This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Kicheche Valley
Kicheche Valley
Kicheche Valley
Kicheche Valley
Kicheche Valley
Kicheche Valley
Kicheche Valley

Reviews of Kicheche Valley

Wildlife sightings and reviews

27 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Kicheche Valley and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jan-2019, 19 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Kicheche Valley.
Lion

100% success

Leopard

78% success

Cheetah

94% success

Wild dog

7% success

Eland

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Spotted Hyena

100% success

Wildebeest

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Buffalo

95% success

Elephant

94% success

Aardvark

13% success

Striped Hyena

13% success

Black Rhino

13% success

Pangolin

8% success

Showing 1-10 of 27
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs B
Belfast

"Kicheche Valley review"

3 nights Arrived 26 Feb 2022
"This was our first time to the Valley camp although not to the Naboisho conservancy which we visited in 2014. The raised tents on wooden platforms are probably the most luxurious of the three Kicheche camps in the Mara. The beds are extremely comfortable with lovely views overlooking the valley. As with the other camps there are solar powered showers which provide ample hot water.

Minnie, the camp manager, along with Maurice, Joyce and the rest of her team made our three night stay very enjoyable indeed. The food was excellent, picnic breakfast, buffet lunch and then a more formal sit down dinner in the evening, the same as the other camps. Nothing was too much trouble and a special word of thanks to Minnie for assisting with the production of the Passenger Locator Forms which we required before returning to the UK. This was much appreciated and emphasised the need for internet access in order to complete the Covid formalities currently required by the UK.

Our guide for the three nights was Bernard, along with Stella who was training as a guide. Bernard proved very adept at finding the animals, including a leopard on the first evening and a pride of some dozen plus lionesses and cubs crossing over the river into the next conservancy. In addition he managed to find bat-eared foxes which we had never seen and two separate sightings of a male and female serval cat which was the icing on the cake. A lovely way to finish off our trip." See all these reviews: 11n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

1 sighting

Eland

3 sightings

Elephant

2 sightings

Giraffe

3 sightings

Leopard

2 sightings

Lion

3 sightings

Spotted Hyena

2 sightings

Wildebeest

1 sighting

Zebra

3 sightings

Ms. N
Montana

"Kicheche Valley review"

4 nights Arrived 21 Feb 2022
"Oh my, how shall I begin? Right after picking me up at the airport, we spotted lions.... Bernard had me open the door and lie on the floor of truck to take a low picture.... he really knows how to help a person with photo taking. He is the very first guide to assist me in such a way. The female guide, intern, Stella was a delight to have in the car. Every time that we ventured out, we saw many animals and many birds and created a long list of new birds. We saw baby hyenas and watched leopards maneuver their baby wildebeest carcass around the tree branches. I could not have asked for more sightings!! We even saw the Verreaux owl one night and then again, two owls talking to one another. This is the most game I have seen on any of my trips and I shall return. This camp also supports the surrounding community and students. I visited with Hudson, who is the liaison between the community and the camps. He is so articulate and is so caring. It was a pleasure to meet with him and learn about the foundation. Thank you.
I appreciate the robes, the flashlights and the yoga mat in the room. After being in the truck all day, it feels good to stretch and help my old bones recuperate.
The only reason I did not see the ellies at this camp is because we were staying in the areas to see the leopards and the cheetahs and lions and hyenas." See all these reviews: 11n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

Multiple sightings

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Cheetah

Multiple sightings

Eland

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Leopard

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

Wild dog

1 sighting

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Steve H
Leeds

"Kicheche Valley review"

3 nights Arrived 5 Feb 2022
"Due to heavy evening thunderstorms, the trek and fly camping expedition was cancelled and I transferred to Kicheche Valley Camp one night early. The transfer arrangements were, as always, very smooth and efficient.

With typical Kicheche attention to detail, on arrival Relief Camp Manager Rachel told me that she had assigned a special tent for me. Knowing of my passion for birds, I was shown to tent 2 ("Are" in Maa) where African Paradise Flycatchers were nesting alongside the decking of my tent. What a generous and thoughtful gesture - and what beautiful birds!

The wildlife was as good as ever, and Mica was a skilful and expert driver/guide. Sightings included 2 Small Spotted Genets sleeping together in daytime hideout and a Serval. Catering and hosting again superb as always." See all these reviews: 10n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

10 sightings

Cheetah

3 sightings

Eland

10 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

Multiple sightings

Lion

10 sightings

Spotted Hyena

10 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr V
Texas

"Kicheche Valley review"

1 night Arrived 30 Jan 2022
"Until this trip, Kicheche Valley was the only Kicheche property with which we were not familiar. This was also our first experience in the Naboisho Conservancy. Due to some late-occurring changes to our itinerary necessitated by airline schedule changes and revised COVID testing regulations, we had to extend our trip, which led to our adding a single night at Valley before returning to Nairobi. How I wish we could have had more time here!

Valley is the most posh of the Kicheche camps, but, still, it’s not over-the-top luxurious (which would not have been to our taste). To our delight, guest-manager Rachel (whom we had befriended at another camp on a previous trip) was at the helm, and she provided a generous and gracious welcome to all visitors in camp. At our request, she arranged for a quiet tent-side dinner for us on our last night in the bush.

Fortunately, Valley still has that Kicheche vibe that emphasizes wildlife viewing. And what viewing we had in our 24 hours here: a magnificent male leopard on our drive in; an afternoon drive with a pride of 18 lions and a celebrated female cheetah with 5 approximately one-month old cubs engaging in all sorts of antics; and a last morning drive with a lioness and 2 tiny cubs, a den of bat-eared foxes, and then, to cap it all off, the aforesaid celebrated cheetah mother embarking on a successful gazelle kill to keep her young family alive for one more day.

Our guide, Bernard, was very engaging and did a superlative job of positioning our vehicle for optimal photographic opportunities. We definitely would like to return to Kicheche Valley in the future for a longer stay." See all these reviews: 17n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

1 sighting

Cheetah

Multiple sightings

Eland

1 sighting

Giraffe

1 sighting

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Lucy & Richard
London

"Big cats and more"

3 nights Arrived 13 Jan 2022
"This lodge is untraditionally furnished - all pale furniture and floors, public space a bit limited, but very comfortable.

I was struck, as I was elsewhere on this (just) post-Covid trip, by just how calm and pragmatic and sensible everyone working in the camp was and how pleased they were to see us after a couple of hard years - it was a great relief and comfort coming from Europe. Minnie in particular who managed it had a lovely sense of humour as well and that filtered down to the staff.

Food, as elsewhere on this trip was excellent.

Guiding was really good - Kicheche is at the junction of three different prides' territories and one dominant male lion had been taken down by rivals from another pride the night before we arrived and the fallout 'politics' were really interesting. This is spectacular big cat territory - lots of sightings of leopards and cheetahs as well as dozens of lions - including many cubs of different ages - and the guide knew where to find them.

We also saw (practically) every sort of gazelle, elephants, hippos, birds, hyenas, sunsets, sunrises. The land was parched after a long drought, and it began to rain on our last day which didn't diminish the game drive - they provided huge lined cagoules and by the following morning green shoots were appearing." See all these reviews: 14n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

1 sighting

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Cheetah

Multiple sightings

Eland

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Leopard

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Ms D
Ireland

"Kicheche Valley review, my favourite camp on this trip "

5 nights Arrived 31 Dec 2021
"A very pleasant and professional welcome by Manager Minnie! Joyce as front of house is a joy. The tents are very spacious and comfortable. I loved the location of the camp with permanent wildlife around it.

What really made my experience memorable at Kicheche Valley was the outstanding guiding by Mika. Extremely knowledgeable, he listens and observes every details in the bush and proves to be very skillful at spotting all sorts of wildlife. He is modest when saying he can identify "a few birds", I would call him an expert!

Having our bush breakfasts in the vehicle while observing a cheetah and her 2 cubs was delightful.

I thoroughly enjoyed every minute of my stay!" See all these reviews: 13n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Cheetah

6 sightings

Eland

10 sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

10 sightings

Spotted Hyena

10 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Miss G.
Newark

"Kicheche Valley review"

3 nights Arrived 28 Dec 2021
"We had an amazing time at KV. We received a lovely welcome from Minnie and her team who are extremely friendly, accommodating and attentive. It was nice to have female staff in the camp. Minnie was always on hand to help with any questions and went the extra mile and helped us book our Covid tests in Nairobi.

Its very exciting that the camp is totally unfenced and one night a giraffe was killed by a pride of lion within sight of our tent.

The room was very spacious, clean and comfortable.

The food was good and plentiful and it was nice to eat looking out over the valley. The portable fires were a nice touch.

As we have come to expect at a Kicheche camp the drives were top notch and the guide was excellent. Bernard was extremely knowledgeable, easy to spend time with and was very considerate and tried really hard to make sure we saw the animals we wanted. He was very reassuring when the animals got close and was conscious to make sure everyone felt safe and comfortable. Its nice that he was from the local area and was happy to share his life experiences. Bernard is a great photographer and gave us some good tips.

The night drive was excellent with a lovely clear sky and very bright stars. Within the space of half an hr we saw lions eating a kill, bush babies and an AARDVARK! It has been wishfully put on our 'to see list' but we didn't really expect it to happen (neither did Bernard). It was a great experience and we got to spend quite a bit of time following him as he went about his evening forage.

The bush walk was surreal when you consider what animals could be lurking nearby. We felt very safe with Bernard and the ranger and thoroughly enjoyed seeing things that might be missed from a jeep.

The trip to the local village was a very interesting experience and it was very nice to be able to buy a few of the handmade gifts. Mark who showed us around his village was very friendly and let us have a go to try to make fire. It was a lot harder than it looks. There was no hard selling and all the price negotiation was done through Mark.

We would 1000% return to KV." See all these reviews: 11n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Aardvark

1 sighting

Buffalo

7 sightings

Cheetah

5 sightings

Eland

10 sightings

Elephant

7 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

6 sightings

Lion

10 sightings

Spotted Hyena

10 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Lola
Montreal

"Kicheche Valley review"

4 nights Arrived 10 Nov 2021
"Fabulous camp in Naboisho, which for me is the most beautiful of the 3 conservancies I regularly visit.

Game is not always as prolific as with Olare and Mara North, but we had great cheetah sightings, good lion and some wonderful elegies at sunset, so no complaints.

The conservancy was in dire need of rain." See all these reviews: 12n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Cheetah

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Ms H
Maida Vale

"Kicheche Valley review"

25 nights Arrived 23 Feb 2021
"Another wonderful camp from the Kicheche family. Fabulous staff who couldn’t do enough for me. Great wildlife sightings including from the deck of my room." See all these reviews: 56n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Dr W & Dr D
Leeds

"Kicheche Valley Camp - our first visit"

4 nights Arrived 14 Feb 2020
"This was our first visit to Valley Camp and we were not disappointed. The tents were large with a beautiful view across the valley. As with all Kicheche camps, the service and food were excellent.

We enjoyed the night drive which doesn't happen at the other camps." See all these reviews: 15n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

2 sightings

Cheetah

10 sightings

Eland

10 sightings

Elephant

4 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

2 sightings

Lion

10 sightings

Spotted Hyena

10 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Showing 1-10 of 27
97%
27 reviews of Kicheche Valley by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
23
4
0
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Kenya

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Kenya.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Maasai Mara Conservancies

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Kicheche Bush Camp

Kicheche Bush Camp

Kicheche Bush Camp is a smart and intimate tented camp with a relaxed atmosphere and the perfect base in the Mara for keen photographers.


100% (52 reviews)
Kicheche Mara

Kicheche Mara

Kicheche Mara Camp has just eight tents and a rustic and comfortable feel. It is set by a stream in a pretty area of the Mara ecosystem's Mara North Conservancy.


99% (48 reviews)
Naboisho Camp

Naboisho Camp

Naboisho Camp is one of the most luxurious of the handful of camps in the Naboisho Conservancy. It offers day and night game drives, game walks and full creature comforts in the bush.


98% (43 reviews)
Offbeat Mara

Offbeat Mara

Offbeat Mara is a small traditional camp that appeals to safari traditionalists, located in one of the Maasai Mara’s quiet conservancies.


98% (35 reviews)
Mara Plains Camp

Mara Plains Camp

Mara Plains is one of the very best camps in the Mara ecosystem. Located in the Olare Motorogi Conservancy, just outside the Mara reserve, it has access to three wildlife-viewing areas.


100% (12 reviews)
Encounter Mara

Encounter Mara

Encounter Mara is located in the private Naboisho Conservancy – a game-rich area of the Mara ecosystem – and offers a contemporary take on the traditional, low-impact luxury safari camp.


92% (12 reviews)
Serian

Serian

Serian is a luxury tented camp on the east bank of the Mara River in the Mara North Conservancy. It is the sister camp of Ngare Serian, on the west bank.


98% (10 reviews)
Elephant Pepper Camp

Elephant Pepper Camp

Elephant Pepper Camp is a small 10-tent bush camp, put together in the traditional "campaign" style, and including a large honeymoon/family tent.


98% (10 reviews)
Porini Lion Camp

Porini Lion Camp

Porini Lion Camp is a pioneering, community focused eco-camp, with excellent guides and game viewing, in the predator-rich, Olare Motorogi Conservancy.


83% (8 reviews)
Ol Kinyei Adventure Camp

Ol Kinyei Adventure

Ol Kinyei Adventure Camp is a satelllite of the larger Porini Mara Camp. Both of them are located in the Maasai-owned Ol Kinyei conservancy, the oldest community conservancy in the Maasai Mara ecosystem.


97% (7 reviews)
Ngare Serian

Ngare Serian

The luxurious Ngare Serian and its sister camp Serian face each other across the Mara River on the western side of the Mara North Conservancy


97% (6 reviews)
Porini Mara Camp

Porini Mara Camp

Porini Mara Camp is a small, pioneering eco-camp in the first private conservancy in the Mara region, with comfortable accommodation and a range of activities.


96% (5 reviews)
Basecamp Eagle View

Basecamp Eagle View

Basecamp Eagle View is a community-focused safari camp in the Naboisho Conservancy, with a strong emphasis on responsible tourism and a spectacular location.


100% (5 reviews)
Cottars 1920s Camp

Cottars 1920s Camp

Cottar's 1920s Camp is a classic, luxury tented camp with a 1920s safari theme, located in its own conservancy on the southeast border of the Maasai Mara National Reserve.


92% (5 reviews)
Karen Blixen Camp

Karen Blixen Camp

Karen Blixen Camp sits on a meander of the Mara River in the Mara North Conservancy, just beyond the northern boundary of the Maasai Mara National Reserve.


90% (4 reviews)
Hemingways Ol Seki Mara

Hemingways Ol Seki

Magnificently located tented lodge on a bluff looking south across the Naboisho Conservancy toward the Maasai Mara National Reserve.


90% (4 reviews)
Saruni Wild

Saruni Wild

Saruni Wild is a rustic and traditional safari camp in the Lemek Conservancy, with just three tents and limited electricity.


95% (4 reviews)
Kicheche Walking Wilderness

Kicheche Fly Camp

Kicheche Walking Wilderness Fly Camp is a temporaray dome tent camp set up for participants in Kicheche's two-day walking safari between Kicheche Valley and Kicheche Bush Camp.


100% (3 reviews)
Leleshwa

Leleshwa

Leleshwa was a delightful, boutique safari camp on the picturesque banks of a tributary of the Talek, with an extensive, little visited game area on its doorstep.


90% (2 reviews)
Offbeat Ndoto

Offbeat Ndoto

Small and intimate, Offbeat Mara is set in a valley above the (often dry) Olare Orok River within the Mara North Conservancy.


100% (2 reviews)
Basecamp Leopard Hill

Basecamp Leopard Hill

With six beautiful tents, Basecamp Leopard Hill is a smart safari camp in the Naboisho Conservancy in the Maasai Mara ecosystem.


100% (2 reviews)
Mahali Mzuri

Mahali Mzuri

Mahali Mzuri is a strikingly modern tented camp in the Virgin Limited Edition group, in a remote part of the Mara ecosytem's Olare Motorogi Conservancy. It has lovely views and all the luxuries of a five-star hotel.


100% (1 review)
Saruni Mara

Saruni Mara

Saruni Mara is a luxurious permanent lodge, on the remote northern edge of the Mara North Conservancy, with stunning views, good guiding and very private and comfortable rooms.


80% (1 review)
Basecamp Wilderness Camp

Basecamp Wilderness

Basecamp Wilderness Camp is a simple, traditional tented camp, set in a remote valley in the Naboisho Conservancy in the Mara ecoystem.


100% (1 review)
Mara Bushtops

Mara Bushtops

Mara Bushtops is a luxury safari hotel on a private concession, outside the Maasai Mara National Reserve, with the emphasis on comfort, relaxation and good food and wine.


No reviews yet
Cottars Private House

Cottars Private House

Cottar's Private House is one of the few truly luxurious, modern private houses in the Mara ecosystem, spoiling its guests with first-rate staff, a swimming pool and wonderful views.


No reviews yet
Entumoto

Entumoto

Entumoto is a high-end tented camp, with a swimming pool, situated in a very pretty location on the east side of the Maasai Mara ecosystem.


No reviews yet
Mara Nyika

Mara Nyika

Mara Nyika is one of the newer additions to the Naboisho Conservancy and offers a luxurious and exclusive safari.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa