This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Pongwe Beach Hotel
Pongwe Beach Hotel
Pongwe Beach Hotel
Pongwe Beach Hotel
Pongwe Beach Hotel

Reviews of Pongwe Beach Hotel

Wildlife sightings and reviews

86 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Pongwe Beach Hotel and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 11-20 of 86
Duration
Arrival date
Mary
Cornwall

"Pongwe Beach Hotel Review"

4 nights Arrived 3 Nov 2018
"This really was a little bit of paradise! Beautiful white sands, warm sea, palm trees, relaxed atmosphere and helpful staff who responded to all our needs with a smile on their face. We didn't want or need evening activities or any extra facilities.

The food was excellent, rooms totally satisfactory and all the staff friendly and helpful. It had a large inter tidal zone which was fascinating. It was possible to walk out a long way at low tide and spot star fish, sea urchins and other sea life as well as the sea weed beds which provide a living for the local women. Nothing seemed too much trouble for the staff. Each afternoon one of the boat crew would shin up a palm tree to cut down coconuts to give out to anyone who wanted a drink of fresh coconut milk. Staff also came round with trays of fresh fruit. Tea and coffee were available all day.

The rooms were provided with pretty beach robes so there was no need to change out of swim wear if you needed to get a cup of tea, or if you felt you had had enough sun. At high tide the beach was cut off and was private and at low tide, when you could walk along the beach to the nearby village, we were never bothered by locals selling their wares because Masai men patrolled the beach.

We went to Stone Town for a day because we felt we ought to, and although we enjoyed seeing people going about their daily business it was lovely to return for a refreshing swim in the warm sea at Pongwe. In hindsight we wished we had visited the Anglican Cathedral which now houses the Slave Trade Exhibit. We will have to return one day!" See all these reviews: 9n in Tanzania; 4n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs C.
Horsham

"An idyllic setting with wonderful facilities"

4 nights Arrived 22 Sep 2018
"This small beach resort was ideal for chilling and relaxing after safari. The food and wine were excellent. The room comfy with all needed facilities. The view in the beach front room was worth the extra cost. Staff were excellent." See all these reviews: 5n in Tanzania; 5n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs C.
Beaconsfield

"Pongwe paradise"

4 nights Arrived 22 Sep 2018
"A lovely place to finish our holiday. Our room was literally on the beach. The communal areas were very pleasant but the high level of service, attention to detail by the staff and their permanently cheerful approach made our stay really great. We were so well looked after. Breakfast and dinner were excellent. There isn’t really much to do other than relax, swim and read (it was too windy for scuba diving) but it was what we wanted for the end of our holiday. It’s difficult to list all the great staff, but we loved Mary, Moody, Esther and Fatuma." See all these reviews: 7n in Zanzibar; 5n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Mrs S
Leatherhead

"Stunning Beach and Wonderful People"

6 nights Arrived 23 Aug 2018
"After 4 days of safari Pongwe Beach was paradise.

Stunning white beach and beautiful clear water. Exploring the ocean bed when the tide went out, kayaking on the still waters of early afternoon then jumping in the waves in the evening - we had lots of fun.

The staff made us feel so welcome and we met some wonderful characters, by the end of the week they felt like friends. The food was fantastic and the main lounge/restaurant area a great place to relax, have a cocktail, play cards. The photos on their website do not do justice to this area of the hotel, it is much nicer than we expected.

The bungalows are right on the beach so you go to sleep to the sound of crashing waves. They are more basic than the public areas of the hotel, but are sufficient.

Highly recommend." See all these reviews: 8n in Zanzibar; 5n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr Peter P
USA

"Pongwe Beach Hotel review"

2 nights Arrived 15 Aug 2018
"We had a fantastic time there.

Should have stayed at least an extra day.

Very good food and pleasant staff.

Great place to relax after the safari." See all these reviews: 12n in Tanzania; 4n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Al & Jules
Australia

"Pongwe in the rain"

3 nights Arrived 29 Jun 2018
"Our feelings about Pongwe were coloured by the rain that seemed to persist for over half the time of our stay. Luckily the days here were mainly to wind down before the long flight back to Australia, so the weather didn't distract us totally.

As a beach resort, it's a bit limiting as for quite a few hours each day the tide is so low that swimming isn't possible. We also missed the options of nearby attractions, as the villages around had little except for their fishing/seaweed industries. Further to that, the cost of $US100 return to travel to Stone Town, or other tourist locations, was off -putting.

We enjoyed the menu and food options as well as the cheaply priced drinks." See all these reviews: 8n in Tanzania; 3n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Average
Service:
Good
Activities:
Poor
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Mr & Mrs D
Sydney

"Pongwe Beach Hotel review"

7 nights Arrived 9 Jun 2018
"Service was a bit amateur.

The staff all tried hard but there were many little things that just weren't quite right.

Lovely beach and location divine." See all these reviews: 7n in Tanzania; 7n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Poor
Activities:
Poor
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Mrs H
Bristol

"Returned after 7 Years - Even Better"

5 nights Arrived 11 Dec 2017
"We stayed at this hotel 7 years ago and really enjoyed it, so when an opportunity arose to return we decided to go for it - we were not disappointed. We stayed for 5 nights in December and had a great time.

During our stay we had a couple of chats with Heidi, the manager who is really friendly and was keen to hear how we were finding our stay compared to 7 years ago. We told her that over the 7 years Pongwe has got even better. The beach is just as lovely, but the bathrooms have been upgraded and the food and restaurant service has definitely gone up a notch (or 2!!). The bar has also been extended giving the whole place a more spacious feel. The staff are also really friendly and are always around offering to do anything they can for you. We loved it so much we didnt leave the hotel during our 5 nights there. We left feeling truly relaxed and pampered.

Hopefully it wont be another 7 years before we return" See all these reviews: 9n in Tanzania; 5n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs R
Ashbourne

"Idyllic beach stay"

4 nights Arrived 21 Oct 2017
"Beautiful location, quite a distance if you want to visit island attractions but ideal for those, like us, wanting to relax and take in the stunning views.

Staff very accommodating and welcoming." See all these reviews: 8n in Kenya; 4n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs R
Aberdeen

"Another great stay at Pongwe Beach"

3 nights Arrived 14 Sep 2017
"This was our second visit to Pongwe Beach hotel. We were apprehensive about whether we would enjoy it as much as our first stay.

Our apprehensions disappeared when we were welcomed home and recognized from our first visit by reception. Our stay this time was in one of the hotels new sea-view suites that we really liked. We initially thought the suite's plunge pool was too cold until we learnt to appreciate it during the heat of the day.

The hotels location, beach and infinity pool were all still stunning. the staff were amazingly friendly and service excellent. We could not fault the standard of food and had an wonderful seafood platter on the beach on our last night
.
We will go again as this beach hotel really suits us" See all these reviews: 14n in Tanzania; 3n in Zanzibar; 1n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 11-20 of 86
95%
86 reviews of Pongwe Beach Hotel by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
67
17
2
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zanzibar

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zanzibar.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Diving & snorkelling

Diving & snorkelling

Find captivating marine life beneath the waves

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Other lodges in East Coast Zanzibar

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Matemwe Lodge

Matemwe Lodge

Matemwe Lodge is one of our favourite beach lodges. With only 12 cottages right on the edge of the old coral cliff, it is personal and relaxing.


89% (44 reviews)
Shooting Star Lodge

Shooting Star Lodge

Shooting Star Lodge has a friendly atmosphere and a beautiful infinity pool, sitting above a stunning stretch of beach on Zanzibar's east coast.


88% (30 reviews)
Mnemba Island Lodge

Mnemba Island Lodge

Mnemba is a private island resort with 11 chalets, fringed by some of the best coral reefs in the Zanzibar area.


96% (10 reviews)
Matemwe Retreat

Matemwe Retreat

Matemwe Retreat is one of the most exclusive lodges on Zanzibar, with four split-level villas each with their own veranda, sun terrace, plunge pool.


90% (10 reviews)
Sunshine Marine Lodge

Sunshine Marine Lodge

Sunshine Marine (sister of Sunshine Hotel) is located in a secluded part of the east coast, with a first-rate, in-house dive centre.


90% (6 reviews)
Sunshine Hotel

Sunshine Hotel

Located right on the beach, with bright rooms and a colourful garden, the Sunshine has a lively, relaxed atmosphere.


85% (4 reviews)
Green and Blue

Green & Blue

The pretty Green and Blue hotel has a picture-postcard setting on a sweep white sand in the Matemwe area of Zanzibar’s north-east coast.


80% (2 reviews)
Matemwe Beach House

Matemwe Beach House

Located on Zanzibar's stunning east coast, Matemwe Beach House offers private accommodation for friends or families travelling together.


No reviews yet
Melia Zanzibar

Melia Zanzibar

Melia Zanzibar is a very large resort hotel on Zanzibar’s east coast and is well equipped for business and leisure trips.


No reviews yet
Tulia Zanzibar

Tulia Zanzibar

Tulia Zanzibibar Beach Resort is a 16-room boutique beach hotel that opened in 2016 on Zanzibar's east coast.


No reviews yet
Zanzibar Pearl Boutique Hotel

Zanzibar Pearl

Formally known as Matemwe Beach Village, Zanzibar Pearl Boutique Hotel is one of the newest properties on the island


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa