This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Safari in Ngorongoro Crater

Safari in Ngorongoro Crater

Reviews: Safari in Ngorongoro Crater

Below are independent comments from 41 of our travellers who have done this activity and have kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa.

Showing 1-10 of 41
Date
Mr A.
Trento

"Safari in Ngorongoro Crater review"

Based at Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge on 5 Jun 2021
"It is an incredible place, full of wildlife in a unique environment.

We were the only vehicle before sunrise and this made the experience as something special.

We spent most of the morning on our own among low clouds and the rays of sun filtering through.

I would have liked to come back a second time in the afternoon but the access policy is quite frustrating." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Mrs M & Mr D
Germany

"Safari in Ngorongoro Crater review"

Based at Lemala Ngorongoro on 5 May 2021
"A truly amazing experience. This place felt like garden eden.

Once more a solid proof that travelling during Covid becomes a plus in areas which in normal times tend to attract too many visitors. In the early morning hours, we were basically the only car down in the crater and spotted a lovely pride of lions with cups.

The scenery during May was very special with mist rolling over the crater rim and the crater floor being covered by an endless field of golden Bidens flowers.

We were further lucky to get to see the Rhinos grassing between a herd of zebras with some elephants passing in a distance." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Mandolin
Surrey

"So few other tourists"

Based at Lemala Ngorongoro on 16 Nov 2020
"The Ngorongoro was, sadly, a little disappointing because of the rain which didn't stop all day. I suspect that it was due to this that we didn't see as much wildlife as I had expected. On the other hand, there were virtually no other tourists which I understand is very unusual so what animals we did see, we had to ourselves." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Good
Giovanni
Biot

"A wonder of the world"

Based at Ngorongoro Farmhouse Lodge on 18 Oct 2020
"Ngorongoro crater is just unbelievable, both for the landscape and the crater all around you, and because it is packed with animals. In the middle of the crater you are just surrounded by herds of all kinds of wildlife. It is a must see, at least once in life." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Mr A
Switzerland

"Great experience"

Based at Plantation Lodge on 14 Feb 2020
"The landscape naturally impressive being inside a crater. Lots of wildlife and weather conditions were great for us. Saw lots of animals in a central area. It is a slightly more popular location with a few cars around, but it did not waste our experience and we found it very impressive." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Dr C
Newmarket

"Safari in Ngorongoro Crater review"

Based at Lemala Ngorongoro on 5 Feb 2020
"A nice day in the crater. We arrived early and avoided the crowds. Unfortunately the roads were in poor condition and we were held up several times waiting for others to be helped out of mud holes. Due to poor road conditions we were unable to drive to some of the more remote areas of the crater.

As we were leaving there was another downpour and the ascending road from the crater was closed. However, we just made it out before a piece of the road was washed away. I love the crater and the beautiful, expansive views and I so appreciate any opportunity to visit.

Each visit is different and each visit is spectacular." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
KS
Currie

"Awesome excursion"

Based at Ngorongoro Farmhouse Lodge on 13 Nov 2019
"Our guide was keen for an early start so that we might see some of the animals that might not be around when the hoards turn up.

Visibility was initially poor but we got to see the best that was around on the day!" Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Jonathan
bronte

"Safari in Ngorongoro Crater review"

Based at Ngorongoro Farmhouse Lodge on 8 Oct 2019
"Really enjoyed our game drive in the crater. Views from the top were great, and lots of wildlife in the crater itself with some real iconic shots. Quite happy that we stayed outside the crater however.

Quite crowded in parts, especially when there were sightings of a Rhino (people obviously trying to see the big5)" Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Mrs B.
Basel

"No words can describe it"

Based at Entamanu Ngorongoro on 9 Oct 2019
"Rowland our guide made this safari the best we had. He knew were to go to avoid crowds, we were always the first to see tings like a huge rock python or 13 lions in the grass eating a wilderbeest.

Thanks to our guide and the scenery, this was a magical day. Thanks Rowland" Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Mr & Mrs S
Teddington

"Safari in Ngorongoro Crater review"

Based at Entamanu Ngorongoro on 10 Oct 2019
"As noted previously, really enjoyable trips down to the crater - see earlier comments.

[ Ed: Regarding their trip into the Crater, this traveller noted: "...we were first in each morning at 0615 and really enjoyed the quiet early mornings in the crater before the 'hordes' arrived!..." ]" Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Showing 1-10 of 41
95%
41 reviews of this excursion by travellers since Aug-2007.
Overall rating by our travellers
33
5
3
0
0
Filter by month

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team