This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Zanzibar Palace Hotel
Zanzibar Palace Hotel
Zanzibar Palace Hotel
Zanzibar Palace Hotel
Zanzibar Palace Hotel

Zanzibar Palace Hotel


6°9’36.6"S 39°11’31.3"E

Reviews of Zanzibar Palace Hotel

Wildlife sightings and reviews

46 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Zanzibar Palace Hotel and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 31-40 of 46
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs Y
UK

"Zanzibar Palace Hotel review"

2 nights Arrived 14 Jan 2009
"Beautiful boutique hotel and if you are lucky enough to get one of the rooms on the top floor you will have the most stunning views from your bathroom / terrace. Friendly owners and staff and great breakfast.

Fairly steep stairs so you have to be reasonably fit." See all these reviews: 9n in Zanzibar; 3n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Mr G & Ms L
London

"Zanzibar Palace Hotel review"

1 night Arrived 1 Nov 2008
"Again, great service and the room was certainly different and of an interesting design! However, we were a little perturbed if there had been fire, as we could find no sign of a fire exit.

Great central location and ideal for the short period we were in Stone Town." See all these reviews: 6n in Tanzania; 1n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Ms W & Mr M
UK

"Zanzibar Palace Hotel review"

2 nights Arrived 10 Oct 2008
"First class and very helpful staff." See all these reviews: 9n in Zanzibar; 5n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Honeymooners
Bromley

"Zanzibar Palace Hotel review"

2 nights Arrived 5 Oct 2008
"Zanzibar Palace is a great place to stay for a couple of nights in Stone Town; it really is a 'palace' with it's individually themed rooms - the 'Arabica' was gorgeous although tiring to get to at the top of the building!

The location was pretty good too, within easy walking distance to all the sights and not too far into the alleyways so as to risk getting lost.

Stone Town itself was definately worth the visit, although we'd have struggled for things to do after a couple of days. Also the large gardens on the seafront where the food stalls come out in the evening are currently under reconstruction. It's great t see money being put into the area, although disappointing we missed the final result!

TIP: if you fancy a spice tour it's cheaper to go from Stone Town than from the East Coast." See all these reviews: 10n in Zanzibar; 6n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
R family
Berks

"Zanzibar Palace Hotel review"

1 night Arrived 4 Oct 2008
"The end of our holiday - but what an end - the rooms were fantastic - all different - we were lucky enough to be upgraded to a suite at the top of the house with views over Stone Town rooftops to the sea. Fretwork screens - a big victorian bathtub in the middle of the floor - massive bathroom with walk in shower - huge floor cushions to relax on. Such an interesting and delilghtful hotel. Our hosts were friendly and helpful with lots of advice of where and how to shop.
A 5.00am wake up call was preceded by the call to prayer from the nearby mosque.
It was atmospheric and welcoming." See all these reviews: 8n in Zanzibar; 5n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Honey badgers
UK

"A stay at Zanzibar Palace Hotel"

2 nights Arrived 29 Sep 2008
"We found it a unique experience to stay at the Zanzibar Palace Hotel in the heart of Stonetown. You are woken shortly after 4a.m. with the calls to prayer from the many mosques in the area. A walking tour of Stonetown with a guide is to be recommended.

The hotel provides good accomodation but the evening meals could be improved.

We experienced a problem in that our voucher from you stated half board whilst the booking by Fisherman Travel was only for B & B. Staff at the hotel said that this was happening frequently and when we came to settle our bill they tried to include the price of evening meals until we pointed out again what are terms were.

For anyone visiting this area we would mention that many people try to get you to offer them a tip, even the staff at the security machine in Dar es Salaam airport." See all these reviews: 7n in Tanzania; 2n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Average
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Eagle owls
Yorkshire

"Zanzibar Palace"

2 nights Arrived 24 Sep 2008
"Again we received a very warm welcome from the manager who was also most informative about Stone Town.

After staying in such attractive locations for the previous days, we found the contrast noticable, as the hotel is in a dusty town street and our our outlook was onto walls opposite. We found our room to be a little dark.

We dined in both evenings and found the meals delicious being served by a most charming young woman.

A problem had occured the day that we arrived with the access. Bollards had appeared making it impossible for taxis to drive to the hotel, necessitating a walk of about 100 m. This was not a problem for us, but others may find it so." See all these reviews: 7n in Tanzania; 5n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
The zebras
Newcastle

"Zanzibar Palace Hotel review"

1 night Arrived 20 Sep 2008
"An atmospheric small hotel, we only stayed here overnight but had a warm welcome and were well looked after. An early breakfast at 5am was offered without any problem." See all these reviews: 8n in Tanzania; 1n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Lesser kudus
UK

"Great room with a view!"

1 night Arrived 25 Aug 2008
"We found the owner of the Zanzibar Palace really helpful, by providing us with a map of Stowntown with some points of interest and nice places to eat. We also really liked the hotel - it was quirky, and our suite had great views across the rooftops.

We were recommended to eat at the Beyt Al Chai, which was a great call as the food there was fantastic - to a level you would expect to find at a high class restaurant in the UK - and really reasonable. It was also a lot quieter than what seemed to be the usual place to eat - Emerson and Green, so was a really nice end to our honeymoon." See all these reviews: 8n in Tanzania; 6n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Family J
UK

"Zanzibar Palace Hotel review"

1 night Arrived 2 Aug 2008
"I'm sorry - running out of time but - the hotel is lovely.

We found it very interesting with its traditional furniture and decorations.

The owner was very friendly and welcoming and we appreciated the early breakfast before we flew home." See all these reviews: 5n in Zanzibar; 4n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Showing 31-40 of 46
90%
46 reviews of Zanzibar Palace Hotel by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
28
14
3
1
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zanzibar

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zanzibar.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Diving & snorkelling

Diving & snorkelling

Find captivating marine life beneath the waves

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Other lodges in Stone Town

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Serena Inn

Serena Inn

Now trumped by the nearby Park Hyatt, the Serena Inn, in its historic building, was formerly Stone Town's only international-style hotel.


92% (64 reviews)
Zanzibar Coffee House

Zanzibar Coffee House

The Zanzibar Coffee House is a small quiet hotel tucked away in the back streets of Stone Town, with lovely, simple rooms.


83% (61 reviews)
Beyt al Salaam

Beyt al Salaam

The Beyt al Salaam is a pleasant, boutique hotel with only six rooms and atmospheric and stylish Zanzibari décor.


82% (44 reviews)
Dhow Palace Hotel

Dhow Palace Hotel

The Dhow Palace is a very good-value, mid-range hotel, full of Swahili character, and the pool makes it appealing to families.


79% (39 reviews)
Emerson Spice

Emerson Spice

Emerson Spice is a beautiful small hotel in the heart of Stone Town with individually designed rooms adorned with gorgeous fabrics.


93% (20 reviews)
Jafferji House

Jafferji House

Jafferji House is a converted old house that blends modern facilities with traditional style. The ten, unique rooms are show great attention to detail.


81% (19 reviews)
Kholle House

Kholle House

Kholle House offers an atmospheric Stone Town stay in a historic building, and is very good value for money.


81% (18 reviews)
Swahili House

Swahili House

Swahili House is a traditionally styled boutique hotel furnished to a high standard with a convenient location in the centre of Stone Town.


82% (10 reviews)
Tembo Hotel

Tembo Hotel

The Tembo Hotel is a good-value, family-friendly hotel right on the seafront in Stone Town, with 36 rooms and a good-sized swimming pool.


63% (8 reviews)
Emerson on Hurumzi

Emerson on Hurumzi

Emerson on Hurumzi was Stone Town's first boutique hotel, featuring antique furniture, unique, stylish rooms and a superb rooftop restaurant.


80% (5 reviews)
Mbweni Ruins Hotel

Mbweni Ruins Hotel

Mbweni Ruins Hotel is very convenient if you want to stay on the beach, but very close to Stone Town, or visit Chumbe Island.


92% (5 reviews)
Park Hyatt

Park Hyatt

The Park Hyatt Zanzibar is a high-quality example of this group, with excellent facilities and service.


100% (2 reviews)
Maru Maru Hotel

Maru Maru Hotel

In the heart of Stone Town, Maru Maru combines contemporary style and creature comforts with a Zanzibari twist.


80% (2 reviews)
The Seyyida Hotel

Seyyida Hotel

The Seyyida is a characterful old hotel near the seafront in Stone Town, with the rare bonus of a swimming pool.


No reviews yet
Kisiwa House

Kisiwa House

Kisiwa's central location in the heart of Stone Town's Shangani area makes it a great base to explore this fascinating town.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa