This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Ms B from Grapevine

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

6

Excursions taken

1

My Jan 2017 trip

Kenya between 22 Jan 2017 and 5 Feb 2017

Trip rating: Excellent
"One of the concerns before starting this trip was that expectations were high and we may be disappointed. That did not happen; the trip exceeded all expectations. The camps and hotels we stayed were fabulous with very welcoming staff who genuinely seemed to care that our stay was more than just being satisfactory. They each had their appeal and purpose and we could not have ask for anything more. The safaris were all great; we are glad we did the conservancies after to talking to other travellers and the guides at every location were top notch. The initial wish list of places to visit was too extensive for a 2 week trip, and the scope had to be decreased. But I am very happy with the places we finally settled on and look forward to seeing more of Kenya (and Africa) in the future.

I cannot say enough about how well logistically everything went and attribute that to Richard at Expert Africa who made the arrangements. I always expect something to go wrong when traveling; it is just the nature of the beast. But I have never had any trip go as smoothly as this one did. We were picked up/dropped off as expected; flights went well; the activities went off with a hitch and were so much fun; and our preferences for food and lodging were always met by the camps. It was a flawless vacation.

We plan on returning to Africa in the future and will return to Expert Africa to help with these plans."

Arranged By Richard Trillo


Giraffe Manor

Giraffe Manor

"Giraffe Manor review"

2 nights Arrived 22 Jan 2017
"Giraffe Manor lived up to its publicity. The manor was a lovely and comfortable place to stay with first class service. The staff that we encountered were very professional, helpful, and warm and engaging. George, who picked us up at the airport (and made sure we got checked in when catching our SafariLink flight) made a positive first impression for the manor. Of course the highlight of the stay was getting to interact with the giraffes. They greet you early in the morning, looking for treats and through the breakfast service. But, I must say, I fell in love with the warthogs whose persistence to go where they were not supposed to was funny and entertaining. This was a great way to relax after the long flights from the U.S. and acclimate to local time. I would highly recommend"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Lewa Wilderness

Lewa Wilderness

"Lewa Wilderness review"

3 nights Arrived 24 Jan 2017
"Lewa Wilderness was our first official safari and what a way to start! The hillside cottages were excellent with outstanding views where we daily got to see elephants, giraffes, baboons, and other wildlife come to drink. We went horseback riding which was very thrilling to see the animals from a different vantage point. It did cross my mind prior to doing this that we may be lunch for a lion, but it was all very safe and the breakfast at the end was fabulous. And, then to go back to camp on a camel was interesting.

I can't say enough about our guide John. He, along with Philip, were with us for every drive and managed to find all of the big 5. And, we learned so much from them. We were also fortunate enough to see a rhino being notched for tracking purposes.

Lewa was a great place for one's first safari."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Kicheche Laikipia

Kicheche Laikipia

"Kicheche Laikipia review"

3 nights Arrived 27 Jan 2017
"Kicheche Laikipia was our first tented safari. The location of our tent overlooked a small dammed area where elephants and buffalo came regularly to drink and play. Great way to spend the afternoon watching this from our front porch. The food at Laikipia was 5-star! Sonja and the chefs prepared meals that were very tasty and the presentation was impressive. Of course, the ambience of the dinning area with a fireplace created a warm and intimate dining experience.

The guides - Andrew and Albert - were very knowledgeable and Andrew provided a lot of insight into Kenyan culture as well; very interesting and informative conversations. We were told that the guides make a difference in one's safari experience and Andrew and Albert did not disappoint. Also, Andrew had a photographer's eye which was very helpful in for those of us who are not so expert at taking pictures."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Image alt

Mount Kenya Safari Club

"Mount Kenya Safari Club review"

2 nights Arrived 30 Jan 2017
"As to be expected, this was a lovely location with wood burning fireplaces in the room which were lit each night while we were at dinner. We visited the animal orphanage and fed the bongos and petted a cheetah, which purred while we pet it. The grounds are so nice to walk around and just relax after a week of safari.

The meals were buffet style with many selections to choose from. The food was good but did not compare to the food we had in the camps which was excellent.

We took part in the Equator Ceremony which was entertaining and informative and shouldn't be missed."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Kicheche Bush Camp

Kicheche Bush Camp

"Kicheche Bush Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 1 Feb 2017
"The camp was very luxurious for a camp with real beds and nice linens, flush toilets, running water and bucket showers. The food was excellent which we didn't expect at a camp. The host, Aki, was very friendly and welcoming, the guides were very friendly and knowledgeable and the entire staff knew us by name as soon as we arrived.

The wildlife viewing is outstanding here. Our guide Johnson was tenacious in trying to find what we wanted to see; and he succeeded wonderfully. So many lions, and the leopard Fig, and cheetahs. We got to see the cheetah hunt and catch an impala which was a highlight of the trip to watch the cheetah hunt.

We would highly recommend taking the hot air balloon ride although it will take a little over an hour to reach the take off site from Bush camp. But well worth it."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Balloon flight over the Mara

Balloon flight over the Mara

"Balloon flight a must experience"

2 Feb 2017 • Morning excursion

The balloon company picked us up at our camp and drove us the the launch site. The balloon basket held 16 people. We rose up into the sky before sunrise and watched the sun rise over the mountains. We floated high above the trees, sometimes almost brushing against the tree tops and at other times about 15 feet off the ground. It was an amazing experience. Not the best for animal photography but the scenery was breathtaking. Afterwards a short drive to a champagne (sparkling wine) breakfast under an acacia tree. The balloon ride should be on everyone's itinerary.
Excellent
The Emakoko

The Emakoko

"The Emakoko review"

1 night Arrived 4 Feb 2017
"This was a beautiful lodge at the edge of the Nairobi National Park. We drove through the park for about 30 minutes to get to the lodge. We saw giraffes against the city skyline, very different from the safari backdrops, hippos in the water and baboons waiting at the main gate for food from visitors. The lodge consisted of spacious cottages along the hillside with balconies overlooking the bush. The food was excellent and the service top notch. The hosts were very friendly and welcoming and a drive/guide was at our service. The Emakoko was a great place to end our safari before returning home."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team