This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
The Emakoko
The Emakoko
The Emakoko
The Emakoko
The Emakoko

Reviews of The Emakoko

Wildlife sightings and reviews

74 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited The Emakoko and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 19 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at The Emakoko.
Lion

82% success

Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Wild dog

7% success

Zebra

100% success

Black Rhino

89% success

Giraffe

89% success

Buffalo

76% success

Eland

71% success

White Rhino

71% success

Spotted Hyena

67% success

Wildebeest

47% success

Aardvark

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Striped Hyena

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 74
Duration
Arrival date
Steve H
Leeds

"The Emakoko is brilliant"

1 night Arrived 28 Jan 2020
"Everything about The Emakoko is great. The accommodation, the food, the staff, the location and the guiding. Elizaban is a great guide and excellent company. Once again their "dawa" cocktail proved extremely popular with our group. Nairobi NP is a great place to start a safari and it's just a shame that the "early bird" start from the airport is no longer available but I would have no hesitation in recommending The Emakoko to start a safari. " See all these reviews: 6n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

7 sightings

Buffalo

6 sightings

Eland

3 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Lion

2 sightings

Spotted Hyena

3 sightings

White Rhino

5 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr D.
Penrith

"The Emakoko review"

1 night Arrived 28 Jan 2020
"Good idea to have a brief taster as it were, straight away on arrival." See all these reviews: 7n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

1 sighting

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr V
Texas

"The Emakoko review"

1 night Arrived 25 Jan 2020
"We spent an additional one night after our arrival in Nairobi at The Emakoko, as I like to have a sufficient buffer before moving on to the bush, just as protection against potential flight cancellations or other travel delays. This was our second stay at The Emakoko, and we were warmly welcomed back.

A funicular has been installed to help guests more easily access cabins on the upper portion of the hillside above the reception and dining areas, which is very helpful. The cabins are spacious, well-maintained, and luxurious. The staff is very friendly, and the food is excellent. Dining is at separate tables, which makes sense here, as this isn’t a place where guests remain for prolonged stays leading to bonding.

Nairobi National Park is worthy of our support, in my opinion, and it’s always a nice introduction back to Africa. It’s an excellent place to see rhino, both black and white. " See all these reviews: 14n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

1 sighting

Eland

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

White Rhino

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Sandra
Ottawa

"The Emakoko Review"

1 night Arrived 12 Nov 2019
"Overall, an excellent stay. However, can be somewhat uncomfortable for those with a fear of snakes when the owner brings a snake to the reception area.

The driver (Sammy) who brought us to the lodge was very patient with us, stopping numerous times for picture opportunities. Elizaban was also very accommodating." See all these reviews: 12n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

1 sighting

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Eland

2 sightings

Giraffe

2 sightings

Lion

3 sightings

Zebra

3 sightings

The Hs
Edmonton

"Emakoko review"

1 night Arrived 12 Nov 2019
"What an amazing way to end an amazing experience!

We so enjoyed everything about The Emakoko, from the hosts to the staff, it was a wonderful capstone for our trip!

And we saw black rhinos! " See all these reviews: 12n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

3 sightings

Zebra

2 sightings

Dr R.
Colombo 5

"The Emakoko review"

2 nights Arrived 9 Oct 2019
"The food, facilities and location were excellent.

The guiding was good, although our guides knowledge of birds, although good, was not as exceptional as we had experienced at other camps during our trip." See all these reviews: 9n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

4 sightings

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Eland

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Lion

4 sightings

Spotted Hyena

3 sightings

White Rhino

2 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mrs L
Suffolk

"The Emakoko review"

1 night Arrived 7 Sep 2019
"It was good to stay here at the end of our trip.

I thought the road to enter the National Park was terrible and the last part of the road to get to Emakoko was also bad. Very steep and bumpy.

We saw a surprising amount of animals in the Park." See all these reviews: 11n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

1 sighting

Giraffe

2 sightings

Lion

2 sightings

Zebra

3 sightings

Deb & J-M
Australia

"The Emakoko - Our special place"

1 night Arrived 4 Sep 2019
"We visited twice with a two night gap at The Giraffe Manor in between.
Both visits were wonderful.

The Emakoko was our favourite place to visit from all the places we stayed across Africa in the month we were there.
We think it was the very special people who work there that made the difference, as we stayed in many beautiful lodges and accommodation types across Africa.

Rooms: The accommodation for our first visit (Room #10) was superb. Very clean (& i am very particular), special touches galore, view, layout, 'wow factor' all there in spades. I would not change a thing nor was there anything to fault.
During our second visit the room was low & close to the lodge... can't remember number? 3 perhaps? and was not as special.
A bit dark. Couldn't use bath as it was so badly damaged, safe didn't work, no battery in walkie talkie, view not as spectacular. However, the cleanliness, attention to detail with the special touches ie flowers, 'welcome back' message and the care taken to keep the fire going so it was always warm whenever we arrived at our room, made this visit very special also.

Food: Fresh, innovative, tasty, plentiful and the wonderful, warm & friendly, professional service team made it all the better for eating. 5 star.
Lawrence & Patrick and their teams seemed to be able to predict and be one step ahead of us in respect to anything we may wish for ie more bread, a wine top up etc. J-M's dietary needs were very well addressed and he enjoyed all the alternate dishes made with care just for him. Some Swahili lessons (we asked for some tips) were very much welcomed and enjoyed by us both also.

Personnel: 11/10
Everyone made us feel at home and so welcome. Nothing was a problem. Any slight request or inquiry was acted on straight away, even when we didn't expect it. The team at the Emakoko are proud of what they do and how they do it and it shows. They are warm, genuine and very friendly people and seemed as happy as we were to see us again when we arrived for our second visit. it was like 'coming home'. Very professional, organised and always a step ahead. The team are always looking for ways to do that little bit extra to make you feel special and surprise you & it works. It was very sad to leave.

Game drives:
10/10
The knowledge of our game drivers and sightings we saw were amazing.
Both had a wicked sense of humour. Elizban particularly had a perfect sense of timing and knew just when to stop and for how long... his sense of timing was almost as good as his sense of humour!
We were very fortunate with each drive to see something very special eg 2 lionesses and 5 cubs, family of hippo (mum, dad & baby) 'water dancing' just on sunset, white rhinos etc.

" See all these reviews: 3n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

4 sightings

Buffalo

10 sightings

Eland

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Lion

2 sightings

Spotted Hyena

2 sightings

White Rhino

5 sightings

Wild dog

5 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr & Mrs M
Weymouth

"Amazing to be so close to Nairobi"

1 night Arrived 5 Aug 2019
"This was an amazing camp in a national park so close to Nairobi that you could see the city skyline as well as wildlife in front of you.

The pickup from the airport and transfer to camp was so well organised, it was a game drive in its own right when we arrived as soon as we passed through the park gates.

We were only here for one night, but this camp is worth a longer stay.

Great food and accommodation - and the rock hyrax love to eat the roses!!!!!" See all these reviews: 17n in Kenya; 9n in Zimbabwe; 6n in Tanzania; 5n in Botswana; 5n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

5 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Spotted Hyena

10 sightings

White Rhino

6 sightings

Wildebeest

8 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Steve H
Leeds

"Amazing Emakoko"

1 night Arrived 29 Jan 2019
"Ideal first call from JKIA to start off a safari - Nairobi National Park is underrated and getting to Emakoko is just a game drive away.

Emakoko is a wonderful lodge - great cottages in a wonderful setting with abundant birdlife. Fantastic food. Elizaban is a knowledgeable and friendly driver/guide and all the staff are helpful and attentive whilst also managing to be discreet! Antony is a very congenial host and runs a great lodge

A great introduction to a safari." See all these reviews: 13n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

1 sighting

Buffalo

10 sightings

Eland

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Lion

1 sighting

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

White Rhino

3 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Showing 1-10 of 74
96%
74 reviews of The Emakoko by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
62
10
2
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Kenya

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Kenya.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Nairobi

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Eka Hotel

Eka Hotel

The Eka is an affordably priced business-class hotel in a relatively convenient location between Nairobi International Airport and Wilson Airport.


86% (61 reviews)
Ole-Sereni

Ole-Sereni

The Ole-Sereni is a modern, stylish hotel neighbouring Nairobi National Park and located 6km from Wilson domestic airport.


79% (56 reviews)
Crowne Plaza Nairobi Airport

Crowne Plaza Nbi Apt

The Crowne Plaza Nairobi Airport (formerly known as the Lazizi Premiere and now part of the InterContinental Hotels Group) is the oldest hotel at Nairobi International Airport.


88% (52 reviews)
Macushla House

Macushla House

Macushla House is a very pleasant, small, owner-managed bed and breakfast hotel in a leafy part of southwest Nairobi, very convenient for visiting the Giraffe Centre and Sheldrick's Elephant Orphanage.


90% (48 reviews)
Aero Club of East Africa

Aero Club of East Africa

The Aero Club of East Africa is a private members' club in the grounds of Wilson Airport, Nairobi, offering offering comfortable rooms and a good restaurant, bar and swimming pool to non-members.


79% (27 reviews)
Four Points by Sheraton

Four Points Nairobi Apt

The Four Points by Sheraton (part of the Marriot group) is one of the newest additions to the hotels within Kenya International Airport’s security perimeter.


92% (25 reviews)
Giraffe Manor

Giraffe Manor

Giraffe Manor is a unique, perennially popular lodge on the outskirts of Nairobi, offering up-close-and-personal encounters with the rare Rothschild giraffes that roam its extensive grounds.


97% (23 reviews)
Nairobi Tented Camp

Nairobi Tented Camp

Nairobi Tented Camp is the only tented camp located inside Nairobi National Park, making it a great option for a true safari stay close to the city and airports.


90% (6 reviews)
The Norfolk Hotel

The Norfolk Hotel

The Norfolk Hotel is one of the oldest hotels in Nairobi and has a reputation for its colourful history dating back to 1904.


100% (4 reviews)
Palacina

Palacina

The Palacina is a complex of accommodation options in a quieter part of central Nairobi.


80% (4 reviews)
Hemingways Nairobi

Hemingways Nairobi

Hemingways Nairobi is a luxury country-house style hotel, with a spa and gym, in the wealthy suburb of Karen.


100% (3 reviews)
Hogmead

Hogmead

Hogmead is a stylish, luxury boutique hotel/homestay in a secluded part of Langata in south-west Nairobi, very close to Nairobi National Park and the elephant orphanage.


80% (2 reviews)
Sankara

Sankara

Sankara is a strikingly built hotel in the bustling central Nairobi suburb of Westlands, primarily used as a business stay, with very good dining and leisure facilities.


90% (2 reviews)
One Forty Eight

One Forty Eight

One Forty Eight is a very stylish boutique hotel in one of the leafiest corners of the southwest Nairobi suburb of Karen-Langata. The Giraffe Centre at Giraffe Manor is just a 10-minute walk away.


100% (1 review)
The Stanley

The Stanley

The Stanley is a large, traditional hotel – the oldest in Nairobi – offering a range of facilities.


No reviews yet
Tribe

Tribe

Design-led, contemporary hotel in the Village Market area of Gigiri, a largely diplomatic and luxury residential suburb 10km north of Nairobi’s central business district.


No reviews yet
Acacia Camp

Acacia Camp

Acacia Camp is a rustic and affordable safari camp in a wildlife sanctuary a 30-minute drive towards Mombasa from Nairobi’s international airport.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa