This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Balloon flight over the Mara

Balloon flight over the Mara

Reviews: Balloon flight over the Mara

Below are independent comments from 24 of our travellers who have done this activity and have kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa.

Showing 1-10 of 24
Date
Rachel
Stirling

"Balloon flight over the Mara review"

Based at Kicheche Valley on 5 Feb 2024
"The balloon flight was good, excellent views of the mara and champagne breakfast afterwards." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Tom & Lisa
Plymouth

"Balloon flight over the Mara review"

Based at Kicheche Bush Camp on 21 Jan 2024
"This experience was disappointing. The balloon ride was very well organized from start to finish, including an excellent breakfast in the bush, but with only a minimal number of animals visible from the air, the landscape alone, on a somewhat dismal morning, was not enough to make it a memorable time.

I can imagine that doing a balloon ride during the migration, with thousands of animals, would be a really exciting experience, but in general I would not recommend a balloon ride in the Mara at other times." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
G & K
LA

"Balloon flight over the Mara review"

Based at Kicheche Valley on 24 Aug 2023
"Gorgeous, thrilling, incredible - all the superlatives!

This was our second balloon flight from Governors Camp, the first in 2014 (also excellent) and it was even better this time! Our pilot Ray was personable, professional and inspired confidence, flying only ten feet from the ground, then rising to sail over the treetops. Such beautiful views of the landscape and close proximity to many kinds of wildlife. Very exciting.

We also enjoyed the champagne breakfast, with an incredible offering of hot and cold offerings. Impressive!
Can't wait to go again!" Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
P and S
Chilterns

"Balloon flight over the Mara review"

Based at Kicheche Mara on 9 Aug 2023
Overall
Excellent
Mr S
Southam

"Balloon flight over the Mara review"

Based at Elephant Pepper Camp on 14 Jul 2023
"Despite a very early 4am start to get to the launch site, an excellent trip well organisd and delivered.

An hour flight provided a very different perspective on the MAra and an added bonus was landing in the MAra Triangle which allowed a game drive back to camp via the Masai Mara NP providing a different game drive experience with Lion, Cheetah and Leopard sightings.

Breakfast out on the plains was excellent and good quality food delivered by a well trained team. Sergei the Balloon pilot was experienced and friendly and knowledgeable." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Ms K.
USA

"Balloon flight over the Mara review"

Based at Little Governors' Camp on 25 May 2023
"The balloon ride was awesome.

We didn’t expect to flight so low that we could see the animals.

The breakfast was excellent. The pilot was great, too.

I would highly recommend if one can afford it." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
MBG
Tucson

"Balloon flight over the Mara review"

Based at Kicheche Bush Camp on 28 Feb 2023
"excellent guide and run very well.

the breakfast after amazing" Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Ms J.
USA

"Balloon flight over the Mara review"

Based at Kicheche Bush Camp on 28 Feb 2023
"The balloon flight gave us the larger perspective of the vast landscape and appreciation for our time in the conservancy rather than the park." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Mr & Mrs H
York

"Balloon flight over the Mara review"

Based at Basecamp Eagle View on 4 Feb 2023
"Whole experience was brilliant, very knowledgeable pilot" Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Mr. & Mrs. O
London

"Balloon flight over the Mara review"

Based at Sand River Camp on 26 Dec 2022
"The balloon ride with Balloon Safari was excellent.

Our driver, Francis, met with us the night before and briefed us, then collecting us at 4:30 am for the drive over the launch site, catching a great view of 4 hippos on the road, on our drive.

Our pilot, Ismail, and the flight team were great, from briefing, the flight itself across the plains and the landing. Wonderful views from the balloon and commentary from a hugely experienced pilot. And to round off, a wonderful breakfast with the team and all of the passengers!

Highly recommend this experience for anyone going to the Mara!" Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Showing 1-10 of 24
97%
24 reviews of this excursion by travellers since Aug-2007.
Overall rating by our travellers
21
2
1
0
0
Filter by month

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team