This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr & Mrs E from Norfolk

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

3

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

9

Excursions taken

0

Very good.

Kenya between 23 Jan 2020 and 3 Feb 2020

Trip rating: Excellent
"Excellent within the constraints set by the weather.

We maximised our drives at both camps though at Little Governors we were severely restricted and at no point after the initial arrival were we able to cross the river."

Feedback response

These travellers arrived in Kenya in early 2019 after weeks of unprecedented, unseasonable weather, and intermittent heavy rains continued during their stay in the Maasai Mara. The Mara River, where it flows through the northern part of the ecosystem, could not be crossed at all, and many culverts in the reserve were damaged, putting access roads out of commission.

Arranged By Richard Trillo


Four Points by Sheraton

Four Points by Sheraton

"Four Points by Sheraton review"

1 night Arrived 23 Jan 2020
"Very welcoming.
Close to the airport.
Very comfortable rooms and a good variety of food for breakfast."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Elephant Bedroom

Elephant Bedroom

"Very good."

4 nights Arrived 24 Jan 2020
"Our guide / driver, Anthony, was excellent. We have had him before and he is very knowledgeable and empathetic with clients.

The woman serving us throughout, in the restaurant, was Jennifer. We have had her before and she is quite excellent with clients. Efficient and personable.

We felt that the camp itself, under new management, was not quite up to previous visits. For example tents were not wholly cleaned (eg under beds). There wasn't a clear chain of command apparent to us and we had very little interaction with those in charge."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Little Governors' Camp

Little Governors' Camp

"Superb. Treated extremely well."

5 nights Arrived 28 Jan 2020
"George, the manager, did everything possible to ensure our stay was a success.

Our guide, Isaac, who we have known for some time, was excellent and was very empathetic with what we wanted.

Henry who looked after out tent etc. was excellent. He anticipated what we needed often before we knew them ourselves and was always there to help.

Stanley, in charge of our table, was also excellent and was wholly attentive and helpful throughout.

We were extremely limited in our safaris (perhaps 4 miles by 1 mile maximum in terms of area) but the camp maximised our experience.

It was a great team effort.."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Excellent

Kenya between 20 Jan 2018 and 31 Jan 2018

Trip rating: Excellent
"The trip was very good indeed and, for the friends we went with it was an excellent experience for a first visit to Kenya.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

No. It is first class and we wouldn't use any other company to travel to Africa."

Arranged By Richard Trillo


Eka Hotel

Eka Hotel

"Excellent, very comfortable"

1 night Arrived 20 Jan 2018
"Arrived late.

Warm welcome. Quiet room and good breakfast."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Elephant Bedroom

Elephant Bedroom

"Excellent camp"

4 nights Arrived 21 Jan 2018
"Very comfortable tent. Very clean and the plunge pool is a bonus.

Joseph is very good and makes you feel welcome and Anthony (who we had for a second year in a row) is an excellent guide. He tunes in quickly to what the group wants.

Highly recommended."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Little Governors' Camp

Little Governors' Camp

"Wonderful camp."

3 nights Arrived 25 Jan 2018
"We love Little Governors. It has an excellent ambience and is in a great position. The provision of drinking water is excellent.

George is an extremely helpful manager and delivered on everything we asked. Perhaps the real strength of the camp are the staff. We like them all but would single out Moses as an excellent ambassador for Governors. He is excellent.

Isaac was our guide and we had him in 2004. He is an excellent guide and we got on really well with him. He tuned into the group's needs very quickly and we would very highly recommend him.

We really like all of the staff at the camp and they are a real 'selling' point."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Governors' Il Moran Camp

Governors' Il Moran Camp

"Excellent camp but with minor reservations."

2 nights Arrived 28 Jan 2018
"Patrick is great and takes time with all of the guests, He is extremely knowledgeable and spends time with all of the guests,

The tents are excellent and extremely comfortable. As with Little Governors the provision of running drinking water is a significant improvement. The food is very good and the camp is in a good location for getting straight out onto the plains.

We find staff at the camp variable. Jackson as our tent attendant and Elisha in the bar were both excellent ambassadors for the camp but some other staff could be somewhat 'offhand' and distanced from the guests."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good

Excellent trip to Kenya

Kenya between 14 Jan 2016 and 24 Jan 2016

Trip rating: Excellent
"Better than very satisfactory! We love Kenya and have visited many times. This trip was excellent. The camps were well chosen and suited our requirements very well.

Richard Trillo was excellent in planning and arranging this trip. He was thoughtful and proactive."

Arranged By Richard Trillo


Elephant Bedroom

Elephant Bedroom

"Great Samburu Experience"

4 nights Arrived 15 Jan 2016
"Really lovely camp in a good situation within Samburu Reserve. Tented accommodation was excellent, very comfortable and clean. The public areas were large and well furnished, although if the camp was full they might feel less spacious. Food was always plentiful, with a reasonable choice including vegetarian options. On occasion the cooked breakfast could have been hotter. (Served outside from heated containers.)

We were allocated an experienced guide who was knowledgeable about animals and birds. He was flexible and accommodating but sometimes seemed a little distant. The staff in the camp were generally friendly and helpful. Some of the waiting staff seemed to have less English and therefore it was difficult to make a connection.

Elephants came to the camp every evening of our stay. One morning we were unable to leave our tent until staff arrived as we had an elephant next to the deck.

Overall our experience of this camp was a good one and we are already planning a return visit."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Little Governors' Camp

Little Governors' Camp

"Little Governors - heaven!"

4 nights Arrived 19 Jan 2016
"Our first visit to Little Governors Camp after many visits to main Governors. The camp is beautifully situated overlooking a marshy area (no noticeable effect on insect levels) with hippo, elephants, buffalo and game all visiting. There are also many birds on the area. The tents are standard Governors issue, comfortable and clean but not as luxurious as some camps. Public areas include a small lounge area, bar and dining tent. The camp has a really good ambience.

The staff were, without exception, wonderful: friendly, efficient, empathetic and charming.

Food is excellent. We had picnic breakfast which is plentiful and delicious especially breakfast muffins! Lunch is served outdoors overlooking the marsh if weather permits and consists of 3 courses, all difficult to resist.. Dinner is served under cover but the tent has removable sides if the weather is good.

Access to the Masai Mara reserve from Little Governors is by small boat across the Mara River. Unfortunately, our visit coincided with a prolonged rainy spell of weather and the raised river level made crossing difficult and eventually the crossing closed. We spent some time in the Mara Conservancy which was good; we saw lions and rhino with a calf amongst other things. However it could not offer a realistic chance to see leopard or cheetah. Without our prompting the manager arranged for us and our guide to transfer to Il Moran on the other side of the river without extra cost to us. This demonstrated the sensitivity to our needs of the camp manager and we are very grateful to him. Our time spent at Il Moran was equally superb.

Our guide was excellent, amongst the best we have had over many visits to Kenya. He had a thorough knowledge of the wildlife to be seen and understood our needs well. He was also a safe and considerate driver in the difficult conditions.

We loved our time in Little Governors and were sorry to leave such a fantastic camp. We are returning next year."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team