This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Kicheche Valley
Kicheche Valley
Kicheche Valley
Kicheche Valley
Kicheche Valley
Kicheche Valley
Kicheche Valley

Reviews of Kicheche Valley

Wildlife sightings and reviews

36 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Kicheche Valley and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jan-2019, 28 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Kicheche Valley.
Lion

100% success

Leopard

74% success

Cheetah

96% success

Wild dog

9% success

Giraffe

100% success

Wildebeest

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Buffalo

96% success

Spotted Hyena

96% success

Elephant

93% success

Hippo

92% success

Eland

88% success

Striped Hyena

14% success

Aardvark

10% success

Black Rhino

8% success

Pangolin

5% success

Showing 1-10 of 36
Duration
Arrival date
Ms H.
London

"Kicheche Valley review"

2 nights Arrived 28 Dec 2022
"We loved this lodge.

Mini and all her staff were fab nothing was too much trouble and our guide Bernard was amazing very patient knowledgeable and happy to answer all questions. We always seemed to arrive first at amazing viewings.

I would highly recommend this lodge" See all these reviews: 7n in Zanzibar; 6n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Cheetah

Multiple sightings

Eland

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

1 sighting

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr R.
Cambridge

"Kicheche Valley review"

4 nights Arrived 2 Oct 2022
"Very skilled and experience guide made this a special few days

Staff at the camp were knowledgeable and protective, which was helpful given the abundance of wildlife every night

Birthday celebration Maasai dance one evening before dinner was unexpected, but great fun." See all these reviews: 11n in Kenya; 7n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Cheetah

Multiple sightings

Eland

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mrs A.
S. Carolina

"Kicheche Valley review"

4 nights Arrived 28 Sep 2022
"We loved Kicheche Valley.

Everything was terrific - staff, accomodations and our driver, Mika and animal sightings.

Would stay there again!" See all these reviews: 5n in Rwanda; 4n in Kenya; 4n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Cheetah

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Leopard

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Striped Hyena

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr P.
Cambridge

"Kicheche Valley review"

3 nights Arrived 16 Sep 2022
"Minni and all her staff were brilliant, Made us feel very welcome and nothing was too much trouble, we were thoroughly spoiled!

The camp itself was very comfortable with a great ambience, spotlessly clean and just a wonderful place to stay. Wildlife continually walked the the camp grounds.

Our guide Mika was a treasure, and worked tirelessly to find us a leopard in a tree and we consequently observed leopard for some time on our own, fantastic!" See all these reviews: 10n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Cheetah

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Leopard

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Miss R.
United Kingdom

"Kicheche Valley review"

3 nights Arrived 9 Sep 2022
"Exceptional. Kicheche Valley was everything you hope for from a safari experience. The view from the tents were stunning, and the rooms themselves were fab. The staff were all friendly, welcoming and so so helpful. Also, the food was excellent.

Being an unfenced camp we got multiple sightings during the day, including giraffes literally wandering through camp at lunch.

During our safaris we were paired with Bernard, an absolutely exceptional and very knowledgeable guide. We witnessed some incredible sightings including a pregnant giraffe, lions and cheetahs hunting, three male lions crossing the plains at dawn, and elephant family protecting their babies. We also got multiple sighting of leopards with their babies, and an aardvark, both of which are apparently highly elusive.

We would 100% return if we are lucky enough to go on another safari." See all these reviews: 7n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

2 sightings

Cheetah

3 sightings

Eland

10 sightings

Elephant

5 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

3 sightings

Leopard

3 sightings

Lion

6 sightings

Spotted Hyena

5 sightings

Wild dog

2 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr & Mrs BP
Surrey

"Kicheche Valley review"

3 nights Arrived 20 Aug 2022
"Kicheche Valley camp is a beautiful camp in a great location.

On arrival we were welcomed by relief manager Rachel - an amazing lady. Born in Kenya, she was very interesting and interested, we had lots of chats!
She and all the staff were delightful. On hand all the time to answer questions and provide us with everything we needed.
On our 3rd morning Minnie (camp manager) returned. Also a charming, friendly and helpful lady.

Our guide, Bernard, was excellent. Once again, very knowledgeable, a lovely man and a good communicator. Mindful to go at a pace that suited us and our desire to see the birdlife.

Naibosho has more water than Olare so was much greener, especially in areas near the rivers.
Bernard took us to different areas of the conservancy, always finding a riverside spot for our breakfast. Consequently we saw lots of different birds and lots of hippo! (I do love a Hippo!)
He was also happy to talk about his culture and family life, something we are both very interested in.

The highlight at Valley was our night drive. This was something we had specifically wanted to do. The infrared allowed us to observe the animals at close quarters.
We were lucky to see Genet, Bat eared Fox, hippos out of the water and a special treat - a very large porcupine!

The two camps, Bush and Valley are similar in the size and the quality of accommodation, staff and guides in both camps is outstanding.

They are different in other ways.
The location of Valley on the hillside means it has wonderful views from every part of the camp, especially the lounge and dining area.
The tents feel more permanent as they are on wooden decking (possibly because of the sloping ground) and are slightly bigger.

We preferred eating communally at Bush (we had separate tables at Valley) but the make of guests in the camps was different (there were 2 families with youngish children at Valley.
I'm sure this varies a lot throughout the year.

I am pleased that we visited both camps. If we could only go to one I would have difficulty choosing!" See all these reviews: 8n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

10 sightings

Cheetah

1 sighting

Eland

3 sightings

Elephant

5 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

6 sightings

Lion

4 sightings

Spotted Hyena

5 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr & Mrs H
Surrey

"What can we say … this camp is amazing! "

3 nights Arrived 15 Jul 2022
"What can we say … this camp is amazing! Minni is a wonderful host and lovely lady. Maurice and Nelson were brilliant - friendly, attentive, and very thoughtful. We were very well looked after.

The food is absolutely delicious and they went above and beyond making sure our a fussy teenager didn’t go hungry! Mika our guide was fantastic, he made the safari drives a wonderful experience. He’s a very special man.

A life changing experience!

The sighting form below doesn’t allow you to say how special some of our sightings were - the two baby giraffe, sitting in unison watching us, watching them waiting for Mum to return. Herds of elephants with babies of various ages at the waterhole. The two pride of lions with baby cubs a month old. Two male lions of the same pride together that we followed for a while - even Mika took a video as it was a very unusual sight. The storks that took flight when threatened by an eagle - an amazing spectacle to see over 40 storks take to the sky. We saw two types of kingfisher - have never seen a kingfisher in the uk! And lots more." See all these reviews: 10n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

2 sightings

Cheetah

2 sightings

Eland

2 sightings

Elephant

6 sightings

Giraffe

5 sightings

Hippo

3 sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

5 sightings

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

2 sightings

Mr R.
Oldham

"Kicheche Valley review"

1 night Arrived 23 Jun 2022
"Excellent in all respects.
Great location with wonderful panoramic view." See all these reviews: 10n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

2 sightings

Cheetah

1 sighting

Eland

1 sighting

Elephant

1 sighting

Giraffe

2 sightings

Lion

2 sightings

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Wildebeest

2 sightings

Zebra

2 sightings

Mr & Mrs B
Belfast

"Kicheche Valley review"

3 nights Arrived 26 Feb 2022
"This was our first time to the Valley camp although not to the Naboisho conservancy which we visited in 2014. The raised tents on wooden platforms are probably the most luxurious of the three Kicheche camps in the Mara. The beds are extremely comfortable with lovely views overlooking the valley. As with the other camps there are solar powered showers which provide ample hot water.

Minnie, the camp manager, along with Maurice, Joyce and the rest of her team made our three night stay very enjoyable indeed. The food was excellent, picnic breakfast, buffet lunch and then a more formal sit down dinner in the evening, the same as the other camps. Nothing was too much trouble and a special word of thanks to Minnie for assisting with the production of the Passenger Locator Forms which we required before returning to the UK. This was much appreciated and emphasised the need for internet access in order to complete the Covid formalities currently required by the UK.

Our guide for the three nights was Bernard, along with Stella who was training as a guide. Bernard proved very adept at finding the animals, including a leopard on the first evening and a pride of some dozen plus lionesses and cubs crossing over the river into the next conservancy. In addition he managed to find bat-eared foxes which we had never seen and two separate sightings of a male and female serval cat which was the icing on the cake. A lovely way to finish off our trip." See all these reviews: 11n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

1 sighting

Eland

3 sightings

Elephant

2 sightings

Giraffe

3 sightings

Leopard

2 sightings

Lion

3 sightings

Spotted Hyena

2 sightings

Wildebeest

1 sighting

Zebra

3 sightings

Ms. N
Montana

"Kicheche Valley review"

4 nights Arrived 21 Feb 2022
"Oh my, how shall I begin? Right after picking me up at the airport, we spotted lions.... Bernard had me open the door and lie on the floor of truck to take a low picture.... he really knows how to help a person with photo taking. He is the very first guide to assist me in such a way. The female guide, intern, Stella was a delight to have in the car. Every time that we ventured out, we saw many animals and many birds and created a long list of new birds. We saw baby hyenas and watched leopards maneuver their baby wildebeest carcass around the tree branches. I could not have asked for more sightings!! We even saw the Verreaux owl one night and then again, two owls talking to one another. This is the most game I have seen on any of my trips and I shall return. This camp also supports the surrounding community and students. I visited with Hudson, who is the liaison between the community and the camps. He is so articulate and is so caring. It was a pleasure to meet with him and learn about the foundation. Thank you.
I appreciate the robes, the flashlights and the yoga mat in the room. After being in the truck all day, it feels good to stretch and help my old bones recuperate.
The only reason I did not see the ellies at this camp is because we were staying in the areas to see the leopards and the cheetahs and lions and hyenas." See all these reviews: 11n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

Multiple sightings

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Cheetah

Multiple sightings

Eland

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Leopard

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

Wild dog

1 sighting

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Showing 1-10 of 36
98%
36 reviews of Kicheche Valley by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
32
4
0
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Kenya

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Kenya.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Maasai Mara Conservancies

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Kicheche Bush Camp

Kicheche Bush Camp

Kicheche Bush Camp is a smart and intimate tented camp with a relaxed atmosphere and the perfect base in the Mara for keen photographers.


100% (60 reviews)
Kicheche Mara

Kicheche Mara

Kicheche Mara Camp has just eight tents and a rustic and comfortable feel. It is set by a stream in a pretty area of the Mara ecosystem's Mara North Conservancy.


99% (56 reviews)
Naboisho Camp

Naboisho Camp

Naboisho Camp is one of the most luxurious of the handful of camps in the Naboisho Conservancy. It offers day and night game drives, game walks and full creature comforts in the bush.


98% (42 reviews)
Offbeat Mara

Offbeat Mara

Offbeat Mara is a small traditional camp that appeals to safari traditionalists, located in one of the Maasai Mara’s quiet conservancies.


98% (38 reviews)
Mara Plains Camp

Mara Plains Camp

Mara Plains is one of the very best camps in the Mara ecosystem. Located in the Olare Motorogi Conservancy, just outside the Mara reserve, it has access to three wildlife-viewing areas.


100% (13 reviews)
Encounter Mara

Encounter Mara

Encounter Mara is located in the private Naboisho Conservancy – a game-rich area of the Mara ecosystem – and offers a contemporary take on the traditional, low-impact luxury safari camp.


92% (13 reviews)
Serian

Serian

Serian is a luxury tented camp on the east bank of the Mara River in the Mara North Conservancy. It is the sister camp of Ngare Serian, on the west bank.


98% (11 reviews)
Elephant Pepper Camp

Elephant Pepper Camp

Elephant Pepper Camp is a small 10-tent bush camp, put together in the traditional "campaign" style, and including a large honeymoon/family tent.


98% (11 reviews)
Porini Lion Camp

Porini Lion Camp

Porini Lion Camp is a pioneering, community focused eco-camp, with excellent guides and game viewing, in the predator-rich, Olare Motorogi Conservancy.


83% (8 reviews)
Ol Kinyei Adventure Camp

Ol Kinyei Adventure

Ol Kinyei Adventure Camp is a satelllite of the larger Porini Mara Camp. Both of them are located in the Maasai-owned Ol Kinyei conservancy, the oldest community conservancy in the Maasai Mara ecosystem.


98% (8 reviews)
Hemingways Ol Seki Mara

Hemingways Ol Seki

Magnificently located tented lodge on a bluff looking south across the Naboisho Conservancy toward the Maasai Mara National Reserve.


94% (7 reviews)
Saruni Wild

Saruni Wild

Saruni Wild is a rustic and traditional safari camp in the Lemek Conservancy, with just three tents and limited electricity.


97% (6 reviews)
Ngare Serian

Ngare Serian

The luxurious Ngare Serian and its sister camp Serian face each other across the Mara River on the western side of the Mara North Conservancy


96% (5 reviews)
Porini Mara Camp

Porini Mara Camp

Porini Mara Camp is a small, pioneering eco-camp in the first private conservancy in the Mara region, with comfortable accommodation and a range of activities.


96% (5 reviews)
Kicheche Walking Wilderness

Kicheche Fly Camp

Kicheche Walking Wilderness Fly Camp is a temporaray dome tent camp set up for participants in Kicheche's two-day walking safari between Kicheche Valley and Kicheche Bush Camp.


93% (6 reviews)
Basecamp Eagle View

Basecamp Eagle View

Basecamp Eagle View is a community-focused safari camp in the Naboisho Conservancy, with a strong emphasis on responsible tourism and a spectacular location.


100% (6 reviews)
Cottars 1920s Camp

Cottars 1920s Camp

Cottar's 1920s Camp is a classic, luxury tented camp with a 1920s safari theme, located in its own conservancy on the southeast border of the Maasai Mara National Reserve.


92% (5 reviews)
Basecamp Leopard Hill

Basecamp Leopard Hill

With six beautiful tents, Basecamp Leopard Hill is a smart safari camp in the Naboisho Conservancy in the Maasai Mara ecosystem.


100% (4 reviews)
Offbeat Ndoto

Offbeat Ndoto

Small and intimate, Offbeat Mara is set in a valley above the (often dry) Olare Orok River within the Mara North Conservancy.


100% (4 reviews)
Karen Blixen Camp

Karen Blixen Camp

Karen Blixen Camp sits on a meander of the Mara River in the Mara North Conservancy, just beyond the northern boundary of the Maasai Mara National Reserve.


90% (4 reviews)
Leleshwa

Leleshwa

Leleshwa was a delightful, boutique safari camp on the picturesque banks of a tributary of the Talek, with an extensive, little visited game area on its doorstep.


90% (2 reviews)
Basecamp Wilderness Camp

Basecamp Wilderness

Basecamp Wilderness Camp is a simple, traditional tented camp, set in a remote valley in the Naboisho Conservancy in the Mara ecoystem.


100% (1 review)
Mara Nyika

Mara Nyika

Mara Nyika is one of the newer additions to the Naboisho Conservancy and offers a luxurious and exclusive safari.


100% (1 review)
Saruni Mara

Saruni Mara

Saruni Mara is a luxurious permanent lodge, on the remote northern edge of the Mara North Conservancy, with stunning views, good guiding and very private and comfortable rooms.


80% (1 review)
Mahali Mzuri

Mahali Mzuri

Mahali Mzuri is a strikingly modern tented camp in the Virgin Limited Edition group, in a remote part of the Mara ecosytem's Olare Motorogi Conservancy. It has lovely views and all the luxuries of a five-star hotel.


100% (1 review)
Mara Bushtops

Mara Bushtops

Mara Bushtops is a luxury safari hotel on a private concession, outside the Maasai Mara National Reserve, with the emphasis on comfort, relaxation and good food and wine.


No reviews yet
Cottars Private House

Cottars Private House

Cottar's Private House is one of the few truly luxurious, modern private houses in the Mara ecosystem, spoiling its guests with first-rate staff, a swimming pool and wonderful views.


No reviews yet
Entumoto

Entumoto

Entumoto is a high-end tented camp, with a swimming pool, situated in a very pretty location on the east side of the Maasai Mara ecosystem.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa