This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr S & Miss G from London

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

2

Countries visited

3

Lodges stayed in

8

Excursions taken

0

Safari and Beach holiday

Tanzania and 1 other country between 15 Oct 2012 and 29 Oct 2012

Trip rating: Excellent
"Excellent holiday; would love to do it again some day."

Beho Beho

Beho Beho

"Beho Beho was amazing"

2 nights Arrived 16 Oct 2012
"An incredibly luxurious camp, where the staff treat you more like house guests than paying clients. Fantastic walking and driven safaris, with more than enough to do for the 5 nights we were there.

The only thing that can be faulted (and it isn't their fault) is that the park roads need to be maintained a little better and it is a shame night drives (say once a week) are not allowed."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Beho Beho Tree-house

Beho Beho Tree-house

"Good fun camping"

1 night Arrived 18 Oct 2012
"This is not a fly camp for camping purists. This is Beho Beho, so expect a luxurious and very well done treehouse.

I won't give any more away!"
Good
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Beho Beho

Beho Beho

"Beho Beho review"

2 nights Arrived 19 Oct 2012
"Please see first box"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Azura at Quilalea

Azura at Quilalea

"Quilalea - Honeymoon deal is great value"

7 nights Arrived 21 Oct 2012
"We had a thoroughly enjoyable 7 nights here.

The rooms are good (but not amazing) though the service and food is spot on. The island has 10 (or so) rooms and they are spread out enough so that you only ever see 8-10 people, even in the bar area.

The diving was good (though Mafia Island is definitely better), but strong tides play havoc with the visibility. We didn't go deep sea fishing, but it appeared 50% of trips were successfull."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Oyster Bay

Oyster Bay

"Suprisingly good!"

2 nights Arrived 28 Oct 2012
"A very trendy hotel, that appears from the outside like a private bank or lawyers practice.

This part of Dar is perfectly safe, and ended our trip in style."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent

Great holiday

Zanzibar and 1 other country between 4 Feb 2010 and 14 Feb 2010

Trip rating: Excellent
"From the relaxation of Pole Pole to the vibrancy of Zanzibar, this was a great holiday that i would love to do again!"

Pole Pole

Pole Pole

"Wonderfully relaxed stay at Pole Pole"

4 nights Arrived 5 Feb 2010
"A very relaxing place to stay, delicious food and very comfortable accommodation. Diving was very good (many times better than Zanzibar), although the tidal system m at this time of year meant we had to meet at the dive centre (10 min walk) at 7.15 in the morning.

Service can be a little slow(particularly on making cocktails) at times, but the staff are ell meaning and do their best.

Despite the proximity to the local village, the local people do not hassle guests at all. There is a certain charm to seeing people going about their everyday work, fathers and sons singing while going about their fishing."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
The Z Hotel

The Z Hotel

"Looks great, but cracks beneath the surface"

4 nights Arrived 9 Feb 2010
"Generally a good place to stay, but glad we were only B&B as there is plenty of choice in the area. The backpackers appear to have been priced out of the area, with restaurant prices comparable to Spain. Not a place for the over 35s, as hotel tries to project a trendy vibe.

Positives: Good location in Nungwe, great pool, best bar and restaurant in the area. Staff are very good. Drinks reasonably priced.

Negatives: Rooms are getting rather tatty, electrics have been wired strangely (for instance the light in the room had to be on for the light int he bathroom to work). Plumbing is a bit dodgy. Everything feels a little cramped, they have built 30+ rooms in a surprisingly small area. Diving in the area is poor - locals have caught all the fish and algae is starting to overrun the remaining coral.

P.s On the first day we had $200 stolen from our room. by a staff member. To their great credit, the management acted immediatly and refunded us the money. This did not affect our experience."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Rooms
Average
Food
Good
Zanzibar Palace Hotel

Zanzibar Palace Hotel

"Perfect place to end a holiday."

1 night Arrived 13 Feb 2010
"Stayed for one night only. Beuatiful room,, great place to end the holiday."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team