This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Little Governors' Camp
Little Governors' Camp
Little Governors' Camp
Little Governors' Camp
Little Governors' Camp
Little Governors' Camp
Little Governors' Camp
Little Governors' Camp
Little Governors' Camp
Little Governors' Camp
Little Governors' Camp

Little Governors' Camp


1°16’54.8"S 35°2’19.0"E

Reviews of Little Governors'

Wildlife sightings and reviews

30 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Little Governors' and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 20 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Little Governors'.
Lion

100% success

Leopard

72% success

Cheetah

83% success

Wild dog

13% success

Buffalo

100% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Eland

89% success

Spotted Hyena

89% success

Wildebeest

78% success

Black Rhino

60% success

Striped Hyena

27% success

Aardvark

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 30
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs E
Northumber

"Little Governors' Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 24 Jan 2024
"We love Little Governors and the tent, food, service, guide and all staff were and continue to be excellent. Any negative comments are around the ability to access the Triangle and the Mara itself.

Due to previous rains there was only one access point to the triangle and we could not cross the Mara river at all. On the penultimate morning all access to the camp from the triangle was impassable. The only culvert operations collapsed just before we got there. We had to travel through Kichwe Tembo camp after asking the camp whether they would allow this (other vans did the same). We had to cross a swollen stream, perhaps 10-12 m across and it proved quite scary, especially the 3rd crossing).

We were very disappointed that after the problems in 2020 those managing access to the triangle had not taken the camps advice and had neither raised the culverts to allow passage during very wet weather nor fixed them in a more permanent way. Camps have said that they requested this.

On the final morning we had paid $200 to be allowed a game drive. The camp told us that the tickets had not come through, tried to call Expert Africa and had not had a reply. We stayed in camp which we did enjoy. It was a waste of $200 however.

We also find it unbelievable that from $70 per person per day previously the fees will cost $500 per couple per day from July. This is an increase over 4 days from $560 to $2000 - somewhat excessive and is likely to put us off further visits after some 16 visits over the last 20 years." See all these reviews: 9n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

2 sightings

Buffalo

6 sightings

Eland

1 sighting

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Lion

3 sightings

Spotted Hyena

5 sightings

Zebra

4 sightings

Mr & Ms B
Florida, US

"Little Governors' Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 8 Oct 2023
"This camp is just 31 km southwest of Elephant Peppers. Therefore, we didn’t have to fly here, which was a welcome change.

The camp is situated directly on the West banks of the Mara River. Although it has the word “little” in its name, the camp consists of 17 tents, which is huge by Botswana standards. Most people, whether by air or road, arrive at this camp approaching from the East. Therefore, to reach the camp, you must cross the Mara River by hand-drawn ferry, and you have to climb some steep stairs. You must pass by 6 tents before you reach the reception/restaurant area. 11 more tents are located beyond this area. Initially, we were not too enthralled by this camp. The tents appeared to be too close together (we could overhear a phone conversation by a guest in a neighboring tent). In addition, the car that we were picked up in had very uncomfortable seats, raising the prospect of a backpain waiting to happen.

But we quickly changed our initial opinion. First of all, their safari vehicles were perfectly fine. Second, the neighbors did not have any noisy phone conversations anymore. And third and most importantly, we were blessed by being assigned to our guide Jackson.

This area of the Maasai Mara is home to some celebrity animals, for instance the Marsh pride (of lions) and the Five Brothers (of cheetahs), and we saw them both.

To illustrate just how good the quality of the guiding was here, I would like to describe one remarkable sighting with a lone female leopard. When we arrived at the scene, we found ourselves approaching a dry riverbed, which accommodated approximately 12 cars already. On the other side of the riverbed the leopard was frantically digging a hole, and three cars were hoping for a glimpse of her. Then, all twelve cars were rushing towards us, in the attempt to get to the other side of the riverbed. Not so Jackson. He stayed put, anticipating that the leopard would cross over to “our” side of the riverbed. Ultimately, she did, and we saw her snatching up an unlucky warthog baby.

In addition, we had several encounters with what remained of the world-famous Marsh pride. The Marsh pride was occupying a territory a few kilometers east of camp. While we were there, the pride was consisting of eight lions plus two tiny cubs. Their mom Dada had sustained a deep wound on her side, but she seemed to be doing OK. I only mention that because on our last evening, we saw this pride again, and her wound had been treated by the local vets, illustrating that they do care about their wildlife. According to Jackson, this lioness is a very “brave goal-getter”. In fact, on the second morning we saw her pride, she walked across the plain towards what was left of a buffalo kill they made the night before. It was surrounded by at least 40 or 50 hyenas, fighting for scraps. I don’t pretend to know what was going on in the heads of these animals, but I would have figured that those hyenas could have done serious harm to a lone lioness. But she oozed so much self-confidence that the hyenas were discouraged from attacking her. Anyway, that’s the way I would like to interpret this incredible and breath-taking scene.

The pride’s only fully grown male who goes by the name of Half-Tail hasn’t been seen for days. As Jackson told us, he had lost his friend and coalition partner Logol about a year ago to a tragic territorial fight with a competing group of lions from across the Mara River, in an area known as the Mara Triangle ... When Jackson took us on a tour through this area, we happened to see those guys, bellies full, lying on their backs. And he told us that those roaming lions still had ambitions to take over the Marsh pride. And if they would do that soon, the cubs would probably not survive. I, on the other hand, I would hope that those lions wouldn’t have the courage to cross the Mara River, and with the looming rain season chances are that the river would be too much of a challenge. As almost all cats, lions are very aquaphobic. So, I would wish that those challengers from across the river stay in their neighboorhood and leave the Marsh pride alone ...

Even though the food was not as stellar as in the last camp, it was still excellent. As elsewhere in Kenya, the service was very attentive, friendly and efficient. We also really enjoyed that they even served fresh coffee to our tent at 5:30 or 6 AM before going out for the morning game drive." See all these reviews: 20n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

1 sighting

Buffalo

8 sightings

Cheetah

3 sightings

Eland

2 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

7 sightings

Hippo

4 sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

10 sightings

Spotted Hyena

6 sightings

Wildebeest

1 sighting

Zebra

3 sightings

GERRY COPSEY
Frome

"Absolutely delightful in every way"

5 nights Arrived 6 Sep 2023
"We had high expectations of Little Governors - several friends raved about it and all reports were good.

The real thing was even better..... The most delightful location and such a comfortable well-equipped tent was a great base for our 6 days.

The staff were all superb in every way and so, so friendly.

The food was of a very high standard at every meal and we would rate the place as outstanding" See all these reviews: 6n in Kenya; 4n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

1 sighting

Buffalo

10 sightings

Cheetah

1 sighting

Eland

1 sighting

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

6 sightings

Striped Hyena

3 sightings

Wild dog

1 sighting

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr and Mrs M
London

"Little Governors' Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 6 Sep 2023
"Camp was in a great setting and staff were all friendly. Less personal than Kicheche camp.

Food was good (but not on same level as Kicheche).

The main reason that made this experience not as good -

We were told that we would be met by our guide prior to going out and would be asked what we wanted to see ideally and what we wanted our focus to be. After 3 days at Kicheche, we wanted to focus on the migration at Little Govenors. We were put on a vehicle on our first day with people who were on the first day of their first safari and were happy to see zebras, giraffes, baboons. We felt as though we had wasted a day. We spoke to George the manager, who rectified the situation the following day and we were paired with another couple trying to track down the migration for the day.

The vehicle was also not as well equipped as others eg only 4 blankets for 6 passengers when it was cold." See all these reviews: 9n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Cheetah

1 sighting

Eland

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Striped Hyena

1 sighting

Wild dog

1 sighting

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Ms K.
USA

"Little Governors' Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 23 May 2023
"We loved Little Governors camp.

The location was wonderful to wildlife and balloon ride.

We loved watching the birds and elephant from our tent or the main camp.

The staff was great and the accommodations. Our guide was extremely knowledgeable on area." See all these reviews: 8n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

3 sightings

Buffalo

10 sightings

Cheetah

3 sightings

Eland

Multiple sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Lion

10 sightings

Spotted Hyena

10 sightings

Wildebeest

2 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr & Mrs E
Northumber

"Little Governors' Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 25 Jan 2023
"Location and accommodation excellent. Food also excellent as was our guide.

The camp manager, George, as well as all other staff we encountered were extremely helpful and courteous.

It is the ambience of the camp, as well as the location, which have not been surpassed in any other camps we have stayed in and we have stayed in many in Africa and South America." See all these reviews: 9n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

1 sighting

Buffalo

8 sightings

Cheetah

2 sightings

Eland

3 sightings

Elephant

8 sightings

Giraffe

8 sightings

Hippo

5 sightings

Leopard

3 sightings

Lion

8 sightings

Spotted Hyena

6 sightings

Wildebeest

3 sightings

Zebra

8 sightings

Dr R.
Colombo 5

"Little Governors' Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 22 Jan 2023
"The only negative aspect of the camp is the twice a day steep down and up climb from the safari vehicle location to the camp level as a result of the river crossing. Although our group consisted of two 70+ couples, we are relatively fit and the crossing was well within our capabilities. However, other people may find it difficult.

This is a matter that should be highlighted by Expert Africa at the time anyone is considering a booking at Little Governors." See all these reviews: 8n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Cheetah

1 sighting

Eland

1 sighting

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr A.
Hardingstone

"Little Governors' Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 26 Sep 2022
"The camp setting is excellent with the boat trip over the river for arrival and departure a real treat. We received a lovely warm welcome from the staff and our tent was spotless and fully kitted out as we wanted. It was different to our previous camp which was a great contrast but equally welcome.

Lunch was outside on the decking and tremendous, overseeing the various wildlife which entertained us in the water and out - especially the roaming warthogs and elephants who came through the camp, much to everyone's amusement. Dinner was inside the restaurant and a slight downer in that it felt that it could have been anywhere. I guess we were spoilt by lunch being outside with the view.

The staff are great, again, like our previous two stops, very attentive and friendly. They are happy to engage if guests are which is great.

One slight disappointment was that we had a clearly inexperienced guide, Johnson. He was taciturn and didn't explain where we were going and would spend long periods not saying anything. We kept having to ask him what the plan was and what we were looking for. We were clearly spoilt by Simon at Kicheche but I would at least expect to be given some information about animals proactively rather than keep having to ask and receive one or two word answers. He was clearly shy and only occasionally did he come out of himself and this questions whether he is in the right job. He did, like, Simon, have a superb eye for the animals and spotted things from great distances which we would have never seen ourselves.

We have scored this experience as Excellent across all areas as, in summary it was, but there are a couple of things which could have made it even more special. The picnic breakfasts are average and the sundowners caused an issue for us until we spoke to the Camp Manager but this should have been proactively sorted rather than us having to deal with it ourselves. Just a few issues to focus on but there is no doubt the camp is a fine experience." See all these reviews: 7n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

Multiple sightings

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Cheetah

Multiple sightings

Eland

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

Striped Hyena

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr & Dr N
Edinburgh

"Little Governors' Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 15 Sep 2022
"Lovely camp - particularly enjoyed view over marsh.

Excellent guiding (Collins) and friendly helpful staff. Good vegetarian food. Spectacular arrival across the Mara River.

Excellent sightings - big herds towards Mara river in south of reserve. Be aware there is no off road driving so can't always get so close - we would recommend combining Little Governor's with Mara North conservancy.

Camp appears relatively large on paper but does not seem that way when you're there.

Highly recommended." See all these reviews: 9n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

1 sighting

Buffalo

2 sightings

Cheetah

1 sighting

Elephant

6 sightings

Giraffe

3 sightings

Hippo

4 sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

5 sightings

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Wildebeest

5 sightings

Zebra

5 sightings

Mr & Mrs B
Harrow

"A wonderful location - hard to fault. "

4 nights Arrived 22 Aug 2022
"Little Governors was great.

Nice to be so close to the airstrip. Excellent food, the manager George is very present and friendly and staff very friendly and attentive.

A wonderful location - hard to fault." See all these reviews: 13n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 1-10 of 30
95%
30 reviews of Little Governors' by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
25
3
2
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Kenya

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Kenya.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Maasai Mara National Reserve

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Rekero

Rekero

Rekero is an unpretentious, high-end safari camp, for travellers who take their wildlife watching seriously and are prepared to pay for an exceptional location.


98% (28 reviews)
Tangulia Mara

Tangulia Mara

Tangulia Mara is a rustic and traditional safari camp on the border of the Maasai Mara National Reserve owned by Jackson Looseyia of Big Cat Diary fame.


100% (13 reviews)
Governors' Camp

Governors' Camp

Governors' Camp is a large tented camp on the Mara River and one of the oldest in the Mara region, dating from 1972. Although unfenced, and regularly visited by elephants, the whole compound is always busy with human activity.


96% (10 reviews)
Serian Nkorombo

Serian Nkorombo

Serian Nkorombo is a luxury bush camp in the Musiara sector of the Maasai Mara National Reserve on the east side of the Mara River.


100% (7 reviews)
Sand River Camp

Sand River Camp

Luxury colonial-style tented camp on the banks of the Sand River close to the Tanzania border – a great spot to see the wildebeest migration.


97% (6 reviews)
Sala's Camp

Sala's Camp

Sala’s Camp is a comfortable and intimate tented camp, with seven tented rooms, located on the banks of the Sand River, in the far south of the Maasai Mara National Reserve.


96% (5 reviews)
Governors' Il Moran Camp

Governors' Il Moran

The smallest and most expensive of the three camps in the Governors’ group, Governors’ Il Moran Camp hugs a meander of the Mara River just 1km north of the main Governors’ Camp.


95% (4 reviews)
Angama Mara

Angama Mara

Angama Mara is a top-end luxury tented camp on the Siria-Oloololo escarpment of the Maasai Mara ecoystem, just above the Mara Triangle sector of the Maasai Mara National Reserve.


100% (2 reviews)
Mara Expedition Camp

Mara Expedition Camp

Mara Expedition Camp is a small luxury camp located on the banks of the Ntiakitiak River inside the Maasai Mara National Reserve.


100% (2 reviews)
Mara Ngenche Safari Camp

Ngenche Safari Camp

Mara Ngenche is a non-hosted, luxury tented camp with an antique style, which is perfect if you're looking for private dining while staying somewhere small and personal.


90% (2 reviews)
Basecamp Maasai Mara

Basecamp Maasai Mara

Basecamp Maasai Mara is a family-friendly, award-winning eco-camp on a U-bend on the north bank of the Talek River, on the boundary of the Maasai Mara National Reserve.


70% (2 reviews)
Tipilikwani Mara Camp

Tipilikwani Camp

Tipilikwani Mara Camp is a larger, mid-range tented camp offering good value from its base on the Talek River just outside the Mara National Reserve.


100% (1 review)
Ilkeliani Camp

Ilkeliani Camp

Ilkeliani Camp is a smart elegant camp overlooking the Talek River, on the edge of the Maasai Mara National Reserve.


No reviews yet
Entim Camp

Entim Camp

Entim Camp is well located in the heart of the Mara National Reserve, offering traditionally styled tented accommodation.


No reviews yet
Naibor Camp

Naibor Camp

Naibor has a great location in the Mara reserve, and offers accommodation to suit different budgets, with stylish high-end tents and some simpler ones too.


No reviews yet
Governors' Private Camp

Governors' Private Camp

Located on a secluded bend of the Mara River, Governor’s Private Camp has just eight tents and is booked on an exclusive basis.


No reviews yet
Topi House

Topi House

Topi House is a very good, three-bedroom fully staffed private house on the fringes of the Maasai Mara National Reserve.


No reviews yet
Mara Serena Safari Lodge

Mara Serena Safari Lodge

Mara Serena Safari Lodge is a large safari hotel with views of the Mara River, in the Mara Triangle sector of the Maasai Mara National Reserve.


No reviews yet
Mara Explorer Camp

Mara Explorer Camp

Mara Explorer is a smart tented camp is in a scenic location on a bend in the Talek River.


No reviews yet
Ishara

Ishara

Ishara is a highly luxurious safari camp in the Maasai Mara, located on the Talek River, which is one of the best areas in Kenya for wildlife.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa