This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Zanzibar Coffee House

Zanzibar Coffee House


6°9’41.5"S 39°11’32.3"E

Reviews of Zanzibar Coffee House

Wildlife sightings and reviews

61 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Zanzibar Coffee House and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 1-10 of 61
Duration
Arrival date
Ms S.
Bainbridge Isla

"Disappointing"

1 night Arrived 6 Nov 2019
"This was the only place we stayed that we did not like. We had thought it would be charming and atmospheric. Instead it felt run down and uncomfortable.

The bed was like a rock and the hot water had to be turned on 15 minutes prior to showering.It was not at all what we were looking for after a safari. I felt like it was a hotel for much younger people who were trying to watch their pennies.

If it had been for more than one night we would have left." See all these reviews: 7n in Kenya; 5n in Tanzania; 4n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Mr & Mrs D
Hampshire

"Unique and fabulous stop in Stonetown"

1 night Arrived 13 Sep 2019
"We were lucky enough to get the "brochure picture" room, which was without a doubt the most beautiful room we have ever stayed in, but I suspect all rooms would have been restored in a similar style. Coffee is roasted on the premises, and served in a wide range of options. The rooftop tower room for breakfast is delightful, and food is all homemade and of a very high quality. Staff are friendly and helpful. A perfect base for a day or two in Stonetown." See all these reviews: 8n in Tanzania; 4n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr and Mrs G
Bucks

"Coolest hotel in town"

2 nights Arrived 28 Aug 2019
"Wonderful location in old town, just round the corner from spice market.

Super competent women running the show and tasty coffee. A beautiful breakfast location on roof terrace.

They organized a brilliant guided tour around town on foot, which was very interesting and insightful." See all these reviews: 13n in Kenya; 5n in Tanzania; 2n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Prof W
Queensland

"Great stay"

2 nights Arrived 24 Jun 2019
"This is a great, quirky boutique hotel in the heart of Stone Town.

The rooftop area, where breakfast is served, can be accessed by guests at any time and has fabulous views and breezes.

The staff are very friendly, helpfully pointing out places of interest and need. The coffee is superb!" See all these reviews: 9n in Tanzania; 4n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mrs C.
Beaconsfield

"Zanzibar Coffee House review"

3 nights Arrived 19 Sep 2018
"We arrived quite late so were welcomed by the ‘night watchman’. Although the kitchen was closed he offered us a cold drink and some cake. There had been a last minute glitch with our booking meaning the large ensuite room was not available. Our smaller room (Espresso) was still very nice but we had an external, but private, bathroom across the corridor which was a bit disappointing, quite small and dark. We had been given the option to change hotels, but opted to stay as booked and were refunded the room cost difference. The hotel was quirky but charming and staff were all friendly and helpful. Breakfast on the roof terrace was a great start to the day." See all these reviews: 7n in Zanzibar; 5n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Couple
London

"Great Rooms and Character"

2 nights Arrived 14 Jun 2018
"This place has really great character and the staff are very welcoming.

We found the location a little hard to find for what we were wanting. The streets of stone town are hard to navigate and this was at the top of the main area so on a night was quite tricky to find.

The rooms were lovely and the breakfast on the rooftop was nice. The bathrooms were a little dated and the water pressure on the second floor wasn't great. We went back to stone town the week after and stayed a little near the gardens and port which we personally found easier to navigate with more options for dinner as in Zanzibar coffee house you have to eat out as they only serve breakfast and lunch so on the first night we were pretty tired and ended up really lost trying to find our way back!

I think for the price for the double rooms we think there is slightly better value out there but this place is great for food and we would go back there for lunch on the roof." See all these reviews: 5n in Tanzania; 4n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Poor
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Average
Williams family
UK

"Zanzibar Coffee House review"

1 night Arrived 21 Aug 2017
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Williams family
UK

"Zanzibar Coffee House review"

2 nights Arrived 11 Aug 2017
"The coffee house has an excellent central position in town. It is not swanky but homely, welcoming and full of character with a wonderful roof terrace which hotel guests can use until 11 am and after 3 pm. There is a great atmosphere and the cafe itself serves excellent food and drinks and is always busy and buzzy. We had the arabica room which was nicer than our kids room, which was the cappucino room. Would highly recommend this hotel if you are staying in town rather than paying a lot extra for one of the bigger, smarter hotels." See all these reviews: 7n in Zanzibar; 4n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
TC & K
London

"Hidden gem in Stone Town"

1 night Arrived 4 Jul 2017
"We stayed one night in Zanzibar, before heading off on safari. Arriving in the afternoon, and leaving very early the next morning, this was always going to be little more than somewhere to rest our heads, and a base to wander rounds the streets of Stone Town. Zanzibar Coffee House was recommended to us as a simple option along those lines, and it served it's purpose perfectly. However, it's also somewhere we would happily have spent more time.

Above everything else the staff at the hotel were incredibly welcoming and helpful. We were on honeymoon and to our surprise a couple of lovely chocolate muffins appeared in our room. They also fixed us up breakfast to take with us the next morning, before the kitchen had opened up.

All in all, this is a hidden gem in the heart of Stone Town." See all these reviews: 8n in Zanzibar; 4n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs E
Croydon

"A welcoming refuge in Stone Town"

1 night Arrived 11 Sep 2016
"The Coffee House is a beautiful old building in the midst of busy and bustling Stone Town.

We were made extremely welcome by the manager, Salome, and her staff made us very comfortable. Our room was comfortable, large - and quiet. We only had one night there, before moving on to our next destination but we returned there a few days later for lunch. Food was excellent and the coffee is good too.

We enjoyed our breakfast with excellent views from the tower top terrace." See all these reviews: 8n in Tanzania; 3n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Showing 1-10 of 61
83%
61 reviews of Zanzibar Coffee House by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
24
24
12
1
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zanzibar

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zanzibar.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Diving & snorkelling

Diving & snorkelling

Find captivating marine life beneath the waves

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Other lodges in Stone Town

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Serena Inn

Serena Inn

Now trumped by the nearby Park Hyatt, the Serena Inn, in its historic building, was formerly Stone Town's only international-style hotel.


92% (64 reviews)
Zanzibar Palace Hotel

Zanzibar Palace Hotel

The Zanzibar Palace Hotel is a highly regarded boutique hotel with very personal service and just nine rooms, all of them Zanzibari in style.


90% (48 reviews)
Beyt al Salaam

Beyt al Salaam

The Beyt al Salaam is a pleasant, boutique hotel with only six rooms and atmospheric and stylish Zanzibari décor.


82% (44 reviews)
Dhow Palace Hotel

Dhow Palace Hotel

The Dhow Palace is a very good-value, mid-range hotel, full of Swahili character, and the pool makes it appealing to families.


79% (39 reviews)
Emerson Spice

Emerson Spice

Emerson Spice is a beautiful small hotel in the heart of Stone Town with individually designed rooms adorned with gorgeous fabrics.


93% (20 reviews)
Jafferji House

Jafferji House

Jafferji House is a converted old house that blends modern facilities with traditional style. The ten, unique rooms are show great attention to detail.


81% (19 reviews)
Kholle House

Kholle House

Kholle House offers an atmospheric Stone Town stay in a historic building, and is very good value for money.


81% (18 reviews)
Swahili House

Swahili House

Swahili House is a traditionally styled boutique hotel furnished to a high standard with a convenient location in the centre of Stone Town.


82% (10 reviews)
Tembo Hotel

Tembo Hotel

The Tembo Hotel is a good-value, family-friendly hotel right on the seafront in Stone Town, with 36 rooms and a good-sized swimming pool.


63% (8 reviews)
Emerson on Hurumzi

Emerson on Hurumzi

Emerson on Hurumzi was Stone Town's first boutique hotel, featuring antique furniture, unique, stylish rooms and a superb rooftop restaurant.


80% (5 reviews)
Mbweni Ruins Hotel

Mbweni Ruins Hotel

Mbweni Ruins Hotel is very convenient if you want to stay on the beach, but very close to Stone Town, or visit Chumbe Island.


92% (5 reviews)
Maru Maru Hotel

Maru Maru Hotel

In the heart of Stone Town, Maru Maru combines contemporary style and creature comforts with a Zanzibari twist.


80% (2 reviews)
Park Hyatt

Park Hyatt

The Park Hyatt Zanzibar is a high-quality example of this group, with excellent facilities and service.


100% (2 reviews)
Kisiwa House

Kisiwa House

Kisiwa's central location in the heart of Stone Town's Shangani area makes it a great base to explore this fascinating town.


No reviews yet
The Seyyida Hotel

Seyyida Hotel

The Seyyida is a characterful old hotel near the seafront in Stone Town, with the rare bonus of a swimming pool.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa