This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
The Z Hotel
The Z Hotel
The Z Hotel
The Z Hotel

Reviews of The Z Hotel

Wildlife sightings and reviews

7 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited The Z Hotel and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 1-7 of 7
Duration
Arrival date
Mrs C
Shaftesbury

"Good for area"

3 nights Arrived 22 Jan 2015
"Comfortable hotel with a/c although slight feeling of package type place. Glad we upgraded to suite as standard rooms looked on the small side. Pool side was always busy but they do have their own loungers on the beach - which is beautiful.

Different vibe up in nungwi from the quieter less developed east coast, but nice to have opportunity to try different beach restaurants. Had one meal in their supposedly fine dining restaurant which was so bad the management correctly didn't charge us for it.

Staff overall very good." See all these reviews: 8n in Zanzibar; 4n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Poor
Honeymooners
Lincs

"Lovely hotel"

4 nights Arrived 7 Jul 2013
"Staff were very friendly and welcoming. We were upgraded to a suit which was fantastic. The pool and beach areas were beautiful. There was a good choice of food although we thought the food itself was average." See all these reviews: 8n in Zanzibar; 4n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr R & Miss B
London

"Z Hotel review"

7 nights Arrived 12 Aug 2011
"Staff tried hard but service was patchy and despite marketing itself as a boutique hotel it didn't feel like one." See all these reviews: 8n in Zanzibar; 3n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Poor
Miss B & Mr R
UK

"Z Hotel review"

5 nights Arrived 1 Aug 2011
"The hotel is modern and set on the beach so great location. All the staff are very friendly, although food service can be a bit slow and confused at times. The rooms are spacious,with good facilities, I would recommend a rooftop suite to see the amazing sunsets and beach. The quality of the food is also overall very good and not expensive." See all these reviews: 6n in Zanzibar; 5n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr S & Miss G
London

"Looks great, but cracks beneath the surface"

4 nights Arrived 9 Feb 2010
"Generally a good place to stay, but glad we were only B&B as there is plenty of choice in the area. The backpackers appear to have been priced out of the area, with restaurant prices comparable to Spain. Not a place for the over 35s, as hotel tries to project a trendy vibe.

Positives: Good location in Nungwe, great pool, best bar and restaurant in the area. Staff are very good. Drinks reasonably priced.

Negatives: Rooms are getting rather tatty, electrics have been wired strangely (for instance the light in the room had to be on for the light int he bathroom to work). Plumbing is a bit dodgy. Everything feels a little cramped, they have built 30+ rooms in a surprisingly small area. Diving in the area is poor - locals have caught all the fish and algae is starting to overrun the remaining coral.

P.s On the first day we had $200 stolen from our room. by a staff member. To their great credit, the management acted immediatly and refunded us the money. This did not affect our experience." See all these reviews: 5n in Zanzibar; 4n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Vanessa
Essex

"Z hotel.....boutique on the beach"

5 nights Arrived 21 Nov 2009
"The Z hotel describes itself as 'a boutique on the beach'. Well it was - 35 rooms, nice pool, stunning location, great bar....but it just didn't quite work. The room/bathroom was well appointed, ipod docking station etc and the pool/decking area was very nice but the service really let them down and the food was pretty average. At times the staff made us feel like they were doing us a massive favour by serving us.

The hotel's private beach area was very small and crammed between the hotel building and a tacky supermarket -not somewhere you would want to spend time. Also it was hard to walk on the beach without getting hounded by someone trying to sell you something.

The hotel allowed guests for a fee of $8 a day. The result was that one afternnoon was spoilt by noisy children in the swimming pool and on another occasion we were subjected to a foul mouthed drunk. I think management seriously needs to consider what their target market is looking for from a 'boutique' hotel.

Would I recommend the Z? No.

The positive was the beautiful white sand and clear blue sea. Fantastic for swimming. Also there were some good places to eat and drink nearby." See all these reviews: 6n in Zanzibar; 3n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Poor
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Mr B & Ms M
Kent

"Z Hotel review"

8 nights Arrived 25 Aug 2009
"Myself and my wife thought the Z Hotel was excellent in terms of the quality of the rooms, and the general level of service. A special mention must go to the current Hotel Manager (Haffeese ... not sure of spelling) whose attention to detail and over all "can-do" attitude made things all the better, expecially considering the couple of issues we had with our room. All of the staff are very helpful and polite. The management regularly walk about around the Hotel, pool side, the restaurant, etc. asking the guests how they are and if they can be of service.

The massage we had in the Spa was excellent.
The guy Andrew who organises excursions was very cheerful and happy.
The people in the Dive shop were also very helpful.

The extra's you get as a Honeymoon couple, i.e. sparkling wine and fruit platter, sunset cruise, lobster dinner, etc. again help to make for a wonderful experience.

The location was fantastic, the beach was great with a few other beach side bars and restaurants available if a change was desired." See all these reviews: 8n in Zanzibar; 6n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 1-7 of 7
83%
7 reviews of The Z Hotel by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
2
4
1
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zanzibar

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zanzibar.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Diving & snorkelling

Diving & snorkelling

Find captivating marine life beneath the waves

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Other lodges in Northern Zanzibar

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Kilindi

Kilindi

Kilindi is a luxury property on the north-west coast of Zanzibar, fronting a long, secluded beach, with stylish modern pavilions.


95% (22 reviews)
Essque Zalu Zanzibar

Essque Zalu Zanzibar

One of the newest hotels in the north of the island, Essque Zalu has the finish and facilities of a large, international-style hotel.


93% (3 reviews)
Zuri Zanzibar

Zuri Zanzibar

Zuri Zanzibar is a smart resort hotel on a beautiful beach where you can swim at all stages of the tide.


100% (3 reviews)
Zanzi Resort

Zanzi Resort

Zanzi Resort is located on the quiet north-west coast of the island, around 30 minutes' drive north of Stone Town.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa