This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mrs M from Appledore

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

3

Countries visited

2

Lodges stayed in

9

Excursions taken

0

My Nov 2019 trip

Zambia between 17 Nov 2019 and 29 Dec 2019

Trip rating: Excellent
"Excellent.

It was a shame that the outward journey was complicated by the failure of the Emirates flight on which I'd been re-booked to take off on the evening of Nov 17th, which meant missed connections and a night in Lusaka and missing two nights in the park. But thanks to Amanda for managing the changes and keeping me informed, and for looking into the possibility of changing my final flight home."

Nsefu

Nsefu

"My night at Nsefu"

3 nights Arrived 18 Nov 2019
"It was wonderful to be back at Nsefu which is one of my favourite camps.

Unfortunately because of the problems with my flights from London I missed my first two nights there and only arrived late on the third night. A small consolation was spotting a very fine leopard and a honey badger on the drive in. We left early next morning to transfer to Luangwa Safari House so it was a sadly fleeting visit. The transfer drive was good and I include the game sightings below."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Luangwa Safari House

Luangwa Safari House

"Carnivore Week at Luangwa Safari House"

7 nights Arrived 21 Nov 2019
"As I and one other couple were the only guests we had a choice of bedrooms and I opted for one upstairs with a view over the pool and the lagoon. The first few nights were hot and the breeze system over the bed was a welcome coolant.

There were bats roosting in the bathroom and I enjoyed their comings and goings and the knowledge that they were keeping the mosquitoes down in number. There was a good feeling of being relaxed and at home in the house and the staff were always on hand to deal with my needs before I knew I had them.

The rains began in earnest towards the end of the week so less time was spent outside round the pool but the house is so open and airy that there was never a sense of being shut in by the weather.

===

RPS - Carnivore Week with the Zambian Carnivore Project

Amongst the alpha predators

It was a privilege to be able to see the work of ZCP for the second time. The use of satellite tracking collars was new since my last visit and it was interesting what a difference it made to being able to pinpoint the animals.

The presentation on Day 1 was professional and informative and the ZCP team, especially Thandi, were very generous with their time. I worried, though, that there was too much of their valuable time spent coming with us to make sure we got to see the lions and dogs. I had expected that they would go about their usual work and would let us come along and observe. But so saying it was a very special experience being able to listen to them talk about their work and their intimate knowledge of the packs and prides in South Luangwa and Zambia's other parks.

Jonah our guide treated us to some very accomplished off-road driving to locate the lions and dogs and was managed the inevitable punctures and getting stuck in the mud competence and good humour. Altogether an exciting and educational week."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Good

August in Africa

Zambia between 5 Aug 2018 and 2 Sep 2018

Trip rating: Good
"My only hesitation about saying "very satisfactory" is that I feel there were too many unnecessary errors in the booking process, including mistakes on the itinerary about which terminal we were supposed to depart from at Johannesburg.

This was confusing and time-wasting until we figured it out."

Nkwali

Nkwali

"sadly only overnight"

1 night Arrived 6 Aug 2018
"It was lovely to revisit Nkwali all too briefly before heading off for the Mobile Walking Safari first thing in the morning.

It's like a homecoming"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Average
Robin Pope Safaris walking safari

Robin Pope Safaris walking safari

"A Walk on the Wild Side"

5 nights Arrived 7 Aug 2018
"My second walking safari lived up to all expectations and exceeded them in terms of the guiding. It was privilege to walk with Kanga, Geoffrey and Charles, our wildlife scout, whose expertise and knowledge was encyclopaedic.

It's a magical way to experience the park, learning about its smallest inhabitants like termites and ant lions and praying mantis. (could have done without the tsetse flies though) and its largest. We tracked lions and skirted respectfully round elephants and buffalo and were briefly experts on dung and tracks.

The team back at camp hosted by ever-hospitable Michael looked after our every need. I look forward to next time."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Nsefu

Nsefu

"A perfect finale"

2 nights Arrived 12 Aug 2018
"Coming back to Nsefu was also like coming home.

The banana boat ride to the landing, being in the same room as my last stay, watching the elephant and giraffe in stately procession through the river: familiar but exciting as ever.

Chilumba went out of his way to find us the mother leopard and her cub, and the local lions, as well as introducing me to birds I hadn't seen before.

Sad to leave as always."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Christmas in Kenya

Kenya between 22 Dec 2016 and 1 Jan 2017

Trip rating: Excellent
"Very enjoyable. An exotic break from midwinter N Hemisphere. Can't wait to go back.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:
No: I'll be very happy to travel with you again."

The Emakoko

The Emakoko

"Overnight at Emakoko"

1 night Arrived 23 Dec 2016
"Emakoko was very welcoming after a long day's travelling. It was looking elegantly festive for Christmas with a log fire and pretty tree. my room was comfortable and had visiting rock hyrax who came in apparently bent on stealing the roses from the vase on the table. lovely view across the little valley, and a serval which came to sundowners. No time for a serious game drive as we left early next day, but great to see giraffe grazing with high rise Nairobi in the background.

A good start to the holiday."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Kicheche Laikipia

Kicheche Laikipia

"Cosseted at Laikipia."

3 nights Arrived 24 Dec 2016
"Peter jnr. collected us from Nanuke and was an entertaining and interesting guide on the way to the camp. Andy and Sonja could not have been more accommodating hosts and made sure that everything ran smoothly and our every need was met. They and the rest of the staff took great pains to make Christmas special, with festive lunch under an acacia, staff singing and presents of fudge made by the chef. Candle-lit dinner in the evening. Game drives were always interesting, though not quite the same numbers and different species I'm used to in Zambia. Different habitat of course. It was a privilege to see rhino. Peter snr. was an informed and informative guide."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Rekero

Rekero

"Lvely location by the river"

2 nights Arrived 27 Dec 2016
"Pete and his wife and Clea were very attentive hosts and the camp was very well run. Game drives were spoilt a bit by too many other vehicles - it was Christmas, I know, and we can't expect to have the whole Maasai Mara to ourselves - but I would avoid the Maara itself at peak holiday time. Our guide Pius did his best to avoid the viewing jams. I felt that our guide didn't quite measure up to the standard of others - he seemed a bit offhand and bored at times - but we had some very good sightings particularly of cheetah and lion."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Kicheche Bush Camp

Kicheche Bush Camp

"Best camp of my stay"

3 nights Arrived 29 Dec 2016
"Loved Kicheche's remoteness. Darren and Emma and their great staff made our days there very memorable. They organised a dawn balloon safari for me, and we had a very good early morning walking trip. Charles, our guide, was superb, knowledgeable and keen to help us enjoy our game viewing. As it's in one of the concessions, this was less crowded than the Mara itself.

it was interesting having photographers, professional and keen amateurs, in the camp, and to be allowed to look over their shoulders in the evening to watch them processing the days' shots. Tempts me to do a trip with Paul Goldstein and improve my holiday pics."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team