This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Old Mondoro Bushcamp
Old Mondoro Bushcamp
Old Mondoro Bushcamp
Old Mondoro Bushcamp
Old Mondoro Bushcamp
Old Mondoro Bushcamp

Reviews of Old Mondoro Bushcamp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

103 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Old Mondoro Bushcamp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jun-2018, 19 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Old Mondoro Bushcamp.
Lion

89% success

Leopard

100% success

Cheetah

0% success

Wild dog

13% success

Buffalo

100% success

Elephant

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Spotted Hyena

78% success

Aardvark

38% success

Eland

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Sable antelope

0% success

Showing 11-20 of 103
Duration
Arrival date
Mr M
Colorado

"Old Mondoro Awesome Again"

3 nights Arrived 4 Jun 2019
"Awesome stay, great time with guide Seb and fishing guide Johan.

New managers were good." See all these reviews: 16n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Leopard

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr S
West Yorkshire

"Old Mondoro Bushcamp review"

3 nights Arrived 6 May 2019
"The Old Mondoro must be regarded as different from its sister camp at Chiawa. Facilities are more basic (perhaps more authentic of old style bush camps) and open to the animals.

The canoe trip was both exciting and provided close encounters with many animals and great bird viewing. The local area was very dry with less vegetation than normal at this time of year following a poor rainy season so we saw substantially more game than anticipated. As always we particularly enjoyed the walking trip.

My companion has vegan food and, having given prior notice, was well catered for." See all these reviews: 9n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Leopard

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr & Mrs W
Middlesex

"Great safari lodge"

3 nights Arrived 24 Oct 2018
"This is a well run lodge, lovely views from the rooms,bar etc, and even the communal loo.

Fantastic food, friendly and informative staff and nothing is too much trouble for Michelle the owner to make your stay enjoyable.

Safari drives through pretty scenery with great sightings of wildlife including aardvarks which we had never seen before." See all these reviews: 12n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Aardvark

2 sightings

Buffalo

6 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

6 sightings

Lion

4 sightings

Spotted Hyena

4 sightings

Zebra

3 sightings

Mrs K
Netherlands

"Absolute favourite."

4 nights Arrived 19 Oct 2018
"This bushcamp, with only 4 chalets, is my favourite of this trip.

Chalet 1 and 2 overlooking the river. Chalet 3 and 4 overlooking a lagoon were animals come to drink and bathe. I stayed in chalet 3 (the best) and when I arrived elephants were blocking my door! What a welcome.

The guides are extremely good and they create a warm and relaxed atmosphere, that makes the gamedrives a real pleasure!!

There is plenty of game. I have had great wild moments in a beautiful environment. Also the food was very good." See all these reviews: 12n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

10 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Leopard

4 sightings

Lion

7 sightings

Zebra

7 sightings

Mr A Freeman
UK

"A smaller , more " bush" version of Chiawa"

3 nights Arrived 22 Sep 2018
"All my comments re Chiawa apply to Old Mondoro.
OM is smaller and complements Chiawa as a perfect two camp experience.
Moving from one camp to the other takes about 1 hour along the Zambezi must be one of the best " hotel transfers" in the world." See all these reviews: 10n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr +Mrs K
South Brent

"Outstanding service, location and wildlife"

4 nights Arrived 11 Sep 2018
"On arrival, we found out that we should have been informed that our 4 days would be 2 days each in 2 different chalets. We had not been informed, so told Michele this was not acceptable to us. The matter was rapidly resolved and we were allocated an excellent chalet for all 4 days. This beginning was a perfect illustration of the fantastic service and care for residents at this camp. Any suggestions or requests were immediately attended to with consideration, sensitivity and a smile. There is a great sense of teamwork here, with no evidence of the hierarchy of staff present in some camps.

Particular mention goes to our game drive guide, Sebastian, river cruise guide, Trafford, trainee guide Samora, waiters Joel and Prosper, chefs Robert and Chris, who all helped to make this a very special stay. Managers, Michele and Reon, went way beyond any call of duty in chasing the camera phone lost in the bowels of Profilght. Even with their efforts, the phone did not arrive until just before we left, so they lent us a quality camera so we could take photos.

Our room was looking over the Zambezi with a lovely shaded veranda frequented by elephants all day. The Sitenje has views over the river and over the bush, so wherever you sit there is wildlife to see. The game drives and river cruises are varied so we were able to see plenty of different land and water based wildlife at all times. We came across 3 male lions with a buffalo kill, then the following day with a Kudu kill. They then joined with 3 females, one pregnant. We saw plenty of leopards including 2 young ones racing up and down a tree in play.

Robert and Chris provide outstanding food from their kitchen and were happy to show us their facilities. The food was varied, meat deliciously tender and cakes and desserts so delightful we ate far too much.

Overall, this was the best camp we have stayed in - a big thank you to the great team who work there." See all these reviews: 11n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Buffalo

10 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

5 sightings

Lion

6 sightings

Spotted Hyena

3 sightings

Zebra

5 sightings

C Plowdog
Sydney

"Old Mondoro Bushcamp review"

3 nights Arrived 5 Sep 2018
"Old Mondoro was well located especially for the elephants. The chalets are high quality.

The staff were very friendly and the the food was really nice. Our guides there (Sebastian and Marshal) were knowledgeable friendly and committed to us having a good time. This camp unlike the others had the guides sharing the guests. It worked out well as both guides were excellent but overall our preference is one guide for a visit.

We saw some excellent bird life and again the night drives were a highlight (including the Great Eagle Owl). It was pretty good to see a leopard on our initial drive into the camp from the airport.

Old Mondoro is a pretty flash camp." See all these reviews: 16n in Zambia; 5n in Rwanda
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Sightings Report

Buffalo

4 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

4 sightings

Lion

5 sightings

Zebra

4 sightings

Mr & Mrs G
Dartmouth

"Old Mondoro Bushcamp review"

2 nights Arrived 31 Aug 2018
"Almost like a traditional bush camp but with comfort.

Very few visitors from other camps seen on drives.

Our first experience with a walking safari." See all these reviews: 10n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

10 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

2 sightings

Spotted Hyena

5 sightings

Zebra

3 sightings

Ms D
Ireland

"Excellent stay at Old Mondoro Bushcamp"

2 nights Arrived 28 Aug 2018
"Absolutely loved this small camp (with 4 perfectly appointed tents ) and a fantastic welcoming team. Juliet, the guides and all the staff make you feel "at home" straight away. I was guided by James who never failed to be humorous.. The sightings were exceptional (on 2 game drives we saw 6 leopards and 2 aardvarks). Also had an informative bush walk in the morning, and on the next game drive, we saw lions chasing a leopard. I will definitely return and make sure to book early as I understand availability is already limited" See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia; 7n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Aardvark

2 sightings

Buffalo

10 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

7 sightings

Lion

7 sightings

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Zebra

4 sightings

Mrs B
Oxfordhire

"A true bush camp"

3 nights Arrived 21 Aug 2018
"The high light of our visit. Every bit of our stay at Old Mondoro was excellent. Again the food was wonderful,
the organisation was slick, but not intrusive. Fantastic guiding, informative and at no time did you feel you
were being given a lecture.

The safety aspect was good, but not over the top.

This camp is for visitors who want to enjoy "real Zambia", not to be wrapped in glossy packaging.

I certainly intend to return!" See all these reviews: 7n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 11-20 of 103
99%
103 reviews of Old Mondoro Bushcamp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
99
3
1
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zambia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zambia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Lower Zambezi National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Chongwe River Camp

Chongwe River Camp

A blend of the stylish and traditional in a most picturesque site in the Zambezi Valley, Chongwe River Camp offers an excellent safari experience and real value for money.


96% (117 reviews)
Chiawa Camp

Chiawa Camp

One of Zambia's top safari camps, Chiawa is family owned and run, offering superb service and a flexible approach from a location well inside the Lower Zambezi National Park.


98% (75 reviews)
Sausage Tree Camp

Sausage Tree Camp

Sausage Tree is a high-quality safari camp of unique design offering excellent personal service deep inside Zambia's Lower Zambezi National Park.


97% (37 reviews)
Potato Bush Camp

Potato Bush Camp

Potato Bush is located right in the heart of the Lower Zambezi National Park, with privately guided activities taking you on game drives, walks, boat trips and canoeing.


98% (12 reviews)
Amanzi

Amanzi

Opened in 2015, Amanzi is an intimate and rustic yet luxury camp in a very quiet area of the Lower Zambezi, with plenty of wildlife and good birding.


96% (10 reviews)
Chongwe River House

Chongwe River House

Chongwe River House is a stylish four-bedroom house designed for the exclusive use of families and small groups, affording the ultimate in flexibility on safari.


100% (8 reviews)
Anabezi Luxury Tented Camp

Anabezi Luxury Camp

Anabezi Luxury Tented Camp offers a high degree of understated luxury in a very lovely, quiet part of the Lower Zambezi with outstanding wildlife.


100% (8 reviews)
Kasaka River Lodge

Kasaka River Lodge

Kasaka River Lodge is a relatively simple, family-friendly camp. It's outside the Lower Zambezi National Park and, with a recent change of ownership for the better, it offers a great-value safari destination.


93% (6 reviews)
Kutali Camp

Kutali Camp

Kutali Fly-Camp offers the opportunity to experience the wilderness of Zambia’s Lower Zambezi National Park, in this simple fly-camp located on Kulefu Island.


100% (3 reviews)
Chula Island Camp

Chula Island Camp

Chula Island Camp offers the opportunity to experience the wilderness of Zambia’s Lower Zambezi National Park, in this simple fly-camp located in a natal mahogany grove on a small island on the Zambezi River.


No reviews yet
Tafara Springs Bushcamp

Tafara Springs

Tarafa Springs offers the opportunity to experience the wilderness of the Lower Zambezi National Park, in this rustic bushcamp located next to the main Zambezi escarpment.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa