This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Encounter Mara
Encounter Mara
Encounter Mara
Encounter Mara
Encounter Mara
Encounter Mara
Encounter Mara
Encounter Mara
Encounter Mara

Reviews of Encounter Mara

Wildlife sightings and reviews

11 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Encounter Mara and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Aug-2019, 2 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Encounter Mara.
Lion

100% success

Leopard

100% success

Cheetah

100% success

Wild dog

100% success

Buffalo

100% success

Eland

100% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Spotted Hyena

100% success

Wildebeest

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Aardvark

0% success

Black Rhino

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Striped Hyena

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 11
Duration
Arrival date
Mrs C
Devon

"Another great safari at Encounter Mara"

3 nights Arrived 26 Aug 2019
"Quite a posh camp - even more so than Rekero - but very friendly. Brunch or lunch was laid out on a table plus chairs to sit on.
Lovely tent, very comfortable. Again a buffet lunch and then a 3 course dinner, all delicious.

My guide, Sam, was terrific and very informative and managed to show us a good selection of animals - several cheetahs, hunting lions, a leopard and, on the way home one night, an aardwolf and an African wild cat." See all these reviews: 11n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

10 sightings

Cheetah

4 sightings

Eland

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Leopard

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Ms. K
Laramie

"FANTASTIC stay at Encounter Mara"

4 nights Arrived 9 Aug 2019
"SIMPLY WONDERFUL STAY! I cannot even begin to describe how incredibly amazing this stay was. I don't know what other camps are like, but I don't think it's possible to have more luxury, a more serene stay , or a better atmosphere then we received at Encounter. Our stay here was SO INCREDIBLE that I have to break it down into sections:

THE GUIDE: Our guide Francis was OUTSTANDING!! If anyone visits here they should request Francis. First off, he was hilarious! Second, he was so incredibly knowledgeable and did such a great job on sightings. Francis also truly cares about the animals, and ensured that we got great sightings, but also that we weren't crowding the animals or doing anything that would stress them out. It was so nice to see someone who cared about not just his job of driving us, but also making sure the animals were comfortable. We had such a great time with Francis and were actually truly sad to leave because we enjoyed getting to know him and experiencing the Mara through his eyes.

THE CAMP: The camp is rated as "simple luxury," but if this was "simple" then I don't know what greater luxury is, because this was AMAZING! The tents themselves had fantastic views out into the plains and were secluded giving a sense of privacy and being actually out in the Mara. The tents felt like luxury hotel rooms in terms of comfort, but without the "hotel" feeling. The different tents including the "tea" tent, the meals tent, the outdoor toilet, and the wifi tent are all set up in a way that gives you AMAZING views but also spread out enough that you can walk along the pathway and just take in the scenery. The viewing deck is absolutely amazing, and the plethora and variety of animals that we saw from just relaxing on this deck was so great. My family and I seriously never wanted to leave and I was actually sad driving away from Encounter.

THE FOOD: The food was OUT OF THIS WORLD! There are breakfast picnics out in the Mara, lunches with the staff, tea and cake with the staff, and 3 course meals with the entire camp. I have celiac's and am used to not having great options on foods. Encounter Mara changed all my expectations!! The staff prepared separate cakes for me for tea time, prepared separate biscuits for me for dinner, created AMAZING desserts that I could eat, and each meal was so much better than I would ever get at a 5 star restaurant in the States. I never wanted to stop eating, and never stopped being astonished at how AMAZING the food was. The food alone was worth the stay. To top it all off, when we were on our last morning drive, Sammi came out and met us with a "to-go" lunch for my family to enjoy while were were waiting at the airport for our trip home!!

THE STAFF: Last, but certainly not least, the staff at Encounter is PHENOMENAL!!!!!! THE BEST!! A special shout out to Sammi, Ezina, Edwin, and Lama (hopefully my spelling is right). The entire staff knew everyone's name from the moment we entered the camp. After our first order of drinks the staff also had our drink preferences memorized for the entire stay. The staff was always checking on us, chatting with us, and generally entertaining us. Every conversation we had with the staff my family and I were cracking up with laughter because they are so funny! Sammi and Edwin also spent so much time educating us on the conservancy and answering our continuous questions! During the campfire and after dinner I never wanted to turn in for the net because we had such a FANTASTIC time talking Sammi and Ezina and just spending time with them. The staff was always around to answer questions, to chat with you in the viewing deck, and to make sure we got safely to our tents each night. The morning wake up "knock" with coffee and cookies also didn't hurt! I wish I could go on and on, but if anyone ever has a chance to stay here, DO IT! My family has already talked about returning because we had such an amazing time.

Sammi and Ezina should be so proud of the camp they are running, and anyone visiting the Mara needs to book their stay with Encounter Mara ASAP!!" See all these reviews: 4n in Rwanda; 4n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

5 sightings

Cheetah

4 sightings

Eland

10 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

6 sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

5 sightings

Spotted Hyena

7 sightings

Wild dog

10 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Ms P & family
London

"Encounter Mara"

3 nights Arrived 12 Aug 2017
"Naboisho Conservancy is absolutely beautiful and I would definitely return. It is a cross between driving through Jurassic Park and the Garden of Eden!!
Encounter Mara is a well run camp with gorgeous tents and fantastic food. The drives are extremely well done - there is a sense that the guide is not going out to tock a box but to seriously find things you have not seen before. We saw cheetahs, a leopard and of course the pride of lions with small cubs were a highlight.
The nature walk is a little over produced and certainly if you have done many other walking safaris it might not be for you. But the guides are very knowledgeable, they just do need to relax a little whilst of course keeping security as the chief concern.
The camp is closed off by a fence to the bush although there is plenty of space in front of the tents and a feeling of total privacy. Nevertheless at times Encounter Mara can seem like you a bit too cut off from the more open experience of the other camps we went to." See all these reviews: 14n in Kenya; 6n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs B
Marlow

"Overall the best camp we visited..."

3 nights Arrived 8 Feb 2017
"We were met by Senchura, our guide at the airstrip and told everything we needed to know, sitting under a shade tree with a cool drink... The camp was immaculate and well run and the staff were tirelessly caring and helpful.  The tents were well equipped and the bucket showers provided plentiful hot water... always filled for our return from game drives.

We saw so many animals, roaring and mating lions and 12 cheetahs, being the highlight of the stay and our knowledgable and kind guide, added to the experience.  The food was interesting and Dixon, the chef made samosas especially for us.  All drinks were included which made life easy...  I would strongly recommend this Camp and the Maasai village visit ($25).

OTHER COMMENTS

1. There was a WiFi tent with power, which worked well and was situated away from the dining area to avoid disturbing other guests...
2. Hand sanitizer, insect repellant and sun cream were provided in the safari vehicle, a nice touch...
3. Bush breakfasts were different every day....
4. We received personal water bottles on arrival... very welcome!
5. There was an interesting shop with local items.
6. The Maasai village visit was interesting and not at all touristy... I hope that ALL the money DID go to the village/ community.
7. We had 3 nights, 4 would have been better, as elsewhere...." See all these reviews: 10n in Kenya; 8n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms J
Denmark

"Encounter Mara review"

4 nights Arrived 20 Oct 2016
"I enjoyed my stay at the Encounter Mara once I got used to what I initially experienced as a slightly "girl scout camp" ambiance. (It was my first experience of a tented room.)

The guides were excellent & my cousin & I very much enjoyed not only seeing the wildlife but also visits to Maasai villages. Again, the personnel were kind & helpful, & they arranged a birthday tea party for my cousin, with dancing & cake, which we appreciated.

I found it slightly off-putting that the toilet & shower were separated from the main room only by a curtain, so one didn't have a great deal of privacy." See all these reviews: 10n in Tanzania; 10n in Kenya; 3n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr J
Compton Martin

"Encounter Mara review"

2 nights Arrived 4 Mar 2016
"A wonderful place to stay and from which to explore the fabulous Game Reserve, teeming with wildlife. The camp is most efficiently run by the delightful manager, Mariana Kathini, for whom nothing was too much trouble. All the staff were friendly and helpful and we came away with the feeling that this was a happy and well-managed establishment.

The food was really good and the tents clean and comfortable. We were very well looked-after. Our driver/guide was Nabala who was both knowledgeable and fun to be with. Two nights is not enough; we needed more time here!

Very highly recommended." See all these reviews: 11n in Kenya; 5n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Ms H
Maida Vale

"Encounter Mara review"

3 nights Arrived 20 Nov 2015
"Encounter Mara was a great camp; some Asilia touches are starting to be developed but my sense is that they are not changing too much because they don’t need to

Staff, the tents, the f&b were all superb and the vehicles they use are proper landcruisers with open sides. My only gripe is that the landcruiser hadn’t had the windscreen removed or like a landrover was one that could fold down so you had to look out through glass at the front

The Naboisho conservancy is very different to the main reserve and although more bushy I had some great wildlife sightings – leopard, lion, cheetah and hyena cubs all featured together with lots of birds and other more “usual” mammals

We did a half day to the main reserve which was perfectly doable and even at this non-peak time of year (November) we saw a big zebra crossing at the main crossing point – without all the cars!" See all these reviews: 4n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs LN
London

"Encounter Mara review"

2 nights Arrived 8 Oct 2015
"What a delightful surprise this camp was! I was a little dubious about staying on a Conservancy but Encounter Mara complemented our stay within the Mara Reserve (Governors Camp) beautifully.

I was travelling with my adult nephew on his first trip to Kenya and wanted him to have the experience of bush walking and night drives. Richard suggested Encounter Mara and I am so glad that he did.

Our Masai guide Senchura picked us up and never let us down. He was gentle and so knowledgeable and patient. Staying on the conservancy allows you to view at your own pace and with limited other vehicles (if any). I think the limit was a maximum of 4 which was a huge and pleasant change from inside the Reserve itself. Among many sightings, watching a cheetah family for an hour when they were playing and relaxing was amazing and then finding them again the next day getting prepared for a hunt was even more special.

My nephew did a lovely walk with Senchura and an armed guide one morning while I did a game drive. We then combined to complete our morning drive.

We also visited a local boma to learn about the way the Masai live. It was a totally uncommercial visit and we learned so much. The way that the Conservancy balances the needs of the Masai with those of the tourists was an eye-opener and seems to work very well for all.

The night drive we combined with our evening game drive and saw a pride of over 13 lions, elephants and hundreds of wildebeast walking along getting ready to cross over to Tanzania. We also saw a bushbaby and numerous other animals. Night drives give you a different perspective of the bush and I highly recommend them.

The camp is enclosed by an electric fence which only prevents buffalo and elephant from coming in. There are guards to take you to and from your tents. The large tents were fabulous with each having a wonderful view, comfortable beds. The 'bucket' shower worked very well indeed.

There is a large dining tent where you can dine as a group or individually hosted by Andrew or one of the other lovely managers which we thought was a great idea. The food was very nice but the desserts could use a little refinement. The packed picnic breakfasts were tasty.

The other tent is full of sofas and is a perfect place to relax with a book or chat. This is where there are charging stations for you to charge all of your electrical gadgets and batteries. No Wifi which I loved!

There is a little hide down by a natural salt/mineral lick (take water with you) . I spent a long peaceful time down there and saw many wonderful animals behaving naturally.

All of the staff were wonderful and welcoming - our thanks to them all. We loved our stay here and I will definitely return.

ps The 'loo with a view' has to be experienced!" See all these reviews: 10n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr M & Ms O
UK

"Good Time"

4 nights Arrived 11 Feb 2015
"This camp is very different to Saruni being a proper tented camp with a big Eco theme.

So it is solar everything and lovely bucket showers etc. The camp managers Colin and Chala were a delight as was our excellent guide Andrew.

One thing in particular we liked is being invited behind the scenes for a tour of how the camp is run, you have no idea how much work goes on just to live day to day! At peak times they employ 36 staff for just 12 tents!
The location is good with Zebra etc munching away right outside your tent and indeed a very pregnant Cheetah! but being quite low down on the plain views are not stunning.(Re Cheetah see their Facebook page)

There were a few minor niggles the Vegetarian food for Loz was not good (They have since been in contact and are getting in outside advice, so they are on the case) Other silly things we would ask for some beers to be sent to our tent no problem just no bottle opener like wise a bottle of wine and no corkscrew! Bless em!

But lets no forget what we are there for, the wildlife and it was very good. Overall would recommend." See all these reviews: 14n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Mr H
Johannesburg

"Encounter Mara review"

4 nights Arrived 6 Aug 2014
"A simply brilliant place. When I arrived it was once of the busiest weeks for them in the year but they coped very well and it did not feel over crowded.

The guides on the property were absolutely fantastic and new where to avoid the crowds and we saw absolutely all of the animals you could want to see. I saw a very rare sighting of two leopards (male and female) out in the open which the guide was very patient to find (we were the only care there for 5 minutes at least in the Mara) and we saw all of the Big 5 in a single day. Colin also managed to organise a second trip into the Mara when I didn't see a crossing the first day which I greatly appreciated as I managed to see one the next day.

The tents were really fantastic and the hot water bottle in the rooms each nice was a nice touch. Food and drink were also fantastic and the local conservancy was nice and quiet with not too many vehicles and the guides really new where to look for the animals.

Overall again I would highly recommend." See all these reviews: 9n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 1-10 of 11
95%
11 reviews of Encounter Mara by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
8
3
0
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Kenya

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Kenya.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Maasai Mara Conservancies

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Naboisho Camp

Naboisho Camp

Naboisho Camp is one of the most luxurious of the handful of camps in the Naboisho Conservancy. It offers day and night game drives, game walks and full creature comforts in the bush.


98% (41 reviews)
Kicheche Mara

Kicheche Mara

Kicheche Mara Camp has just eight tents and a rustic and comfortable feel. It is set by a stream in a pretty area of the Mara ecosystem's Mara North Conservancy.


98% (39 reviews)
Kicheche Bush Camp

Kicheche Bush Camp

Kicheche Bush Camp is a smart and intimate tented camp with a relaxed atmosphere and the perfect base in the Mara for keen photographers.


99% (38 reviews)
Offbeat Mara

Offbeat Mara

Offbeat Mara is a small traditional camp that appeals to safari traditionalists, located in one of the Maasai Mara’s quiet conservancies.


97% (28 reviews)
Kicheche Valley

Kicheche Valley

Kicheche Valley is a boutique tented camp in a wooded district of the Mara ecosystem's Naboisho Conservancy, with plenty of wildlife in the area.


96% (18 reviews)
Mara Plains Camp

Mara Plains Camp

Mara Plains is one of the very best camps in the Mara ecosystem. Located in the Olare Motorogi Conservancy, just outside the Mara reserve, it has access to three wildlife-viewing areas.


100% (10 reviews)
Serian

Serian

Serian is a luxury tented camp on the east bank of the Mara River in the Mara North Conservancy. It is the sister camp of Ngare Serian, on the west bank.


98% (10 reviews)
Elephant Pepper Camp

Elephant Pepper Camp

Elephant Pepper Camp is a small 10-tent bush camp, put together in the traditional "campaign" style, and including a large honeymoon/family tent.


98% (8 reviews)
Porini Lion Camp

Porini Lion Camp

Porini Lion Camp is a pioneering, community focused eco-camp, with excellent guides and game viewing, in the predator-rich, Olare Motorogi Conservancy.


83% (8 reviews)
Ol Kinyei Adventure Camp

Ol Kinyei Adventure

Ol Kinyei Adventure Camp is a satelllite of the larger Porini Mara Camp. Both of them are located in the Maasai-owned Ol Kinyei conservancy, the oldest community conservancy in the Maasai Mara ecosystem.


97% (7 reviews)
Cottars 1920s Camp

Cottars 1920s Camp

Cottar's 1920s Camp is a classic, luxury tented camp with a 1920s safari theme, located in its own conservancy on the southeast border of the Maasai Mara National Reserve.


92% (5 reviews)
Porini Mara Camp

Porini Mara Camp

Porini Mara Camp is a small, pioneering eco-camp in the first private conservancy in the Mara region, with comfortable accommodation and a range of activities.


96% (5 reviews)
Ngare Serian

Ngare Serian

The luxurious Ngare Serian and its sister camp Serian face each other across the Mara River on the western side of the Mara North Conservancy


96% (5 reviews)
Karen Blixen Camp

Karen Blixen Camp

Karen Blixen Camp sits on a meander of the Mara River in the Mara North Conservancy, just beyond the northern boundary of the Maasai Mara National Reserve.


90% (4 reviews)
Basecamp Eagle View

Basecamp Eagle View

Basecamp Eagle View is a community-focused safari camp in the Naboisho Conservancy, with a strong emphasis on responsible tourism and a spectacular location.


100% (4 reviews)
Saruni Wild

Saruni Wild

Saruni Wild is a rustic and traditional safari camp in the Lemek Conservancy, with just three tents and limited electricity.


93% (3 reviews)
Hemingways Ol Seki Mara

Hemingways Ol Seki

Magnificently located tented lodge on a bluff looking south across the Naboisho Conservancy toward the Maasai Mara National Reserve.


93% (3 reviews)
Leleshwa

Leleshwa

Leleshwa was a delightful, boutique safari camp on the picturesque banks of a tributary of the Talek, with an extensive, little visited game area on its doorstep.


90% (2 reviews)
Basecamp Leopard Hill

Basecamp Leopard Hill

With six beautiful tents, Basecamp Leopard Hill is a smart safari camp in the Naboisho Conservancy in the Maasai Mara ecosystem.


100% (1 review)
Mara Toto

Mara Toto

Mara Toto is a small luxury camp due to open in 2019.


100% (1 review)
Kicheche Walking Wilderness

Kicheche Fly Camp

Kicheche Walking Wilderness Fly Camp is a temporaray dome tent camp set up for participants in Kicheche's two-day walking safari between Kicheche Valley and Kicheche Bush Camp.


100% (1 review)
Basecamp Wilderness Camp

Basecamp Wilderness

Basecamp Wilderness Camp is a simple, traditional tented camp, set in a remote valley in the Naboisho Conservancy in the Mara ecoystem.


100% (1 review)
Mahali Mzuri

Mahali Mzuri

Mahali Mzuri is a strikingly modern tented camp in the Virgin Limited Edition group, in a remote part of the Mara ecosytem's Olare Motorogi Conservancy. It has lovely views and all the luxuries of a five-star hotel.


100% (1 review)
Saruni Mara

Saruni Mara

Saruni Mara is a luxurious permanent lodge, on the remote northern edge of the Mara North Conservancy, with stunning views, good guiding and very private and comfortable rooms.


80% (1 review)
Cottars Private House

Cottars Private House

Cottar's Private House is one of the few truly luxurious, modern private houses in the Mara ecosystem, spoiling its guests with first-rate staff, a swimming pool and wonderful views.


No reviews yet
Mara Bushtops

Mara Bushtops

Mara Bushtops is a luxury safari hotel on a private concession, outside the Maasai Mara National Reserve, with the emphasis on comfort, relaxation and good food and wine.


No reviews yet
Entumoto

Entumoto

Entumoto is a high-end tented camp, with a swimming pool, situated in a very pretty location on the east side of the Maasai Mara ecosystem.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa