This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Pongwe Beach Hotel
Pongwe Beach Hotel
Pongwe Beach Hotel
Pongwe Beach Hotel
Pongwe Beach Hotel

Reviews of Pongwe Beach Hotel

Wildlife sightings and reviews

86 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Pongwe Beach Hotel and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 1-10 of 86
Duration
Arrival date
Mr &Mrs W
Bamford

"Pongwe Beach Hotel review"

4 nights Arrived 28 Dec 2019
"Bliss!
Brilliant Wi-Fi connection even on beach!
New-over bed air-con
We felt very lucky to have been introduced to such an authentic characterful gem - private beach with no beach boys hassling. Plenty of space, spot-on service." See all these reviews: 8n in Kenya; 6n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mrs H
Bristol

"A Great 60th Birthday Celebration "

7 nights Arrived 23 Nov 2019
"We spent a lovely week at Pongwe with our family and friends, to celebrate my husbands 60th birthday.

This was our third stay here and once again we had a fantastic time. We spent our days relaxing on the beach and swimming in the sea and our evenings in the bar and restaurant enjoying the excellent food and drinks including the lovely cocktails.

We love everything about Pongwe, the lovely spacious rooms, the wonderful beach, the great food served in the restaurant, the lovely friendly staff who cannot do enough to make your stay special, and the lovely relaxed atmosphere of the place.

We had dinner on the beach on my husbands birthday which was very special and all the staff joined in the celebrations.

When I think of beach holidays I cannot think of anywhere else I would rather be than at Pongwe......we hope to be back again soon." See all these reviews: 9n in Tanzania; 7n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Dr & Dr S.
Knutsford

"Pongwe Beach Hotel review"

4 nights Arrived 13 Nov 2019
"We adored the picture perfect white sandy bay at Pongwe; swimming was limited to high tide only, but that meant there was a massive beach to explore by foot at low tide, where locals farm seaweed in tidal pools.

Pongwe is perfect for a few relaxed days after safari and/or a visit to Stonetown. It is unspoilt and has a laid back feel and isn't for people looking for lots of inclusive activities. We made use of the kayaks and swimming options, but were surprised that there was a charge associated with snorkelling, as some literature said that this was included.

The food at Pongwe was great - we ate all our evening meals there and indulged in a massive seafood feast on our final night." See all these reviews: 7n in Tanzania; 6n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs H
Scotland

"Paradise"

6 nights Arrived 12 Nov 2019
"Our six night stay at Pongwe was paradise. I cannot imagine anywhere better to relax and chill out. Superb beach and wonderful sea which was enhanced by the huge tidal variation. This allowed us to swim and also to wander along the beach for as far as you could wish.

The hotel makes relaxing so easy..... beach chairs , hammocks, swimming pool, sea, white sand, the sound of waves, palm trees softly swaying in the breeze, drinks and food brought to wherever you happen to be, the list goes on.

The food was exceptionally good with well cooked fish always on the menu.

All staff were helpful, friendly, cheerful and very good at their jobs.Nothing seemed to be too much trouble.

We had a room with a plunge pool for five nights. This was very spacious and comfortable. The bathroom , while perfectly acceptable, could do with a refurbish. We moved to a newly refurbished beachfront room for our last night and I just loved it. Beautifully decorated and well appointed.

We really didn't want to drag ourselves away but did do a day trip to Stonetown which is very interesting and well worth visiting as was a spice tour on the day of our departure. There are options to participate in various water activities although we passed on them.

Cannot recommend this relaxing piece of paradise too highly, you will be well looked after." See all these reviews: 11n in Tanzania; 6n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr Steve
Hope Valley

"Pongwe Beach review"

4 nights Arrived 23 Sep 2019
"4 nights here at the end of our trip. All good and excellent staff. Well located for scuba diving and snorkelling too." See all these reviews: 12n in Tanzania; 4n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs D
Hampshire

"Luxurious end to a safari"

3 nights Arrived 10 Sep 2019
"A luxurious hotel, ideal to relax for a few days at the end of a safari. A beautiful beach, good food, good staff. Nowhere to go to from the hotel without a taxi, so probably best to restrict to a few days of chilling." See all these reviews: 8n in Tanzania; 4n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr J.
Biggleswade

"Pongwe Beach Hotel review"

5 nights Arrived 24 Aug 2019
"A great way to kick back after the safari. Like the safari, this somehow exceeded our expectations. A setting out of paradise with white sands, turquoise sea and palm trees. I spent hours lying in the hammocks, and there was never any space pressure on pool, for loungers or for drinks and food.

The staff were fantastically friendly and helpful, and really could not do enough for us. The food was great and we felt like we put on pounds!! Lovely atmosphere, and so quiet and relaxing.

We had one snorkeling trip to Mnemba island to see the coral which I would recommend. We didn't do anything else despite the temptations of the rest of Zanzibar because it was too easy to stay put! Easily the best beach resort I have ever been to." See all these reviews: 5n in Tanzania; 5n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Prof W
Queensland

"Awesome"

2 nights Arrived 26 Jun 2019
"Pongwe Beach Hotel met all expectations and more. It was a terrific way to wash of the Serengetti dust.

The whole experience was perfect- we only wish we'd had longer. The rooms were beautiful, the view gorgeous and the food fabulous.

The only slight disappointment was the snorkelling- but we have been spoiled previously by seeing pristine coral elsewhere." See all these reviews: 9n in Tanzania; 4n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs S
Weymouth

"Pongwe Beach Hotel review"

4 nights Arrived 12 Feb 2019
"Not much happening outside hotel grounds, Sea and Beach not particularly clean although hotel tried there best to keep beach clean, Breakfast and dinner were excellent." See all these reviews: 10n in Tanzania; 4n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs & Mr S
USA

"Heaven on Earth"

6 nights Arrived 18 Jan 2019
"Pongwe Beach Hotel was paradise! Loved the location, layout and beach. This place was perfect for my husband and I. Very charming, peaceful and low key. We stayed in a beach cottage and the view from our porch was gorgeous. Great room and the canopy bed that has a cooling remote was nice. We stayed cool and comfortable in our bed at night.

We throughly enjoyed the infinity pool, hammocks, swing bed, lounge chairs on our private porch, long walks exploring the beach at low tide and so much more. Very relaxing atmosphere! The staff was friendly and attentive. Moody was a riot. He kept us laughing. We were able to arrange activities through the front desk. Food was delicious and seating at dinning, bar and pool areas are lovely. Being that this is a smaller resort you also get to know other guests which we enjoyed. We even exchanged emails with new friends we met.

This hotel also allows you to hang out and enjoy facilities if your airport shuttle is after check out time on your last day. They even have a shower and changing room for you to use. We had an amazing time here! I’m still dreaming about the turquoise waters!" See all these reviews: 6n in Zanzibar; 4n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 1-10 of 86
95%
86 reviews of Pongwe Beach Hotel by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
67
17
2
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zanzibar

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zanzibar.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Diving & snorkelling

Diving & snorkelling

Find captivating marine life beneath the waves

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Other lodges in East Coast Zanzibar

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Matemwe Lodge

Matemwe Lodge

Matemwe Lodge is one of our favourite beach lodges. With only 12 cottages right on the edge of the old coral cliff, it is personal and relaxing.


89% (44 reviews)
Shooting Star Lodge

Shooting Star Lodge

Shooting Star Lodge has a friendly atmosphere and a beautiful infinity pool, sitting above a stunning stretch of beach on Zanzibar's east coast.


88% (30 reviews)
Mnemba Island Lodge

Mnemba Island Lodge

Mnemba is a private island resort with 11 chalets, fringed by some of the best coral reefs in the Zanzibar area.


96% (10 reviews)
Matemwe Retreat

Matemwe Retreat

Matemwe Retreat is one of the most exclusive lodges on Zanzibar, with four split-level villas each with their own veranda, sun terrace, plunge pool.


89% (9 reviews)
Sunshine Marine Lodge

Sunshine Marine Lodge

Sunshine Marine (sister of Sunshine Hotel) is located in a secluded part of the east coast, with a first-rate, in-house dive centre.


90% (6 reviews)
Sunshine Hotel

Sunshine Hotel

Located right on the beach, with bright rooms and a colourful garden, the Sunshine has a lively, relaxed atmosphere.


85% (4 reviews)
Green and Blue

Green & Blue

The pretty Green and Blue hotel has a picture-postcard setting on a sweep white sand in the Matemwe area of Zanzibar’s north-east coast.


80% (2 reviews)
Matemwe Beach House

Matemwe Beach House

Located on Zanzibar's stunning east coast, Matemwe Beach House offers private accommodation for friends or families travelling together.


No reviews yet
Melia Zanzibar

Melia Zanzibar

Melia Zanzibar is a very large resort hotel on Zanzibar’s east coast and is well equipped for business and leisure trips.


No reviews yet
Tulia Zanzibar

Tulia Zanzibar

Tulia Zanzibibar Beach Resort is a 16-room boutique beach hotel that opened in 2016 on Zanzibar's east coast.


No reviews yet
Zanzibar Pearl Boutique Hotel

Zanzibar Pearl

Formally known as Matemwe Beach Village, Zanzibar Pearl Boutique Hotel is one of the newest properties on the island


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa