This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Saruni Samburu
Saruni Samburu
Saruni Samburu
Saruni Samburu
Saruni Samburu
Saruni Samburu
Saruni Samburu

Reviews of Saruni Samburu

Wildlife sightings and reviews

17 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Saruni Samburu and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Nov-2018, 3 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Saruni Samburu.
Lion

50% success

Leopard

50% success

Cheetah

0% success

Wild dog

0% success

Elephant

100% success

Gerenuk

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Oryx

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Spotted Hyena

50% success

Buffalo

33% success

Aardvark

0% success

Eland

0% success

Hippo

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Striped Hyena

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 17
Duration
Arrival date
Traveller
Canada

"Excellent lodge, disappointing food"

3 nights Arrived 24 Nov 2019
"Despite the wet November weather, our stay at Saruni Samburu was really enjoyable.
Everyone talks about the view but believe me, it has to be experienced.
Our villa, (#3) was beautiful and spacious. Service was excellent and we usually dined in our room for a more relaxing experience. Our room attendant, Simon was excellent. However, the food was disappointing. There were no menu options, the Italian-based meals had a consistent sameness, and the chef used a lot of salt on every dish.
The manager Daryll was truly accommodating and he plans further upgrades to the lodge and is dedicated to ongoing maintenance.
Service throughout was friendly and consistently upbeat and attentive. I also had two wonderful deep massages in the wellness centre." See all these reviews: 15n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Poor
Sightings Report

Buffalo

5 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Gerenuk

10 sightings

Leopard

3 sightings

Oryx

1 sighting

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Zebra

10 sightings

Ms S.
Bainbridge Isla

"Stunning property"

2 nights Arrived 24 Oct 2019
"We spent two wonderful nights here. Our villa (#5) had the most spectacular view I have ever seen. The whole property from the rooms to the pools to the campfire were striking. Because it is in its own conservancy, you really felt like you were in the middle of nowhere.

Again, the season was the downside--no animals at the watering hole and therefore no use for the photographic hide, something my husband had really been looking forward to. Lots of animals in the game drive in the reserve though." See all these reviews: 7n in Kenya; 5n in Tanzania; 4n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
H & R
Glasgow

"Luxury in the bush"

3 nights Arrived 20 Oct 2019
"The rooms/ cottages here are something else and the view stupendous. It is spread out across the side of a hill and takes five to ten minutes to walk from the room to the communal area in blazing heat - meaning we were often a bit late for our activities!

As the rains had come to Samburu by the time of our visit, there was no wildlife at the lodge's waterhole, but we saw plenty on our game drive into the main national reserve - elephants, giraffe, zebra, antelopes, fantastic birds and a pride of seven lions. We heard other lions roaring overnight right by the lodge too.

Local Samburu staff were fantastic - special mention to Kennedy's Dawa cocktails and Benson's knowledge of the night sky. Thanks, too, to Darryl, who was holding the fort as manager.

The menu was quite meat-based and featured imported produce eg smoked salmon as well as plenty of fruit and veg." See all these reviews: 10n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Elephant

1 sighting

Gerenuk

2 sightings

Giraffe

2 sightings

Lion

1 sighting

Oryx

1 sighting

Zebra

1 sighting

Mrs L.
Stamford Hill

"Beautiful lodge in a fantastic location"

2 nights Arrived 14 Nov 2018
"Saruni Samburu is situated on the top of a rocky ridge, with the most breathtaking views over the Kalama conservancy. You can enjoy the views from everywhere - one of the infinity pools, the lodge, your bedroom, living room or bathroom! The outdoor showers with a view are simply amazing.

Zoe and Johan are the managers, and do a fantastic job. As soon as you mention their names they appear, and are clearly on top of everything that happens in the lodge to ensure a great experience. All the staff are professional and friendly, special mention must be made of Kennedy in the restaurant who took excellent care of us. Don't miss a scorpion night safari with Johan and his ultra-violet light - it'll encourage you to stop wearing flip flops at night!

I think our stay coincided with a period of drought, so the wildlife in the Kalama reserve itself was fairly sparse - on an evening drive we only saw dik diks and guinea fowl. In the Samburu national park there is much more to see, but that is a fairly bumpy 45 minute drive away. We were only there for a couple of nights, and so there wasn't time to go to the reserve on the last morning, so I would encourage guests who want to see a lot of wildlife to take every opportunity to go to the reserve itself, as the wildlife in the conservancy is much less visible.

Also highly recommended is a visit to the local village (which can be combined with a drive). It was fascinating to learn about the Samburu way of life, see inside a home, and meet some of the villagers." See all these reviews: 6n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Elephant

5 sightings

Gerenuk

4 sightings

Giraffe

5 sightings

Oryx

1 sighting

Zebra

1 sighting

Mr Jeff D
USA

"What a view!!"

4 nights Arrived 2 Feb 2018
"Saruni Samburu is a unique location. And we had the highly desired room 5. Beautiful.

Everything was great except for the hot weather which made our bedroom and bathroom unbearable during the day. Our guides, Jimmy and Lapoyan were excellent.

The service was wonderful. Two beautiful pools, but not enough shade and not enough chairs.

The food was terrific and the spa staff were great - we both had massages and they were fabulous." See all these reviews: 13n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs C
Berwick

"Special sightings and a Samburu wedding"

5 nights Arrived 23 Jan 2018
"The most striking thing about the camp is its position atop a hill, literally driving up a rocky mountainside to its warm welcome and spectacular views.
The villas are spread over a large area and are a good walk from the main dining/bar/meeting area. We had the "signature" villa, number five, which had 180 degree views and is almost the furthest away! The accommodation is very large with a lounge/dining area, bedroom and huge bathroom. The little outside seating area was impressively shaded by a massive boulder. A few maintenance issues let it down, for instance large holes and broken zips in the insect mesh.
The cuisine is Italian inspired served at the communal tables for both lunch and dinner. We found the lunches to be better for us as vegetarians than the dinners. The bush breakfasts were basic.
The camp is in the conservancy and a half hour drive from the national park entrance. The park itself proved to be the busiest of the three areas we visited. We weren't comfortable getting involved in a lion sighting that attracted 10 jeeps and a school bus. Having said that we had some spectacular viewings, including the successful hunting of a young Grant's gazelle by a cheetah with very small cubs,bat-eared foxes mating, and gerenuk browsing on their hind legs.
While wildlife may be a bit more shy and harder to spot in the conservancy, it is certainly worth spending time there. On the last full day of our five-night stay we saw a herd of 15 Grevy's zebra and caught a fleeting glimpse of an aardwolf.
The guides and staff are all traditionally dressed Samburu. Guide Simon and tracker Emanuel were good company with impressive spotting skills. One of the guides was getting married during our visit and we were very privileged to be invited to go along to part of the two-day Samburu celebrations." See all these reviews: 16n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs P
Wiltshire

"Amazing views at Saruni Samburi"

3 nights Arrived 19 Sep 2017
"Precipitous and bumpy drive up to lodge. Long steep walks to some of the rooms. A beautiful suite with 2 terraces, one of which had no barrier at edge of large drop (note for parents)

Cool breezes through the room." See all these reviews: 16n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs BP
Surrey

"A truly special place!"

2 nights Arrived 26 Aug 2017
"I chose Saruni specifically for the location but got so much more. The elevated position gives magnificent vistas extending hundreds of miles across the northern plains. An aspect of northern Kenya that I particularly love.

I was completely blown away by the lodge, the design and size of the rooms left me speechless. The use of local wood and furnishings gave a warmth and luxury to the rooms.

The rooms all built on the hillside with completely open fronts give unfettered views over the open plains. Unforgettable from the outdoor shower! The rooms are spread out so that no room overlooks another. You get the feeling you are the only guests.

There are 2 lovely infinity swimming pools, a welcome extra which again give that amazing feeling of space. Complimentary massages were also a unexpected bonus!

Around the lodge we saw Klipspringer, DikDik Dassies and lots of birdlife.

We were collected from the airstrip by our friendly guide, Sambara. He was an excellent guide with an extensive knowledge of the animals and birds of the Samburu region. He was very proud of his Samburu roots and happy to answer all our questions. Of which there were many!

We had a warm welcome from Zoe and Johan on arrival and they were very attentive throughout our stay. They were there when we went on a game run, there when we returned and present at every meal.

I enjoyed eating at a communal table with the other guests, sharing their experiences. The food was excellent. As a vegetarian there was always a special meal for me. A lot of thought went into the menus both at lunch and dinner.

We specifically chose Saruni for its remote location but it is important to be aware of the distance form Samburu National Park. It takes an hour to get into the park where most of the game drives will take place.

Saruni Samburu is not just a safari lodge, it is a beautiful, peaceful place to spend time just relaxing.

Very difficult to leave!" See all these reviews: 10n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms J
Denmark

"Saruni Samburu review"

4 nights Arrived 16 Oct 2016
"We were given a very nice suite of rooms with spectacular views. which we loved. The guides were excellent & the personnel most kind & helpful. The food, too, was very nice. My travel companion & I celebrated our birthdays while staying at Saruni Samburu & enjoyed a memorable evening "in the bush" with a large bonfire & Maasai damcers,. a buffet dinner, & a birthday cake -- all much appreciated.

We are rather elderly & found the trek to the lodge from our rooms slightly challenging & were very glad to have an escort in the evenings to hang onto. We thought it would have been reassuring to have a walkie talkie provided in one's room should one wish to contact the lodge.

Overall we thoroughly enjoyed our stay." See all these reviews: 10n in Tanzania; 10n in Kenya; 3n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs R
Huntington

"Saruni Samburu review"

3 nights Arrived 6 Sep 2016
"My wife and I loved Saruni Sambura. The facility itself is quite remote (what isn't unusual in Africa) but our experience was outstanding.

Game viewing started from the moment we were picked up from the airstrip. We got so lucky as we approached the river the scene was surreal as we saw large groups of reticulated giraffe (in my wifes opinion and mine of the three type of giraffe these were the most beuutiful and majestic), elephants, gerenuks, lions and more. Not long after our arrival we witnessed a single male lion unsuccessfully try to take down a giraffe. A lasting memory for sure.

Once at camp we fell in love with the setting, rooms and facilities. A great place but above and beyond all else stands out the people and the food. We found the staff at Saruni Sambura to be the friendliest and most engaging in all of Africa. Moses stands out himself for being the most engaging staff member on our entire trip, enthusiasm like his makes your trip truly memorable.

The food was outstanding, creative and inspired rivalling some of the best meals in Europe and America. A great experience." See all these reviews: 12n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 1-10 of 17
94%
17 reviews of Saruni Samburu by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
12
5
0
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Kenya

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Kenya.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Samburu National Reserve

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Elephant Bedroom

Elephant Bedroom

Elephant Bedroom is a smart tented camp in the heart of the Samburu National Reserve, offering a good degree of comfort without divorcing you from the beautiful natural environment.


92% (24 reviews)
Sasaab

Sasaab

Stylish and luxurious Sasaab has nine rooms with stunning views across the Ewaso Nyiro River to the plains beyond.


100% (2 reviews)
Joy's Camp

Joys Camp

Joy's Camp is a remote, luxury bush camp located in Shaba National Reserve in northern Kenya.


100% (1 review)
Larsens Tented Camp

Larsens Tented Camp

Larsen’s Tented Camp is a relaxed and welcoming camp, with 20 sturdy tented rooms, a good pool and a very engaging team of staff.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa