This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Balloon flight over the Mara

Balloon flight over the Mara

Reviews: Balloon flight over the Mara

Below are independent comments from 11 of our travellers who have done this activity and have kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa.

Showing 1-10 of 11
Date
Mrs C.
Bromley

"Balloon flight over the Mara review"

Based at Kicheche Bush Camp on 24 Mar 2022
"The balloon ride was very comfortable, although we had hope we would be up before the sun rise. We were up just after sunrise, so the light was still good. The boarding and disembarkation were good and well organised. There was a safety briefing prior to take off and the pilot seemed very competent. We stayed at a low altitude, which meant we were able to see the wildlife very well. The breakfast was also good." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Ms D
Ireland

"Balloon flight over the Mara review"

Based at Kicheche Valley on 1 Jan 2022
"I always enjoy balloon flights! This one was different as it was particularly cloudy, but very enjoyable all the same.

The breakfast was good but the best was to follow! I was incredibly lucky on the game drive back to camp to witness the "4 brothers" (a well known coalition of 4 cheetahs) killing a wildebeest.

What a way to start the year!" Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
M&A
Geneva

"Balloon flight over the Mara review"

Based at Mara Plains Camp on 2 Dec 2021
"Our balloon ride was an unforgettable experience, in spite of the long drives involved and 4:30am departure from our camp.

Our pilot Barnabas gave us an absolutely fantastic flight that lasted over an hour and included exhilarating low passes, including one over the Mara river amid a large family of hippos.

The entire Governors operation including the "champagne" breakfast was also excellent - other guests at our camp who had booked with another operator weren't nearly as satisfied. It was also great to see other parts of the area including the Mara Triangle, which is very scenic and was far more lush than the Olare Motorogi conservancy at the time of our visit." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Muz
Colchester

"wonderful"

Based at Kicheche Bush Camp on 19 Feb 2020
"Great experience - the pilot, who was the senior pilot, was great - very knowledgeable and entertaining" Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Sandra
Ottawa

"Balloon flight over the Mara review"

Based at Kicheche Bush Camp on 9 Nov 2019
"More information about the physical requirements (getting in and out of the basket for example) would have been helpful to some.

Breakfast was okay.

For the price paid, we were a little underwhelmed." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Average
Mr I.
Strafford

"Amazing experience.Great views safe landing"

Based at Kicheche Bush Camp on 30 Aug 2019
"A memorable experience. Even my wife who was very apprehensive before hand thoroughly enjoyed it. Very competent pilot, excellent views of thousands of wildebeests and other wildlife and a stunning sunrise. It was all we hoped for." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Mr & Mrs L
Herts

"Balloon flight over the Maasi Mara"

Based at Rekero on 24 Sep 2018
"Our first balloon flight and what a wonderful experience.

Didn't like getting up so early (!!) and I though the b'fast was a bit ordinary, but would highly recommend this experience - the pilot was very skilled in the way she moved the balloon up and down (almost to ground level)." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Ms K
Chester Springs

"Fun Morning"

Based at Sala's Camp on 28 Aug 2018
"Loved our balloon ride!

We wished our pilot would have flown a bit lower as it was hard to see any wildlife because we were up so high but we still enjoyed the ride and the view of the sunrise!" Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Mr & Mrs P
Wiltshire

"A once in a lifetime experience."

Based at Rekero on 27 Sep 2017
"Very long early morning trip to Little Governor's Camp, which necessitated crossinng river by boat in the dark, for balloon flight. Very professionally managed flight which was over an hour at low level with a very smooth landing topped off by a superb bush breakfast." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Good
Ms B
Grapevine

"Balloon flight a must experience"

Based at Kicheche Bush Camp on 2 Feb 2017
"The balloon company picked us up at our camp and drove us the the launch site. The balloon basket held 16 people. We rose up into the sky before sunrise and watched the sun rise over the mountains. We floated high above the trees, sometimes almost brushing against the tree tops and at other times about 15 feet off the ground. It was an amazing experience. Not the best for animal photography but the scenery was breathtaking. Afterwards a short drive to a champagne (sparkling wine) breakfast under an acacia tree. The balloon ride should be on everyone's itinerary." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Showing 1-10 of 11
93%
11 reviews of this excursion by travellers since Aug-2007.
Overall rating by our travellers
8
2
1
0
0
Filter by month

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team