This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Little Governors' Camp
Little Governors' Camp
Little Governors' Camp
Little Governors' Camp
Little Governors' Camp
Little Governors' Camp

Little Governors' Camp


1°16’54.8"S 35°2’19.0"E

Reviews of Little Governors'

Wildlife sightings and reviews

15 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Little Governors' and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 6 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Little Governors'.
Lion

100% success

Leopard

83% success

Cheetah

60% success

Wild dog

0% success

Buffalo

100% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Spotted Hyena

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Eland

80% success

Wildebeest

67% success

Black Rhino

50% success

Striped Hyena

25% success

Aardvark

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 15
Duration
Arrival date
Muz
Colchester

"Little Governors Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 18 Feb 2020
"wonderful location and staff and quite exceptional standard of food. Our balloon trip was brilliant.

Not nearly as much game as we expected but for someone who is a first time safari visitor probably OK.

Our guide, Moses, on our two morning drives almost said nothing. On both mornings he drove for almost an hour without explaining what he was looking for or what we were doing. Gave the impression he didn't want to be bothered talking. Fortunately the amazing scenery made up for his silence. He did a bit more talking in the evening drives when prompted. I think he is tired of the job and I would feel sorry for anyone only visiting this camp for their safari experience and getting Moses.

Altogether a fabulous place to stay. Moses needs a break." See all these reviews: 13n in Kenya; 9n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

10 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

8 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Lion

2 sightings

Spotted Hyena

8 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr & Mrs G
Cambs.

"Smiley, warm and welcoming!"

3 nights Arrived 17 Feb 2020
"This camp is a gem. The location is lovely, but it is the staff who make one's stay so special. Every one of them was cheery and very welcoming.

We really liked the individual dining arrangement, as opposed to communal tables. This system gave us freedom to dine when we wanted (within reason) and the opportunity to enjoy time alone during breakfast and lunch overlooking the scenic marsh. In the evenings we loved having a drink in the bar before moving to the candlelit area for dinner. The menu provided a nice choice and the food was excellent.

Our safari guide, Moses, was very experienced and he provided us with some outstanding Lion and Hyena encounters. However, the spotted cats proved elusive. We were able to get some super photos.

This is one of the best camps we have stayed at during our African travels. It combined very well with our other camp, Karen Blixen." See all these reviews: 6n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Buffalo

6 sightings

Eland

1 sighting

Elephant

7 sightings

Giraffe

6 sightings

Hippo

7 sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

7 sightings

Spotted Hyena

7 sightings

Wildebeest

1 sighting

Zebra

2 sightings

Mr & Mrs E
Norfolk

"Superb. Treated extremely well."

5 nights Arrived 28 Jan 2020
"George, the manager, did everything possible to ensure our stay was a success.

Our guide, Isaac, who we have known for some time, was excellent and was very empathetic with what we wanted.

Henry who looked after out tent etc. was excellent. He anticipated what we needed often before we knew them ourselves and was always there to help.

Stanley, in charge of our table, was also excellent and was wholly attentive and helpful throughout.

We were extremely limited in our safaris (perhaps 4 miles by 1 mile maximum in terms of area) but the camp maximised our experience.

It was a great team effort.." See all these reviews: 10n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

4 sightings

Buffalo

10 sightings

Cheetah

1 sighting

Eland

2 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

9 sightings

Spotted Hyena

6 sightings

Wildebeest

3 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

The lechwes
Lowestoft

"Little Governors Camp review"

5 nights Arrived 28 Jan 2020
"Excellent camp. The situation for George was challenging due to the weather. However he was very keen to ensure that we were well looked after and interested in ensuring that we had a good time." See all these reviews: 10n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

Multiple sightings

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Leopard

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr D
Ilfracombe

"Magical Safari at Little Governors Camp"

3 nights Arrived 7 Aug 2018
"Little Governors was even better than I had anticipated. The little boat crossing to get to the camp is a great start to the experience and when we walked into camp we were blown away with the panoramic view over the marsh which is literally in the camp and where there were hippos wallowing and buffalo wading and grazing. Sat in a directors chair overlooking this marsh baboons also come and go as well as waterbuck and zebra, so you can have a ‘game drive’ from the comfort of camp.

The staff are very attentive and can’t do enough for you, including an armed guard to take you back and forward from your tent at night. This is really important as we had tent 17 and going back to it one night we were less than 20 metres from a huge hippo that was at the side of our tent so I was really glad that Phillip ( and his rifle) was present. It was also comforting at night when you can hear animals rustling up against the tent to know that Philip was stationed at the tree opposite us!

The game drives here are in an excellent location and or driver, Jackson, was outstanding. Although we were only here for 3 days we developed an incredible rapport with him and his knowledge, consideration and skilful driving reinforced the fact that he was an accredited silver guide. He showed us a leopard ( which we hadn’t seen on our previous Safari) as well as a Wildebeest crossing of the Mara river of at least 100,000 animals, which was a once in a lifetime experience. Jackson really is an amazing guide and a credit to Little Governors.

The meals in camp were of a very good standard and to have them with such a wonderful view and attentive staff was a real treat.

The tents are ‘glamping’ of a very high standard, with a fantastic en suite and the hot water bottles at night are a lovely touch as is the insect spray covered in its own Safari jacket, which is incredibly effective at killing the mosquitos such that we were not bitten at all. The wake up call with a hot drink is also a very nice touch.

The only negative point is that the morning game drive starts at 06.30 and you get back in camp after breakfast is finished and so you have to take a packed breakfast with you. Whilst breakfast in the savanna may sound appealing the quality leaves much to be desired. After 1 day the four of us had the vehicle to ourselves and so arranged with Jackson to leave at 7.30 after breakfast in camp, which was much better.

The Maasai Mara is busy in August but the stay at Little Governors is quiet and relaxed with it only having 17 tents. I would recommend this camp to anyone as a base in the Mara and if you get Jackson as well you really will have an unbelievable time." See all these reviews: 9n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

10 sightings

Cheetah

1 sighting

Eland

1 sighting

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

4 sightings

Spotted Hyena

2 sightings

Wildebeest

5 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mrs H
Glasgow

"Highly Recommend this camp"

4 nights Arrived 30 May 2018
"This was the stand out camp on our trip. I could not fault it in any way. As with our previous two camps our guide, Collins, was fantastic.

The abundance of wildlife in the Masai Mara is jaw droppingly spectacular. We spent four days here and enjoyed wonderfully diverse game drives.
The camp itself is beautifully laid out overlooking a watering hole which offers an abundance of wildlife at all times. I actually looked out of my tent at night to see a hippo walking past!

The staff were wonderful and Nicholas, the manager arranged for a doctor to supply medication from an insect bite that had become problematic.
Rooms/tents were spacious, clean and comfortable. Hot water always available.

The food here is absolutely stunning, I would highly recommend a stay." See all these reviews: 9n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

Multiple sightings

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Cheetah

Multiple sightings

Eland

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Leopard

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Striped Hyena

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr & Mrs E
Norfolk

"Wonderful camp."

3 nights Arrived 25 Jan 2018
"We love Little Governors. It has an excellent ambience and is in a great position. The provision of drinking water is excellent.

George is an extremely helpful manager and delivered on everything we asked. Perhaps the real strength of the camp are the staff. We like them all but would single out Moses as an excellent ambassador for Governors. He is excellent.

Isaac was our guide and we had him in 2004. He is an excellent guide and we got on really well with him. He tuned into the group's needs very quickly and we would very highly recommend him.

We really like all of the staff at the camp and they are a real 'selling' point." See all these reviews: 10n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Ms L
London

"Fabulous Safari Experience"

4 nights Arrived 11 Sep 2017
"Absolutely loved every part of this camp, from the boat ride across to the camp, to the wake up call at 6am with tea and coffee delivered to our room, to our expert safari guide, and the beautiful camp as a location. The rooms, and public areas were perfect, and really looked after well. The staff on camp looking after us, including the staff patrolling during the night so that we were safe from any wildlife, were really brilliant - so friendly, attentive and efficient.

The lunches were brilliant, and dinners also really nice. We loved our safari guide too, who found us all the animals we wanted to see and showed a huge amount of expertise and experience at spotting animals.

Couldn't recommend the Little Governors any more!!" See all these reviews: 9n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs BP
Surrey

"Wonderful return to this lovely camp."

3 nights Arrived 28 Aug 2017
"This is our 3rd visit to Little Governors. We first came with the family in 1995 - very little has changed, we loved it then and we love it now. It is a real tented camp in an amazing location right in the heart of the Mara. This position makes for a fantastic safari experience.

The marsh outside the tents is teaming with game. No fences mean the animals frequently come into the camp. Usually warthog and zebra but elephant are never far away and hippo are frequent night visitors.

The tents are well equipped with large comfy beds and excellent hot showers. The electric light is an addition since we first came!

Tables are placed outside in the shade of trees for breakfast and lunch. There is no formality but the food is good and the staff very attentive. The tables are moved under cover for dinner but the sides of the dining tent are open so that you can hear the night sounds. We were well looked after in camp by 2 Stanleys, one was our waiter, the other took care of our tent.

We were collected from the plane by our guide Robert who stayed with us throughout our stay. Initially a little quiet, it soon became obvious that he was a warm and friendly guy and an excellent guide.

Our morning game drive began at 6.30, being in the heart of the Reserve we were seeing game from the moment we left camp. The time of year means an abundance of wildlife. Large numbers of Elephant, Hippo, Giraffe and Buffalo. Vast herds of Wildebeest, Zebra and Antelope providing ample food for Lion, Cheetah and Leopard.

Just a fantastic safari experience and being able to start early meant we had some special moments to ourselves. On our last day Robert took us into the Mara Triangle in search of Rhino. Astonishingly we were lucky enough to see one. A great end to our safari!

In this camp you are seriously close to wild animals. It can get very noisy at night, lion and hyena sound closer than they are but you do have to expect the snuffling of hippo eating just the other side of your tent wall! It is a fantastic experience as long as you are comfortable with it.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will be back!" See all these reviews: 10n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Family S
Lonond

"Little Governors Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 4 Aug 2017
"Little Governors Camp was very nice, and had an amazing setting. The drives were good and the service was also very good. The evening meals were a bit hit and miss, and somehow they have not created the welcoming vibe that we got at all the other hotels. It felt like we were staying in a great hotel, while the other venues, largely because of the managers running it, created an atmosphere that made you feel very welcome and looked after. Could really use a swimming pool as well." See all these reviews: 13n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Showing 1-10 of 15
97%
15 reviews of Little Governors' by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
13
2
0
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Kenya

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Kenya.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Maasai Mara National Reserve

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Rekero

Rekero

Rekero is an unpretentious, high-end safari camp, for travellers who take their wildlife watching seriously and are prepared to pay for an exceptional location.


98% (24 reviews)
Governors' Camp

Governors' Camp

Governors' Camp is a large tented camp on the Mara River and one of the oldest in the Mara region, dating from 1972. Although unfenced, and regularly visited by elephants, the whole compound is always busy with human activity.


95% (8 reviews)
Tangulia Mara

Tangulia Mara

Tangulia Mara is a rustic and traditional safari camp on the border of the Maasai Mara National Reserve owned by Jackson Looseyia of Big Cat Diary fame.


100% (8 reviews)
Serian Nkorombo

Serian Nkorombo

Serian Nkorombo is a luxury bush camp in the Musiara sector of the Maasai Mara National Reserve on the east side of the Mara River.


100% (6 reviews)
Governors' Il Moran Camp

Governors' Il Moran

The smallest and most expensive of the three camps in the Governors’ group, Governors’ Il Moran Camp hugs a meander of the Mara River just 1km north of the main Governors’ Camp.


93% (3 reviews)
Mara Ngenche Safari Camp

Ngenche Safari Camp

Mara Ngenche is a non-hosted, luxury tented camp with an antique style, which is perfect if you're looking for private dining while staying somewhere small and personal.


90% (2 reviews)
Salas Camp

Sala's Camp

Sala’s Camp is a comfortable and intimate tented camp, with seven tented rooms, located on the banks of the Sand River, in the far south of the Maasai Mara National Reserve.


100% (2 reviews)
Basecamp Maasai Mara

Basecamp Maasai Mara

Basecamp Maasai Mara is a family-friendly, award-winning eco-camp on a U-bend on the north bank of the Talek River, on the boundary of the Maasai Mara National Reserve.


70% (2 reviews)
Sand River Camp

Sand River Camp

Luxury colonial-style tented camp on the banks of the Sand River close to the Tanzania border – a great spot to see the wildebeest migration.


100% (1 review)
Tipilikwani Mara Camp

Tipilikwani Camp

Tipilikwani Mara Camp is a larger, mid-range tented camp offering good value from its base on the Talek River just outside the Mara National Reserve.


100% (1 review)
Mara Serena Safari Lodge

Mara Serena Safari Lodge

Mara Serena Safari Lodge is a large safari hotel with views of the Mara River, in the Mara Triangle sector of the Maasai Mara National Reserve.


No reviews yet
Governors’ Private Camp

Governors’ Private Camp

Located on a secluded bend of the Mara River, Governor’s Private Camp has just eight tents and is booked on an exclusive basis.


No reviews yet
Topi House

Topi House

Topi House is a very good, three-bedroom fully staffed private house on the fringes of the Maasai Mara National Reserve.


No reviews yet
Naibor Camp

Naibor Camp

Naibor has a great location in the Mara reserve, and offers accommodation to suit different budgets, with stylish high-end tents and some simpler ones too.


No reviews yet
Mara Expedition Camp

Mara Expedition Camp

Mara Expedition Camp is a small luxury camp located on the banks of the Ntiakitiak River inside the Maasai Mara National Reserve.


No reviews yet
Angama Mara

Angama Mara

Angama Mara is a top-end luxury tented camp on the Siria-Oloololo escarpment of the Maasai Mara ecoystem, just above the Mara Triangle sector of the Maasai Mara National Reserve.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa