This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
The Emakoko
The Emakoko
The Emakoko
The Emakoko
The Emakoko

Reviews of The Emakoko

Wildlife sightings and reviews

116 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited The Emakoko and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 53 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at The Emakoko.
Lion

75% success

Leopard

3% success

Cheetah

13% success

Wild dog

5% success

Zebra

88% success

Giraffe

88% success

Black Rhino

80% success

White Rhino

79% success

Buffalo

74% success

Eland

61% success

Wildebeest

56% success

Spotted Hyena

50% success

Striped Hyena

6% success

Pangolin

3% success

Aardvark

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 116
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs R
Glos

"The Emakoko review"

1 night Arrived 18 Feb 2024
"The best lodge visited on this trip. Truly stunning. Great location, owner led team, amazing staff and food.

Our room at the top of the site was beautiful with lovely views over the gorge. We enjoyed riding the lift - a very different experience.

It was the perfect place to relax and refresh before the long journey home.

We had a couple of game drives in the park with our guide Jackson. He also did the honours collecting us from Wilson and dropping us at the international terminal." See all these reviews: 13n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

10 sightings

Buffalo

1 sighting

Eland

1 sighting

Giraffe

5 sightings

Spotted Hyena

3 sightings

White Rhino

10 sightings

Zebra

6 sightings

Ms D.
Canada

"The Emakoko review"

2 nights Arrived 7 Feb 2024
"Wonderful location with friendly staff and excellent amenities.

Rooms were lovely and food of high quality.

Excellent game drives through national park with a friendly and knowledgeable guide." See all these reviews: 15n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

5 sightings

Eland

6 sightings

Giraffe

8 sightings

Lion

5 sightings

White Rhino

1 sighting

Ms M.
USA

"The Emakoko review"

1 night Arrived 6 Feb 2024
"The Emakoko was very nice and a great, refreshing respite on the last day. The rooms and meals were wonderful as was the staff.

However, the major complaint I had was not knowing what to expect at the Nairobi airport.

It was absolutely chaotic - through no fault of the driver - but rather the fact I had no idea what to expect other than being told it would take awhile to get through. That was an understatement - yowzer!" See all these reviews: 13n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

Multiple sightings

HLG
Manitoba

"The Emakoko review"

1 night Arrived 6 Feb 2024
"Was only there for part of a day but seems like would be an excellent place to stay" See all these reviews: 13n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

1 sighting

White Rhino

1 sighting

CB from Iowa
USA

"The Emakoko review"

1 night Arrived 6 Feb 2024
"The Emakoko is a beautiful facility.

Beautiful room, and the service was awesome, and the food delicious!" See all these reviews: 13n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

1 sighting

Giraffe

1 sighting

White Rhino

Multiple sightings

Tom & Lisa
Plymouth

"The Emakoko: Excellent intro to Kenya"

2 nights Arrived 15 Jan 2024
"The Emakoko was an excellent place to start a Kenyan safari. We arrived after a game drive through Nairobi Nat. Park, greeted by a troop of baboons along the road. Anton and his staff greeted us on arrival, pointing out the python just below the entrance bridge.

Our room was extremely comfortable, open, attractive with a very nice deck. The food, with new menus being introduced by a visiting chef, was terrific and the service was warm, friendly and fun.

Every one on the staff was excellent, particularly June, who took care of our room and really helped out when a group of monkeys invaded our room, stealing my medicine and scattering all kinds of things.

Our guide, Peter, was responsive and well-informed but a little too soft-spoken and at times hard to understand." See all these reviews: 13n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

White Rhino

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Ms Susan
USA

"The Emakoko review"

2 nights Arrived 15 Jan 2024
"The people at Emakoko are wonderful--relaxed, full of humor, and generous with their knowledge of the creatures (like that gorgeous python! and the bush baby that appeared at night, and the genet who crept near the lodge--such a treat!).

The rooms are fantastic and while we were there a visiting chef was trying out some new recipes so we were spoiled.

The guide was fabulous--also helpful, cheerful, indefatigable." See all these reviews: 13n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

6 sightings

Lion

3 sightings

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

White Rhino

Multiple sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr & Mrs S
E Sussex

"The Emakoko review"

4 nights Arrived 14 Dec 2023
"As written previously." See all these reviews: 7n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs S
E Sussex

"The Emakoko review"

1 night Arrived 11 Dec 2023
"This camp is run by the owners, Anton and Emma. They were friendly and we spent some of our after dinner nights with a drink talking to Anton.

The camp is well run family accommodation, the food is superb with three good meals a day. We started our stay in room 9 which is high up and reached by a vehicular railway.

When we returned a few days later we were accommodated in room no 8 which again is accessed by the venicular railway. The accommodation was luxurious and comfortable and could not be faulted in anyway.

One evening during our stay I was presented with a birthday cake by all the staff singing happy birthday.

Could highly recommend a stay at Emakoko." See all these reviews: 7n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Sightings Report

Black Rhino

Multiple sightings

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Cheetah

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Lion

1 sighting

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

White Rhino

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

1 sighting

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Goody
Manchester

"The Emakoko review"

1 night Arrived 17 Nov 2023
"What a beautiful Lodge. Our only regret was that we only stayed one night.

It was so lovely I had to read the novel, written by the owners mother, when I got back. It made me want to return even more.

I would definitely recommend this to anyone short of time who may want a 'taste of safari' before heading to the coast.

When we return to Kenya we will definitely stay again." See all these reviews: 12n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

1 sighting

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Eland

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Lion

1 sighting

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Wildebeest

1 sighting

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Showing 1-10 of 116
97%
116 reviews of The Emakoko by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
100
14
2
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Kenya

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Kenya.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Nairobi

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Four Points Nairobi Airport

Four Points Nairobi Airport

The Four Points by Sheraton, set within the perimeter of Nairobi International Airport, is ideally located for a first or last night in Kenya.


91% (147 reviews)
Eka Hotel

Eka Hotel

The Eka is an affordably priced business-class hotel in a relatively convenient location between Nairobi International Airport and Wilson Airport.


86% (62 reviews)
Ole-Sereni

Ole-Sereni

The Ole-Sereni is a modern, stylish hotel neighbouring Nairobi National Park and located 6km from Wilson domestic airport.


79% (59 reviews)
Crowne Plaza Nairobi Airport

Crowne Plaza Nbi Apt

The Crowne Plaza Nairobi Airport (formerly known as the Lazizi Premiere and now part of the InterContinental Hotels Group) is the oldest hotel at Nairobi International Airport.


88% (59 reviews)
Macushla House

Macushla House

Macushla House is a very pleasant, small, owner-managed bed and breakfast hotel in a leafy part of southwest Nairobi, very convenient for visiting the Giraffe Centre and Sheldrick's Elephant Orphanage.


91% (53 reviews)
Giraffe Manor

Giraffe Manor

Giraffe Manor is a unique, perennially popular lodge on the outskirts of Nairobi, offering up-close-and-personal encounters with the rare Rothschild giraffes that roam its extensive grounds.


98% (36 reviews)
Aero Club of East Africa

Aero Club of East Africa

The Aero Club of East Africa is a private members' club in the grounds of Wilson Airport, Nairobi, offering offering comfortable rooms and a good restaurant, bar and swimming pool to non-members.


82% (34 reviews)
Tamarind Tree Hotel

Tamarind Tree Hotel

The Tamarind Tree is a stylish international hotel in a great location next to Wilson Airport.


90% (22 reviews)
Karen Gables

Karen Gables

Karen Gables is a small, high quality hotel in Nairobi with expansive gardens and only seven rooms.


100% (14 reviews)
Hemingways Nairobi

Hemingways Nairobi

Hemingways Nairobi is a luxury country-house style hotel, with a spa and gym, in the wealthy suburb of Karen.


98% (8 reviews)
Nairobi Tented Camp

Nairobi Tented Camp

Nairobi Tented Camp is the only tented camp located inside Nairobi National Park, making it a great option for a true safari stay close to the city and airports.


88% (5 reviews)
The Norfolk Hotel

The Norfolk Hotel

The Norfolk Hotel is one of the oldest hotels in Nairobi and has a reputation for its colourful history dating back to 1904.


100% (6 reviews)
Palacina

Palacina

The Palacina is a complex of accommodation options in a quieter part of central Nairobi.


84% (5 reviews)
Hogmead

Hogmead

Hogmead is a stylish, luxury boutique hotel/homestay in a secluded part of Langata in south-west Nairobi, very close to Nairobi National Park and the elephant orphanage.


80% (2 reviews)
Karen Blixen Coffee Garden and Cottages

Karen Blixen Coffee Garden and Cottages

Karen Blixen Coffee Gardens and Cottages is small luxury boutique hotel located in the peaceful suburb of Karen.


70% (2 reviews)
Sankara

Sankara

Sankara is a strikingly built hotel in the bustling central Nairobi suburb of Westlands, primarily used as a business stay, with very good dining and leisure facilities.


90% (2 reviews)
Eden Nairobi

Eden Nairobi

One Forty Eight is a very stylish boutique hotel in one of the leafiest corners of the southwest Nairobi suburb of Karen-Langata. The Giraffe Centre at Giraffe Manor is just a 10-minute walk away.


100% (1 review)
Ololo Safari Lodge

Ololo Safari Lodge

Ololo Safari Lodge and Farm is a luxury property on the southern edge of Nairobi National Park.


100% (1 review)
The Stanley

The Stanley

The Stanley is a large, traditional hotel – the oldest in Nairobi – offering a range of facilities.


No reviews yet
Tribe

Tribe

Design-led, contemporary hotel in the Village Market area of Gigiri, a largely diplomatic and luxury residential suburb 10km north of Nairobi’s central business district.


No reviews yet
Acacia Camp

Acacia Camp

Acacia Camp is a rustic and affordable safari camp in a wildlife sanctuary a 30-minute drive towards Mombasa from Nairobi’s international airport.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa