This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Rekero
Rekero
Rekero
Rekero
Rekero
Rekero
Rekero

Reviews of Rekero

Wildlife sightings and reviews

23 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Rekero and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Aug-2018, 6 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Rekero.
Lion

100% success

Leopard

67% success

Cheetah

100% success

Wild dog

0% success

Buffalo

100% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Spotted Hyena

100% success

Wildebeest

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Eland

50% success

Striped Hyena

20% success

Aardvark

0% success

Black Rhino

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 23
Duration
Arrival date
Mrs L
Suffolk

"Rekero review"

3 nights Arrived 1 Sep 2019
"Very good setting.

I enjoyed being on the river and we saw the Wilderbeest crossing during lunch! Excellent guide." See all these reviews: 11n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

6 sightings

Cheetah

2 sightings

Elephant

7 sightings

Giraffe

6 sightings

Hippo

7 sightings

Lion

4 sightings

Spotted Hyena

4 sightings

Striped Hyena

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

3 sightings

Zebra

5 sightings

Mr I.
Strafford

"Great stay at Rekero"

3 nights Arrived 29 Aug 2019
"Well appointed tent next to the river.
Staff all very helpful and attentive.
Good food (not as good as Kicheche Bush Camp)
Excellent viewing platform overlooking Talek River
Usual camp managers were not in camp during our stay which may be the cause for late early morning calls and wrong drinks being delivered. This was not a major problem
Excellent guide (Francis)" See all these reviews: 9n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

10 sightings

Cheetah

1 sighting

Eland

2 sightings

Elephant

5 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

3 sightings

Spotted Hyena

3 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mrs C
Devon

"wonderful safari at Rekero"

3 nights Arrived 23 Aug 2019
"I have been to this camp once before and it was even better than I remembered. Stacey, the managress, (husband was away) was the perfect hostess and looked after everyone beautifully.
Lunch, if you were not out with a picnic, was a buffet which meant you could have as little or as much as you wanted. Dinner was a 3 course meal and very good.

It being migration time everyone wanted to see a river crossing and my guide Francis seemed able to get us into a very good position at the Mara river in spite of there being at least 50 - 60 other vehicles present. One day we saw a crossing of around 20000 wildebeest and the next day 3000. As we had quite a long wait at the river the camp even brought us out our picnic lunch! Even saw a mini crossing of the Talek river with a lion kill whilst having a meal!

Great camp - nothing too much trouble for anyone." See all these reviews: 11n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs M
Weymouth

"Another wildebeest migration river crossing"

3 nights Arrived 21 Jul 2019
"Another wildebeest migration river crossing viewed from the camp - amazing sight.

So much wildlife to see on the game drives, BUT also in camp. We decided to forgo the morning drive and stay in camp to walk round and photograph birds, flowers, insects, crocs and a lion.

A highlight was the sight of 5 cheetahs strolling in different directions towards a very large herd of wildebeest, gradually splitting the herd till they isolated their victim. We did not see the kill as the action was moving away from us, however after a very fast drive to the other side of the kill we were able to get many close up photographs of the 5 cheetahs eating their meal. Interestingly a spotted hyena tried several times to creep up on the cheetahs to steal the meal but he was chased off - outnumbered." See all these reviews: 17n in Kenya; 9n in Zimbabwe; 6n in Tanzania; 5n in Botswana; 5n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

10 sightings

Cheetah

8 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

6 sightings

Lion

8 sightings

Spotted Hyena

10 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr D
Surrey

"Rekero is a lovely camp in a super location"

3 nights Arrived 8 Jan 2019
"Probably the best of the Asilia camps I have stayed. The location is ideal with views of the river with the hippos and also the wildlife on the other bank.

The weaver birds and kingfishers are a bonus. All the staff were friendly and helpful, particularly Peter and Stacey.

Nicholas the guide was exceptional, he had superb phenomenal eyesight and consequently our game drives were very successful. His knowledge of the ecology, wildlife and birds was extensive and I thoroughly enjoyed his company." See all these reviews: 6n in Tanzania; 4n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

10 sightings

Cheetah

2 sightings

Eland

6 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

Multiple sightings

Lion

10 sightings

Spotted Hyena

4 sightings

Zebra

4 sightings

Mr & Mrs L
Herts

"Two day stay at Rekero"

2 nights Arrived 23 Sep 2018
"I cannot praise this camp highly enough. The very friendly atmosphere was almost like joining a family.

Location wonderful as you overlook the Tarek river. Food - how did they produce such imaginative and tasty food in the middle of the bush and so far away from a food supplier? We only had 2 game drives from here as we took half a day to have a balloon flight, however these drives were as good as the game allowed and the guide/driver was first class. Tent accommodation very comfortable.

Good for birding around here, with the camp manager very keen to help with spotting of birds around the camp.

You also release how much you are in the bush as lions were seen inside the camp at night!!

Highly recommend." See all these reviews: 5n in Zanzibar; 5n in Kenya; 3n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

3 sightings

Cheetah

3 sightings

Elephant

3 sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

3 sightings

Lion

3 sightings

Spotted Hyena

3 sightings

Wildebeest

3 sightings

Zebra

3 sightings

Mrs
Weybridge

"Overlooking the river"

2 nights Arrived 7 Aug 2018
"Amazing location of the camp, with tents hidden in the bush and common space overlooking the river, with hippos and crossing of wildlife. Lunch served under a tree. Excellent quality of the tents" See all these reviews: 6n in Kenya; 5n in Rwanda
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Cheetah

1 sighting

Eland

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

1 sighting

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Leopard

2 sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr & Mrs P
Wiltshire

"Good safari at Rekero"

3 nights Arrived 26 Sep 2017
"Comfortable tents, rather hidden in the bush.

Excellent views from dining area of river and "mini crossings" of river by zebras, wildebeest and topi.

Askaris very helpful and keen to show us chameleons on walk to and from our tent.

Very long early morning trip to Little Governor's Camp, which necessitated crossinng river by boat in the dark, for balloon flight," See all these reviews: 16n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs B
Wokingham

"What a great camp"

4 nights Arrived 1 Sep 2017
"We loved our trip here.

Firstly as they don't usually use open vehicles, Asilia kindly brought one in for us along with a guide. We were also given one of just 13 Gold Star East African safari guides to look after us during our stay so we had plenty of knowledge in the vehicle.

Stacey, Peter and the staff looked after us well. Breakfast (which we feel could be improved) was always in the bush, lunch could be either a buffet in camp or also in the bush if we stayed out in the hope of seeing some of the migration. Dinner was inside due to the temperature but was good quality.

The tents were very comfortable. We were in number 2 which is a family tent so had a separate bedroom at the back with three separate beds as well as the bedroom at the front. It also had the advantage of being by the Wifi tent so we were able to upload photos from the comfort of our room.

The siting, on the bend of the river, was very pretty. As the river was swollen with new rain, we thought someone had turned the air conditioning on when we woke in the morning. Lovely to see a couple of giraffes wandering past our bedroom and the main deck area.

On our final morning we were leaving early for a balloon trip and were surprised and impressed that Stacey, Peter and Jacky had all got up at 4am to say goodbye." See all these reviews: 17n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mrs M
Appledore

"Lvely location by the river"

2 nights Arrived 27 Dec 2016
"Pete and his wife and Clea were very attentive hosts and the camp was very well run. Game drives were spoilt a bit by too many other vehicles - it was Christmas, I know, and we can't expect to have the whole Maasai Mara to ourselves - but I would avoid the Maara itself at peak holiday time. Our guide Pius did his best to avoid the viewing jams. I felt that our guide didn't quite measure up to the standard of others - he seemed a bit offhand and bored at times - but we had some very good sightings particularly of cheetah and lion." See all these reviews: 9n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Showing 1-10 of 23
97%
23 reviews of Rekero by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
20
3
0
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Kenya

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Kenya.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Maasai Mara National Reserve

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Little Governors' Camp

Little Governors'

Little Governors’ Camp sits by a swamp (an old oxbow of the Mara River) in the Mara Triangle sector of the Maasai Mara National Reserve. It has its own balloon-launching site.


97% (15 reviews)
Governors' Camp

Governors' Camp

Governors' Camp is a large tented camp on the Mara River and one of the oldest in the Mara region, dating from 1972. Although unfenced, and regularly visited by elephants, the whole compound is always busy with human activity.


95% (8 reviews)
Tangulia Mara

Tangulia Mara

Tangulia Mara is a rustic and traditional safari camp on the border of the Maasai Mara National Reserve owned by Jackson Looseyia of Big Cat Diary fame.


100% (8 reviews)
Serian Nkorombo

Serian Nkorombo

Serian Nkorombo is a luxury bush camp in the Musiara sector of the Maasai Mara National Reserve on the east side of the Mara River.


100% (6 reviews)
Governors' Il Moran Camp

Governors' Il Moran

The smallest and most expensive of the three camps in the Governors’ group, Governors’ Il Moran Camp hugs a meander of the Mara River just 1km north of the main Governors’ Camp.


93% (3 reviews)
Mara Ngenche Safari Camp

Ngenche Safari Camp

Mara Ngenche is a non-hosted, luxury tented camp with an antique style, which is perfect if you're looking for private dining while staying somewhere small and personal.


90% (2 reviews)
Salas Camp

Sala's Camp

Sala’s Camp is a comfortable and intimate tented camp, with seven tented rooms, located on the banks of the Sand River, in the far south of the Maasai Mara National Reserve.


100% (2 reviews)
Basecamp Maasai Mara

Basecamp Maasai Mara

Basecamp Maasai Mara is a family-friendly, award-winning eco-camp on a U-bend on the north bank of the Talek River, on the boundary of the Maasai Mara National Reserve.


70% (2 reviews)
Sand River Camp

Sand River Camp

Luxury colonial-style tented camp on the banks of the Sand River close to the Tanzania border – a great spot to see the wildebeest migration.


100% (1 review)
Tipilikwani Mara Camp

Tipilikwani Camp

Tipilikwani Mara Camp is a larger, mid-range tented camp offering good value from its base on the Talek River just outside the Mara National Reserve.


100% (1 review)
Mara Serena Safari Lodge

Mara Serena Safari Lodge

Mara Serena Safari Lodge is a large safari hotel with views of the Mara River, in the Mara Triangle sector of the Maasai Mara National Reserve.


No reviews yet
Governors’ Private Camp

Governors’ Private Camp

Located on a secluded bend of the Mara River, Governor’s Private Camp has just eight tents and is booked on an exclusive basis.


No reviews yet
Topi House

Topi House

Topi House is a very good, three-bedroom fully staffed private house on the fringes of the Maasai Mara National Reserve.


No reviews yet
Naibor Camp

Naibor Camp

Naibor has a great location in the Mara reserve, and offers accommodation to suit different budgets, with stylish high-end tents and some simpler ones too.


No reviews yet
Mara Expedition Camp

Mara Expedition Camp

Mara Expedition Camp is a small luxury camp located on the banks of the Ntiakitiak River inside the Maasai Mara National Reserve.


No reviews yet
Angama Mara

Angama Mara

Angama Mara is a top-end luxury tented camp on the Siria-Oloololo escarpment of the Maasai Mara ecoystem, just above the Mara Triangle sector of the Maasai Mara National Reserve.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa