By Claire Scott


Chiawa Camp

Chiawa Camp

"Chiawa Camp June 2022"

4 nights Arrived 3 Jun 2022
"Arrived at camp via the Zambezi just in time for lunch. Welcomed by Simon the GM.Great location I was in room 5. Fab views.

Nobby was our guide for most of the 4 days. Moses for other trips. Spotted two male lions on our first drive. Night drives following sundowners are great at this camp. Spotted African civet twice and a Porcupine once and spotted genets many times. Leopards were also spotted several times including one chasing and capturing a baboon up a tree. One of the highlights of the stay was canoeing down the channel off the main river one afternoon. Herds of elephants coming down to the water to drink, fantastic !

Managed a bush walk one morning down to the Zambezi.

Lovely camp thanks to Simon, Nobby, Tarsi , Chris and all the team for a wonderful stay."
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Old Mondoro Bushcamp

Old Mondoro Bushcamp

"Old Mondoro Bushcamp review June 2022"

3 nights Arrived 7 Jun 2022
"Arrived at Old Mondoro after a game drive from Chiawa camp. Just before arrival in camp viewed a pride of lions females and cubs. Juliet camp manager greeted us with a warm welcome. Marshall was an excellent guide.

The camp is quite small and intimate with the tents spread out along the main river and a channel. There is a real inclusive atmosphere about this camp with all guests sharing the camp fire and a communal dining table. I was room 3 facing the channel where you could see some excellent bird life and hear the morning call of the hippos.

Great twilight time viewing of a female leopard and cubs. the large pack of wild dogs 24 in total were back in the area after several weeks away. Watched the dogs as they stalked, chased and finally caught a warthog. Gruesome stuff! Earlier we watched the dogs finishing off an Impala and a Baboon. Lots go Ellie herds around camp.

Thank you for aa wonderful stay Juliette , Marshall and the team."
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Puku Ridge

Puku Ridge

"Puku Ridge review June 2022"

3 nights Arrived 10 Jun 2022
"Arrived a Puku ridge from Jeki airstrip via Lusaka into Mafue. I was met at the airport by Andrew my guide for the next 3 days. One hour drive to camp with singing from the staff by Grant and Amilee the camp managers. I stayed in room 5 next to the main camp area. Rooms here are fabulous with great views over the plains and waterhole from the deck which has a plunge pool.

The food was excellent. One day on a morning drive we turned a corner on the track and found a dining table had been set up in the bush by Grant and his team and were welcomed to a stir fry cooked on gas. That was a nice touch. Andrew my guide was so enthusiastic and knowledgeable and a keen photographer so would give me tips. We managed a full day game drive to the north where we managed to watch two separate lion prides.

We managed to watch Wild dogs hunting again and they caught an Puku. It could not be viewed as in thicket.

Special thanks to Grant, Amilee, Andrew, Mabel trainee guide, Moses and Masaki."
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team