This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Kicheche Valley
Kicheche Valley
Kicheche Valley
Kicheche Valley
Kicheche Valley
Kicheche Valley

Reviews of Kicheche Valley

Wildlife sightings and reviews

18 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Kicheche Valley and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jan-2019, 11 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Kicheche Valley.
Lion

100% success

Leopard

70% success

Cheetah

91% success

Wild dog

0% success

Eland

100% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Spotted Hyena

100% success

Wildebeest

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Buffalo

91% success

Striped Hyena

18% success

Pangolin

11% success

Aardvark

9% success

Black Rhino

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 18
Duration
Arrival date
Dr W & Dr D
Leeds

"Kicheche Valley Camp - our first visit"

4 nights Arrived 14 Feb 2020
"This was our first visit to Valley Camp and we were not disappointed. The tents were large with a beautiful view across the valley. As with all Kicheche camps, the service and food were excellent.

We enjoyed the night drive which doesn't happen at the other camps." See all these reviews: 15n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

2 sightings

Cheetah

10 sightings

Eland

10 sightings

Elephant

4 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

2 sightings

Lion

10 sightings

Spotted Hyena

10 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr M.
Montreal

"Kicheche Valley Camp"

3 nights Arrived 24 Jan 2020
"I had an excellent Safari experience at the Valley Camp. The facilities are great and the camp staff were very friendly and helpful. The game drives were very productive with a good variety of sightings including very interesting Leopard, Cheetah and Lion sightings." See all these reviews: 11n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs LN
London

" Lovely Kicheche Valley"

3 nights Arrived 9 Jan 2020
"The Mara was suffering from unseasonable rain which meant the plains animals were plentiful in Naibosho. This meant the grass was short which made spotting animals easier. In the Valley the roar of lions, cries of hyenas and other small animals were heard most nights not to mention the thundering footsteps of a herd of zebra stampeding through. Wonderful!

The camp is unfenced so you are escorted by guards in the evening and early morning. One of the guards found a lion dozing between two of the tents on his early rounds and encouraged him to leave!

The camp tents have recently been replaced. We thought the tents were lovely although there are a few finishing touches that are still going on. A lot of the tents have hyrax in and around them which are entertaining.

Our driver, Benjy, was a knowledgeable, kind guide and a great driver. He was aware of where to place the vehicle for the best photographs. The morning drive began early and usually lasted until 11-12 The evening drive began at 3:30 and back at camp by 7.

Coffee/tea/snacks were provided for pre-drive. Packed breakfast was tasty and varied. Lunch and evening meals were served with all guests at a shared, hosted table. For lunch there was usually a served first course, a delicious salad buffet and then dessert. Dinner was a 3 course plated meal with no choice unless you were a vegetarian or had special requirements. The evening food was tasty but not refined and it would not take much to change this.

We did not take part in any of any of the other activities. We know others enjoyed the walk. The night game drive takes place after dinner which is unusual in our experience and a great idea but ours was, unfortunately, rained off.

The staff were lovely and went our of their way to help with any problems and questions. Andy was a wonderful host.

There was a mix of people: honeymooners, visitors who were new to safaris, experienced travellers, solo travellers and returning clients

We would gladly return!" See all these reviews: 13n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

4 sightings

Cheetah

4 sightings

Eland

10 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

10 sightings

Spotted Hyena

10 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Sandra
Ottawa

"Kicheche Valley Camp Review"

3 nights Arrived 9 Nov 2019
"We found Interim Manager to be rather brusk with the staff which made us very uncomfortable. Otherwise, our stay was very pleasant. During the last few days, however, our bathroom had a sewage smell.

We would suggest solar lights are placed along the path to the camp from the road." See all these reviews: 12n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Cheetah

2 sightings

Eland

2 sightings

Elephant

5 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

2 sightings

Lion

5 sightings

Spotted Hyena

4 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

The Hs
Edmonton

"Valley Camp "

3 nights Arrived 9 Nov 2019
"The Valley Camp was amazing!

We could not believe how close we were to the wildlife! We did a night drive and only went a short distance when we first saw a cheetah ... and then a lion ... and then a giraffe and aardvark and bush babies -- it was amazing! All of our drives were exciting and we saw so many animals!

One of our most exciting experiences happened at the camp, when the Maasai guides all came together and performed a traditional song and song in honour of my husband's birthday -- we were so honoured!" See all these reviews: 12n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Aardvark

1 sighting

Buffalo

5 sightings

Cheetah

2 sightings

Eland

4 sightings

Elephant

8 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

5 sightings

Leopard

3 sightings

Lion

5 sightings

Pangolin

1 sighting

Spotted Hyena

5 sightings

Striped Hyena

1 sighting

Wildebeest

4 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr S & Ms B
UK

"Another great Kicheche camp"

4 nights Arrived 12 Sep 2019
"Kicheche Valley has a good view over a valley with wildebeest, giraffe etc. walking through. The tents are very comfortable and well spaced. The camp was well-managed and run and the staff appeared to be well trained. In terms of front-of-house staff, Joyce and Maurice were very friendly and efficient and provided a very personal service.

The main focus of the camp remains on the wildlife viewing, with daily bush breakfasts, allowing us to stay out longer in the morning. Our guide, Bernard, was excellent and very knowledgeable about the wildlife and about positioning the vehicle for best views and best photographic opportunities. He seemed to know how close different species of mammal and bird would tolerate the vehicle. In addition, he paid attention to our interests. We like Kicheche vehicles as they are very open, it is possible to stand up in them and they are equipped with beanbags.

The food was excellent and we were very impressed with how they catered for our complex dietary needs.

We really enjoyed our stay at Kicheche Valley." See all these reviews: 11n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

10 sightings

Cheetah

4 sightings

Eland

6 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

4 sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

6 sightings

Spotted Hyena

10 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Tony
Bangkok

"Safari resort in raw and remote conservancy"

2 nights Arrived 5 Sep 2019
"Kicheche Valley camp is beautifully appointed, spacious, and in many respects could be described more as a 'safari resort' than a 'camp'. Tents are modern and roomy, the central camp area thoughtfully appointed and aesthetically pleasing, but the stand out feature of the camp is the view over the valley from the elevated location of the camp high on the hillside. The camp is secluded and small (as are all the Kicheche camps), but the location is what really makes guests feel as if they are alone in this one small part of Africa. Perhaps the most unique feature of this camp is the acoustics of the valley - the roar of lions and the cackling of hyena are amplified by the topography and can make for something of an 'exciting' night. During our stay, a wildebeest was taken down by a clan of hyena shortly before dawn, perhaps 200m from our tent down in the valley, but in the quiet of the night, with cries echoing off the hillsides, it sounded as if the kill took place literally right beyond the netting outside our tent.

Whilst food, service and accommodation were all of a high standard, it was the first class guiding that made our stay here so memorable. We witnessed some of our most unique wildlife experiences ever here in Naboisho conservancy, all thanks to the knowledge and passion of our guide, Mika Kaleku. Mika not only possesses the exhaustive knowledge of the local flora and fauna that is the hallmark of Kenya's top guides, but he is also a well-educated naturalist and conservationist with a fascinating depth of perspective and understanding of the issues affecting the Mara ecosystem today - something he enthusiastically shared with us during our two days with him. As someone who asks a lot of detailed questions, I found his obvious intelligence and the structured nature of his thought and communication to be particularly engaging - something helped by his high level of English fluency and unusually comprehensive formal education, as well as years of practical experience. With Mika, observing the social interactions within a herd of impala one afternoon was every bit as fascinating as watching a cheetah stalk her prey the next morning. Whilst the predator density in Naboisho doesn't appear to be as high as in neighouring Olare Motorogi, I would say that it was here with Mika that we found the most authentic natural experiences of our whole stay across three camps in the Mara region - and for the most part, we had them completely to ourselves." See all these reviews: 8n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

3 sightings

Cheetah

4 sightings

Eland

1 sighting

Elephant

4 sightings

Giraffe

4 sightings

Hippo

4 sightings

Lion

2 sightings

Spotted Hyena

6 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Pandc
Evesham

"What a fantastic camp!"

2 nights Arrived 29 Aug 2019
"What a lovely camp! Very special. Amazing location, luxurious tents, amazing hospitality, great guiding and excellent wildlife.

Although we found the 3 course meals a bit excessive they were very nice. The bush breakfasts were the best we’d had.

The view from our tent was so good we could have stayed there all day! We both had massage treatments which were excellent and very welcome after 5 days Safari. Naboisho is a great conservancy. Wildlife was easy to see and find and we had some great encounters, including leopard viewing in sight of our tent. We spent a lot of time watching lions which was amazing. The night game drive was the low point with very little to see and quite a lot of light pollution from the villages.

We would certainly stay at a Kicheche camp again." See all these reviews: 7n in Mozambique; 7n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Cheetah

4 sightings

Elephant

4 sightings

Giraffe

3 sightings

Hippo

3 sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

4 sightings

Spotted Hyena

4 sightings

Wildebeest

6 sightings

Zebra

6 sightings

Mr & Mrs M
Weymouth

"Great location, good views of game from camp"

3 nights Arrived 24 Jul 2019
"Great location with game coming into the camp at night.

Our guide Johnson wore Masai traditional dress and was very knowledgeable where to find the wildlife and the highlight was to see a pair of lions mating every 10 minutes or so, they keep this up for several days!!!

On our last night Marietta and Brandon arrange a private dinner outside our tent to celebrate Janet's birthday - a very nice gesture from the camp." See all these reviews: 17n in Kenya; 9n in Zimbabwe; 6n in Tanzania; 5n in Botswana; 5n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

10 sightings

Cheetah

2 sightings

Eland

6 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

7 sightings

Lion

10 sightings

Spotted Hyena

10 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr F & Mrs B
Preston

"Kicheche Valley The Experience of a Lifetime"

3 nights Arrived 22 Jan 2019
"What a fantastic location with great views from the tent and mess tent. The food was restaurant quality and we all loved every meal. Our grandson Toby is gluten free and vegetarian and they coped easily with this and made the food really tasty for him. We visited back of house and saw the kitchens etc and we could see the care they were taking with any eating allergies etc. Very impressive.

The quality of the game drives and knowledge of the guide was absolutely first class.

What a holiday and a wonderful camp with impeccable service. We wholeheartedly recommend Kicheche Valley" See all these reviews: 7n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

10 sightings

Cheetah

5 sightings

Eland

10 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

2 sightings

Lion

10 sightings

Spotted Hyena

3 sightings

Striped Hyena

10 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Showing 1-10 of 18
96%
18 reviews of Kicheche Valley by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
14
4
0
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Kenya

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Kenya.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Maasai Mara Conservancies

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Naboisho Camp

Naboisho Camp

Naboisho Camp is one of the most luxurious of the handful of camps in the Naboisho Conservancy. It offers day and night game drives, game walks and full creature comforts in the bush.


98% (41 reviews)
Kicheche Mara

Kicheche Mara

Kicheche Mara Camp has just eight tents and a rustic and comfortable feel. It is set by a stream in a pretty area of the Mara ecosystem's Mara North Conservancy.


98% (39 reviews)
Kicheche Bush Camp

Kicheche Bush Camp

Kicheche Bush Camp is a smart and intimate tented camp with a relaxed atmosphere and the perfect base in the Mara for keen photographers.


99% (38 reviews)
Offbeat Mara

Offbeat Mara

Offbeat Mara is a small traditional camp that appeals to safari traditionalists, located in one of the Maasai Mara’s quiet conservancies.


97% (28 reviews)
Encounter Mara

Encounter Mara

Encounter Mara is located in the private Naboisho Conservancy – a game-rich area of the Mara ecosystem – and offers a contemporary take on the traditional, low-impact luxury safari camp.


95% (11 reviews)
Serian

Serian

Serian is a luxury tented camp on the east bank of the Mara River in the Mara North Conservancy. It is the sister camp of Ngare Serian, on the west bank.


98% (10 reviews)
Mara Plains Camp

Mara Plains Camp

Mara Plains is one of the very best camps in the Mara ecosystem. Located in the Olare Motorogi Conservancy, just outside the Mara reserve, it has access to three wildlife-viewing areas.


100% (10 reviews)
Elephant Pepper Camp

Elephant Pepper Camp

Elephant Pepper Camp is a small 10-tent bush camp, put together in the traditional "campaign" style, and including a large honeymoon/family tent.


98% (8 reviews)
Porini Lion Camp

Porini Lion Camp

Porini Lion Camp is a pioneering, community focused eco-camp, with excellent guides and game viewing, in the predator-rich, Olare Motorogi Conservancy.


83% (8 reviews)
Ol Kinyei Adventure Camp

Ol Kinyei Adventure

Ol Kinyei Adventure Camp is a satelllite of the larger Porini Mara Camp. Both of them are located in the Maasai-owned Ol Kinyei conservancy, the oldest community conservancy in the Maasai Mara ecosystem.


97% (7 reviews)
Porini Mara Camp

Porini Mara Camp

Porini Mara Camp is a small, pioneering eco-camp in the first private conservancy in the Mara region, with comfortable accommodation and a range of activities.


96% (5 reviews)
Cottars 1920s Camp

Cottars 1920s Camp

Cottar's 1920s Camp is a classic, luxury tented camp with a 1920s safari theme, located in its own conservancy on the southeast border of the Maasai Mara National Reserve.


92% (5 reviews)
Ngare Serian

Ngare Serian

The luxurious Ngare Serian and its sister camp Serian face each other across the Mara River on the western side of the Mara North Conservancy


96% (5 reviews)
Karen Blixen Camp

Karen Blixen Camp

Karen Blixen Camp sits on a meander of the Mara River in the Mara North Conservancy, just beyond the northern boundary of the Maasai Mara National Reserve.


90% (4 reviews)
Basecamp Eagle View

Basecamp Eagle View

Basecamp Eagle View is a community-focused safari camp in the Naboisho Conservancy, with a strong emphasis on responsible tourism and a spectacular location.


100% (4 reviews)
Hemingways Ol Seki Mara

Hemingways Ol Seki

Magnificently located tented lodge on a bluff looking south across the Naboisho Conservancy toward the Maasai Mara National Reserve.


93% (3 reviews)
Saruni Wild

Saruni Wild

Saruni Wild is a rustic and traditional safari camp in the Lemek Conservancy, with just three tents and limited electricity.


93% (3 reviews)
Leleshwa

Leleshwa

Leleshwa was a delightful, boutique safari camp on the picturesque banks of a tributary of the Talek, with an extensive, little visited game area on its doorstep.


90% (2 reviews)
Mara Toto

Mara Toto

Mara Toto is a small luxury camp due to open in 2019.


100% (1 review)
Basecamp Wilderness Camp

Basecamp Wilderness

Basecamp Wilderness Camp is a simple, traditional tented camp, set in a remote valley in the Naboisho Conservancy in the Mara ecoystem.


100% (1 review)
Kicheche Walking Wilderness

Kicheche Fly Camp

Kicheche Walking Wilderness Fly Camp is a temporaray dome tent camp set up for participants in Kicheche's two-day walking safari between Kicheche Valley and Kicheche Bush Camp.


100% (1 review)
Saruni Mara

Saruni Mara

Saruni Mara is a luxurious permanent lodge, on the remote northern edge of the Mara North Conservancy, with stunning views, good guiding and very private and comfortable rooms.


80% (1 review)
Basecamp Leopard Hill

Basecamp Leopard Hill

With six beautiful tents, Basecamp Leopard Hill is a smart safari camp in the Naboisho Conservancy in the Maasai Mara ecosystem.


100% (1 review)
Mahali Mzuri

Mahali Mzuri

Mahali Mzuri is a strikingly modern tented camp in the Virgin Limited Edition group, in a remote part of the Mara ecosytem's Olare Motorogi Conservancy. It has lovely views and all the luxuries of a five-star hotel.


100% (1 review)
Mara Bushtops

Mara Bushtops

Mara Bushtops is a luxury safari hotel on a private concession, outside the Maasai Mara National Reserve, with the emphasis on comfort, relaxation and good food and wine.


No reviews yet
Cottars Private House

Cottars Private House

Cottar's Private House is one of the few truly luxurious, modern private houses in the Mara ecosystem, spoiling its guests with first-rate staff, a swimming pool and wonderful views.


No reviews yet
Entumoto

Entumoto

Entumoto is a high-end tented camp, with a swimming pool, situated in a very pretty location on the east side of the Maasai Mara ecosystem.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa