This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Zanzibar Palace Hotel
Zanzibar Palace Hotel
Zanzibar Palace Hotel
Zanzibar Palace Hotel
Zanzibar Palace Hotel

Zanzibar Palace Hotel


6°9’36.6"S 39°11’31.3"E

Reviews of Zanzibar Palace Hotel

Wildlife sightings and reviews

46 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Zanzibar Palace Hotel and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 21-30 of 46
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs S
Rickmanswo

"Zanzibar Palace Hotel review"

2 nights Arrived 22 Sep 2010
"We had a very spacious room with large ensuite facility, extremely comfortable beds. Reception staff extremely helpful, good location - in all, very good value.

Zanzibar Palace Hotel is in a good central location, very helpful reception and the rooms were spacious, comfortable and extremely good value.

Would recommend." See all these reviews: 7n in Zanzibar; 5n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
The W family
Ireland

"Zanzibar Palace Hotel review"

1 night Arrived 17 Jul 2010
"Very courteous and helpful staff during our short stopover here." See all these reviews: 6n in Tanzania; 5n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs W
Devon

"Zanzibar Palace Hotel review"

2 nights Arrived 10 Mar 2010
"We were glad to have air conditioning at the Zanzibar Palace Hotel. Friendly helpful management and staff

The weather felt so much hotter in Stone Town.

The room was very comfortable. The food was very good." See all these reviews: 6n in Zanzibar; 4n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr S & Miss G
London

"Perfect place to end a holiday."

1 night Arrived 13 Feb 2010
"Stayed for one night only. Beuatiful room,, great place to end the holiday." See all these reviews: 5n in Zanzibar; 4n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs D
Vanbrugh

"Zanzibar palace hotel review"

1 night Arrived 13 Oct 2009
"Beautiful hotel, lovely staff, good location, lovely lunch.

Couldnt have been better" See all these reviews: 7n in Tanzania; 7n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Dr M & Dr Y
Richmond

"Zanzibar Palace Hotel review"

1 night Arrived 19 Sep 2009
"Expert Africa suggested The Zanzibar Palace Hotel for our night in Stonetown and it proved an excellent choice.

We were not there long enough to really appreciate it but our room was superb, with the highlight a roof top bathroom and veranda from which we watched the sun go down. An excellent dinner was served in the hotel and they went out of the way to make sure breakfast was available before we left at 5.30am.

We would highly recommend." See all these reviews: 8n in Tanzania; 6n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Mr & Mrs W
Oxford

"Zanzibar Palace Hotel review"

1 night Arrived 22 Aug 2009
"We had a very brief stay here, which was very unfortunate as its a lovely hotel and we would have loved to stay longer. We were very lucky to have the Dunia suite on the top floor which has a penthouse outdoor bathroom, which is a brilliant place to watch the sun go down with views over Stone Town. it has a lovely bath but is a bit unpractical to use as the water pressure was quite low so would have taken all day to fill, but dont let that put you off it trully was an amazing and unique room.

The hotel had a lovely unique feel to it but it does have a lot of stairs and no lift which may be issue to some.

Were not sure if it was the manager or the chef but he was very friendly who even escourted us to a local shop to look for some gifts. I cant comment on the food or activities as we didn't really eat there apart from a very light breakfast to catch the early flight home - we were very grateful that they provided us with something even at 5.30am!" See all these reviews: 8n in Zanzibar; 4n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs B
Northants.

"Zanzibar Palace Hotel review"

3 nights Arrived 9 Jul 2009
"We really enjoyed our time here. The room we had was first class. We were really well looked after, including giving us breakfast at 5.30am on our day of departure, when normally service starts at 8.00am. The hotel is well located in Stone Town and is very near to all the shops and restuarants.

Would recommend Mercury's, Livinstones and The Silk Route for eating out." See all these reviews: 11n in Tanzania; 3n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr P
Cap Ferrat

"Book me in Serena Inn!!!!!"

5 nights Arrived 12 Feb 2009
"A bog standard hotel with no personality or good points. In need of refurbishment. Impersonal staff and not for sick or elderly due to very steep stairs." See all these reviews: 17n in Zanzibar; 6n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Average
Service:
Poor
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Poor
Mr & Mrs S
Edgeware

"zanzibar hotel old fashioned fusty character"

2 nights Arrived 6 Feb 2009
"we were both dissaponted with this place. although it had apparently had a makeover not that long ago we felt that it seemed to need another one.

partly in the choice of decor which was old fashioned rather than quirky. it just did not seem fresh, and i realised that it was a very old place, and the owners were at pains not to destroy its unique original character,we just were not taken with it, it certainly did not come up to its price expectations. the 1st room they showed us was not nice and one window looked out onto a newly bricked wall which was so close it felt oppressive. The bathroom had all the arabic and oriental touches but felt mucky although i am sure it was clean but i did not feel inclined to bathe in there.

we changed to the top floor at extra cost just so we had a bit more air, and the fact that it had a tiny roof top deck which you could climb up to. also the open air shower and bathroom were situated here, and it felt less stuffy. I know this place was recreated in the old and authentic style and i am all for character and authenticity, but we were not that comfy or happy there. shame as we had high hoped for outr last two nights in Stonetown. the lady who manages the hotel ,a dutch woman was very helpful and very nice.

Same goes for Stonetown ,we hd not expected it to be so rundown, and we did a town tour and saw all the important sights and buildings, and we will put down to the experience of travel and seeing the world. It was interesting to understand the past and present culture and its turbulent history. at least the Aga Khan is funding major renovation there which in years to come will make it a great place ." See all these reviews: 9n in Zanzibar; 4n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Facilities:
Poor
Rooms:
Poor
Food:
Poor
Showing 21-30 of 46
90%
46 reviews of Zanzibar Palace Hotel by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
28
14
3
1
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zanzibar

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zanzibar.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Diving & snorkelling

Diving & snorkelling

Find captivating marine life beneath the waves

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Other lodges in Stone Town

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Serena Inn

Serena Inn

Now trumped by the nearby Park Hyatt, the Serena Inn, in its historic building, was formerly Stone Town's only international-style hotel.


92% (64 reviews)
Zanzibar Coffee House

Zanzibar Coffee House

The Zanzibar Coffee House is a small quiet hotel tucked away in the back streets of Stone Town, with lovely, simple rooms.


83% (61 reviews)
Beyt al Salaam

Beyt al Salaam

The Beyt al Salaam is a pleasant, boutique hotel with only six rooms and atmospheric and stylish Zanzibari décor.


82% (44 reviews)
Dhow Palace Hotel

Dhow Palace Hotel

The Dhow Palace is a very good-value, mid-range hotel, full of Swahili character, and the pool makes it appealing to families.


79% (39 reviews)
Emerson Spice

Emerson Spice

Emerson Spice is a beautiful small hotel in the heart of Stone Town with individually designed rooms adorned with gorgeous fabrics.


93% (20 reviews)
Jafferji House

Jafferji House

Jafferji House is a converted old house that blends modern facilities with traditional style. The ten, unique rooms are show great attention to detail.


81% (19 reviews)
Kholle House

Kholle House

Kholle House offers an atmospheric Stone Town stay in a historic building, and is very good value for money.


81% (18 reviews)
Swahili House

Swahili House

Swahili House is a traditionally styled boutique hotel furnished to a high standard with a convenient location in the centre of Stone Town.


82% (10 reviews)
Tembo Hotel

Tembo Hotel

The Tembo Hotel is a good-value, family-friendly hotel right on the seafront in Stone Town, with 36 rooms and a good-sized swimming pool.


63% (8 reviews)
Emerson on Hurumzi

Emerson on Hurumzi

Emerson on Hurumzi was Stone Town's first boutique hotel, featuring antique furniture, unique, stylish rooms and a superb rooftop restaurant.


80% (5 reviews)
Mbweni Ruins Hotel

Mbweni Ruins Hotel

Mbweni Ruins Hotel is very convenient if you want to stay on the beach, but very close to Stone Town, or visit Chumbe Island.


92% (5 reviews)
Maru Maru Hotel

Maru Maru Hotel

In the heart of Stone Town, Maru Maru combines contemporary style and creature comforts with a Zanzibari twist.


80% (2 reviews)
Park Hyatt

Park Hyatt

The Park Hyatt Zanzibar is a high-quality example of this group, with excellent facilities and service.


100% (2 reviews)
Kisiwa House

Kisiwa House

Kisiwa's central location in the heart of Stone Town's Shangani area makes it a great base to explore this fascinating town.


No reviews yet
The Seyyida Hotel

Seyyida Hotel

The Seyyida is a characterful old hotel near the seafront in Stone Town, with the rare bonus of a swimming pool.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa