This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
The Emakoko
The Emakoko
The Emakoko
The Emakoko
The Emakoko

Reviews of The Emakoko

Wildlife sightings and reviews

116 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited The Emakoko and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 53 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at The Emakoko.
Lion

75% success

Leopard

3% success

Cheetah

13% success

Wild dog

5% success

Zebra

88% success

Giraffe

88% success

Black Rhino

80% success

White Rhino

79% success

Buffalo

74% success

Eland

61% success

Wildebeest

56% success

Spotted Hyena

50% success

Striped Hyena

6% success

Pangolin

3% success

Aardvark

0% success

Showing 11-20 of 116
Duration
Arrival date
Gar
USA

"The Emakoko review"

1 night Arrived 1 Nov 2023
"I could have spent another week at this lodge by myself! My room was spectacular (rm #7). The solitude (it was nice to have some space after sharing a tent the 8 days/nights prior), the view, waking up to a light rain and the sounds of nature were spectacular. The staff was friendly and accommodating.

I was lucky enough to share the lift with Anton one afternoon. He mentioned the baby giraffe 'out back', so I was able to meet Melvin, Nala, and their very kind keepers. That experience was one of the most amazing experiences on the trip.

I often just sat in awe in the truck while on the Mara watching the majestic giraffe; meeting Melvin up close was a dream come true; something I will always cherish. Thank you, Anton!" See all these reviews: 11n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Lion

1 sighting

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Ms J from FL & IL
USA

"The Emakoko review"

1 night Arrived 1 Nov 2023
"How amazing to find this beautiful accommodation right in the midst of the national park.

My room/cottage was extravagant and glamorous, accessed by a funicular. How fun is that?!

Staff said we needed to keep screens shut to keep out monkeys. Very true -- and they should emphasize latching the screen door. Fortunately I had just latched mine when a troop of olive baboons arrived. They persistently tried to get into my room and I could not get them to leave my veranda for over 45 min. It was pretty unnerving. But now it's just a fun photo op.

Upon our request, drivers took a couple of us to a glass studio and a craft store, which we really enjoyed." See all these reviews: 11n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

4 sightings

Giraffe

2 sightings

Lion

2 sightings

White Rhino

2 sightings

Wildebeest

3 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Gwendolyon
Ithaca,NY

"Easing back into reality"

1 night Arrived 1 Nov 2023
"The Emakoko provides a great re-introduction into the “real world” after returning from safari. The staff are totally dedicated to our comfort and needs, the rooms are lovely, comfortable, and welcoming, and the food is delicious.

Being able to relax on the veranda after bumping around in the trucks for 10 days is a welcome comfort. In addition, driving around the park provides the opportunity of seeing rhinos which were not present in the conservancy. Although we didn’t get to drive as much with the guides here as at the camps, the short time we did spend with them was quite enjoyable and informative. Hanging around with hyrax as company was an added treat.

As lovely as the hotel is, the photos lining the walls of the constant reminder and glorification of colonization and game hunts seem a bit disturbing. While it is good to know history so as not to have it repeated, it would be a welcome addition to have less glorification of what I imagine may be a difficult reminder to many of the staff.

Finally, I spent time reading the history of the lodge book in the room. While it provided good information regarding the history of the lodge, and the work performed by the owners, the actual writing was filled with many, many editing mistakes and did not appear to have much proof-reading prior to printing. I suppose people that do not spend as much time as I do reading and proof reading documents might not find this annoying, but it really took away from the experience, for me, of learning about the place. (and yes, I suspect there are many editing lapses in my reviews as well :-) )." See all these reviews: 11n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Lion

1 sighting

White Rhino

2 sightings

Zebra

1 sighting

Ms D.
Canada

"The Emakoko review"

1 night Arrived 1 Nov 2023
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Lion

1 sighting

White Rhino

1 sighting

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Foxy
Yorkshire, UK

"The Emakoko review"

5 nights Arrived 21 Oct 2023
"Excellent relaxing stay post safari. Staff, food and amenities excellent" See all these reviews: 15n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Ms LW & VB NH
USA

"The Emakoko review"

1 night Arrived 21 Oct 2023
"Our stay at the Emakoko was only for the last 36 hours of our trip after spending 9 days in the Conservancies.

We were very tired and chose not to participate in any more game drives. Instead we took a trip to the Kitengala Hot Glassblowing Center and a second stop at Kobe Tough Bead and Leather Shop. Wonderful!

The Lodge was beautiful and welcoming. A step up to include a pool and official bar area. But to be honest, we felt the attention to detail regarding food restrictions and personal connections was not as good as at our Camps.

Each room was luxurious and spacious with its own balcony. The view was lovely as our room sat up on the side of a hill.

As nice as the Emakoko is- we prefer our Kicheche Camps." See all these reviews: 12n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

1 sighting

Eland

1 sighting

Giraffe

1 sighting

Lion

1 sighting

Zebra

1 sighting

Mrs H.
Canada

"The Emakoko review"

1 night Arrived 21 Oct 2023
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Mrs J.
USA

"The Emakoko review"

1 night Arrived 18 Jul 2023
"What a luxurious end to a phenomenal trip." See all these reviews: 12n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Ms Janice
Virginia

"The Emakoko review"

1 night Arrived 18 Jul 2023
"I was only there about 5 hours, seemed sort of sparse on staff when we got there. lunch was excellent, staff friendly, well trained, excellent service during lunch and dinner." See all these reviews: 13n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Sightings Report

White Rhino

3 sightings

A & B
Corrales

"The Emakoko review"

1 night Arrived 18 Jul 2023
"A beautiful hotel at the edge of Nairobi National Park. Very relaxing place to get ready for the trip hoe. The food was amazing, and I'm sure the 2 Dawas I had set me up nicely for the journey back home." See all these reviews: 13n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

4 sightings

Giraffe

3 sightings

Spotted Hyena

4 sightings

White Rhino

5 sightings

Wildebeest

6 sightings

Zebra

8 sightings

Showing 11-20 of 116
97%
116 reviews of The Emakoko by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
100
14
2
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Kenya

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Kenya.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Nairobi

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Four Points Nairobi Airport

Four Points Nairobi Airport

The Four Points by Sheraton, set within the perimeter of Nairobi International Airport, is ideally located for a first or last night in Kenya.


91% (144 reviews)
Eka Hotel

Eka Hotel

The Eka is an affordably priced business-class hotel in a relatively convenient location between Nairobi International Airport and Wilson Airport.


86% (62 reviews)
Ole-Sereni

Ole-Sereni

The Ole-Sereni is a modern, stylish hotel neighbouring Nairobi National Park and located 6km from Wilson domestic airport.


79% (59 reviews)
Crowne Plaza Nairobi Airport

Crowne Plaza Nbi Apt

The Crowne Plaza Nairobi Airport (formerly known as the Lazizi Premiere and now part of the InterContinental Hotels Group) is the oldest hotel at Nairobi International Airport.


88% (59 reviews)
Macushla House

Macushla House

Macushla House is a very pleasant, small, owner-managed bed and breakfast hotel in a leafy part of southwest Nairobi, very convenient for visiting the Giraffe Centre and Sheldrick's Elephant Orphanage.


91% (53 reviews)
Giraffe Manor

Giraffe Manor

Giraffe Manor is a unique, perennially popular lodge on the outskirts of Nairobi, offering up-close-and-personal encounters with the rare Rothschild giraffes that roam its extensive grounds.


98% (35 reviews)
Aero Club of East Africa

Aero Club of East Africa

The Aero Club of East Africa is a private members' club in the grounds of Wilson Airport, Nairobi, offering offering comfortable rooms and a good restaurant, bar and swimming pool to non-members.


82% (34 reviews)
Tamarind Tree Hotel

Tamarind Tree Hotel

The Tamarind Tree is a stylish international hotel in a great location next to Wilson Airport.


90% (21 reviews)
Karen Gables

Karen Gables

Karen Gables is a small, high quality hotel in Nairobi with expansive gardens and only seven rooms.


100% (14 reviews)
Hemingways Nairobi

Hemingways Nairobi

Hemingways Nairobi is a luxury country-house style hotel, with a spa and gym, in the wealthy suburb of Karen.


98% (8 reviews)
The Norfolk Hotel

The Norfolk Hotel

The Norfolk Hotel is one of the oldest hotels in Nairobi and has a reputation for its colourful history dating back to 1904.


100% (6 reviews)
Nairobi Tented Camp

Nairobi Tented Camp

Nairobi Tented Camp is the only tented camp located inside Nairobi National Park, making it a great option for a true safari stay close to the city and airports.


88% (5 reviews)
Palacina

Palacina

The Palacina is a complex of accommodation options in a quieter part of central Nairobi.


84% (5 reviews)
Sankara

Sankara

Sankara is a strikingly built hotel in the bustling central Nairobi suburb of Westlands, primarily used as a business stay, with very good dining and leisure facilities.


90% (2 reviews)
Hogmead

Hogmead

Hogmead is a stylish, luxury boutique hotel/homestay in a secluded part of Langata in south-west Nairobi, very close to Nairobi National Park and the elephant orphanage.


80% (2 reviews)
Eden Nairobi

Eden Nairobi

One Forty Eight is a very stylish boutique hotel in one of the leafiest corners of the southwest Nairobi suburb of Karen-Langata. The Giraffe Centre at Giraffe Manor is just a 10-minute walk away.


100% (1 review)
Ololo Safari Lodge

Ololo Safari Lodge

Ololo Safari Lodge and Farm is a luxury property on the southern edge of Nairobi National Park.


100% (1 review)
Karen Blixen Coffee Garden and Cottages

Karen Blixen Coffee Garden and Cottages

Karen Blixen Coffee Gardens and Cottages is small luxury boutique hotel located in the peaceful suburb of Karen.


60% (1 review)
Tribe

Tribe

Design-led, contemporary hotel in the Village Market area of Gigiri, a largely diplomatic and luxury residential suburb 10km north of Nairobi’s central business district.


No reviews yet
The Stanley

The Stanley

The Stanley is a large, traditional hotel – the oldest in Nairobi – offering a range of facilities.


No reviews yet
Acacia Camp

Acacia Camp

Acacia Camp is a rustic and affordable safari camp in a wildlife sanctuary a 30-minute drive towards Mombasa from Nairobi’s international airport.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa