This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Zanzibar Coffee House

Zanzibar Coffee House


6°9’41.5"S 39°11’32.3"E

Reviews of Zanzibar Coffee House

Wildlife sightings and reviews

61 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Zanzibar Coffee House and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 21-30 of 61
Duration
Arrival date
Ms B
Barbican

"Zanzibar Coffee House review"

3 nights Arrived 11 Sep 2011
"I stayed in Cappuccino Suite. My room was clean, spacious, full of charm and charming best describes the people who run this delightful place. The water pressure wasn't great in the shower, but the hot water was abundant within 10 minutes of turning on the hot water switch. There was airconditioning, but except for, briefly, one evening, I didn't need it.

In the evening Siti not only sprayed insect repellant and closed the mosquito net around the bed, she also left ylang-ylang flowers on my pillow, filling my dreams with sweetness.

The open top floor room where breakfast is served is a joy and can be used any time (I particularly liked it for sunset).

The location of the Coffee House, deep in the warren of the old town streets meant that I got hopelessly lost one night and that bags needed to be carried some distance from the car that dropped me off, but it also gave the place great atmosphere and a sense of being in the community rather than in the more touristy area. Stone Town is small, so nothing is very far from anything else anyway.

I also recommend the cheese and date crepes for lunch." See all these reviews: 11n in Zanzibar; 4n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs M
Belfast

"Great coffee, not the best location though"

2 nights Arrived 1 Sep 2011
"Zanzibar Coffee House is in the heart of what my wife and I came to call 'the labyrinth': it is very hard to find your way to and from, which can be scary, particularly at night (we ended up having to ask at other hotels for directions/a guide). I think if you were based here for a week you would get your bearings, but for a 2 night stay it isn't great. ZCH staff weren't very helpful with directions.

Nice touches were a honeymoon cake on our arrival (delicious, we felt bad that we couldn't eat it all) and a self-service fridge full of beer and soft drinks (great after that stressful and hot trip back through the alleys!). The room (Macchiato) was a bit pokey but was very clean (no insects, first place in Tanzania we could say that). There is a safe, but you need to bring your own padlock (which we had).

Breakfast on the roof was nice (excellent bread) but could have been more varied. It didn't seem to make sense that smoking wasn't allowed on the roof when it was in the coffee house downstairs. Staff did a decent job re helping us with our bags and cleaning the room, but weren't overly friendly. We were particularly unimpressed at being questioned over how much beer we had taken from the fridge when we had paid for this each morning - it didn't take long to convince her of our honesty but it left a nasty taste and staff should really have been communicating better with each other.

ZCH is definitely a good coffee place - the best I'd drunk all holiday - but more of a guest house than a hotel. We have no regrets about staying here but don't think it is a good place for honeymooners - somewhere out of the labyrinth (probably near the seafront) would be better, if probably more expensive." See all these reviews: 7n in Zanzibar; 2n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Poor
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mrs K & family
London

"Zanzibar Coffee House review"

2 nights Arrived 22 Aug 2011
"A wonderful little hotel, full of character and charm.

Breakfast on the roof was a real highlight and the colonial decor had wonderful individual touches." See all these reviews: 7n in Zanzibar; 5n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs P
Germany

"Zanzibar Coffee House review"

2 nights Arrived 12 Aug 2011
"Great value for money. You feel as though you are in a very authentic Zanzibari merchants house. Coffee is very good, pastries too and becasue location is good we found it useful to be able to slip back to the room during bouts of shopping. Staff are lovely, rooftop breakfast is a wonderful experience.

All in all, clean and practical B&B leaving options for own dining arrangments in the evening." See all these reviews: 9n in Zanzibar; 7n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Mr & Mrs F
W Sussex

"Zanzibar Coffee Hse well placed for exploring"

1 night Arrived 25 Jul 2011
"Apart from a misunderstanding on arrival (Coffee House made error on date!) we were happy with this hotel. It was well situated for exploring Stone Town & as the name suggests, the coffee was superb. The room was very clean, comfortable & well furnished & the landings cool & airy. The roof-top terrace made for an interesting view point & there was a good variety of choice for breakfast. The owner also presented us with a tub of Zanzibar coffee as a gesture of goodwill, which is delicious & was appreciated.

(The only reason I'm not waxing lyriclally is that we didn't particularly like Stone Town! It was even more run down than we expected - I think we had envisaged a few more "Merchant Houses" & a bit more exoticism but it looks as though nothing has been painted or touched since Livingstones' day! However, we did enjoy wandering through the local market area away from the tourist centre, which was more interesting & had 2 superb meals at the House of Spice!)" See all these reviews: 7n in Tanzania; 6n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mr & Mrs B
Oxon

"Lovely atmosphere and great location"

1 night Arrived 26 Feb 2011
"Very short (1 night) stay but we like the atmosphere and friendly people." See all these reviews: 1n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Mr F & Mrs T
UK

"Zanzibar Coffee House"

2 nights Arrived 1 Feb 2011
"Delightful. A lovely room, with particularly good airconditioning. The rooftop breakfast bar very pleasing.

The coffee very good too." See all these reviews: 9n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Steve H
Leeds

"Zanzibar Coffee House review"

1 night Arrived 28 Oct 2010
"Well appointed room with great Zanzibar style - delicious food" See all these reviews: 5n in Tanzania; 1n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Ms B & Mr R
Bucks

"Zanzibar Coffee House review"

2 nights Arrived 6 Oct 2010
"This was perfect for what we needed.

The location was good, however be aware that it is really in the alley ways so can be quite daunting at night.
The roof terrace was really nice for both the scrummy breakfast and also to just go and read your book with a cup of their lovelky coffee after a day of sight seeing.

The rooms were fine.

The service was okay - not overly friendly but they were helpful when asked to arrange our evening meal and taxi for us." See all these reviews: 7n in Tanzania; 7n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Mr & Mrs H
Brockley

"Zanzibar Coffee House review"

1 night Arrived 21 Sep 2010
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Showing 21-30 of 61
83%
61 reviews of Zanzibar Coffee House by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
24
24
12
1
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zanzibar

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zanzibar.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Diving & snorkelling

Diving & snorkelling

Find captivating marine life beneath the waves

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Other lodges in Stone Town

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Serena Inn

Serena Inn

Now trumped by the nearby Park Hyatt, the Serena Inn, in its historic building, was formerly Stone Town's only international-style hotel.


92% (64 reviews)
Zanzibar Palace Hotel

Zanzibar Palace Hotel

The Zanzibar Palace Hotel is a highly regarded boutique hotel with very personal service and just nine rooms, all of them Zanzibari in style.


90% (48 reviews)
Beyt al Salaam

Beyt al Salaam

The Beyt al Salaam is a pleasant, boutique hotel with only six rooms and atmospheric and stylish Zanzibari décor.


82% (44 reviews)
Dhow Palace Hotel

Dhow Palace Hotel

The Dhow Palace is a very good-value, mid-range hotel, full of Swahili character, and the pool makes it appealing to families.


79% (39 reviews)
Emerson Spice

Emerson Spice

Emerson Spice is a beautiful small hotel in the heart of Stone Town with individually designed rooms adorned with gorgeous fabrics.


93% (20 reviews)
Jafferji House

Jafferji House

Jafferji House is a converted old house that blends modern facilities with traditional style. The ten, unique rooms are show great attention to detail.


81% (19 reviews)
Kholle House

Kholle House

Kholle House offers an atmospheric Stone Town stay in a historic building, and is very good value for money.


81% (18 reviews)
Swahili House

Swahili House

Swahili House is a traditionally styled boutique hotel furnished to a high standard with a convenient location in the centre of Stone Town.


82% (10 reviews)
Tembo Hotel

Tembo Hotel

The Tembo Hotel is a good-value, family-friendly hotel right on the seafront in Stone Town, with 36 rooms and a good-sized swimming pool.


63% (8 reviews)
Emerson on Hurumzi

Emerson on Hurumzi

Emerson on Hurumzi was Stone Town's first boutique hotel, featuring antique furniture, unique, stylish rooms and a superb rooftop restaurant.


80% (5 reviews)
Mbweni Ruins Hotel

Mbweni Ruins Hotel

Mbweni Ruins Hotel is very convenient if you want to stay on the beach, but very close to Stone Town, or visit Chumbe Island.


92% (5 reviews)
Maru Maru Hotel

Maru Maru Hotel

In the heart of Stone Town, Maru Maru combines contemporary style and creature comforts with a Zanzibari twist.


80% (2 reviews)
Park Hyatt

Park Hyatt

The Park Hyatt Zanzibar is a high-quality example of this group, with excellent facilities and service.


100% (2 reviews)
Kisiwa House

Kisiwa House

Kisiwa's central location in the heart of Stone Town's Shangani area makes it a great base to explore this fascinating town.


No reviews yet
The Seyyida Hotel

Seyyida Hotel

The Seyyida is a characterful old hotel near the seafront in Stone Town, with the rare bonus of a swimming pool.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa