This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr & Mrs C from Bicester

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

2

Lodges stayed in

6

Excursions taken

0

Amazing experience

Tanzania and 1 other country between 11 Aug 2011 and 26 Aug 2011

Trip rating: Excellent
"Even though it was our fourth trip to Africa and on safari we really did have an excellent time. Everything was well organised and all went very smoothly.

We had a personal driver and guide for our week on safari which is to be highly recommended although pricey. The vehicle and facilities were very good, Alfred our guide is the best. His english is superb, driving very good, knowledge and experience extensive, ability to locate animals amazing and he has a great sense of humour.

In comparison to other African countries we've visited the facilities for tourists are well organised. We didn't need a bush toilet once in the whole trip! This does mean that in the popular destinations especially the Ngorongoro Crater there were far to many tourists for our liking but in hindsight we wouln't change anything as you really do need to see it to experience it!

My only plea to other travellers is to be sensitive to the local people and cultute. We were incredibly disappointed at some of the things we saw, cigarette butts being dropped in the parks, scimpy clothing in Stone Town and during Ramaden too and generally poor attitides!

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

Be more specific about flight details (Coastal airways) if possible"

Arranged By Claire Scott


Ngorongoro Wildlife Lodge

Ngorongoro Wildlife Lodge

"Comfortable medium size lodge, amazing views"

2 nights Arrived 11 Aug 2011
"For a reasonably priced and conveniently located place to stay with amazing views into the crater we'd recommend this lodge.

Rooms are comfortable, hot showers, food reasonable and staff helpful. It is a lodge though so a little impersonal.

No electricity from midnight to 5.30 am which won't be a problem for the majority of guests. Two nights are ideal."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Activities
Average
Rooms
Average
Food
Average
Facilities
Average
Lobo Wildlife Lodge

Lobo Wildlife Lodge

"Well located lodge, central Serengeti"

2 nights Arrived 13 Aug 2011
"A well located lodge in central Serengeti, comfortable rooms, hot showers and good views with wildlife right outside the bedroom windows. The hyrax and baboons can be noisy through the night though!

No electricity from midnight to 5.30am which will not be a problem for the vast majority of guests. Large dining room and bar, food buffet style and reasonable. Didn't try the pool, too busy animal spotting. Possible to reach the Mara river for river crossings.

One or two nights recommended."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Facilities
Good
Ubuntu Camp

Ubuntu Camp

"Ubuntu Tented Camp"

2 nights Arrived 15 Aug 2011
"A mobile tented camp, completely isolated in the northern Serengeti for a true wilderness experience. Only open a few months and already setting an excellet standard. Individual tents are well equipped with extremely comfortable beds, hot bucket showers (20 litres of hot water per person), flushing toilet, electric lights and lamps. Walkie talkies, air siren, mosquito spray and large torch all provided. No mosquito nets but few mossies around. Unable to plug any personal electrical items in whilst in personal tent. Facilities for recharging camera batteries etc. are available though.

Animals can be up close and personal so the element of danger adds to the experience. Interesting sounds throughout the night as a result. Staff escort all guests around camp after the sun goes down.

Meals are served in the 'mess' tent in communal style. Great opportunity to share experiences and meet fellow guests. Food and wine is excellent and of a really high standard especially for the location. Lots of fresh fruit and vegetables. Drinks included except for premium ones. Well stocked drinks cabinet, books and games also available.

Personal washing included.

The staff are extremely friendly and helpful - the best we met. Service really is personal. We posed them with an interesting challenge and sure enough they came up with a solution after 24 hours of consideration. They really went beyond what you should expect.

A must to truely experience the Serengeti at it's best. The Mara river is very close and provides the perfect opportunity for migration river crossings - we were lucky enought to get to see this amazing natural phenomenom.

Somewhat costly although good value for money and highly recommended."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Fumba Beach Lodge

Fumba Beach Lodge

"Perfect spot for chilling"

3 nights Arrived 17 Aug 2011
"Whilst just a short journey from the airport/Stone Town, Fumba is a small somewhat isolated hotel which provides the perfect opportunity to relax, recharge batteries and enjoy the sun, beach and sea. Day trips can be aranged by the staff to the usual locations (Spice Tour, Forest trip to see the colobus monkeys, dolphin experiences, diving, snorkelling trips etc.).

We stayed in a deluxe suite which was excellent. Huge bedroom with massive bed completely surrounded with a mosquito net, chairs, table, desk, wardrobe, safe and bookcase with books left by previous guests. Enormous bathroom with huge bath tub and shower overhead, twin sinks, flushing toilet, plenty of hot water. Also outside private double shower which we used every night rather than the indoor one. On the roof a lovely terrace with views over the beach and sea. Huge wooden double doors open onto a large decking area with hammock, day bed and table overlooking the beach. It felt very private and the staff were really uninobtrusive. All set in lovely well tended gardens. The resident bush babies were a liitle noisy though especially when playing on our roof at night!

Beach towels provided. Private locally made sun beds available on the beach immediately infront of he room and also around the small pool. Tides and coral reef mean swimming in the sea is somewhat limited.

Meals served alfresco overlooking the beach. Good choice of fresh local produce. We stayed three nights, one evening there was an African themed night with swalhili food and music, another we were surprised to be lead to a small terrace for an intimiate dinner right on the water front. Extensive range of drinks available. Complemetary tea, coffee and cakes served every afternoon.

Whilst we were there in late August, the southern monsoon winds were pretty strong and hence the sea and palms were somewhat nosiy. I found it actually rather theraputic. We did experience an extremely heavy downpour but it didn't last long & cleared the air.

Highly recommended for a quiet relaxing break. Three nights was good although we would have been happy to stay longer especially if we had wanted to take a trip or too beyond the local area. There is a dive centre in the hotel grounds.

No local shops so be sure to have more than enough sun screen and insect repellant although few mossies around in August."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Image alt

Mchanga Beach Lodge, Zanzibar (this camp has since closed)

"Simple, quiet and relaxing"

4 nights Arrived 20 Aug 2011
"A really small place run by a lovely Dutch couple and right on a huge, wide white sandy beach. You really can kick of your shoes on arrival and leave them to one side until departure!

Rooms are simple but have everything needed - electricty, flushing toilet, hot water shower, dual sinks, fan and air con. Beds are very comfortable and completely covered by a mosquito net. Rattan storage unit providing hanging and storage space. Small sandy terrace outside with chairs and table. Fresh coffee and tea delivered every morning. Safety deposit facilities provided in the main office.

Small shop onsite selling locally produced products, internet access and organiation of trips/transfers. Fairly large range of books and some magazines available to exchange.

Breakfast and dinner served in small dining room. Lunch can be taken anywhere. Good choice of swahili influenced food with lots of fresh produce. Well stocked bar with games available and entertaining staff. They taught us how to play the local game bao which we enjoyed with a local beer each evening. Complementary tea, coffee and cake served every afternoon.

13 metre pool for cooling off or excercise. Locally made beach beds available in the sun, under the palms or even right on the beach under three locally built cabanas.

Beach towels, locally produced beach baskets and wraps provided.

The location is very quiet with little else around although a short walk on the beach and there are quite a few large Italian hotels and beach 'shacks' selling locally made products. Henna painting and hair beading available too.

The beach and sea does have quite a lot of seaweed on it though this we didn't see this as a problem. The beach area around the local village is rather dirty with rubbish especiially plastic bags - a curse in Tanzania, you see them lying around everywhere! The locals are very indifferent to the tourists but who can blame them.

More development along the beach in evidence. Wonder how it will be in 200 years time, hopefully not spoilt by tourist facilities and the tourists themselves more to the point!

Four nights was a good amount of time to spend here having had three night in another small beach hotel."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Zanzibar Palace Hotel

Zanzibar Palace Hotel

"Old and new in perfect harmony"

2 nights Arrived 24 Aug 2011
"A beautiful and extremely well run (by a Dutch couple) small boutique hotel.

The location is just a short walk away from all the sights and sounds of Stone Town yet easily accessible by vehicle. There are lit streets around meaning it is safe to walk to and from the hotel at night.

Each room is individually decorated. We stayed in a deluxe room on the top, fourth, floor which involved a steep climb up the narrow stairs but was well worth it for the views and excercise! It really was luxurious with everything needed and more, including balcony, fan, aircon, in room safe, mosquito net over the large hand carved bed, wardrobe, hot shower, dual sinks, wifi, tv and dvd player. You can even borrow a laptop.

Small restaurant serves great food from a small menu and there's also a small bar. Games and books available.

We'd definately recommend asking the staff to organise a walking tour with a registered guide.

A great way to ease back into reality after a safari and beach stay. We'd not seen a newspaper, heard the radio, seen tv, received/sent any emails or texts etc. in two weeks which was bliss.

Highlly recommended for a few nights in Stone Town to experience the history and cultre whilst either acclimitising to Tanzania or preparing for a return to home."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team