This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
The Emakoko
The Emakoko
The Emakoko
The Emakoko
The Emakoko

Reviews of The Emakoko

Wildlife sightings and reviews

84 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited The Emakoko and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 28 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at The Emakoko.
Lion

88% success

Leopard

5% success

Cheetah

9% success

Wild dog

10% success

Zebra

100% success

Black Rhino

93% success

Giraffe

93% success

Buffalo

84% success

Eland

77% success

White Rhino

72% success

Wildebeest

61% success

Spotted Hyena

55% success

Striped Hyena

5% success

Pangolin

5% success

Aardvark

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 84
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs J
Hanwell

"It's good to be back!"

2 nights Arrived 11 Feb 2022
"This was our second visit to the Emakoko (you can find my review in our 2015 trip) and, after 2 years of not leaving the country, we were sorely in need of our safari fix. There can be few places more capable of delivering that fix within an hour of a major international airport!

Minutes after the usual chaotic immigration at JKIA, we were installed in a Land Cruiser with a cool box of welcome Kenyan beers, and twenty minutes of Nairobi traffic later we were entering the National Park in pitch darkness, and laying bets with our guide as to which would be our first wildlife spot (he won - bat - but my nightjar was a close second).

The lodge's location is as extraordinary as ever - an oasis of bush experience within touching distance of the big city. Waking up the next morning to a game drive, we knew we were back in Africa! We were pleased also to say hello to some of the staff we remembered from our last visit.

Of course it's not the same as being out in the more remote parks & reserves, but it does a very good impression of it. It's the perfect place to decompress and recharge your energy after the flight, before moving onto somewhere more adventurous. The Emakoko has very much a safari lodge ethos, with beautifully designed rooms overlooking a wooded valley - although I doubt you would find the quite remarkable outdoor funicular lift in any other safari lodge." See all these reviews: 11n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

Multiple sightings

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Eland

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Annabel
Somerset

"The Emakoko "

2 nights Arrived 26 Jan 2022
"This is the perfect place to ease yourself into a safari. It's right on the edge of the Nairobi National Park and really helps get you used to the light, the early mornings and the wildlife (and how to spot it). I would really recommend it, especially if you've never been on safari and are going into the bush proper.

The staff are well trained and eager to please and the surroundings are lovely. Some reviewers have mentioned the road. The Emakoko is built on the side of a ravine, so yes, the road is steep and bumpy but their drivers and their 4WDs are more than capable of getting you there and back in safety. Just enjoy.

I saw fantastic wildlife in the short time (two nights) I was there. Two lion brothers staking out the plain at dawn, another male lion with two females, adolescent cheetah triplets, a male black rhino, mother and calf, all together in one group; several white rhino including calves; also bushbuck, giraffe, zebra, hippo, black backed jackal and several species of antelope.

The restaurant and bar are run by charming Linus. I didn't have cocktails but the wines were good. The food seemed sometimes to be too ambitious. I had a steak which looked delicious but turned out to be chewy. On the other hand, the snapper with "custard" was so good I thanked the chef. Be prepared for company during dinner. The rooms are open to the surrounding woodland so you may be visited by the resident genets and a bushbaby (who loves to be fed with sliced banana). There are often hyrax on the bridge across the river.

The public rooms are very comfortable and stylish with big sofas and tables with piles of animal reference books. The bedrooms are well equipped and welcoming. Mine had a jug of roses on the table and petals on the bed and bath. Small touches which I really appreciated. Having a hot bubble bath both nights was a joy! Again, some reviewers have criticised the rooms, saying they look 'tired'. I'd agree to a point, but it's not as though you'd open he door and go, 'Oh my God, this is tired, get me out of here.' It's minor, certainly not enough to put anyone off or marr your stay. I just assumed that a very tough two years had tightened the refurb budget. I've since heard that an upgrade is on its way." See all these reviews: 7n in Kenya; 2n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

4 sightings

Buffalo

3 sightings

Cheetah

2 sightings

Eland

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Lion

4 sightings

White Rhino

6 sightings

Wildebeest

3 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Dr W & Dr D
Leeds

"The Emakoko review"

1 night Arrived 22 Jan 2022
"This is very well located in Nairobi National Park. It is also convenient for the domestic and international airports, so is a great place to stay at the start or end of a holiday.

Our flight back to the UK was late at night so we stayed for our last night and booked the room for the day of departure as well, meaning we could stay until it was time to go to the airport for our bag-drop. It is a very comfortable camp and the food is excellent.

Nairobi National Park is great for seeing rhino. We saw several white and black rhino and and had a particularly close view of a white rhino which was right next to us on the road. The best encounter with a rhino that we have ever had!" See all these reviews: 15n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

4 sightings

Buffalo

5 sightings

Eland

4 sightings

Giraffe

4 sightings

Lion

1 sighting

White Rhino

5 sightings

Wildebeest

4 sightings

Zebra

4 sightings

N&C
Poole

"The Emakoko review"

1 night Arrived 20 Jan 2022
"We came back to the Emakoko at the end of our trip.

We appreciated their flexibility; we are able to invite a friend staying elsewhere in Nairobi to lunch and we had no need vacate our room prematurely (as does happen with some day room stays) even when our departing flight was delayed." See all these reviews: 13n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

Multiple sightings

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Eland

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr V
Texas

"The Emakoko review"

1 night Arrived 17 Jan 2022
"We’ve stayed at least one night at The Emakoko at the start of each of our trips to Kenya.

This is a very well-appointed lodge in a picturesque location in Nairobi National Park, with good guiding and excellent food, and we have found that it provides the perfect balance of getting into our safari groove while still shaking off the inevitable jet lag from our travel.

We were very thankful to have a late-morning transfer from our Nairobi hotel to The Emakoko, as opposed to an early morning flight from Wilson, to start things off. We find this plan also helps alleviate any logistical concerns that might arise from a delayed or cancelled international flight into Kenya." See all these reviews: 17n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

1 sighting

Eland

1 sighting

Giraffe

1 sighting

Lion

1 sighting

White Rhino

1 sighting

Zebra

1 sighting

N&C
Poole

"The Emakoko review"

2 nights Arrived 6 Jan 2022
"We had visited The Emakoko four years ago and were keen to return. It was as good as we remembered.

Our flight to Nairobi was delayed but the staff had stayed up and offered us a meal, despite it being 3am by the time we arrived! We declined the offer and that of an early morning game drive, opting instead for a leisurely morning and an afternoon drive.

There is no shortage of game in Nairobi National Park and it is interesting to see it with the backdrop of the city skyline and the railway line, which was not built the last time we were here.

The following day we had a post breakfast game drive to Wilson to get our flight to Loisaba." See all these reviews: 13n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

Multiple sightings

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Eland

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

White Rhino

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Miss G.
Newark

"The Emakoko review"

1 night Arrived 31 Dec 2021
"We had a nice stay at The Emakoko. The staff are friendly and accommodating.

The rooms are very impressive with a nice decking area, a large bathroom and seating area with fireplace. Although the rooms are of very high standard they are a little tired in some areas and could do with some upgrading ie there was a massive hole in the mosquito net over our bed.

The communal areas are very comfortable and an enjoyable place to relax.

The food was okay. It sometimes felt like it was trying too hard to be fine dining and a lot of it was not to our taste. Personally we would have preferred if they did something more simple but to an excellent standard. The pizza they cooked in the oven around the pool was fantastic. Weirdly they don't do any diet drinks.

The massage we had was very good and the therapist was a very kind, chatty person." See all these reviews: 11n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

3 sightings

Buffalo

3 sightings

Eland

1 sighting

Giraffe

2 sightings

Lion

1 sighting

White Rhino

1 sighting

Zebra

1 sighting

Dr A.B
Rotherwick

"The Emakoko review"

2 nights Arrived 28 Dec 2021
"We absolutely loved the Emakoko. We were warmly welcomed on arrival by Anton, and were delighted with our upgrade to the private house with pool!

The children loved the remote controlled funicular to go up and down the hill to the house, and the pool was a big success despite being on the refreshing side. Food and drinks were absolutely excellent, we particularly liked the house special "Dawa" cocktail. The occasional monkey stealing bread off the breakfast table provided much amusement, as did the snake that Anton had captured and kept to show the children.

Our guide Peter was knowledgeable and the game drives in the National Park provided a perfect introduction to safari. We saw lionesses, rhino, giraffe, ostriches, a leopard tortoise, monkeys, mating hippos - and that was just on the drive to get to the lodge!

Highly recommend, a great first stop." See all these reviews: 10n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs S
Kingston

"The Emakoko review"

1 night Arrived 22 Oct 2021
"Emakoko was lovely, and so convenient for the airport.
Nairobi Park was having the roadways resurfaced so was full of large lorries being driven at speed and carelessly." See all these reviews: 11n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

1 sighting

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Olga
Dubai

"Wonderfull location, very professional staff!"

2 nights Arrived 1 Apr 2021
"It was my first days in Kenya and my driver Elisaban made them unforgettable !

It was really amazing to see so many animals and to learn about them! I will be back!" See all these reviews: 8n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

4 sightings

Buffalo

10 sightings

Cheetah

3 sightings

Eland

4 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Leopard

Multiple sightings

Lion

6 sightings

Pangolin

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

3 sightings

Striped Hyena

Multiple sightings

White Rhino

10 sightings

Wild dog

5 sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Showing 1-10 of 84
96%
84 reviews of The Emakoko by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
71
11
2
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Kenya

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Kenya.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Nairobi

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Eka Hotel

Eka Hotel

The Eka is an affordably priced business-class hotel in a relatively convenient location between Nairobi International Airport and Wilson Airport.


86% (61 reviews)
Ole-Sereni

Ole-Sereni

The Ole-Sereni is a modern, stylish hotel neighbouring Nairobi National Park and located 6km from Wilson domestic airport.


79% (58 reviews)
Four Points by Sheraton

Four Points Nairobi Apt

The Four Points by Sheraton (part of the Marriot group) is one of the newest additions to the hotels within Kenya International Airport’s security perimeter.


92% (54 reviews)
Crowne Plaza Nairobi Airport

Crowne Plaza Nbi Apt

The Crowne Plaza Nairobi Airport (formerly known as the Lazizi Premiere and now part of the InterContinental Hotels Group) is the oldest hotel at Nairobi International Airport.


88% (52 reviews)
Macushla House

Macushla House

Macushla House is a very pleasant, small, owner-managed bed and breakfast hotel in a leafy part of southwest Nairobi, very convenient for visiting the Giraffe Centre and Sheldrick's Elephant Orphanage.


90% (50 reviews)
Aero Club of East Africa

Aero Club of East Africa

The Aero Club of East Africa is a private members' club in the grounds of Wilson Airport, Nairobi, offering offering comfortable rooms and a good restaurant, bar and swimming pool to non-members.


80% (29 reviews)
Giraffe Manor

Giraffe Manor

Giraffe Manor is a unique, perennially popular lodge on the outskirts of Nairobi, offering up-close-and-personal encounters with the rare Rothschild giraffes that roam its extensive grounds.


98% (28 reviews)
Nairobi Tented Camp

Nairobi Tented Camp

Nairobi Tented Camp is the only tented camp located inside Nairobi National Park, making it a great option for a true safari stay close to the city and airports.


90% (6 reviews)
Hemingways Nairobi

Hemingways Nairobi

Hemingways Nairobi is a luxury country-house style hotel, with a spa and gym, in the wealthy suburb of Karen.


97% (6 reviews)
The Norfolk Hotel

The Norfolk Hotel

The Norfolk Hotel is one of the oldest hotels in Nairobi and has a reputation for its colourful history dating back to 1904.


100% (4 reviews)
Palacina

Palacina

The Palacina is a complex of accommodation options in a quieter part of central Nairobi.


80% (4 reviews)
Hogmead

Hogmead

Hogmead is a stylish, luxury boutique hotel/homestay in a secluded part of Langata in south-west Nairobi, very close to Nairobi National Park and the elephant orphanage.


80% (2 reviews)
Sankara

Sankara

Sankara is a strikingly built hotel in the bustling central Nairobi suburb of Westlands, primarily used as a business stay, with very good dining and leisure facilities.


90% (2 reviews)
Eden Nairobi

Eden Nairobi

One Forty Eight is a very stylish boutique hotel in one of the leafiest corners of the southwest Nairobi suburb of Karen-Langata. The Giraffe Centre at Giraffe Manor is just a 10-minute walk away.


100% (1 review)
The Stanley

The Stanley

The Stanley is a large, traditional hotel – the oldest in Nairobi – offering a range of facilities.


No reviews yet
Tribe

Tribe

Design-led, contemporary hotel in the Village Market area of Gigiri, a largely diplomatic and luxury residential suburb 10km north of Nairobi’s central business district.


No reviews yet
Acacia Camp

Acacia Camp

Acacia Camp is a rustic and affordable safari camp in a wildlife sanctuary a 30-minute drive towards Mombasa from Nairobi’s international airport.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa