This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Ms J from Denmark

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

3

Lodges stayed in

8

Excursions taken

0

Fall, 2016

Kenya and 2 other countries between 13 Oct 2016 and 6 Nov 2016

Trip rating: Excellent
"Excellent."

Eka Hotel

Eka Hotel

"Very satisfactory to stay near the airport"

1 night Arrived 14 Oct 2016
""
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Giraffe Manor

Giraffe Manor

"A fun experience"

1 night Arrived 15 Oct 2016
"Giraffe Manor offers quite a unique experience with its visiting giraffes & warthogs, its quasi-colonial air, & lovely setting."
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Saruni Samburu

Saruni Samburu

"Saruni Samburu review"

4 nights Arrived 16 Oct 2016
"We were given a very nice suite of rooms with spectacular views. which we loved. The guides were excellent & the personnel most kind & helpful. The food, too, was very nice. My travel companion & I celebrated our birthdays while staying at Saruni Samburu & enjoyed a memorable evening "in the bush" with a large bonfire & Maasai damcers,. a buffet dinner, & a birthday cake -- all much appreciated.

We are rather elderly & found the trek to the lodge from our rooms slightly challenging & were very glad to have an escort in the evenings to hang onto. We thought it would have been reassuring to have a walkie talkie provided in one's room should one wish to contact the lodge.

Overall we thoroughly enjoyed our stay."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Encounter Mara

Encounter Mara

"Encounter Mara review"

4 nights Arrived 20 Oct 2016
"I enjoyed my stay at the Encounter Mara once I got used to what I initially experienced as a slightly "girl scout camp" ambiance. (It was my first experience of a tented room.)

The guides were excellent & my cousin & I very much enjoyed not only seeing the wildlife but also visits to Maasai villages. Again, the personnel were kind & helpful, & they arranged a birthday tea party for my cousin, with dancing & cake, which we appreciated.

I found it slightly off-putting that the toilet & shower were separated from the main room only by a curtain, so one didn't have a great deal of privacy."
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Lamai Serengeti

Lamai Serengeti

"Truly spectacular views, lovely service"

4 nights Arrived 24 Oct 2016
"The spectacular views alone would merit a visit to this lodge. We loved the views both from the lodge & from our room. Our room was very comfortably appointed, & the food & the service were superior. We had excellent guides & saw a wide variety of wildlife. Altogether, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Lamai Serengeti.

We found the trek up to our cabin from the lodge slightly challenging, but we are rather elderly.

Again, the personnel were most helpful"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
The Highlands

The Highlands

"A most comfortable, cozy lodge"

3 nights Arrived 28 Oct 2016
"We were quite tired & crabby, when we finally arrived at the Highlands, having been driven there by a person who had apparently been lent to the Asilia Camp by another company. He seemed to us to drive very fast over what seemed a very long distance on very poor roads.

Upon arrival, we were greeted by Anna, the camp manager, who couldn't have been kinder or more obliging. Our accommodations were delightful - a very nice bungalow, with a cozy stove that was lighted in the evenings to take the chill from the air. We thought the accommodations, the food, & the guides altogether satisfactory.

We thoroughly enjoyed our trip to the Ngorongoro Crater. But we thought, too, that there were not a great many other sights of interest to visit in the immediate enirons, given that my companion & I are rather elderly & didn't feel up to hiking to other craters in the area."
Excellent
Location
Average
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Siwandu

Siwandu

"Wonderful birds"

3 nights Arrived 31 Oct 2016
"We liked the location of this lodge & liked the locatoin of our tented room, overlooking a lake. The food was nice & our guide was excellent.

I did not like the fact that the toilet & shower facilities of the room were simply an extension of the bedroom so that to obtain a modicum of privacy one had to lower a curtain that in turn cut off all cross ventilation. I also did not like the fact that there was no way to communicate with the lodge in case of some emergency or other. A walkie talkie would have been welcome.

My cousin & I were also annoyed by the fact that drinks at this place were charged as extras. My cousin found that non bottled water disagreed with her. Both she & I agreed that while it might be acceptable for a place for which one was paying many hundreds of dollars to stay might be justified in charging guests for alcoholic drinks, to charge them for non-alcoholic drinks was simply cheap & unacceptable.

I loved the bird life in the area."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Average
Food
Excellent
Zanzibar Palace Hotel

Zanzibar Palace Hotel

"Zanzibar Palace Hotel review"

3 nights Arrived 3 Nov 2016
"The Zanzibar Palace Hotel is a very pleasant, atmospheric hotel.

We enjoyed our stay there & found the personnel very obliging & friendly."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team