This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr & Mrs G from Huntingdon

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

2

Countries visited

3

Lodges stayed in

17

Excursions taken

0

Amazing, fabulous, wonderful!

Namibia between 6 Jan 2017 and 26 Jan 2017

Trip rating: Excellent
"I absolutely loved this trip and didn't want to leave Namibia.

Such a variety of experiences and a real sense of freedom from self driving.

The Namibians we met were nearly all friendly and smiley, and the views simply stunning."

Arranged By Elizabeth Chapman


Olive Grove

Olive Grove

"Friendly, very convenient "

1 night Arrived 7 Jan 2017
"A lovely place to recover from the journey, lovely service and great food.

The room was quiet, clean and very attractive."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Kulala Desert Lodge

Kulala Desert Lodge

"Beautifully located "

2 nights Arrived 8 Jan 2017
"Great location, especially being able to get into the dunes before the hordes arrived.

We loved sleeping on the roof under the stars.

The staff were very friendly and helpful."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Cornerstone Guesthouse

Cornerstone Guesthouse

"Beautifully clean and well located "

3 nights Arrived 10 Jan 2017
"Very friendly welcome and we were very well looked after at breakfast.

The whole place is immaculately clean, although the smell of toilet cleaner was rather overwhelming in the small room.

Great location, easy to walk to restaurants etc."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Erongo Wilderness Lodge

Erongo Wilderness Lodge

"Stunning location"

2 nights Arrived 13 Jan 2017
"An absolutely beautiful lodge, very well run, in a stunning location. The guided walks were included with knowledgeable, friendly guides and a real highlight for me.

Food was very good and I loved being surrounded by wildlife.

Only downside was the insect bites as it had recently rained."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Camp Kipwe

Camp Kipwe

"Great location"

2 nights Arrived 15 Jan 2017
"I was disappointed there were no guided walks available but took the opportunity to just relax with the lovely views and friendly service. Game drives were available at extra cost but I didn't want more time in a vehicle.

The iigloo style room was very hot and we needed to use the air conditioning (the only time during the entire trip).

The chef was trying a bit too hard to be creative - amuse bouche cold soups were rather odd!"
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Poor
Rooms
Average
Food
Average
Desert Rhino Camp

Desert Rhino Camp

"Great experience"

2 nights Arrived 17 Jan 2017
"The only downside of this camp was the bruised coccyx from the very bumpy transfers and game drive to see the rhino. Other than that, it was a fabulous experience with the most lovely staff, guides and good food in a stunningly beautiful location.

It was very special seeing a mum and baby rhino close up, although slightly scary!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Dolomite Camp

Dolomite Camp

"Very disappointing"

1 night Arrived 19 Jan 2017
"This camp is in the most wonderful location but ruined by poor design of the bar and restaurant, bad food and terrible service. The bar and restaurant were in tents with the flaps closed and completely failing to make the most of the spectacular views.

We had to carry our luggage up a steep hill to the room as the luggage van wasn't working, the staff were rude and unhelpful and the food was barely edible.

The room was attractive but in need of maintenance."
Poor
Location
Excellent
Service
Terrible
Rooms
Average
Food
Poor
Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

"Surprising good"

1 night Arrived 20 Jan 2017
"After the poor experience at Dolomite Camp, my expectations were low but I was pleasantly surprised.

The room was spacious and comfortable, the staff were friendly, the food was ok and the waterhole was beautiful.

It was quiet when we were there but could be less pleasant if it was full as there are lots of rooms."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Mundulea Reserve

Mundulea Reserve

"Magical Mundulea"

3 nights Arrived 21 Jan 2017
"I loved this place!

It was a magical wilderness experience (but not for anyone who doesn't like bugs!), Bruno was a fascinating guide and the walks twice a day were fabulous.

I will never forget this place and would love to go back."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Okonjima Plains Camp

Okonjima Plains Camp

"Bit like a safari park "

2 nights Arrived 24 Jan 2017
"This felt a bit artificial after Mundulea, with the animals and humans kept in a 'safe zone' away from the predators in the 'danger zone' which could only be seen on expensive game drives. The room was beautiful with a great view of warthogs and springboks happily running around with no predators to worry about.

I liked being able to go on self-guided walks in the 'safe zone' but unfortunately late afternoon storms meant that we didn't get to see the cheetahs as the game drive was cancelled.

The service was good but the menu had no choice and the meat was tough and overcooked."
Average
Location
Good
Service
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Average

My May 2012 trip

Tanzania and 1 other country between 25 May 2012 and 7 Jun 2012

Trip rating: Excellent
"Absolutely fantastic!

Thanks so much to Liz for organising our perfect Silver Wedding Anniversary trip, it surpassed all our expectations and was utterly memorable."

Arranged By Elizabeth Chapman


Image alt

Karama Lodge

"Karama Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 25 May 2012
"Unfortunately damp and misty so couldn't see the views.

Food and service were very good but very noisy night with dogs barking and bush babies screeching and scratching all night!"
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Rhotia Valley Tented Lodge

Rhotia Valley Tented Lodge

"Rhotia Valley Tented Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 26 May 2012
"A gorgeous place in a fantastic location, peaceful, friendly and just lovely."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Ndutu Safari Lodge

Ndutu Safari Lodge

"Ndutu Safari Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 27 May 2012
"Not our favourite lodge, the location was great but too many guests after the peace and tranquility of Rhotia.

Food was mediocre but plentiful and beautiful birds to look at."
Average
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Average
Food
Average
Serengeti Walking Mobile Camp

Serengeti Walking Mobile Camp

"Serengeti Walking Mobile Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 28 May 2012
"Hard to put into words just how incredible this was! An amazing experience which provided a truly memorable wedding anniversary.

Jean was a brilliant guide, the food was delicious and we were looked after so well. I keep looking at the photos to remind myself how totally and utterly in the middle of beautiful nowhere we were, wow!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Kati Kati Camp

Kati Kati Camp

"Kati Kati Camp review"

1 night Arrived 31 May 2012
"We were in Kati Kati B camp which had only just been set up. Again lovely service, beautiful location and very good food.

Very noisy night thanks to the lions, hyenas and stampeding wildebeest!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Pongwe Beach Hotel

Pongwe Beach Hotel

"Pongwe Beach Hotel review"

5 nights Arrived 1 Jun 2012
"Much more luxurious than I expected! Stunning location and gorgeous room, the food was delcious and the staff were just lovely. Not a huge fan of the singing duo on our first evening (Swahili night on Fridays), they did go on a bit and Rod Stewart would be very unimpressed with their version of 'Sailing'!

I loved the infinity pool, particularly as the sea completely disappeared when the tide was out, but you could then walk miles. Very quiet place so not suitable for anyone wanting a lively location but ideal for relaxing after a busy safari.

Beware the rather large bar bill at the end - wine isn't cheap and a 5% credit card surcharge is added. Wifi is charged at $10 for entire stay but it only really works near reception."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Average
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Zanzibar Coffee House

Zanzibar Coffee House

"Zanzibar Coffee House review"

1 night Arrived 6 Jun 2012
"Really loved having this experience at the end of our trip. I had read 'The Last Slave Market' by Alastair Hazell and would really recommend it to give an understanding of Stonetown. The Coffee House was perfectly located, although we were a bit anxious about finding our way back after dark!

The rooftop terrace is very special for drinks (help yourself from a fridge and record in a book) and especially a delicious breakfast looking out on the rooftops.

The room was huge and very atmospheric but beware the stone steps to the bathroom - I have a very painful stubbed big toe!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team