This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Prof W from Queensland

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

2

Lodges stayed in

7

Excursions taken

2

Africa was awesome!

Tanzania and 1 other country between 15 Jun 2019 and 30 Jun 2019

Trip rating: Excellent
"Our trip was a truly fantastic and we would highly recommend it and Expert Africa to others.

The itinerary worked very well for us. We were met as we were told we would be - in each place and on time.

The choices of accommodation were spectacular, as was the food and service.

And the animals did not disappoint!

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

We would highly recommend Expert Africa. Our dealings with Maruska made our life so much better and she put together a marvellous plan."

Arranged By Maruska Adye-Rowe


Rivertrees Country Inn

Rivertrees Country Inn

"Excellent accommodation"

1 night Arrived 15 Jun 2019
"Rivertrees Country Inn was an excellent introduction to Tanzania.

The serene setting beside a river, the well-tended gardens, the attentive staff and the beautifully appointed rooms were a treat. While not actually close to any particular points of interest. for travellers arriving at Kilimanjaro Airport en route to the national parks, it is as good a place as any from which to launch your expeditions.

Highly recommended."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Lemala Ngorongoro

Lemala Ngorongoro

"Atmospheric safari camp at Ngorongoro"

2 nights Arrived 16 Jun 2019
"Peaceful tented camp on the rim of the Ngorongoro Crater. While not actually blessed with views to the crater floor, the camp has impressive vistas across the rainforest canopy that encircles the crater.

The tents are well appointed, with reasonably plush interiors and plenty of blankets and hot water bottles for the chillier-than-expected temperatures. The staff were very friendly and wickedly generous with drinks - be careful with the gin and tonics! Communal dining can be hit and miss, but we were fortunate to have entertaining companions for both nights of our stay - basically it was a well-lubricated dinner party with excellent catering and wonderful new friends.

The camp is close to the Lemala gate, so a quick early morning getaway is easy to beat the crowds to the crater floor.

Highly recommended"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Lake Manyara Safari

Lake Manyara Safari

"Lake Manyara Safari review- Lovely area."

16 Jun 2019 • All-day excursion

We only spent a short while in this park but it was pretty with a great deal of wildlife in a small space.

The highlight was seeing a flapped chameleon crossing the road in front of us!
Excellent
Safari in Ngorongoro Crater

Safari in Ngorongoro Crater

"Safari in Ngorongoro Crater review- Great exc"

17 Jun 2019 • All-day excursion

The trip into the crater started nice and early and we had a full day to see the landscape and wildlife.

It is a beautiful caldera and the wildlife abundant.

Unfortunately our views of rhino where only from a great distance, but otherwise we had plenty of animals to spot.
Excellent
Kati Kati Camp

Kati Kati Camp

"Giraffe!"

2 nights Arrived 18 Jun 2019
"We arrived at Kati Kati late in the day to find several giraffe strolling through the camp- brilliant!

Kati Kati camp was neatly set up, the tents were clean and tidy, whilst more basic than other sites. The staff very friendly and the food great.

The animal life in the central Serengetti area was amazing while we were there."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Serengeti under Canvas

Serengeti under Canvas

"Beautiful camp!"

2 nights Arrived 20 Jun 2019
"This tented camp felt truly luxurious and the food was outstanding.

Attention to detail was obvious and the staff were very hospitable and polished.

Unfortunately the expected wildebeest and zebra migration had not quite arrived due to changes in the usual rain pattern but this was made up for by the beauty of the camp itself."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Namiri Plains Camp

Namiri Plains Camp

"Quiet spot"

2 nights Arrived 22 Jun 2019
"Namiri Camp feels a long way from other places- which it is- and we loved!

The area has far fewer vehicles trafficking it compared with the central part of the Serengetti.

The camp itself was very nicely appointed and again the staff were well trained, extremely knowledgable and friendly and the food was terrific."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Zanzibar Coffee House

Zanzibar Coffee House

"Great stay"

2 nights Arrived 24 Jun 2019
"This is a great, quirky boutique hotel in the heart of Stone Town.

The rooftop area, where breakfast is served, can be accessed by guests at any time and has fabulous views and breezes.

The staff are very friendly, helpfully pointing out places of interest and need. The coffee is superb!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Pongwe Beach Hotel

Pongwe Beach Hotel

"Awesome"

2 nights Arrived 26 Jun 2019
"Pongwe Beach Hotel met all expectations and more. It was a terrific way to wash of the Serengetti dust.

The whole experience was perfect- we only wish we'd had longer. The rooms were beautiful, the view gorgeous and the food fabulous.

The only slight disappointment was the snorkelling- but we have been spoiled previously by seeing pristine coral elsewhere."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team