This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr G & Ms L from London

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

2

Lodges stayed in

6

Excursions taken

0

The Goodall's on Safari

Tanzania and 1 other country between 18 Oct 2008 and 2 Nov 2008

Trip rating: Excellent
"Were happy with all the arrangements which went like cloakwork, without exception, which in a country like Tanzania, can be no mean feat!

Were very pleased that we decided to drive across the Senegeti rather than fly. Although a long drive, we certainly had a great feel for the place and gives you a better idea of the different types of scenery.

I am usually fairly critical but could find no fault. It was certainly the most we have paid for a holiday and I would have been very disappointed if the arrangements had been poor.

Suggestions for improvement:

none"

Feedback response

We arranged a private guide for these travellers from Arusha to Suyan Camp, about whom they commented:

“Sadiki was phenomenal
Sadiki our guide from Arusha to Suyan was fantastic.
Although his English wasn't great, his enthusiasm, knowledge and eagerness to please was wonderful.
He never rushed us and did his upmost to find the animals we were keen to see. Nothing was ever to much trouble.”

Arranged By Claire Scott


Gibb's Farm

Gibb's Farm

"Gibb's Farm review"

2 nights Arrived 19 Oct 2008
"Spent little time at Gibbs Farm so had few opportunities to explore the immediate area.

Our room would have had a great view if a rather large green roof had not been immediately in front of us, but otherwise were very surprised with the amount of space we had..

Service was good - friendly and helpful.

Food was excellent with seconds always offered."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Facilities
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge

Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge

"Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 21 Oct 2008
"Wonderful location but the size of the hotel, where it catered for groups, meant there was a lack of ambience and rather impersonal.

Much to our surprise, the standard of food was impressive and the restaurant service excellent - we did arrive as soon as it opened, so missed the mass rush later in the evening."
Average
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Image alt

Suyan Camp, Tanzania (this camp has since closed)

"Suyan Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 22 Oct 2008
"Arrived in very heavy rain and the weather was showery throughout our stay. This appeared to depress our guide who seemed less than enthusatic. Although he sat with the guests for meals, he seemed uncomfortable with the experience and added little to the conversation.

On first morning we went on walk with 3 Maasai who were excellent and so enthusatic. Certainly the highlight of our stay at Suyan.
The jeeps used for game drives were of poor design when coping with rain, with fellow guests thoroughly soaked. I'm not sure why a plastic cover with windows can not be used, to protect against the elements. Waterproof capes were provided, but of little use in heavy rain.

Standard of food was good."
Average
Location
Average
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Average
Sayari Camp

Sayari Camp

"Sayari Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 24 Oct 2008
"Fantastic - sums up our experience at Sayari. In comparison with Suyan, the service was far superior, whether from the waiters, the Manager, tent attendants or the guides. We liked the individual tables for meals - it is nice when on holiday, not to have to make conversation over dinner etc.

The staff were friendly and did their upmost to make sure everything went well.
As for the 2 guides - Lucas and Emmanuel - they couldn't have been more helpful. Their knowledge and enthusiasm were infectious. Although they didn't find us a Leopard, they did their upmost to locate one.

Kenneth, I believe the manager, was helpful, and kind enough to wait sometime with us at the airfield, when the plane was delayed."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Image alt

Mchanga Beach Lodge, Zanzibar (this camp has since closed)

"Mchanga Beach Lodge review"

5 nights Arrived 27 Oct 2008
"Thomas and Gloria were excellent hosts and did their upmost to ensure we were happy.
Location was superb and we liked the idea of the sandy paths and dining room floor.

However, we did feel the description of seaview rooms was a stretch of the imagination and feel that potential guests should be warned that you have to look carefully between the trees, to get a view of any ocean.

Also, the configuration of the 6 seaview rooms leads to a lack of privacy, if sitting outside on the sand terrace.

We liked the Swahilli style of cooking, altho' after 5 nights the breakfast menu became a little tedious - it would have been good to add a little more variety with the eggs."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Average
Food
Good
Zanzibar Palace Hotel

Zanzibar Palace Hotel

"Zanzibar Palace Hotel review"

1 night Arrived 1 Nov 2008
"Again, great service and the room was certainly different and of an interesting design! However, we were a little perturbed if there had been fire, as we could find no sign of a fire exit.

Great central location and ideal for the short period we were in Stone Town."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Facilities
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Good

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team