This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by G & K from LA

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

6

Excursions taken

5

Our Wonderful Trip to Kenya - Aug 2023

Kenya between 14 Aug 2023 and 15 Sep 2023

Trip rating: Excellent
"We had a fantastic, incredible, fun trip to Kenya - all the superlatives!

We went to four camps and Richard planned the trip perfectly, particularly the order of our itinerary. Everything went off without a hitch.

We'll recommend Expert Africa to all our friends."

Arranged By Richard Trillo


Four Points Nairobi Airport

Four Points Nairobi Airport

"Four Points Nairobi Airport review"

1 night Arrived 15 Aug 2023
"Comfortable room(s), good food, friendly and accommodating staff."
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Nairobi Elephant Orphanage visit

Nairobi Elephant Orphanage visit

"Nairobi Elephant Orphanage visit review"

16 Aug 2023 • All-day excursion

Excellent, in every respect.

Wish we had known about the 3pm visits, we would have gone again!
Excellent
Sarara Treehouses

Sarara Treehouses

"Sarara Treehouses review"

2 nights Arrived 18 Aug 2023
"We loved this camp! The setting is gorgeous and the staff is wonderful, friendly, professional, efficient, and so much fun! We loved Philip, Rahab, and Tilas (sp?). The tents were very nice, comfortable, with beautiful views. The food was delicious, with generous portions.

Our game drives here were not as game-rich as other camps. That said, elephants were in and around the camp throughout the day at close range, even walking below the treehouses. So great to see their interactions up close, especially at the watering hole. Giraffes were especially plentiful during the drives, more than anywhere else, which was really special. We loved our guide Jacob who was happy to answer our questions about him, his family, the Samburu way of life, the area, the animals, etc. Nice sense of humor, too!

This camp provided more of a cultural experience than our other three camps which we loved. We'd highly recommend joining the small group of Samburu women who visited and demonstrated their beading skills as they made each of us a lovely, simple bracelet. We had a wonderful exchange, trading questions through interpreter Rahab (the asst camp mgr) who is also from the Samburu tribe. So interesting. There's a small charge which goes to the women and the village.

Also highly recommend visiting a Samburu village - we were lucky to visit during a wedding. Note 1: please no pictures, at least during a wedding party. Note 2: Unlike Maasai villagers, the Samburu people do not sell their wares at the villages but there is a small shop of local crafts at the camp.

The Singing Wells excursion was unlike anything we've seen before, and so interesting. Don't miss it.

The Reteti Elephant Sanctuary is also a must-see, even if you've been to Sheldrick in Nairobi. They're doing such important work and their passion for it is lovely to see. And the babies are adorable and funny to watch.

We'd definitely come back here!"
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Kicheche Laikipia

Kicheche Laikipia

"Kicheche Laikipia review"

3 nights Arrived 20 Aug 2023
"We loved this camp! The staff is wonderful and camp manager Anita is fun and eager to accommodate any guest's wish she can. The tent was nice with a beautiful view; the food was delicious and plentiful, with lunches served just meters from the many elephants, buffalo, and even lions who appear at the lake throughout the day.

We were treated to a "back of house" tour, getting to visit the "operations" parts of the camp, like the garden, the kitchen, communal areas for the staff, and other BTS facilities. It was very interesting, and the only camp that we saw anything behind the scenes. We had laundry done here, all of which came back sparkling clean and ironed!

The game drives were terrific, with plenty of wildlife to see. We really loved our guide Peter, who was so lovely and so knowledgeable. I'm a photographer, as is Peter, and he was always aware of putting the vehicle at the best angles and being aware of the best light. He was great at finding lots of animals for us to get excited about! Rhinos are a big draw here in Laikipia and we saw quite a few.

We tried a night game drive twice but it was very windy (and cold!) which subdues the movement of the animals, thus limiting what we saw. I'd recommend trying one but if it's extra windy, I wouldn't prolong the drive. Though Peter was game! At night we did see a few hyenas, foxes, jackals, a bush baby, and a very rare sighting of a polecat.

We'd happily go back to Kicheche Laikipia!"
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Northern White Rhinos visit

Northern White Rhinos visit

"Northern White Rhinos visit review"

21 Aug 2023 • All-day excursion

We enjoyed visiting the Northern White Rhino Sanctuary very much.

We learned a lot about the efforts to save an almost-extinct species, and a vehicle will take you very close to the only two remaining Northern White rhinos in the world. It's a fascinating tour.

The manager Zachary's passion and dedication is inspiring.
Excellent
Rekero

Rekero

"Rekero review"

3 nights Arrived 23 Aug 2023
"We loved Rekero! The staff was friendly, efficient, and professional in granting the wishes of its guests. Sarah, the assistant camp manager, was lovely and demonstrated wonderful hospitality.

Our safari guide Karia was amazing! He was so knowledgeable and eager to show us the marvels of the Mara - the best day of game drives in our entire 11-day safari was because of his enthusiasm and incredible spotting skills. He is a photographer, as I am, and he always knew the right angles and light to enhance our shots. We couldn't have asked for more.

The tent was lovely and comfortable; every meal was delicious and beautifully served; the camp is nicely located with great views.

We look forward to staying here again!"
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Balloon flight over the Mara

Balloon flight over the Mara

"Balloon flight over the Mara review"

24 Aug 2023 • Morning excursion

Gorgeous, thrilling, incredible - all the superlatives!

This was our second balloon flight from Governors Camp, the first in 2014 (also excellent) and it was even better this time! Our pilot Ray was personable, professional and inspired confidence, flying only ten feet from the ground, then rising to sail over the treetops. Such beautiful views of the landscape and close proximity to many kinds of wildlife. Very exciting.

We also enjoyed the champagne breakfast, with an incredible offering of hot and cold offerings. Impressive!
Can't wait to go again!
Excellent
Kicheche Valley

Kicheche Valley

"Kicheche Valley review"

3 nights Arrived 26 Aug 2023
"We loved this camp!

The "tents" are beautiful and well-appointed with a modern design that convinces you this is not a tent! (but it is!) The most luxurious of our four camps and, at the end of an 11-day safari, much appreciated.

Minnie is the delightful camp manager who oversees a wonderful staff, always making sure every guest feels welcome and accommodated. And what a staff! We had the most fun here, with everyone joining in the festivities which included singing, dancing, and cake (!) for everyone to celebrate guests' special occasions. Just great!

The camp has a lovely location with beautiful views of the valley. The food was nicely presented and delicious, every meal, including our "picnic" breakfasts and sundowners in the bush.

Our guide Bernard was wonderful! He is a magical spotter and always seemed to know where the next exciting wildlife sighting would be. And there were many! He, too, is an accomplished photographer who helped us take advantage of the best light, and maneuvered us into the best spots for photos. He's passionate about conservation, wildlife, and the wellbeing of his Maasai community, an inspiration. We loved him and could not have asked for a better guide and daily companion.

We highly recommend the Kicheche Valley camp!"
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Image alt

House of Waine

"House of Waine review"

2 nights Arrived 29 Aug 2023
"We really enjoyed staying here. Since a previous stay in 2014, the hotel has been completely renovated with beautiful common areas and beautifully appointed, spacious, and comfortable rooms.

The grounds are lovely with a large, attractive pool area. It is very well located in Karen, close to the Sheldrick Elephant Orphanage, the Giraffe Center, restaurants, and shopping.

The breakfasts and dinners were very good with an attentive and friendly staff.

This is where we'll stay when we return, hopefully soon."
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Safari in Nairobi National Park

Safari in Nairobi National Park

"Safari in Nairobi National Park review"

30 Aug 2023 • All-day excursion

We chose Nairobi's Park for our first game drive after we arrived in Kenya, just to get a taste of some wildlife before setting out on safari in the bush. It exceeded our expectations!

In spite of the proviso that wildlife sightings would be slim unless we started at 6am, we decided on a late start (9am) due to jet lag. Lucky for us, this was not the case! We had close-up encounters with lions, rhinos, zebras, gazelles, impalas, etc, etc, and at least 50 ostrich!

We had a wonderful Southern Cross guide, Alan, who was very knowledgeable and passionate about the animals and conservation in general. This was a great way to start our adventures in Kenya!
Excellent
Image alt

Nairobi full-day excursion

"Nairobi full-day excursion review"

31 Aug 2023 • All-day excursion

Having our own driver/guide in Nairobi was great!

We became familiar with the city, saw a lot, covered a lot of ground including some touristy things of our design, happily completed our to-do lists (shopping, etc!), and ate at wonderful restaurants.

This is the way to go!
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team