This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Balloon flight over the Mara

Balloon flight over the Mara

Reviews: Balloon flight over the Mara

Below are independent comments from 15 of our travellers who have done this activity and have kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa.

Showing 1-10 of 15
Date
Mr. & Mrs. O
London

"Balloon flight over the Mara review"

Based at Sand River Camp on 26 Dec 2022
"The balloon ride with Balloon Safari was excellent.

Our driver, Francis, met with us the night before and briefed us, then collecting us at 4:30 am for the drive over the launch site, catching a great view of 4 hippos on the road, on our drive.

Our pilot, Ismail, and the flight team were great, from briefing, the flight itself across the plains and the landing. Wonderful views from the balloon and commentary from a hugely experienced pilot. And to round off, a wonderful breakfast with the team and all of the passengers!

Highly recommend this experience for anyone going to the Mara!" Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Mr R.
Cambridge

"Balloon flight over the Mara review"

Based at Kicheche Valley on 3 Oct 2022
"Well organised and professional.

Safe and a skilled pilot.

Enjoyable experience, but the journey to, and from the National park was a bit of a pain.

Excellent, breakfast afterwards." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Mr A.
Hardingstone

"Balloon flight over the Mara review"

Based at Little Governors' Camp on 27 Sep 2022
"10/10 in all aspects. We had Pilot and main man Shane which was tremendous as he is a larger than life character and really cares that his guests enjoy the experience.

Exciting preparation, about 55 minutes in the air travelling over the Maasi's beautiful scenery, a bonkers and unforgettably bouncy landing (no one was harmed in the making of this falling to earth!) and a wonderful post-flight breakfast in the bush. We met some lovely people as we ate and shared stores of the trip which was delightful.

5* experience, even better than we thought it would be." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Family McE
Maidenhead

"Balloon flight over the Mara review"

Based at Ol Kinyei Adventure Camp on 28 Jul 2022
"Stunning.

The wildebeest and zebra were on the move and we flew across thousands of them. Our pilot took us right down so we just skirted along the top of the grass and could see the animals at eye level - amazing. A lovely breakfast in the bush to complete it.

The only downside was the 4am get up as we were staying a long way from the launch area but it was worth it." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Mrs C.
Bromley

"Balloon flight over the Mara review"

Based at Kicheche Bush Camp on 24 Mar 2022
"The balloon ride was very comfortable, although we had hope we would be up before the sun rise. We were up just after sunrise, so the light was still good. The boarding and disembarkation were good and well organised. There was a safety briefing prior to take off and the pilot seemed very competent. We stayed at a low altitude, which meant we were able to see the wildlife very well. The breakfast was also good." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Ms D
Ireland

"Balloon flight over the Mara review"

Based at Kicheche Valley on 1 Jan 2022
"I always enjoy balloon flights! This one was different as it was particularly cloudy, but very enjoyable all the same.

The breakfast was good but the best was to follow! I was incredibly lucky on the game drive back to camp to witness the "4 brothers" (a well known coalition of 4 cheetahs) killing a wildebeest.

What a way to start the year!" Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
M&A
Geneva

"Balloon flight over the Mara review"

Based at Mara Plains Camp on 2 Dec 2021
"Our balloon ride was an unforgettable experience, in spite of the long drives involved and 4:30am departure from our camp.

Our pilot Barnabas gave us an absolutely fantastic flight that lasted over an hour and included exhilarating low passes, including one over the Mara river amid a large family of hippos.

The entire Governors operation including the "champagne" breakfast was also excellent - other guests at our camp who had booked with another operator weren't nearly as satisfied. It was also great to see other parts of the area including the Mara Triangle, which is very scenic and was far more lush than the Olare Motorogi conservancy at the time of our visit." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Muz
Colchester

"wonderful"

Based at Kicheche Bush Camp on 19 Feb 2020
"Great experience - the pilot, who was the senior pilot, was great - very knowledgeable and entertaining" Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Sandra
Ottawa

"Balloon flight over the Mara review"

Based at Kicheche Bush Camp on 9 Nov 2019
"More information about the physical requirements (getting in and out of the basket for example) would have been helpful to some.

Breakfast was okay.

For the price paid, we were a little underwhelmed." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Average
Mr I.
Strafford

"Amazing experience.Great views safe landing"

Based at Kicheche Bush Camp on 30 Aug 2019
"A memorable experience. Even my wife who was very apprehensive before hand thoroughly enjoyed it. Very competent pilot, excellent views of thousands of wildebeests and other wildlife and a stunning sunrise. It was all we hoped for." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Showing 1-10 of 15
95%
15 reviews of this excursion by travellers since Aug-2007.
Overall rating by our travellers
12
2
1
0
0
Filter by month

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team