This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Giraffe Manor
Giraffe Manor
Giraffe Manor
Giraffe Manor
Giraffe Manor

Reviews of Giraffe Manor

Wildlife sightings and reviews

35 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Giraffe Manor and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 21-30 of 35
Duration
Arrival date
Mr D
Ilfracombe

"Giraffe in the house!"

1 night Arrived 5 Aug 2018
"If Disney did ainimal experience hotels, then Giraffe Manor would fit in very nicely. The girafffes are wild but clearly habitualised and have a well defined routine, which is breakfast at the Manor then stroll to the Giraffe Sanctuary ( which you can see from the lawn) and back to the Manor for afternoon tea!

The Manor is a fabulous building and our room ( Daisy) was immaculate. It had a huge on suite and it’s own balcony for viewing and feeding the giraffes in the morning, but note it is so high up that only the tallest giraffes can reach and you have to kneel down to feed them, but it is still a great experience. The staff here are excellent and make absolutely sure that you get a perfect giraffe experience. At breakfast the giraffes do come through the windows of the dining room and consume huge amounts of pellets which are given to you in abundance by the attentive staff and at afternoon tea the experience is the same, even ‘kissing’ a giraffe with a pellet in your mouth is easily achieved.

The food here is nothing short of fine dining at its best. It was a bit chilly in the evening when we were there in August, but that didn’t stop you eating out in the courtyard as individual charcoal braziers were placed by the table and provided a lovely ambient warmth. Perhaps the only strange thing is having to order your desert at the same time as starter and main course, but this is a very minor issue and didn’t detract from the experience.

Giraffe Manor is definitely a unique experience which I would highly recommend for a visit, although for me 1 night was sufficient to gain the full benefit of this experience." See all these reviews: 9n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs M
Falmouth

"A Unique Experience"

2 nights Arrived 11 Feb 2018
"Such fun to be up close and personal with the giraffes. The food was amazing!" See all these reviews: 9n in Kenya; 6n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr S
Chicago

"Giraffe Manor review"

2 nights Arrived 12 Jan 2018
"I'm sure it's all been said before, a giraffe-lovers heaven. So amazing, so close to the animals, so gentle... It is a quite extraordinary, once in a lifetime experience. Yes, it is pricey but it is completely worth it. Make sure you get there for afternoon tea and if possible stay for two breakfasts. The food was excellent and we had dinner in our own private room with 6 other guests, which was lovely and great stories were shared. The staff are amazing and the giraffe centre across the park is completely worth it as well. We also did the nature tour across from the giraffe sanctuary which was blissful, so many wonderful plants and birds. Save up and go if you can." See all these reviews: 11n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr R
Torreon

"Not a hotel... is a experience "

2 nights Arrived 9 Mar 2017
"Beautiful place, great place to have an unforgettable experience among giraffes, they have a great team that makes you feel welcome at all times and also very helpful at any needs, the rooms are also cozy." See all these reviews: 6n in Tanzania; 5n in Kenya; 4n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Miss V
W Sussex

"An amazing end to our trip"

2 nights Arrived 15 Feb 2017
"What an amazing end to our stay! Would recommend for anyone!

The staff were attentive and helpful. Everything was clean and plush surroundings made for a wonderful end to our trip.

There is not much (not surprisingly) on site, however the team provided a minibus for free to take us to the David Sheldrick Centre." See all these reviews: 4n in Rwanda; 2n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Ms B
Grapevine

"Giraffe Manor review"

2 nights Arrived 22 Jan 2017
"Giraffe Manor lived up to its publicity. The manor was a lovely and comfortable place to stay with first class service. The staff that we encountered were very professional, helpful, and warm and engaging. George, who picked us up at the airport (and made sure we got checked in when catching our SafariLink flight) made a positive first impression for the manor. Of course the highlight of the stay was getting to interact with the giraffes. They greet you early in the morning, looking for treats and through the breakfast service. But, I must say, I fell in love with the warthogs whose persistence to go where they were not supposed to was funny and entertaining. This was a great way to relax after the long flights from the U.S. and acclimate to local time. I would highly recommend" See all these reviews: 12n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Ms J
Denmark

"A fun experience"

1 night Arrived 15 Oct 2016
"Giraffe Manor offers quite a unique experience with its visiting giraffes & warthogs, its quasi-colonial air, & lovely setting." See all these reviews: 10n in Tanzania; 10n in Kenya; 3n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
oldsoulchild
UK

"not the highlight id expected"

3 nights Arrived 12 Aug 2016
"i had looked forward to going to Giraffe Manor for a long time. I am definitely a budget traveller and the manor is way over my usual budget. its actually cost me 7 weeks wages to go there. certainly not a drop in the ocean for me. I was disappointed by a couple of things.

on arrival I was taken into the house and told that I wasn't going to be shown around as its early and the place is untidy. i was never shown around in the time I was there, it really didn't look untidy to me but as I was taken up to my room I noticed something on the stairs carpet, possibly a dead moth, whatever it was, it was still there when I left 3 days later.

I hadn't sleep well on my first night as i was cold, i mentioned it to another couple staying there and they said they had a hot water bottle in their bed, i got mine on the 2nd night but it wasn't very hot and made no difference. I also returned to find stains in my bathroom sink, presumably cleaning liquid that had been poured in and then not cleaned. the shower doors are absolutely filthy, water runs off a clean shower door, these haven't been cleaned in some time.

on the last morning I had to pay for a taxi to take me where I was going as apparently there weren't any cars available! as I left I saw a driver hanging around. he may have been about to go out but I had been sitting for well over an hour waiting for a phone call to make arrangements for me. when I got into my taxi he informed me he had also been booked to take me to my evening hotel. It seems the manor were not providing any transport for me on my last day. as I was about to leave Kenya I didn't have much money left and hadn't budgeted for 3 taxi fares.

Also before I left I was sitting with another guest who was leaving to go to the airport. she was offered a packed lunch to take with her, I wasn't leaving the manor for a flight. I was going to be volunteering at the local dogs home for the day and although the other guest was offered a packed lunch in front of me, I wasn't offered the same courtesy.

The food was lovely, I had mentioned a vegan diet when I booked back in November. while I'm not a strict vegan I don't eat dairy, I had been told almond milk was available. I never got any. I shared dairy milk with other guests. when I asked for dairy free yogurt I was told they didn't have it. Out of the 3 days I was there I was given strawberries in a vinegary sauce twice!

On my last night the staff went around the dinner table asking people how they wanted their steak cooked. I'm not sure how much notice was taken as a steak was put in front of me, I passed it to the lady next to me, and another steak was promptly put in front of me again. I also seemed to miss the afternoon tea without leaving the building. a plate was wafted under my nose one day and quickly whisked away as soon as id taken one crisp never to return!

For the amount of money it costs to stay there I would expect a change of sheets every day, they weren't changed at all in the 3 days. I also went from having two towels to one! I knew I'd forget to ask for another so I was unable to have a shower before dinner and again at breakfast

I also don't like name dropping, I'm really not impressed by it and the fact that both Madonna and president Obama have been refused by the manor means nothing to me. I don't care which superstar has been there or not been there.

I had booked a room with the balcony and soon realised I had to be down on my knees to feed giraffes through the gap at the bottom of the railing as they couldn't reach.

While I think the manor is beautiful and feeding the giraffes through the window during breakfast is quite something, I really don't think its worth the money it costs and sadly it wasn't the highlight I was hoping for.

It has to be said that the staff were great, polite, funny and helpful. I love that they remember and use your name, (I wasn't looking forward to being called madam for the duration.

on a more positive note, feeding the giraffe at breakfast was great. also sitting in front of the fire with a drink and chatting with new friends was lovely. just as lovely to sit outside and feed the giraffes before dinner but it was a tad cold for me and I didn't have warm clothes with me.
having a car and driver to take me from craft shop to bead shop and anywhere in between was helpful too.
Richard Trillo [Ed: of Expert Arica] is a superstar, incredibly helpful with all matters Kenya and I never felt any question was too stupid.

having said all of the above I did enjoy my time at the manor and its been a great experience." See all these reviews: 3n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Party of 4
Islington

"Giraffe Heaven"

3 nights Arrived 19 Jul 2016
"Our first stop on our trip. It was a perfect place to relax but still feel in touch with the environment and wildlife.

Staff and service could not have been better and the food was great. They took the time to organise trips for us while we were there and everything went very smoothly." See all these reviews: 6n in Tanzania; 4n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Ms S
Dallas

"Unforgettable experience at Giraffe Manor"

2 nights Arrived 17 May 2016
"Wonderful experience, loved happy hour with the giraffes and having the opportunity to feed the animals.

If we didn't have the Jock room with the giraffes waking us in the morning, it probably wouldn't have been as amazing." See all these reviews: 4n in Tanzania; 4n in Rwanda; 3n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Showing 21-30 of 35
98%
35 reviews of Giraffe Manor by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
33
1
1
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Kenya

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Kenya.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Nairobi

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Four Points Nairobi Airport

Four Points Nairobi Airport

The Four Points by Sheraton, set within the perimeter of Nairobi International Airport, is ideally located for a first or last night in Kenya.


91% (137 reviews)
The Emakoko

The Emakoko

The Emakoko is a luxurious, owner-managed safari lodge in a beautiful gorge on the edge of Nairobi National Park.


97% (113 reviews)
Eka Hotel

Eka Hotel

The Eka is an affordably priced business-class hotel in a relatively convenient location between Nairobi International Airport and Wilson Airport.


86% (62 reviews)
Ole-Sereni

Ole-Sereni

The Ole-Sereni is a modern, stylish hotel neighbouring Nairobi National Park and located 6km from Wilson domestic airport.


79% (59 reviews)
Crowne Plaza Nairobi Airport

Crowne Plaza Nbi Apt

The Crowne Plaza Nairobi Airport (formerly known as the Lazizi Premiere and now part of the InterContinental Hotels Group) is the oldest hotel at Nairobi International Airport.


88% (58 reviews)
Macushla House

Macushla House

Macushla House is a very pleasant, small, owner-managed bed and breakfast hotel in a leafy part of southwest Nairobi, very convenient for visiting the Giraffe Centre and Sheldrick's Elephant Orphanage.


91% (53 reviews)
Aero Club of East Africa

Aero Club of East Africa

The Aero Club of East Africa is a private members' club in the grounds of Wilson Airport, Nairobi, offering offering comfortable rooms and a good restaurant, bar and swimming pool to non-members.


82% (34 reviews)
Tamarind Tree Hotel

Tamarind Tree Hotel

The Tamarind Tree is a stylish international hotel in a great location next to Wilson Airport.


91% (20 reviews)
Karen Gables

Karen Gables

Karen Gables is a small, high quality hotel in Nairobi with expansive gardens and only seven rooms.


100% (11 reviews)
Hemingways Nairobi

Hemingways Nairobi

Hemingways Nairobi is a luxury country-house style hotel, with a spa and gym, in the wealthy suburb of Karen.


98% (8 reviews)
Nairobi Tented Camp

Nairobi Tented Camp

Nairobi Tented Camp is the only tented camp located inside Nairobi National Park, making it a great option for a true safari stay close to the city and airports.


88% (5 reviews)
The Norfolk Hotel

The Norfolk Hotel

The Norfolk Hotel is one of the oldest hotels in Nairobi and has a reputation for its colourful history dating back to 1904.


100% (6 reviews)
Palacina

Palacina

The Palacina is a complex of accommodation options in a quieter part of central Nairobi.


84% (5 reviews)
Hogmead

Hogmead

Hogmead is a stylish, luxury boutique hotel/homestay in a secluded part of Langata in south-west Nairobi, very close to Nairobi National Park and the elephant orphanage.


80% (2 reviews)
Sankara

Sankara

Sankara is a strikingly built hotel in the bustling central Nairobi suburb of Westlands, primarily used as a business stay, with very good dining and leisure facilities.


90% (2 reviews)
Eden Nairobi

Eden Nairobi

One Forty Eight is a very stylish boutique hotel in one of the leafiest corners of the southwest Nairobi suburb of Karen-Langata. The Giraffe Centre at Giraffe Manor is just a 10-minute walk away.


100% (1 review)
Karen Blixen Coffee Garden and Cottages

Karen Blixen Coffee Garden and Cottages

Karen Blixen Coffee Gardens and Cottages is small luxury boutique hotel located in the peaceful suburb of Karen.


60% (1 review)
The Stanley

The Stanley

The Stanley is a large, traditional hotel – the oldest in Nairobi – offering a range of facilities.


No reviews yet
Tribe

Tribe

Design-led, contemporary hotel in the Village Market area of Gigiri, a largely diplomatic and luxury residential suburb 10km north of Nairobi’s central business district.


No reviews yet
Acacia Camp

Acacia Camp

Acacia Camp is a rustic and affordable safari camp in a wildlife sanctuary a 30-minute drive towards Mombasa from Nairobi’s international airport.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa