This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Naboisho Camp
Naboisho Camp
Naboisho Camp
Naboisho Camp
Naboisho Camp
Naboisho Camp
Naboisho Camp
Naboisho Camp

Reviews of Naboisho Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

38 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Naboisho Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jul-2018, 7 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Naboisho Camp.
Lion

100% success

Leopard

86% success

Cheetah

100% success

Wild dog

17% success

Buffalo

100% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Spotted Hyena

100% success

Wildebeest

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Eland

83% success

Striped Hyena

17% success

Aardvark

0% success

Black Rhino

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 38
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs G
PA

"First class in all respects."

4 nights Arrived 17 Oct 2019
"Staff was outstanding. Particularly liked the Masai garb.

Would have preferred more walking.

Evelyn was a joy as well as John, Daniel, Lucas, Marsi, Alex" See all these reviews: 7n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Cheetah

10 sightings

Hippo

2 sightings

Leopard

2 sightings

Lion

10 sightings

Spotted Hyena

8 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Dr R.
Colombo 5

"Naboisho Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 5 Oct 2019
"Superb upper end camp with great food, facilities and guiding. We had excellent sighting during a four night/five day stay, one of which days we drove to Masai Mara National Reserve.

In Naboisho we saw a large number of lions, including one pride feeding on a zebra. We also had an excellent sighting of a cheetah. We are also bird watchers and we were able to see many species.

Our driver/guide Daniel was excellent and did some amazing spotting. His bird knowledge was also exceptional, I can't recall even one bird he wasn't able to immediately identify, no matter how brief the initial sighting was." See all these reviews: 9n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

10 sightings

Cheetah

1 sighting

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Lion

10 sightings

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Ms M.
London

"Tented luxury!"

3 nights Arrived 6 Feb 2019
"How can our room be called a tent??? It was bigger than many studio flats in London! Obviously, it was not as stunning as our rooms in Meru and Lewa but it was extraordinary for what it was, and we were very comfortable in it. The food was very good, with a buffet lunch and choice for the main course in the evening.

The management and staff were friendly and knowledgeable and, again, our guide was excellent. He (Daniel) knew our passion for the big cats and ensured we saw them as much possible, whilst also showing us all the other animals. He even found us three tiny lion cubs in the dark, which no-one else saw. The variety and number of animals was far and away the best we saw.

The hot water bottle in the jeep in the early morning was a very nice touch, as was the campfire in the evening." See all these reviews: 12n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Buffalo

1 sighting

Cheetah

5 sightings

Eland

2 sightings

Elephant

3 sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

1 sighting

Leopard

3 sightings

Lion

6 sightings

Spotted Hyena

2 sightings

Wildebeest

6 sightings

Zebra

6 sightings

Mr & Mrs L
Herts

"Naboisho Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 25 Sep 2018
"A different environment to Rekero, there being more acacia trees and no river running next to the camp.

Tent, staff, food, guiding - all first class. Elephants are the problem at this camp and one knocked down a tree right next our tent one night. We saw a lot more game from this camp than Rekero and less other tour jeeps.

We also had the interesting (to us) experience of medical help out in the bush....my wife was worried about a toe going sceptic, so she had a video link to a doctor in Jo'burg who was able to give good advice (and later we bought some anti biotics in Zanzibar). All a bit different from nipping down to your GP (and frankly, more efficient!)." See all these reviews: 5n in Zanzibar; 5n in Kenya; 3n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

4 sightings

Cheetah

4 sightings

Eland

2 sightings

Elephant

3 sightings

Giraffe

3 sightings

Hippo

3 sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

3 sightings

Spotted Hyena

3 sightings

Wildebeest

3 sightings

Zebra

3 sightings

Mrs P
Horsham

"Wonderful time at Nabisco "

4 nights Arrived 2 Sep 2018
"Lovely camp although long walk to tent (see general comments). No fence so animals roamed over camp land. Location wonderful - could watch dawn breaking from bed!

Hot water bottles in bed and on drives!

Good hosts, again brilliant guide ( Dixon)

Visit to Mara - didn't see any migration but could relate what we saw of the hundreds and hundreds of wildebeest and zebras and the crossing points to the iconic picture that is seen worldwide about it." See all these reviews: 12n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

3 sightings

Cheetah

4 sightings

Eland

Multiple sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

6 sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

4 sightings

Spotted Hyena

2 sightings

Striped Hyena

2 sightings

Wild dog

1 sighting

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Dr H
Sussex

"Naboisho Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 2 Sep 2018
"Lovely views from tent. Excellent game viewings, lions feeding on a buffalo, and large pride feeding on wildebeest. Watched cheetahs with cubs.

Another excellent guide found leopards.

Interesting drive to the Mara river, but no crossings.

Weather again colder than expected." See all these reviews: 12n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Cheetah

Multiple sightings

Eland

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Leopard

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

B
Illinois

"Amazing place, service and experience"

3 nights Arrived 2 Jul 2018
"Naboisho's best asset is being inside the Naboisho Conservancy. Especially in early July when the migration has not yet reached the Mara Reserve, being in the conservancy provides much greater game viewing opportunities. Being in the conservancy also means it is a less crowded, more intimate experience and allows visitors to do walking safaris (not allowed the reserve) and to go off the road. Being guided through this amazing landscape by one of Naboisho's expert guides is truly amazing. If Naboisho Camp is full, you can also stay in one of a few other lodges in the conservancy to be able to access conservancy grounds.

That said, if you can stay at Naboisho Camp, I'd highly recommend it. The guides, camp managers and other staff went out of their way to make guests comfortable at every turn. I was a little nervous about being a solo traveler, but I immediately felt included and at home due to the warm welcome of Richard, Andrea and the other staff, who actively fostered a sense of community in the small camp.

Naboisho Camp is part of the Asilia Africa lodge group, which actively promotes sustainability and community engagement. They've won several eco/community awards, and I was so impressed by their approach to land, community and guests that if I return, I will stay at one of their other properties throughout Kenya and Tanzania.

Highlights of the visit included two less common opportunities to experience the savannah outside the walls of a truck. Both a walking safari with one of Naboisho's specially trained walking guides and an afternoon horseback riding with Ride Mara were excellent. Other amazing moments included seeing a leopard and both a cheetah and lions with cubs. I also got lucky to be there when one of the scientists from the Kenya Wildlife Trust came to share a presentation on big predator conservation efforts in and around the reserve. I really enjoyed the additional perspective he gave on conservation challenges and opportunities. It definitely something most tourists would not get to learn about or appreciate.

The rooms, service and food were some of the highest quality that I've experienced anywhere. The fact that it was delivered in the bush made it all the more impressive. I am also a gluten free eater, and the camp chef made me gluten free breads and desserts or other equivalents at every meal." See all these reviews: 3n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

10 sightings

Cheetah

2 sightings

Eland

10 sightings

Elephant

3 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

2 sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

5 sightings

Spotted Hyena

10 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr Jeff D
USA

"A perfect ending"

4 nights Arrived 9 Feb 2018
"This was our third and last camp before returning home. Amazing experience with the game drives.

We really enjoyed our guide Benjamin. We were also able to experience visiting a school and the Maa Trust.

The food and the service were impeccable. The staff were wonderful and accommodated our needs above and beyond our expectations.

Our room/tent was comfortable and spacious. We enjoyed the fact that we were so close to the wildlife." See all these reviews: 13n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs R
Ashbourne

"Outstanding bush camp"

4 nights Arrived 17 Oct 2017
"Excellent standard of accommodation and food.

Very friendly and knowledgeable staff. Sammy, a top class guide and driver.

Day trip to Masai Mara national park an unforgettable experience. Saw ten cheetahs, including the 'five musketeers' and Malaika with two mature cubs making a kill. Bird life prolific.

The cultural visit to a local village turned out to be a visit to a homestead which was interesting in itself but it was not at all clear how the family had benefited or would benefit from the payments.. There needs to be more information and clarification about this activity." See all these reviews: 8n in Kenya; 4n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs P
Wiltshire

"Excellent safari at Naboisho"

4 nights Arrived 29 Sep 2017
"Top class tents with separate sitting areas, views over the plain and occasional sounds of antelopes thundering through the camp at night

Choice of indoor shower or outdoor bucket shower.

First time we have had a female guide Evelyn, who was very knowledgeable and a competent driver with a fascinating life story." See all these reviews: 16n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 1-10 of 38
98%
38 reviews of Naboisho Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
35
2
1
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Kenya

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Kenya.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Maasai Mara Conservancies

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Kicheche Mara

Kicheche Mara

Kicheche Mara Camp has just eight tents and a rustic and comfortable feel. It is set by a stream in a pretty area of the Mara ecosystem's Mara North Conservancy.


98% (39 reviews)
Kicheche Bush Camp

Kicheche Bush Camp

Kicheche Bush Camp is a smart and intimate tented camp with a relaxed atmosphere and the perfect base in the Mara for keen photographers.


99% (38 reviews)
Offbeat Mara

Offbeat Mara

Offbeat Mara is a small traditional camp that appeals to safari traditionalists, located in one of the Maasai Mara’s quiet conservancies.


97% (28 reviews)
Kicheche Valley

Kicheche Valley

Kicheche Valley is a boutique tented camp in a wooded district of the Mara ecosystem's Naboisho Conservancy, with plenty of wildlife in the area.


96% (18 reviews)
Encounter Mara

Encounter Mara

Encounter Mara is located in the private Naboisho Conservancy – a game-rich area of the Mara ecosystem – and offers a contemporary take on the traditional, low-impact luxury safari camp.


95% (11 reviews)
Serian

Serian

Serian is a luxury tented camp on the east bank of the Mara River in the Mara North Conservancy. It is the sister camp of Ngare Serian, on the west bank.


98% (10 reviews)
Mara Plains Camp

Mara Plains Camp

Mara Plains is one of the very best camps in the Mara ecosystem. Located in the Olare Motorogi Conservancy, just outside the Mara reserve, it has access to three wildlife-viewing areas.


100% (10 reviews)
Elephant Pepper Camp

Elephant Pepper Camp

Elephant Pepper Camp is a small 10-tent bush camp, put together in the traditional "campaign" style, and including a large honeymoon/family tent.


98% (8 reviews)
Porini Lion Camp

Porini Lion Camp

Porini Lion Camp is a pioneering, community focused eco-camp, with excellent guides and game viewing, in the predator-rich, Olare Motorogi Conservancy.


83% (8 reviews)
Ol Kinyei Adventure Camp

Ol Kinyei Adventure

Ol Kinyei Adventure Camp is a satelllite of the larger Porini Mara Camp. Both of them are located in the Maasai-owned Ol Kinyei conservancy, the oldest community conservancy in the Maasai Mara ecosystem.


97% (7 reviews)
Porini Mara Camp

Porini Mara Camp

Porini Mara Camp is a small, pioneering eco-camp in the first private conservancy in the Mara region, with comfortable accommodation and a range of activities.


96% (5 reviews)
Cottars 1920s Camp

Cottars 1920s Camp

Cottar's 1920s Camp is a classic, luxury tented camp with a 1920s safari theme, located in its own conservancy on the southeast border of the Maasai Mara National Reserve.


92% (5 reviews)
Ngare Serian

Ngare Serian

The luxurious Ngare Serian and its sister camp Serian face each other across the Mara River on the western side of the Mara North Conservancy


96% (5 reviews)
Karen Blixen Camp

Karen Blixen Camp

Karen Blixen Camp sits on a meander of the Mara River in the Mara North Conservancy, just beyond the northern boundary of the Maasai Mara National Reserve.


90% (4 reviews)
Basecamp Eagle View

Basecamp Eagle View

Basecamp Eagle View is a community-focused safari camp in the Naboisho Conservancy, with a strong emphasis on responsible tourism and a spectacular location.


100% (4 reviews)
Hemingways Ol Seki Mara

Hemingways Ol Seki

Magnificently located tented lodge on a bluff looking south across the Naboisho Conservancy toward the Maasai Mara National Reserve.


93% (3 reviews)
Saruni Wild

Saruni Wild

Saruni Wild is a rustic and traditional safari camp in the Lemek Conservancy, with just three tents and limited electricity.


93% (3 reviews)
Leleshwa

Leleshwa

Leleshwa was a delightful, boutique safari camp on the picturesque banks of a tributary of the Talek, with an extensive, little visited game area on its doorstep.


90% (2 reviews)
Mara Toto

Mara Toto

Mara Toto is a small luxury camp due to open in 2019.


100% (1 review)
Basecamp Wilderness Camp

Basecamp Wilderness

Basecamp Wilderness Camp is a simple, traditional tented camp, set in a remote valley in the Naboisho Conservancy in the Mara ecoystem.


100% (1 review)
Kicheche Walking Wilderness

Kicheche Fly Camp

Kicheche Walking Wilderness Fly Camp is a temporaray dome tent camp set up for participants in Kicheche's two-day walking safari between Kicheche Valley and Kicheche Bush Camp.


100% (1 review)
Saruni Mara

Saruni Mara

Saruni Mara is a luxurious permanent lodge, on the remote northern edge of the Mara North Conservancy, with stunning views, good guiding and very private and comfortable rooms.


80% (1 review)
Basecamp Leopard Hill

Basecamp Leopard Hill

With six beautiful tents, Basecamp Leopard Hill is a smart safari camp in the Naboisho Conservancy in the Maasai Mara ecosystem.


100% (1 review)
Mahali Mzuri

Mahali Mzuri

Mahali Mzuri is a strikingly modern tented camp in the Virgin Limited Edition group, in a remote part of the Mara ecosytem's Olare Motorogi Conservancy. It has lovely views and all the luxuries of a five-star hotel.


100% (1 review)
Mara Bushtops

Mara Bushtops

Mara Bushtops is a luxury safari hotel on a private concession, outside the Maasai Mara National Reserve, with the emphasis on comfort, relaxation and good food and wine.


No reviews yet
Cottars Private House

Cottars Private House

Cottar's Private House is one of the few truly luxurious, modern private houses in the Mara ecosystem, spoiling its guests with first-rate staff, a swimming pool and wonderful views.


No reviews yet
Entumoto

Entumoto

Entumoto is a high-end tented camp, with a swimming pool, situated in a very pretty location on the east side of the Maasai Mara ecosystem.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa