This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Rekero
Rekero
Rekero
Rekero
Rekero
Rekero
Rekero

Reviews of Rekero

Wildlife sightings and reviews

24 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Rekero and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Aug-2018, 7 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Rekero.
Lion

100% success

Leopard

71% success

Cheetah

100% success

Wild dog

0% success

Buffalo

100% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Spotted Hyena

100% success

Wildebeest

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Eland

57% success

Striped Hyena

20% success

Aardvark

0% success

Black Rhino

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Showing 11-20 of 24
Duration
Arrival date
Mrs M
Appledore

"Lvely location by the river"

2 nights Arrived 27 Dec 2016
"Pete and his wife and Clea were very attentive hosts and the camp was very well run. Game drives were spoilt a bit by too many other vehicles - it was Christmas, I know, and we can't expect to have the whole Maasai Mara to ourselves - but I would avoid the Maara itself at peak holiday time. Our guide Pius did his best to avoid the viewing jams. I felt that our guide didn't quite measure up to the standard of others - he seemed a bit offhand and bored at times - but we had some very good sightings particularly of cheetah and lion." See all these reviews: 9n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Ms F
HollandPark

"Rekero review"

2 nights Arrived 27 Nov 2016
"Stacey and Pete and Clea were very welcoming and again the food was spectacular. They were so kind and welcoming and helpful.

The lodge will be even better when the main building is moved forward and gives a view up the river when eating in the evening.

I loved sitting on the verandah of the look out area and whiling away an afternoon. My only comment on the location is that over Christmas the Masai Mara is busy and you can find too many 4.4 out on the plains. This is not a criticism of the Rekero itself - merely a comment on the area. A week either side of Christmas and New Year and the area would be much quieter." See all these reviews: 9n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
A&J
San Francisco

"Good experience but not quite up to expectati"

2 nights Arrived 4 Sep 2016
"We had stayed at Asilia camps in Tanzania, and loved it, so were very much looking forward to Rekero. Overall, it was a good experience, but did not quite live up to our (admittedly very high) expectations.

Things we loved:
- Camp was in a very lovely location next to a small river. We were able to see our own small crossing.
- As with all Asilia camps, tent and food were very good.
- Our guide, Onesmus, was one of very few Gold Level guides. He was very good at spotting action and an excellent photographer." See all these reviews: 8n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Two Travellers
UK

"Rekero review"

3 nights Arrived 31 Aug 2016
"Wonderful in every way, and our guide Sammy was outstanding. Although a large proportion of the herds had (as we understood it) crossed back into the Serengeti, we nevertheless saw large numbers of wildebeest on a long day's drive over to the Mara Triangle and (thanks to Sammy’s expertise and patience) also saw a fantastic crossing from the Triangle side of the river where we were one of only three vehicles.

Having expected bucket showers and a more bush camp feel we were also very impressed with and pleasantly surprised by the large and pristine Rekero tents and piped hot water set up. From a personal perspective, we much preferred the lighter lunch/more formal dinner approach of Rekero to that of Kicheche Laikipia, and although we were initially wary of the place names at dinner which the camp used (not something we'd encountered before) it actually worked very well.

Finally, Pete and Stacey were delightful hosts; the Askari and staff super friendly; and the setting both of the camp itself and our individual tents (tuned to Hippo-pool TV) great." See all these reviews: 10n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs F
Italy

"Rekero is the place for the big cats"

4 nights Arrived 16 Mar 2016
"We chose to visit Rekero because we wanted to see more of the big cats, especially cheetahs, and we were not disappointed. In prior years we had been to six safari camps in Kenya before Rekero, so we know that it's never safe to say that any sightings are guaranteed, but seeing the big cats at Rekero is as close to a sure thing as you can get. In four days we saw seven cheetahs, five leopards and so many lions that we lost count. The Rekero guides, as well as the guides at other camps in the area coordinate in such a way that if you wanted to spend every day with just cheetahs, or lions, you could. The leopards are more difficult to find and the sightings more fleeting, but if you set out to see them, our experience was that your odds are good.

Thanks to seeing a black rhino on our last morning, we did see the big five. We were also lucky enough to see more elusive animals such as a serval cat and a bat - eared fox.

We prefer tented camps to those with lodges, so for us the accommodation at Rekero is ideal. The tents are tucked into the woods and overlook the Talek River. We requested tent nine because we wanted to be close to the hippos and were we ever close to them! They cracked branches and twigs on their paths to the river as they brushed past our tent at night, and one night we encountered a hippo in the path as walked back to the tent from dinner.

Our hosts Clea and Conway were delightful, friendly and always ready to help. They sprang to action one night when our tent was invaded by safari ants after a rain and swiftly moved us to another tent. We are most grateful for all their aid and advice.

Our guide Pius was more complicated. We'd have to say that overall he was an excellent guide, because he did put us in position to see many fantastic animals and sights, but we got the feeling that he wasn't always giving it his all. On our last day in particular, we sensed that he was "running out the clock." At times Pius seemed to rely somewhat too much on other Rekero guides, so much so that on several occasions we could see that he stopped the truck to make small talk while he waited for the other guides to leave a scene before he took us there. Then when we arrived at the scene we'd find "just" a few sleeping lions, when we'd had many active and fantastic lion encounters during the previous days. We'd have rather headed off somewhere else without being sure what we would find. The other irksome thing was that there were times when we felt we were on Pius's photo safari, as he had us waiting to move on while he maneuvered for pictures that he wanted to take with his camera. We don't mean to be too rough on Pius, because he's a friendly and personable man who guided us to many magic moments. He found us a pride of lions marching majestically across the plains, as well as a herd of elephants, both when no one else was around. He also brought us to the most memorable bush breakfast spot we'd ever been to.

He spotted the rhino on our last morning, but we felt that we wouldn't have been there to see it if we hadn't made him get up early on the morning of our leaving. That was our experience with Pius in a nutshell, moments of elation mixed with some frustration.

Overall, our experience at Rekero was fantastic and we wouldn't hesitate to return." See all these reviews: 6n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs S
Essex

"Fabulous Rekero"

3 nights Arrived 26 Feb 2016
"This was our first visit to the Mara and we were a little apprehensive because of everything we'd heard about the Mara being ridiculously busy and overcrowded. It was a little overrun with vehicles whenever there was a sighting but there was a sense of good nature about it. If you have any reservations about the Mara then don't. It is unbelievably beautiful and the big cat sightings were terrific.

The camp is very comfortable and wonderfully positioned. The food is gorgeous and the hosting very friendly.

We were blessed with a wonderful guide, Dan, who was so entertaining, made us laugh and can not only work out which grazer a cheetah is going to go for but can also work out where this is going to take place! An extraordinary place, highly recommended." See all these reviews: 15n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs C
Brentwood

"Beautiful situation on the river bank."

3 nights Arrived 6 Oct 2015
"Outstanding camp for viewing animal crossings on both Talek and Mara rivers. It was a pity that we were the only guests although there was a specific party of 6 who ate separately.

All the staff made every effort to make our stay exceptional. Sami, our guide, was amazing providing us with unbelieveable sightings not only of massive wildebeest and other animal crossings but also ensuring that every day we saw something different. His intuition as to how animals behave and second guessing where next they would appear from the bush was excellent.

Our wonderful experiences at Rekaro will remain in our minds forever." See all these reviews: 6n in Kenya; 3n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr G
Falmouth

"Rekero review"

4 nights Arrived 31 Aug 2015
"Everything was excellent, friendly, great guide, good food and great location. For seeing the migration it can't be beaten.

Equal but different to Naboisho, nicer than Cottars." See all these reviews: 12n in Seychelles; 6n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
SarahSW19
London

"Loved Rekero !"

2 nights Arrived 25 Aug 2015
"Rekero is absolutely brilliantly positioned on the river to see animals crossing as part of the Great Migration .
We saw quite a few crossings as we simply sat eating breakfast on the lawn or were looking at the view.
There are nine tents and they were all full when we were there. It is obviously a very popular place and many people we spoke to had stayed there before - some of them for the third time in a year !
We did not meet all the usual managers as they were taking a short break , but were well taken care of by Mariana and Clea.
They joined us for meals and helped dish some of them up too.
Usually one of the guides also joined us which made for lively and interesting dinner conversation.
I read somewhere that the dining tent ( mess tent) had very spartan chairs . But this was not the case when we visited as the chairs and the whole dining area were very comfortable.
The 'spartan' metal fold up chairs were however used outside for breakfast at camp ( with cushions)
One night we had place names at dinner - but couples were not split up as I had read they would be.
There was a large family of about 8 staying there at the time - so maybe that was the reason for not mixing people up at meal times .
The tent was not huge but big enough - the furniture was wooden but seemed a bit more modern than most places.
Seemed a bit more 'designed' than other places I have stayed at.
Hotr water was provided in flasks for washing your smalls and a small washing line with pegs out the front.
Bucket showers were excellent. The toilet was not separate from the rest of the bathroom which might matter if you were sharing with someone you didn't know all that well. All toiletries were included including cotton buds and tampons.
Lunch was buffet style and very good. All the food at Rekero was just so tasty !!!
The staff all seemed very confident and able to banter with guests.
Charging is in the main tent and they label your plug for you. ( good idea)
There is a new lounging- about tent on the river which looked very nice but we didn't really get a chance to relax in it unfortunately.
Rekero is NOT dismantled each year anymore as they found it caused more damage to do that than to just leave it be.
It is closed as most places are in April and May and then they return and mow a bit of grass , do some repairs etc.. and off they go again for another season.
Drinks by the fire pre-dinner was very enjoyable and I did read that the fire has been in that spot since the camp was first founded.
Our guide was Pius who found us some marvellous animal sightings.
Weather in August was lovely and warm - very little use for my fleece!
Saw lots of lions, one cheetah, and of course horizon to horizon wildebeest !!
Never seen so many in my life !!" See all these reviews: 12n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs Q
Berks

"wonderful Rekero camp"

3 nights Arrived 6 Aug 2015
"We loved this camp from the moment we arrived to the moment we left we were made to feel special. Marianne Stacy and Peter were brilliant hosts. The location is fantastic and the tents were amazing, albeit we had a family tent that would sleep 5. we also had the privilege of meeting Jackson Looseyai who is legendary in the mara.

Our guide Daniel really knew his stuff and we had fantastic bush breakfasts an d sundowners.

Food and drinks in the camp were excellent along with the service." See all these reviews: 10n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 11-20 of 24
98%
24 reviews of Rekero by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
21
3
0
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Kenya

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Kenya.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Maasai Mara National Reserve

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Little Governors' Camp

Little Governors'

Little Governors’ Camp sits by a swamp (an old oxbow of the Mara River) in the Mara Triangle sector of the Maasai Mara National Reserve. It has its own balloon-launching site.


98% (16 reviews)
Governors' Camp

Governors' Camp

Governors' Camp is a large tented camp on the Mara River and one of the oldest in the Mara region, dating from 1972. Although unfenced, and regularly visited by elephants, the whole compound is always busy with human activity.


95% (8 reviews)
Tangulia Mara

Tangulia Mara

Tangulia Mara is a rustic and traditional safari camp on the border of the Maasai Mara National Reserve owned by Jackson Looseyia of Big Cat Diary fame.


100% (8 reviews)
Serian Nkorombo

Serian Nkorombo

Serian Nkorombo is a luxury bush camp in the Musiara sector of the Maasai Mara National Reserve on the east side of the Mara River.


100% (6 reviews)
Governors' Il Moran Camp

Governors' Il Moran

The smallest and most expensive of the three camps in the Governors’ group, Governors’ Il Moran Camp hugs a meander of the Mara River just 1km north of the main Governors’ Camp.


93% (3 reviews)
Mara Ngenche Safari Camp

Ngenche Safari Camp

Mara Ngenche is a non-hosted, luxury tented camp with an antique style, which is perfect if you're looking for private dining while staying somewhere small and personal.


90% (2 reviews)
Basecamp Maasai Mara

Basecamp Maasai Mara

Basecamp Maasai Mara is a family-friendly, award-winning eco-camp on a U-bend on the north bank of the Talek River, on the boundary of the Maasai Mara National Reserve.


70% (2 reviews)
Sand River Camp

Sand River Camp

Luxury colonial-style tented camp on the banks of the Sand River close to the Tanzania border – a great spot to see the wildebeest migration.


100% (2 reviews)
Sala's Camp

Sala's Camp

Sala’s Camp is a comfortable and intimate tented camp, with seven tented rooms, located on the banks of the Sand River, in the far south of the Maasai Mara National Reserve.


100% (2 reviews)
Tipilikwani Mara Camp

Tipilikwani Camp

Tipilikwani Mara Camp is a larger, mid-range tented camp offering good value from its base on the Talek River just outside the Mara National Reserve.


100% (1 review)
Mara Expedition Camp

Mara Expedition Camp

Mara Expedition Camp is a small luxury camp located on the banks of the Ntiakitiak River inside the Maasai Mara National Reserve.


100% (1 review)
Mara Serena Safari Lodge

Mara Serena Safari Lodge

Mara Serena Safari Lodge is a large safari hotel with views of the Mara River, in the Mara Triangle sector of the Maasai Mara National Reserve.


No reviews yet
Governors’ Private Camp

Governors’ Private Camp

Located on a secluded bend of the Mara River, Governor’s Private Camp has just eight tents and is booked on an exclusive basis.


No reviews yet
Topi House

Topi House

Topi House is a very good, three-bedroom fully staffed private house on the fringes of the Maasai Mara National Reserve.


No reviews yet
Naibor Camp

Naibor Camp

Naibor has a great location in the Mara reserve, and offers accommodation to suit different budgets, with stylish high-end tents and some simpler ones too.


No reviews yet
Angama Mara

Angama Mara

Angama Mara is a top-end luxury tented camp on the Siria-Oloololo escarpment of the Maasai Mara ecoystem, just above the Mara Triangle sector of the Maasai Mara National Reserve.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa