This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Saruni Samburu
Saruni Samburu
Saruni Samburu
Saruni Samburu
Saruni Samburu
Saruni Samburu
Saruni Samburu

Reviews of Saruni Samburu

Wildlife sightings and reviews

23 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Saruni Samburu and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Nov-2018, 9 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Saruni Samburu.
Lion

88% success

Leopard

25% success

Cheetah

56% success

Wild dog

13% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Gerenuk

89% success

Oryx

89% success

Spotted Hyena

29% success

Buffalo

22% success

Hippo

13% success

Eland

11% success

Aardvark

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Striped Hyena

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 23
Duration
Arrival date
Lynda
Nomad

"Saruni Samburu review"

3 nights Arrived 16 Jan 2023
"the lap of luxury with a fabulous view.

Great spa facility.

Fabulous food and activities" See all these reviews: 11n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Sightings Report

Cheetah

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Gerenuk

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

1 sighting

Lion

Multiple sightings

Oryx

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr and Mrs H
Hereford

"Saruni Samburu review"

4 nights Arrived 26 Oct 2022
"Amazing - Saruni really know what they are doing, a thoroughly professional operation with friendly staff and excellent guides.

The setting is stunning, food delicious, we would recommend without hesitation" See all these reviews: 13n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Sightings Report

Cheetah

Multiple sightings

Elephant

5 sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Oryx

Multiple sightings

Wild dog

1 sighting

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mrs K.
Gravesend

"Saruni Samburu review"

4 nights Arrived 8 Oct 2022
"Another wow of a location absolutely stunning ..again lovely welcome from the moment we landed ..our guide Samarru picked us up from the airstrip and took us to the camp although not in the bush ,high in the rocks overlooking the valley.

Once again our guide for our drives was amazing and very knowledgeable about his area always keen to ensure we were having the best time,taught us his tracking skills which was great ,we had the truck to ourselves which made it very private ,he was also made aware of what we wanted to try and see ..which also made our drives very personal .We also liked the fact the conservancy limits the number of vehicles so any sightings are not overcrowded and respectful of the animals

Once again the food and service was top notch ,Simon looked after us very very well bringing dinner to our room and being there in the morning with coffee and biscuits to wake us up ..the accommodation here is breath taking ,the two pools are very welcome at the end of a dusty morning drive" See all these reviews: 11n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

3 sightings

Cheetah

4 sightings

Eland

6 sightings

Elephant

6 sightings

Gerenuk

7 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Lion

6 sightings

Oryx

5 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Uli
Germany

"Gorgeous location with stunning views"

3 nights Arrived 3 Jan 2022
"Saruni Samburu Lodge is located in a private conservancy - so no other vehicles around. Unfortunately because of a drought there was also just little game around. So the game drives had to go to the Samburu National Park - 30-45 minutes away. This was definitely a disadvantage because you had to make this way in and out twice a day if you wanted to observe game (and of course therefore you had to get up more early in the morning!) and on the way was not to much so see (except of some birds and couples of Dik-Diks behind almost every second bush!!). Once you've reached the National Park we had some great sightings with our very good guide Daniel particularly a cheetah with her cubs and a beautiful leopard on ground and tree! Also the landscape around the river is very interesting and offered exciting sightings like river crossing elephant herds.

One reason for us to visit Samburu was the opportunity to observe the typical mammals of the north: Reticulated Giraffe, Oryx, Gerenuk and Grevy Zebra ... and we saw them all and often!

The lodge itself is superb and the location on a hill fantastic! You will not miss anything there: huge rooms all with great views to an endless landscape, friendly staff and tasty food! But the best of all is the pool at the top of the hill with stunning views - really hard to get beaten!!

Despite the long drive to the National Park all in all we would choose this lodge again because of it's fantastic location: alone in a remote area with unique views!" See all these reviews: 16n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Cheetah

1 sighting

Elephant

5 sightings

Gerenuk

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Leopard

2 sightings

Lion

1 sighting

Oryx

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Miss G.
Newark

"Saruni Samburu review"

3 nights Arrived 25 Dec 2021
"We have mixed feelings about Samburu.

The hotel is jaw dropping amazing. The view is spectacular and the rooms are unlike anything we have experienced before. The feeling of the inside being outside is great and we thoroughly enjoyed the outside showers. The room's patio was a great place to sit and enjoy the scenery that stretched for miles.

The rooms were extremely clean, comfortable and luxurious. The communal area was great. The staff were very nice and friendly. Martin who was our waiter for the stay was excellent. He was so friendly and happy to chat about himself and his community. He couldn't do enough for us and was always available, to the extent that he gave us his phone number in case we wanted to text him from the room for anything. We couldn't have been better looked after by him.

The entertainment in the camp was excellent, on Christmas Saruni arranged local village teenagers to put on a dance show and one of the evenings we had a very enjoyable bush dinner.

The downside to Saruni for us was the game drives and the limited amount of time actually in the reserve. The focus here isn't on the drives and you are actively encourages to spend more time in camp. It's a long drive back and forward to the reserve and we found with the drought that there wasn't much to see in the conservancy on the way to and fro.

In comparison we spent 30hrs over 3 days on drives in another camp but only 7 hrs over 3 days in Saruni!

When some of our party booked a special excursion it was assumed the rest of the party would stay in camp and when that wasn't the case it was very difficult for them to accommodate a drive and resulted in only 5 hrs total game drive for the day (3 if you take off the drive to and fro).

When you do get to the reserve the elephants are unreal and its a great experience to spend time sitting amongst them as they go about their day.

In our opinion Saruni is great if you want a little bit of drives and a lot of relaxation and comfort but it isn't the place to be if your main focus is game drives." See all these reviews: 11n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Average
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Cheetah

1 sighting

Elephant

3 sightings

Gerenuk

2 sightings

Giraffe

3 sightings

Lion

2 sightings

Zebra

2 sightings

Ms A.
London

"Saruni Samburu review"

3 nights Arrived 16 Dec 2021
"Wonderful upgrade to two bedroom suite.

Great food, great staff, great massage and the boys loved the pool and the environment.

The first guide was very uninspired and I asked for a change - next morning we had a new guide who was great." See all these reviews: 9n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Elephant

10 sightings

Gerenuk

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Lion

10 sightings

Oryx

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Traveller
Canada

"Excellent lodge, disappointing food"

3 nights Arrived 24 Nov 2019
"Despite the wet November weather, our stay at Saruni Samburu was really enjoyable.
Everyone talks about the view but believe me, it has to be experienced.
Our villa, (#3) was beautiful and spacious. Service was excellent and we usually dined in our room for a more relaxing experience. Our room attendant, Simon was excellent. However, the food was disappointing. There were no menu options, the Italian-based meals had a consistent sameness, and the chef used a lot of salt on every dish.
The manager Daryll was truly accommodating and he plans further upgrades to the lodge and is dedicated to ongoing maintenance.
Service throughout was friendly and consistently upbeat and attentive. I also had two wonderful deep massages in the wellness centre." See all these reviews: 15n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Poor
Sightings Report

Buffalo

5 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Gerenuk

10 sightings

Leopard

3 sightings

Oryx

1 sighting

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Zebra

10 sightings

Ms S.
Bainbridge Isla

"Stunning property"

2 nights Arrived 24 Oct 2019
"We spent two wonderful nights here. Our villa (#5) had the most spectacular view I have ever seen. The whole property from the rooms to the pools to the campfire were striking. Because it is in its own conservancy, you really felt like you were in the middle of nowhere.

Again, the season was the downside--no animals at the watering hole and therefore no use for the photographic hide, something my husband had really been looking forward to. Lots of animals in the game drive in the reserve though." See all these reviews: 7n in Kenya; 5n in Tanzania; 4n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
H & R
Glasgow

"Luxury in the bush"

3 nights Arrived 20 Oct 2019
"The rooms/ cottages here are something else and the view stupendous. It is spread out across the side of a hill and takes five to ten minutes to walk from the room to the communal area in blazing heat - meaning we were often a bit late for our activities!

As the rains had come to Samburu by the time of our visit, there was no wildlife at the lodge's waterhole, but we saw plenty on our game drive into the main national reserve - elephants, giraffe, zebra, antelopes, fantastic birds and a pride of seven lions. We heard other lions roaring overnight right by the lodge too.

Local Samburu staff were fantastic - special mention to Kennedy's Dawa cocktails and Benson's knowledge of the night sky. Thanks, too, to Darryl, who was holding the fort as manager.

The menu was quite meat-based and featured imported produce eg smoked salmon as well as plenty of fruit and veg." See all these reviews: 10n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Elephant

1 sighting

Gerenuk

2 sightings

Giraffe

2 sightings

Lion

1 sighting

Oryx

1 sighting

Zebra

1 sighting

Mrs L.
Stamford Hill

"Beautiful lodge in a fantastic location"

2 nights Arrived 14 Nov 2018
"Saruni Samburu is situated on the top of a rocky ridge, with the most breathtaking views over the Kalama conservancy. You can enjoy the views from everywhere - one of the infinity pools, the lodge, your bedroom, living room or bathroom! The outdoor showers with a view are simply amazing.

Zoe and Johan are the managers, and do a fantastic job. As soon as you mention their names they appear, and are clearly on top of everything that happens in the lodge to ensure a great experience. All the staff are professional and friendly, special mention must be made of Kennedy in the restaurant who took excellent care of us. Don't miss a scorpion night safari with Johan and his ultra-violet light - it'll encourage you to stop wearing flip flops at night!

I think our stay coincided with a period of drought, so the wildlife in the Kalama reserve itself was fairly sparse - on an evening drive we only saw dik diks and guinea fowl. In the Samburu national park there is much more to see, but that is a fairly bumpy 45 minute drive away. We were only there for a couple of nights, and so there wasn't time to go to the reserve on the last morning, so I would encourage guests who want to see a lot of wildlife to take every opportunity to go to the reserve itself, as the wildlife in the conservancy is much less visible.

Also highly recommended is a visit to the local village (which can be combined with a drive). It was fascinating to learn about the Samburu way of life, see inside a home, and meet some of the villagers." See all these reviews: 6n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Elephant

5 sightings

Gerenuk

4 sightings

Giraffe

5 sightings

Oryx

1 sighting

Zebra

1 sighting

Showing 1-10 of 23
96%
23 reviews of Saruni Samburu by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
18
5
0
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Kenya

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Kenya.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Samburu National Reserve

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Elephant Bedroom

Elephant Bedroom

Elephant Bedroom is a smart tented camp in the heart of the Samburu National Reserve, offering a good degree of comfort without divorcing you from the beautiful natural environment.


94% (32 reviews)
Sasaab

Sasaab

Stylish and luxurious Sasaab has nine rooms with stunning views across the Ewaso Nyiro River to the plains beyond.


100% (4 reviews)
Joy's Camp

Joys Camp

Joy's Camp is a remote, luxury bush camp located in Shaba National Reserve in northern Kenya.


100% (1 review)
Larsens Tented Camp

Larsens Tented Camp

Larsen’s Tented Camp is a relaxed and welcoming camp, with 20 sturdy tented rooms, a good pool and a very engaging team of staff.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa