This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Little Governors' Camp
Little Governors' Camp
Little Governors' Camp
Little Governors' Camp
Little Governors' Camp
Little Governors' Camp
Little Governors' Camp
Little Governors' Camp
Little Governors' Camp
Little Governors' Camp
Little Governors' Camp

Little Governors' Camp


1°16’54.8"S 35°2’19.0"E

Reviews of Little Governors'

Wildlife sightings and reviews

27 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Little Governors' and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 17 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Little Governors'.
Lion

100% success

Leopard

69% success

Cheetah

81% success

Wild dog

8% success

Buffalo

100% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Spotted Hyena

94% success

Eland

88% success

Wildebeest

75% success

Black Rhino

53% success

Striped Hyena

23% success

Aardvark

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 27
Duration
Arrival date
Mr and Mrs M
London

"Little Governors' Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 6 Sep 2023
"Camp was in a great setting and staff were all friendly. Less personal than Kicheche camp.

Food was good (but not on same level as Kicheche).

The main reason that made this experience not as good -

We were told that we would be met by our guide prior to going out and would be asked what we wanted to see ideally and what we wanted our focus to be. After 3 days at Kicheche, we wanted to focus on the migration at Little Govenors. We were put on a vehicle on our first day with people who were on the first day of their first safari and were happy to see zebras, giraffes, baboons. We felt as though we had wasted a day. We spoke to George the manager, who rectified the situation the following day and we were paired with another couple trying to track down the migration for the day.

The vehicle was also not as well equipped as others eg only 4 blankets for 6 passengers when it was cold." See all these reviews: 9n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Cheetah

1 sighting

Eland

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Striped Hyena

1 sighting

Wild dog

1 sighting

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Ms K.
USA

"Little Governors' Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 23 May 2023
"We loved Little Governors camp.

The location was wonderful to wildlife and balloon ride.

We loved watching the birds and elephant from our tent or the main camp.

The staff was great and the accommodations. Our guide was extremely knowledgeable on area." See all these reviews: 8n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

3 sightings

Buffalo

10 sightings

Cheetah

3 sightings

Eland

Multiple sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Lion

10 sightings

Spotted Hyena

10 sightings

Wildebeest

2 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr & Mrs E
Northumber

"Little Governors' Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 25 Jan 2023
"Location and accommodation excellent. Food also excellent as was our guide.

The camp manager, George, as well as all other staff we encountered were extremely helpful and courteous.

It is the ambience of the camp, as well as the location, which have not been surpassed in any other camps we have stayed in and we have stayed in many in Africa and South America." See all these reviews: 9n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

1 sighting

Buffalo

8 sightings

Cheetah

2 sightings

Eland

3 sightings

Elephant

8 sightings

Giraffe

8 sightings

Hippo

5 sightings

Leopard

3 sightings

Lion

8 sightings

Spotted Hyena

6 sightings

Wildebeest

3 sightings

Zebra

8 sightings

Dr R.
Colombo 5

"Little Governors' Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 22 Jan 2023
"The only negative aspect of the camp is the twice a day steep down and up climb from the safari vehicle location to the camp level as a result of the river crossing. Although our group consisted of two 70+ couples, we are relatively fit and the crossing was well within our capabilities. However, other people may find it difficult.

This is a matter that should be highlighted by Expert Africa at the time anyone is considering a booking at Little Governors." See all these reviews: 8n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Cheetah

1 sighting

Eland

1 sighting

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr A.
Hardingstone

"Little Governors' Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 26 Sep 2022
"The camp setting is excellent with the boat trip over the river for arrival and departure a real treat. We received a lovely warm welcome from the staff and our tent was spotless and fully kitted out as we wanted. It was different to our previous camp which was a great contrast but equally welcome.

Lunch was outside on the decking and tremendous, overseeing the various wildlife which entertained us in the water and out - especially the roaming warthogs and elephants who came through the camp, much to everyone's amusement. Dinner was inside the restaurant and a slight downer in that it felt that it could have been anywhere. I guess we were spoilt by lunch being outside with the view.

The staff are great, again, like our previous two stops, very attentive and friendly. They are happy to engage if guests are which is great.

One slight disappointment was that we had a clearly inexperienced guide, Johnson. He was taciturn and didn't explain where we were going and would spend long periods not saying anything. We kept having to ask him what the plan was and what we were looking for. We were clearly spoilt by Simon at Kicheche but I would at least expect to be given some information about animals proactively rather than keep having to ask and receive one or two word answers. He was clearly shy and only occasionally did he come out of himself and this questions whether he is in the right job. He did, like, Simon, have a superb eye for the animals and spotted things from great distances which we would have never seen ourselves.

We have scored this experience as Excellent across all areas as, in summary it was, but there are a couple of things which could have made it even more special. The picnic breakfasts are average and the sundowners caused an issue for us until we spoke to the Camp Manager but this should have been proactively sorted rather than us having to deal with it ourselves. Just a few issues to focus on but there is no doubt the camp is a fine experience." See all these reviews: 7n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

Multiple sightings

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Cheetah

Multiple sightings

Eland

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

Striped Hyena

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr & Dr N
Edinburgh

"Little Governors' Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 15 Sep 2022
"Lovely camp - particularly enjoyed view over marsh.

Excellent guiding (Collins) and friendly helpful staff. Good vegetarian food. Spectacular arrival across the Mara River.

Excellent sightings - big herds towards Mara river in south of reserve. Be aware there is no off road driving so can't always get so close - we would recommend combining Little Governor's with Mara North conservancy.

Camp appears relatively large on paper but does not seem that way when you're there.

Highly recommended." See all these reviews: 9n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

1 sighting

Buffalo

2 sightings

Cheetah

1 sighting

Elephant

6 sightings

Giraffe

3 sightings

Hippo

4 sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

5 sightings

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Wildebeest

5 sightings

Zebra

5 sightings

Mr & Mrs B
Harrow

"A wonderful location - hard to fault. "

4 nights Arrived 22 Aug 2022
"Little Governors was great.

Nice to be so close to the airstrip. Excellent food, the manager George is very present and friendly and staff very friendly and attentive.

A wonderful location - hard to fault." See all these reviews: 13n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms S
London

"Little Governors' Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 15 Jul 2022
"Little Governor's was absolutely stunning. The decor was beautiful, the dining area and the tents looked out onto a marsh which regularly had elephants, warthogs, hippos and lots of birds, which was very special. The staff were very attentive and lovely (Jackson was the best guide I had all trip), and George, the camp manager, checked in every day to make sure we were having a good experience. The tents themselves were very comfortable, with showers, outlets, wifi, etc. - the only downside was they're all quite close to each other so there's not a lot of privacy, you can often hear neighbours voices & etc. The food was the only thing that was a bit disappointing; the picnic breakfasts and lunches were always lovely but there were a few instances in dining room of us receiving different items than were listed on the menu (lasagna instead of risotto for example). But overall, a great experience!" See all these reviews: 11n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

10 sightings

Cheetah

1 sighting

Eland

3 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

8 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

3 sightings

Lion

10 sightings

Spotted Hyena

3 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr & Mrs L
Hinckley

"Another return to Little Governors"

3 nights Arrived 7 Jun 2022
"This was our 3rd visit to Little Governors, having first visited in 2009. Once again we were given a bottle of wine because we were returning guests. Things have moved on since 2009 with electricity in the tents, (as opposed to kerosene lamps), solar panels and an impressive, newly constructed bar/lounge/restaurant area. Our tent, no 17 at the end, had good views and was clean and comfortable. The bathroom and shower were excellent.

There was a good choice on the menu at lunch and dinner. The food was well prepared and very good quality. We very much enjoyed all of our meals. We took breakfast out with us in the morning so that we could have extended game drives and only ate breakfast in camp on the last day. Both types of breakfast were very good. We had excellent service at mealtimes.

Our driver/guide was Oliver and we were very lucky to have the vehicle to ourselves for the whole time. Our first two game drive were in the Musiara area. The driving conditions in that section were very difficult due to recent rainfall. Our first pm drive was in good weather and very relaxed with a decent amount of game. The following morning was difficult for everyone... it rained most of the time and animals were hiding! The high grass made sighting even harder. Consequently we did our other game drives in the Mara Triangle. (The easy access to this is a big advantage of staying at Little Governors, as opposed to the other Governors Camps).

We had some good sightings and a couple of memorable 'road blocks'. The first was a male lion who decided that the road was a very warm and comfy place to lie down and have a nap! This happened just as we were going to head back to camp. There was no way round him so we, and several other vehicles simply had to wait for him to move. On another day a large tusker decided to monopolise the road in front of our vehicle. He seemed a bit grumpy so Oliver gave him space and we followed slowly at a distance. He eventually moved off into the grass. (One disadvantage of the Mara Triangle is that there is no off road driving allowed).

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Little Governors. However it is the first time that we have stayed there and not seen any cheetah." See all these reviews: 13n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

2 sightings

Buffalo

10 sightings

Eland

2 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

3 sightings

Lion

3 sightings

Wildebeest

1 sighting

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr & Mrs E
Northumber

"Little Governors' Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 16 Feb 2022
"An excellent camp that we have stayed in several times. All of the staff took care of us well and anticipated any needs we may have had. They were friendly and professional.

Our guide, Isaac, who we have had several times was excellent. He was very empathetic to our requirement as we had our daughter and two granddaughters with us.

The manager, George, made sure that everything was in order for us asking regularly how our stay was going.

A really excellent location and first class camp which is run extremely well." See all these reviews: 8n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

1 sighting

Buffalo

10 sightings

Cheetah

2 sightings

Eland

3 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Lion

10 sightings

Spotted Hyena

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Showing 1-10 of 27
96%
27 reviews of Little Governors' by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
23
3
1
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Kenya

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Kenya.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Maasai Mara National Reserve

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Rekero

Rekero

Rekero is an unpretentious, high-end safari camp, for travellers who take their wildlife watching seriously and are prepared to pay for an exceptional location.


98% (28 reviews)
Tangulia Mara

Tangulia Mara

Tangulia Mara is a rustic and traditional safari camp on the border of the Maasai Mara National Reserve owned by Jackson Looseyia of Big Cat Diary fame.


100% (13 reviews)
Governors' Camp

Governors' Camp

Governors' Camp is a large tented camp on the Mara River and one of the oldest in the Mara region, dating from 1972. Although unfenced, and regularly visited by elephants, the whole compound is always busy with human activity.


96% (10 reviews)
Serian Nkorombo

Serian Nkorombo

Serian Nkorombo is a luxury bush camp in the Musiara sector of the Maasai Mara National Reserve on the east side of the Mara River.


100% (7 reviews)
Sand River Camp

Sand River Camp

Luxury colonial-style tented camp on the banks of the Sand River close to the Tanzania border – a great spot to see the wildebeest migration.


97% (6 reviews)
Sala's Camp

Sala's Camp

Sala’s Camp is a comfortable and intimate tented camp, with seven tented rooms, located on the banks of the Sand River, in the far south of the Maasai Mara National Reserve.


100% (4 reviews)
Governors' Il Moran Camp

Governors' Il Moran

The smallest and most expensive of the three camps in the Governors’ group, Governors’ Il Moran Camp hugs a meander of the Mara River just 1km north of the main Governors’ Camp.


95% (4 reviews)
Angama Mara

Angama Mara

Angama Mara is a top-end luxury tented camp on the Siria-Oloololo escarpment of the Maasai Mara ecoystem, just above the Mara Triangle sector of the Maasai Mara National Reserve.


100% (2 reviews)
Basecamp Maasai Mara

Basecamp Maasai Mara

Basecamp Maasai Mara is a family-friendly, award-winning eco-camp on a U-bend on the north bank of the Talek River, on the boundary of the Maasai Mara National Reserve.


70% (2 reviews)
Mara Ngenche Safari Camp

Ngenche Safari Camp

Mara Ngenche is a non-hosted, luxury tented camp with an antique style, which is perfect if you're looking for private dining while staying somewhere small and personal.


90% (2 reviews)
Mara Expedition Camp

Mara Expedition Camp

Mara Expedition Camp is a small luxury camp located on the banks of the Ntiakitiak River inside the Maasai Mara National Reserve.


100% (2 reviews)
Tipilikwani Mara Camp

Tipilikwani Camp

Tipilikwani Mara Camp is a larger, mid-range tented camp offering good value from its base on the Talek River just outside the Mara National Reserve.


100% (1 review)
Mara Serena Safari Lodge

Mara Serena Safari Lodge

Mara Serena Safari Lodge is a large safari hotel with views of the Mara River, in the Mara Triangle sector of the Maasai Mara National Reserve.


No reviews yet
Mara Explorer Camp

Mara Explorer Camp

Mara Explorer is a smart tented camp is in a scenic location on a bend in the Talek River.


No reviews yet
Governors' Private Camp

Governors' Private Camp

Located on a secluded bend of the Mara River, Governor’s Private Camp has just eight tents and is booked on an exclusive basis.


No reviews yet
Topi House

Topi House

Topi House is a very good, three-bedroom fully staffed private house on the fringes of the Maasai Mara National Reserve.


No reviews yet
Entim Camp

Entim Camp

Entim Camp is well located in the heart of the Mara National Reserve, offering traditionally styled tented accommodation.


No reviews yet
Ilkeliani Camp

Ilkeliani Camp

Ilkeliani Camp is a smart elegant camp overlooking the Talek River, on the edge of the Maasai Mara National Reserve.


No reviews yet
Naibor Camp

Naibor Camp

Naibor has a great location in the Mara reserve, and offers accommodation to suit different budgets, with stylish high-end tents and some simpler ones too.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa