This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr & Mrs H from Lisvane

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

5

Countries visited

5

Lodges stayed in

27

Excursions taken

0

Our October 2019 trip

Kenya between 17 Oct 2019 and 27 Oct 2019

Trip rating: Good
"We have been travelling to Africa for over 12 years and this was our first trip to Kenya. Our overall experience was good with certain aspects being very good.

The majority of our fellow travellers were safari first timers and combining there holiday with a beach experience either on the coast or the island of Lamu. One of the attractions of a safari experience is meeting people from different parts of the world and sharing experiences and we were not disappointed on this trip."

Arranged By Claire Scott


Four Points by Sheraton

Four Points by Sheraton

"A very convenient hotel, close to the airport"

1 night Arrived 17 Oct 2019
"We arrived late and left very early so we did cannot comment on the food.

We were also picked up promptly at the terminal by the hotel."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Elsa's Kopje

Elsa's Kopje

"Stylish with substance. "

3 nights Arrived 18 Oct 2019
"Elsas Kopje is set in a great location and both the relief manager and staff were welcoming and attentive.

Meru had experienced heavy rain for two weeks prior to our arrival so the game had dispersed deep into the bush. When you did see game on a drive the animals were very skittish. This is largely explained by the fact that Meru NP has a history of poaching which is still current though we were told the level of poaching is lower than previously experienced. We also found some of the game drives quite frenetic in the search for elusive game!

The relief manager had an excellent knowledge of both wildlife and birds and also the structure of the national parks and reserves in Kenya.
In summary, Meru is an interesting and attractive NP to visit but you have to be prepared for limited game sighting. That said on two separate occasions we had very good sightings of both white and black Rhino."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Average
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Elephant Pepper Camp

Elephant Pepper Camp

"Great camp and a very enjoyable experience"

3 nights Arrived 21 Oct 2019
"This camp is small which is a good thing and the hosts and staff offered excellent service and flexibility.

Our guide was very knowledgeable, very attentive with a good sense of humour. We also had the added benefit of learning a lot about the Masai culture and traditions.

We were also very fortunate to have excellent sightings of Cheetah with 6 cubs, Lions with cubs and Hyena with cubs on two separate sightings.

We were also able to experience all the wildlife at a very relaxed pace and take time to observe animal behaviour."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Tortilis Camp

Tortilis Camp

"Style without substance!"

3 nights Arrived 24 Oct 2019
"This camp bears all the hallmarks of an establishment that treats guests as clients which could not be said of the other two camps in Meru and Masai Mara.

The hosts based on our experience do not engage with the guests other that on a superficial level. On our last night when we were enjoying supper we were abruptly informed to clear our room by 10:00 am and comeback early from our last game drive. We were told this is camp policy. It is also camp policy to restrict sundowners until the last night!!

On a positive note our guide was very good and we had some excellent opportunities bird watching. In addition the Elephant interactions and sightings were excellent and the best we have ever experienced in 12 years of travelling to Africa."
Average
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Average

My May 2016 trip

South Africa between 11 May 2016 and 27 May 2016

Trip rating: Excellent
"This is a third trip to the Kgalagadi and by far our best trip. The night before our arrival was preceded by a thunderstorm and torrential rain while resulted in a wonderful array.of desert blooms for the first 8/10 days. We were also fortunate to have several Leopard and Cheetah sightings and Lions every day!

Giraffes were very numerous as were the opportunities for bird watching.

Assuming we return May is a great month to visit the park and the Wilderness camps remain very good value and provide a great experience."

Arranged By Tracy Lederer


Le Must River Residence

Le Must River Residence

"Le Must River Residence review"

1 night Arrived 12 May 2016
"We have stayed at Le Must on prior trips and it remains a great choice for a overnight stop over."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Kielie Krankie Wilderness Camp

Kielie Krankie Wilderness Camp

"Kielie Krankie Wilderness Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 13 May 2016
"We stayed for 4 nights and this camp remains one of our favourite camps. Great location ."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Grootkolk Wilderness Camp

Grootkolk Wilderness Camp

"Grootkolk Wilderness Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 17 May 2016
"We enjoyed our stay and this area is not rich in game but that said we had a very enjoyable lion sighting !"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Bitterpan Wilderness Camp

Bitterpan Wilderness Camp

"Bitterpan Wilderness Camp review"

1 night Arrived 19 May 2016
"A good camp for one night and the road into the camp is very enjoyable as is the road to Mata Mata.

We were also fortunate to have a sighting on the salt pan of two male lions prior to sunset."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Good
Rooms
Average
Kalahari Tented Camp

Kalahari Tented Camp

"Kalahari Tented Camp review"

5 nights Arrived 20 May 2016
"We have stayed at the camp on prior trips and it remains a favourite. Many sleepless nights courtesy of two resident male lions!

Also have some amazing leopard sighings and also cheetah."
Excellent
Le Must River Residence

Le Must River Residence

"Le Must River Residence review"

1 night Arrived 25 May 2016
"See previous comments [Ed: see below]"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Rooms
Excellent

Aug/Sept 2014 - Kgalagadi & Fish Canyon

South Africa and 1 other country between 21 Aug 2014 and 10 Sep 2014

Trip rating: Excellent
"When we booked the trip we had already made our own arrangements for international flights and for 6 nights in three wilderness camps ( Kieliekrankie; Kalahari Tented; Bitterpan) in the Kgalagadi NP. All of the camps offer a great experience but on reflection one night at Bitterpan would be sufficient. Also worth noting that the drive to the camp has one or two dune challenges!

This was our second visit to the park and we thoroughly enjoyed our 12 nights with some great game viewing interspersed with some very quite days!
If in the region the Fish Canyon is well worth a visit for 2/3 nights. We were also very fortunate to arrive back in Springbok to witness the flowers which again was highly enjoyable.

Overall a great experience."

Arranged By Tracy Lederer


Le Must River Residence

Le Must River Residence

"Le Must River Residence review"

1 night Arrived 21 Aug 2014
"Great value for money and very friendly staff. They also offer the option of an evening supper service.

Good simple food well prepared and reasonably priced."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Ta Shebube Polentswa

Ta Shebube Polentswa

"Ta Shebube Polentswa review"

3 nights Arrived 28 Aug 2014
"After 6 nights in various Wilderness camps we enjoyed our 3 nights of luxury and very good service. We were the only guests and all the staff were very welcoming and friendly without being overwhelming.

We did not book any activities but the guide (KT) offered to accompany us on a morning drive which was very enjoyable and also an opportunity to listen to some great stories! We also observed some hyena cubs and witnessed the return to the den of the adults which all made for a great morning drive. On our last full day 3 young Lions passed through the camp and we were very fortunate to follow them on a 4x4 track for a few miles.

Worth noting that the bird hide is still under construction and we visited the weather was very cold and the resultant outdoor shower invigorating! It might also be helpful to put a sign at the start of the 4x4 track indicating the direction of the camp. That said there are not to many other options!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Gharagab Wilderness Camp

Gharagab Wilderness Camp

"Gharagab Wilderness Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 31 Aug 2014
"we stayed for 2 nights and opted to have a lazy day in camp rather than do a long circular drive. The camp has a observation tower and a watering hole.

The topography in this section of the park is attractive and in itself makes the visit worthwhile."
Good
Location
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Mata Mata Rest Camp

Mata Mata Rest Camp

"Mata Mata Rest Camp review"

1 night Arrived 2 Sep 2014
"The camp is ok for one night and for us was a stop over on route to Namibia.

The riverside lodges are a better option for anyone choosing to make Mata Mata a base for a few nights."
Average
Location
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Average
Central Lodge

Central Lodge

"Central Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 3 Sep 2014
"This lodge requires a make over but we suspect offers the best option for a one night stop over."
Average
Location
Good
Service
Average
Facilities
Average
Rooms
Average
Food
Average
Canyon Lodge

Canyon Lodge

"Canyon Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 4 Sep 2014
"A very good base to explore the canyon and also to relax and enjoy the sunshine and pool.

The service overall was good and the buffet supper offering was adequate."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Annie's Cottage

Annie's Cottage

"Annie's Cottage review"

2 nights Arrived 7 Sep 2014
"We stayed for two nights and Annie's cottage offers a good option as a base to explore the area and enjoy the flowers!"
Good
Location
Good
Food
Good
Rooms
Good
Facilities
Good
Le Must River Residence

Le Must River Residence

"Le Must River Residence review"

1 night Arrived 9 Sep 2014
"See Prior comments [ Ed: see below. ]"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good

Highly Enjoyable

Zambia between 29 Sep 2013 and 14 Oct 2013

Trip rating: Excellent
"Zambia is a great country to visit and offers a very diverse and great safari experience. The Luangwa valley is a superb park but beware Tsetse flies! We last visited the Lower Zambezi in 2007 and stayed outside the park and did not enjoy the experience so it was great to return and stay at two great camps inside the park.

Old Mondora, Nsefu amd Tafika are all great places to visit."

Arranged By Claire Scott


Tena Tena

Tena Tena

"A great start to our safari"

3 nights Arrived 30 Sep 2013
"Overall our experience of Tena Tena was very good. We were very fortunate that a local Lion pride had killed a hippo which effectively meant that for the next few days we could experience observing lions, vultures and finally hyenas feeding on the carcass.

The camp sits in a great location and it was an added bonus that prior to the rains it was very easy to cross the Luangwa river."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Nsefu

Nsefu

"Superb location"

2 nights Arrived 3 Oct 2013
"If we return to Zambia we would revisit Nsefu which provided us with an overall great experience. The location is stunning and we suspect it would be a great camp to visit in early season. Similarly, to Tena Tena we were very fortunate in observing numerous Lions & leopards besides Elephant and numerous birds.

Our only slightly negative comment is the feeling that on some drives we did too much driving and were taken to the salt pans without any prior discussion on options for the drive. Our preference, if asked would have been to spend more time in the local Nsefu area. That said on our morning transfer drive we took time over tracking "signs of the wild" which was great."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Tafika

Tafika

"Great family, private camp."

4 nights Arrived 5 Oct 2013
"We last visited Tafika in 2007 and have also visited the three walking camps. Pleased to say the standards are still very high, particularly the catering which is second to none!

It was great to see wild dogs on three occasions and spend time observing behaviour amongst the pack.

since our last visit a number of guides have moved on or been re-assigned to the walking camps and it was good to see new faces and share their perspectives on flora and fauna although we missed the experience of the other guides."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Chiawa Camp

Chiawa Camp

"Chiawa offers luxury in the bush!"

3 nights Arrived 9 Oct 2013
"Chiawa occupies a great location and overall the standards are very high. It is luxurious and is a great place to stay for two or three nights and the guiding is to a very good standard.

A great aspect of the Lower Zambezi is the opportunity to spend time on the river and adopt a leisurely pace to observing the birds and animals. The canoe trip is a wonderful experience.

Not something to dwell on but the camp sometimes felt "over managed" meaning that it was not always clear what roles the management were trying to fulfil!"
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Old Mondoro Bushcamp

Old Mondoro Bushcamp

"A great camp"

2 nights Arrived 12 Oct 2013
"Our only disappointment was we only stayed two nights! If we return to Zambia we will definitely revisit this camp. Compared to Chiawa this is a relatively simple bush camp but for us a great experience with high standards.
Similar to Chiawa the canoe trip is a fantastic experience and not to be missed!

The other great advantage of Old Mondora is that you are able to experience a more open landscape which some stunning woodlands.

We were also fortunate to see three leopards in the late afternoon (two in one tree and one scavenging below ) with a kill prior to sunset.

Also experienced one of our best moments when during our last dinner elephants crossed the river in front of us and glided silently on by as we dined, perfect !"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

More than met expectation!

Tanzania between 13 Oct 2012 and 26 Oct 2012

Trip rating: Excellent
"Would happily revisit at some point in the future."

Arranged By Elizabeth Chapman


Selous Impala Camp

Selous Impala Camp

"Great Location & Expert Guiding"

3 nights Arrived 14 Oct 2012
"Enjoyed having our own vehicle and same guide and driver for the three nights.

Management and staff both friendly and attentive. Should make a feature of Andreas' passion and knowledge of astronomy as we only found out on the last night and wished we had found out earlier.

The one let down was when food arrived at the table in the evenings it was lukewarm/cold."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Kwihala Camp

Kwihala Camp

"Camping in style!"

3 nights Arrived 17 Oct 2012
"Expert guiding which was tailored to suit our interest.

During our welcome upon arrival the camp options were discussed which we found a little confusing and disliked the push towards night drives and guided walks which were at an extra cost. That said we enjoyed our stay and would return to Kwihala."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Beho Beho

Beho Beho

"Simply the best."

5 nights Arrived 20 Oct 2012
"The best camp we have stayed in Africa.

The attention to detail in making our stay as pleasurable as possible cannot be faulted. We were made to feel part of a family as opposed to paying guests. We will return!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Southern Sun Dar

Southern Sun Dar

"Good for a overnight stop."

1 night Arrived 25 Oct 2012
"Good for a overnight stop prior to flying home"
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team