This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Zanzibar Palace Hotel
Zanzibar Palace Hotel
Zanzibar Palace Hotel
Zanzibar Palace Hotel
Zanzibar Palace Hotel

Zanzibar Palace Hotel


6°9’36.6"S 39°11’31.3"E

Reviews of Zanzibar Palace Hotel

Wildlife sightings and reviews

46 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Zanzibar Palace Hotel and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 1-10 of 46
Duration
Arrival date
Dr & Dr S.
Knutsford

"Unique hotel with central location"

2 nights Arrived 11 Nov 2019
"This boutique hotel has been sympathetically converted from an old warehouse and offers characterful rooms with tall ceilings and high beds, quite unlike anything we'd stayed in before.

The breakfast was very tasty with a lovely selection of fresh fruit and cooked options.

The location is perfect for exploring old Stonetown." See all these reviews: 7n in Tanzania; 6n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
DGJM
London

"Pleasant centrally-located stay in Stone Town"

2 nights Arrived 19 Jul 2019
"We had a very pleasant stay at Zanzibar Palace Hotel. It has recently changed management, and the new Italian manager welcomed us warmly. She was helpful with local tips for Stone Town, and was able to answer any questions we had.

Our room was very nice and spacious, as we had a suite on the top floor. The room had a mini balcony which we utilized in the evenings when the sun had gone down a bit - provided a nice view of the roofs around Stone Town.

Breakfast was included and very nice each morning, and we especially enjoyed the omelettes. The staff was very friendly and made conversation each day, remembering our names and asking about our experiences around town.

The only other piece of feedback is regarding accessibility - if anyone has difficulty navigating stairs, then the suites at the hotel may not be well-suited, as they are up 3 flights of stairs that are slightly uneven (which is expected given this used to a personal home)." See all these reviews: 5n in Zanzibar; 4n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
F, N & I
UK

"Quirky/old fashioned stay at Zanzibar Palace"

2 nights Arrived 6 Aug 2017
"Accommodation more scruffy and basic than we'd become used to at the safaris, but still clean and acceptable. Staff less forthcoming." See all these reviews: 7n in Tanzania; 6n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Miss R
Barnsley

"Perfect beginning to our honeymoon"

2 nights Arrived 5 Aug 2017
"Fantastic location within the historic maze of Stone Town.

The room and facilities were amazing; Dunia suite was superb with the great surprise of the outdoor bathroom and private roof terrace overlooking the whole of Stone Town.

The staff were all so friendly and extremely helpful-nothing was too much trouble for them. The hotel staff organised for us to have a personal tour guide; he was extremely knowledgable and very pleasant. Breakfast was superb with plenty of choice. " See all these reviews: 9n in Zanzibar; 4n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs T
Goole

"Zanzibar Palace Hotel review"

2 nights Arrived 10 Jan 2017
"We really enjoyed this rather quirky hotel which reflected the history and heritage of Stone Town. It was in a good location enabling us to walk around and get to know the town.

The restaurant was expensive with a limited choice - we enjoyed breakfast and never saw anyone eating otherwise. " See all these reviews: 5n in Tanzania; 5n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Ms J
Denmark

"Zanzibar Palace Hotel review"

3 nights Arrived 3 Nov 2016
"The Zanzibar Palace Hotel is a very pleasant, atmospheric hotel.

We enjoyed our stay there & found the personnel very obliging & friendly." See all these reviews: 10n in Tanzania; 10n in Kenya; 3n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Mr/Ms S
Seattle, WA

"Zanzibar Palace Hotel Review"

3 nights Arrived 28 Sep 2016
"Zanzibar Palace Hotel is on the edge of Stone Town (the older portion of Zanzibar Town). It is convenient to the harbor and many popular sites in Stone Town are within easy walking distance. The hotel offers breakfast along with the room: a choice of typical egg and meat choices, some fruit, juices, breads and coffee/tea. With the many restaurants in the area, we did not have other meals there, although lunch and dinner were available.

The room we had, the Sultana, was charming and the air conditioner made it comfortable with the outside temperature very warm and humid. We also complement the service staff at the front desk for their very warm welcome and helpful assistance with various questions that came up during our stay.

Our only disappointment was the first room we were assigned, a "luxury" room (called "Nadia", I believe). This room, on a lower floor, is a very dark and tiny room with a small double bed. For $250 U.S. per night, it was completely unsatisfactory for the two of us, who were anticipating a relaxing haven for several days. After complaining, we were able to 'upgrade' to the Sultana room, which is a larger room on an upper floor. In hindsight, we may have been able to arrange nicer accommodations for a better price if we had done more research ourselves, comparing hotels in the area." See all these reviews: 6n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Ms M
Bahrain

"Good location, clean hotel, friendly staff"

1 night Arrived 22 Sep 2015
"A lovely hotel located within the little alleyways of Stone Town.

The rooms are very clean and charmingly decorated as well. We spent most of our time roaming the streets of Stone Town to which the hotel is very informative and helpful in showing you how to get around.

Unfortunately, our stay was vey short-lived but the staff went out of their way to even pack us a to-go breakfast box each to have on our journey home :-)" See all these reviews: 6n in Tanzania; 5n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs O
Cranfield

"Zanzibar Palace Hotel review"

2 nights Arrived 8 Mar 2013
"Great hotel. Lovely people. Food and room was very special.

I would have scored higher and recommended but I was charged to use my card. Not good for a hotel. Not happy. Shame. If the management could change this" See all these reviews: 8n in Zanzibar; 4n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Poor
Activities:
Poor
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs C
London

"Zanzibar Palace Hotel review"

1 night Arrived 29 Sep 2012
"Zanzibar Palace did seem very tired and in need of some re-decoration. It didn't look like it had been touched in about 20 years and it just seemed an oddly put together hotel.

Certainly not close to the standard of anywhere else we stayed" See all these reviews: 7n in Tanzania; 7n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Showing 1-10 of 46
90%
46 reviews of Zanzibar Palace Hotel by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
28
14
3
1
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zanzibar

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zanzibar.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Diving & snorkelling

Diving & snorkelling

Find captivating marine life beneath the waves

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Other lodges in Stone Town

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Serena Inn

Serena Inn

Now trumped by the nearby Park Hyatt, the Serena Inn, in its historic building, was formerly Stone Town's only international-style hotel.


92% (64 reviews)
Zanzibar Coffee House

Zanzibar Coffee House

The Zanzibar Coffee House is a small quiet hotel tucked away in the back streets of Stone Town, with lovely, simple rooms.


83% (61 reviews)
Beyt al Salaam

Beyt al Salaam

The Beyt al Salaam is a pleasant, boutique hotel with only six rooms and atmospheric and stylish Zanzibari décor.


82% (44 reviews)
Dhow Palace Hotel

Dhow Palace Hotel

The Dhow Palace is a very good-value, mid-range hotel, full of Swahili character, and the pool makes it appealing to families.


79% (39 reviews)
Emerson Spice

Emerson Spice

Emerson Spice is a beautiful small hotel in the heart of Stone Town with individually designed rooms adorned with gorgeous fabrics.


93% (20 reviews)
Jafferji House

Jafferji House

Jafferji House is a converted old house that blends modern facilities with traditional style. The ten, unique rooms are show great attention to detail.


81% (19 reviews)
Kholle House

Kholle House

Kholle House offers an atmospheric Stone Town stay in a historic building, and is very good value for money.


81% (18 reviews)
Swahili House

Swahili House

Swahili House is a traditionally styled boutique hotel furnished to a high standard with a convenient location in the centre of Stone Town.


82% (10 reviews)
Tembo Hotel

Tembo Hotel

The Tembo Hotel is a good-value, family-friendly hotel right on the seafront in Stone Town, with 36 rooms and a good-sized swimming pool.


63% (8 reviews)
Emerson on Hurumzi

Emerson on Hurumzi

Emerson on Hurumzi was Stone Town's first boutique hotel, featuring antique furniture, unique, stylish rooms and a superb rooftop restaurant.


80% (5 reviews)
Mbweni Ruins Hotel

Mbweni Ruins Hotel

Mbweni Ruins Hotel is very convenient if you want to stay on the beach, but very close to Stone Town, or visit Chumbe Island.


92% (5 reviews)
Park Hyatt

Park Hyatt

The Park Hyatt Zanzibar is a high-quality example of this group, with excellent facilities and service.


100% (2 reviews)
Maru Maru Hotel

Maru Maru Hotel

In the heart of Stone Town, Maru Maru combines contemporary style and creature comforts with a Zanzibari twist.


80% (2 reviews)
The Seyyida Hotel

Seyyida Hotel

The Seyyida is a characterful old hotel near the seafront in Stone Town, with the rare bonus of a swimming pool.


No reviews yet
Kisiwa House

Kisiwa House

Kisiwa's central location in the heart of Stone Town's Shangani area makes it a great base to explore this fascinating town.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa