This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Giraffe Manor
Giraffe Manor
Giraffe Manor
Giraffe Manor
Giraffe Manor

Reviews of Giraffe Manor

Wildlife sightings and reviews

23 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Giraffe Manor and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 1-10 of 23
Duration
Arrival date
Mrs Jana
Berlin

"Luxury experience - one of the best stays "

1 night Arrived 7 Nov 2019
"The welcome was very warm abd it was one of my best stays in my life, the room was amazing, the giraffes extraordinary. The food absolut delicious. It was wonderful. The waiter were very kind and took a lot of pictures but sometimes 200 from the same motiv :-) - this is a very small thing, that I would criticize." See all these reviews: 9n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Deb & J-M
Australia

"Giraffe Manor review"

2 nights Arrived 5 Sep 2019
"The Giraffe Manor was a very special experience with many hands on, up close and personal experiences with the Giraffes in combination with a fantastically warm, professional team of personnel.

Room: Jocks Room 10/10
Getting up at dawn each day to feed the up to 3 giraffes that visited our bedroom window was spectacular.
The room itself was nicely presented and of good size for our needs. The bed was very large (2x queen beds pushed together) and very comfortable. The bathroom was also nicely presented. A negative if nit picking- it was a little cold. On one rainy night in particular, we asked for a small fire to be lit in the lovely old fireplace in the room after our wonderful private dining experience. This was arranged with a team member during lunch. Unfortunately the message must not have gotten through during shift change over and no fire was made. The water pressure in the shower was a little challenging when it came to washing my hair, water was wasted as it took a while to rinse.

Personnel: Warm, friendly, professional and so quick to offer any assistance or advice. The team at the Giraffe Manor, together with the Giraffes, make this such a special experience.

Food/Beverages: 10/10 Fresh, fine dining experiences. Delicious food served with care and attention. Being invited to make use of the private dining room in the outdoor Orchid House was an honour and a very special experience. It was raining cats and dogs on that evening & as such made the service to that outdoor facility so much harder, but our wonderful waiter, although drenched by the end of dinner, was never without a smile, took photos for us and was a step ahead of us topping up wine and taking care of the courses expertly. We felt very special." See all these reviews: 3n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms M.
London

"Unique, memorable and altogether wonderful!"

2 nights Arrived 29 Jan 2019
"What can we say???? Everything about Giraffe Manor lived up to, and exceeded, our expectations. The house and grounds are lovely, the staff were delightful, and endlessly patient with over-excited guests, and Tony, the manager, was welcoming, helpful and enthusiastic.

The food was delicious (creative and very well cooked), and as for the giraffes, it was love at first sight! Breakfast seems very mundane without them.

It was very easy to get to other places and we went to the Giraffe Centre, the Karen Blixen house and the elephant sanctuary - even though we had already booked a foster parent visit for our last afternoon in Nairobi, we opted to go on the public morning visit as well, and are glad we did so as we able to see the elephants in different circumstances on the two visits.

We understand that they might build a pool and that’s would be a welcome addition - exercise might help counteract the large meals!" See all these reviews: 12n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mrs K.
Dakabin

"Giraffe manor, a remarkable experience"

2 nights Arrived 8 Nov 2018
"Giraffe Manor is an experience which could not be equalled. I had a ball. A visit though that I am glad I did at the beginning of my holiday as although they say the giraffe are wild, you really can't call it wild if you can feed it pellets from your mouth (kissing it), not as repulsive as it sounds!!! Again all the staff were wonderful, and nothing was too much trouble.

They surprised me at breakfast my first morning by having baked me a birthday cake in the shape of part of the giraffe's neck, and lots of the staff came out and sung happy birthday to me. The cake was delicious, as was all the food there, I took photos of it and sent home to make the family jealous!!!

Tony the manager also organised for me go firstly go to the elephant orphanage, where I adopted an elephant, and later to a children's home, where I took some teddies, colouring books tennis balls etc . I was humbled by their living conditions, there were youngsters and 18 months -2 yrs, and they didn't know what a teddy was. The colouring books were a great hit, as were the balls." See all these reviews: 11n in Kenya; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mrs H.
Twickenham

"Giraffe Manor"

1 night Arrived 4 Nov 2018
"Giraffe experience exceptional in terms of ability to be close to them and feed them. Personal time with them at afternoon tea etc pleasing in a busy hotel. Kelly Room wonderful for feeding them from the bedroom window.

Strongly approve of the breeding / reintegration programme objectives.

Actual hotel experience disappointing. Room very nice. Bar area lovely. However, check in - waited 15 minutes outside to even be acknowledged having been dropped from the airport and told to take a seat. Took another 10 minutes to actually be seen to. As such, 25 minutes sitting about outside on arrival from airport. Not a premium experience.

Food at lunch good, staff at lunch a bit diffident. Practised some amateur Swahili on them, which anywhere else in Kenya elicits an enormous smile, got a deadpan response - was understood as we got our two coffees, but no warmth whatsoever.

At dinner we elected to dine privately rather than with the group. We were told our table was ready and made clear we were going to sit down immediately. Waited 20 minutes with no staff anywhere. Went to find someone, told them we were at our table, waiting. Nothing happened for a further ten minutes, we then had to go into the main, group dining area and ask a member of staff to come and serve us - so a 30 minute wait for dinner before we got any service whatsoever (we had been forgotten about). Food average.

Felt very like a 'conveyor belt' hotel who could pull guests in and 'wow' them with the environment, overlooking any service touches.

Francis was an exceptional member of staff and twice looked after us, including at breakfast - if all the staff were like him it would have been a different experience.

Would not return and would encourage friends who are keen to go to consider saving the cost and spending the money on a proper, authentic safari experience with a few hours at the giraffe centre to support the initiative instead." See all these reviews: 4n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Poor
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Mrs J
Milton Keynes

"Out of this world"

2 nights Arrived 30 Aug 2018
"Wow, what a place, just like the TV Programme.

An experience being so close with these wonderful animals." See all these reviews: 14n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms K
Chester Springs

"INCREDIBLE"

3 nights Arrived 24 Aug 2018
"We had the most incredible experience!

The staff truly made everything so special!" See all these reviews: 5n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Miss G.
Newark

"Amazing - Must visit!"

2 nights Arrived 22 Aug 2018
"We stayed for two night and were glad we did so as it meant we could spend lots of time with the Giraffes but also visit other places nearby.

The building itself was beautiful, we stayed in Jocks room and were very happy with it. It was well furnished, clean and we liked that they lit the fire for us whilst at dinner so when we returned to our room it was warm. All the little touches were very nice and much appreciated; the hot water bottles and little notes about Giraffes on our bed every night, the hand written welcome note on arrival and the Wine and flowers left in our room to help celebrate our honeymoon.

All the staff were extremely friendly and helpful, probably the best of any hotel we stayed in Kenya, we liked that each room was given a specific staff member to look after you so he got to know us and us him. Peter was exceptionally good to us. Before we travelled we read that the rooms don't have locks on which we thought might be a bit disconcerting but once we were there it didn't bother us at all.

All the food was amazing, I don't think we were given anything we didn't like and they catered very well for vegetarians.

The giraffe interaction was phenomenal and well worth every penny to experience. One morning whilst we were at breakfast I went up to the room to find Eddie patiently standing at the window waiting to be fed.

George the driver was very nice and helpful, we had him for our whole stay and he took us to many places, DSWT, Karen shopping mall, the local craft market and Nairobi museum and was happy to answer our questions as we travelled from place to place. As guests at the manor we were given a private guide around the Giraffe centre which was a nice touch.

We both had treatments while staying at Giraffe manor and they were only okay.

We stayed at 6 places whilst in Kenya and I think this would be our favourite, we will definitely be back." See all these reviews: 15n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr D
Ilfracombe

"Giraffe in the house!"

1 night Arrived 5 Aug 2018
"If Disney did ainimal experience hotels, then Giraffe Manor would fit in very nicely. The girafffes are wild but clearly habitualised and have a well defined routine, which is breakfast at the Manor then stroll to the Giraffe Sanctuary ( which you can see from the lawn) and back to the Manor for afternoon tea!

The Manor is a fabulous building and our room ( Daisy) was immaculate. It had a huge on suite and it’s own balcony for viewing and feeding the giraffes in the morning, but note it is so high up that only the tallest giraffes can reach and you have to kneel down to feed them, but it is still a great experience. The staff here are excellent and make absolutely sure that you get a perfect giraffe experience. At breakfast the giraffes do come through the windows of the dining room and consume huge amounts of pellets which are given to you in abundance by the attentive staff and at afternoon tea the experience is the same, even ‘kissing’ a giraffe with a pellet in your mouth is easily achieved.

The food here is nothing short of fine dining at its best. It was a bit chilly in the evening when we were there in August, but that didn’t stop you eating out in the courtyard as individual charcoal braziers were placed by the table and provided a lovely ambient warmth. Perhaps the only strange thing is having to order your desert at the same time as starter and main course, but this is a very minor issue and didn’t detract from the experience.

Giraffe Manor is definitely a unique experience which I would highly recommend for a visit, although for me 1 night was sufficient to gain the full benefit of this experience." See all these reviews: 9n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs M
Falmouth

"A Unique Experience"

2 nights Arrived 11 Feb 2018
"Such fun to be up close and personal with the giraffes. The food was amazing!" See all these reviews: 9n in Kenya; 6n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 1-10 of 23
97%
23 reviews of Giraffe Manor by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
21
1
1
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Kenya

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Kenya.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Nairobi

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


The Emakoko

The Emakoko

The Emakoko is a luxurious, owner-managed safari lodge in a beautiful gorge on the edge of Nairobi National Park.


96% (77 reviews)
Eka Hotel

Eka Hotel

The Eka is an affordably priced business-class hotel in a relatively convenient location between Nairobi International Airport and Wilson Airport.


86% (61 reviews)
Ole-Sereni

Ole-Sereni

The Ole-Sereni is a modern, stylish hotel neighbouring Nairobi National Park and located 6km from Wilson domestic airport.


79% (56 reviews)
Crowne Plaza Nairobi Airport

Crowne Plaza Nbi Apt

The Crowne Plaza Nairobi Airport (formerly known as the Lazizi Premiere and now part of the InterContinental Hotels Group) is the oldest hotel at Nairobi International Airport.


88% (52 reviews)
Macushla House

Macushla House

Macushla House is a very pleasant, small, owner-managed bed and breakfast hotel in a leafy part of southwest Nairobi, very convenient for visiting the Giraffe Centre and Sheldrick's Elephant Orphanage.


90% (48 reviews)
Aero Club of East Africa

Aero Club of East Africa

The Aero Club of East Africa is a private members' club in the grounds of Wilson Airport, Nairobi, offering offering comfortable rooms and a good restaurant, bar and swimming pool to non-members.


79% (27 reviews)
Four Points by Sheraton

Four Points Nairobi Apt

The Four Points by Sheraton (part of the Marriot group) is one of the newest additions to the hotels within Kenya International Airport’s security perimeter.


91% (26 reviews)
Nairobi Tented Camp

Nairobi Tented Camp

Nairobi Tented Camp is the only tented camp located inside Nairobi National Park, making it a great option for a true safari stay close to the city and airports.


90% (6 reviews)
The Norfolk Hotel

The Norfolk Hotel

The Norfolk Hotel is one of the oldest hotels in Nairobi and has a reputation for its colourful history dating back to 1904.


100% (4 reviews)
Palacina

Palacina

The Palacina is a complex of accommodation options in a quieter part of central Nairobi.


80% (4 reviews)
Hemingways Nairobi

Hemingways Nairobi

Hemingways Nairobi is a luxury country-house style hotel, with a spa and gym, in the wealthy suburb of Karen.


100% (3 reviews)
Hogmead

Hogmead

Hogmead is a stylish, luxury boutique hotel/homestay in a secluded part of Langata in south-west Nairobi, very close to Nairobi National Park and the elephant orphanage.


80% (2 reviews)
Sankara

Sankara

Sankara is a strikingly built hotel in the bustling central Nairobi suburb of Westlands, primarily used as a business stay, with very good dining and leisure facilities.


90% (2 reviews)
One Forty Eight

One Forty Eight

One Forty Eight is a very stylish boutique hotel in one of the leafiest corners of the southwest Nairobi suburb of Karen-Langata. The Giraffe Centre at Giraffe Manor is just a 10-minute walk away.


100% (1 review)
The Stanley

The Stanley

The Stanley is a large, traditional hotel – the oldest in Nairobi – offering a range of facilities.


No reviews yet
Tribe

Tribe

Design-led, contemporary hotel in the Village Market area of Gigiri, a largely diplomatic and luxury residential suburb 10km north of Nairobi’s central business district.


No reviews yet
Acacia Camp

Acacia Camp

Acacia Camp is a rustic and affordable safari camp in a wildlife sanctuary a 30-minute drive towards Mombasa from Nairobi’s international airport.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa