This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Safari in Ngorongoro Crater

Safari in Ngorongoro Crater

Reviews: Safari in Ngorongoro Crater

Below are independent comments from 37 of our travellers who have done this activity and have kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa.

Showing 1-10 of 37
Date
Mr A
Switzerland

"Great experience"

Based at Plantation Lodge on 14 Feb 2020
"The landscape naturally impressive being inside a crater. Lots of wildlife and weather conditions were great for us. Saw lots of animals in a central area. It is a slightly more popular location with a few cars around, but it did not waste our experience and we found it very impressive." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Dr C
Newmarket

"Safari in Ngorongoro Crater review"

Based at Lemala Ngorongoro on 5 Feb 2020
"A nice day in the crater. We arrived early and avoided the crowds. Unfortunately the roads were in poor condition and we were held up several times waiting for others to be helped out of mud holes. Due to poor road conditions we were unable to drive to some of the more remote areas of the crater.

As we were leaving there was another downpour and the ascending road from the crater was closed. However, we just made it out before a piece of the road was washed away. I love the crater and the beautiful, expansive views and I so appreciate any opportunity to visit.

Each visit is different and each visit is spectacular." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
KS
Currie

"Awesome excursion"

Based at Ngorongoro Farmhouse Lodge on 13 Nov 2019
"Our guide was keen for an early start so that we might see some of the animals that might not be around when the hoards turn up.

Visibility was initially poor but we got to see the best that was around on the day!" Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Jonathan
bronte

"Safari in Ngorongoro Crater review"

Based at Ngorongoro Farmhouse Lodge on 8 Oct 2019
"Really enjoyed our game drive in the crater. Views from the top were great, and lots of wildlife in the crater itself with some real iconic shots. Quite happy that we stayed outside the crater however.

Quite crowded in parts, especially when there were sightings of a Rhino (people obviously trying to see the big5)" Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Mrs B.
Basel

"No words can describe it"

Based at Entamanu Ngorongoro on 9 Oct 2019
"Rowland our guide made this safari the best we had. He knew were to go to avoid crowds, we were always the first to see tings like a huge rock python or 13 lions in the grass eating a wilderbeest.

Thanks to our guide and the scenery, this was a magical day. Thanks Rowland" Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Mr & Mrs S
Teddington

"Safari in Ngorongoro Crater review"

Based at Entamanu Ngorongoro on 10 Oct 2019
"As noted previously, really enjoyable trips down to the crater - see earlier comments.

[ Ed: Regarding their trip into the Crater, this traveller noted: "...we were first in each morning at 0615 and really enjoyed the quiet early mornings in the crater before the 'hordes' arrived!..." ]" Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
The C family
Surrey

" Two full day Safaris into the Crater"

Based at Entamanu Ngorongoro on 25 Sep 2019
"We decided to stay down in the Crater for the full day on both days and to have both breakfast and lunch down there. Picnic areas are very limited, and you are not allowed out of your vehicle unless you are in an authorised picnic area.
The Crater is the reason we came and it made sense to us to stay down as long as we could.
It does make it a long day though.
The Ngorongoro Crater is a spectacular place and has to be seen and experienced, but in our view two days is all you need.
It is only 12 miles across, and although the game densities are good it does get crowded, and if there is a good sighting there are many trucks.
The floor of the Crater is 600 meters below the rim and great drive down and up.
Around the crater it it windy, very dusty and can be cool, wet and foggy, but that is all part of the unique experience." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Sisters
London

"Surreal Safari in the Ngorongoro Crater"

Based at Ngorongoro Farmhouse Lodge on 10 Sep 2019
"To travel along a bumpy road through thick fog for an hour, to then arrive at the rim, as the cloud clears to reveal a sunny vista of the wide crater expanse is truly memorable. It felt like a film set as various animals entered stage left on cue!

We saw ostriches, hyenas with a kill, lionesses to start and various unusual birds within a short time. A remarkable place with lots of different eco-systems within the crater. We saw many animals, apart from the elusive rhino.

As the sun rose higher the wind whipped up and the dust with it. As there is a large dry area creating the conditions and making it difficult to stay much past mid day. A long zig zag climb back to the top of the crater, provided some amazing views and more sightings." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Mr D.
Cambridge

"SMagicalafari in Ngorongoro Crater review"

Based at Lemala Ngorongoro on 8 Sep 2019
"Because we stayed so near the crater entrance we were on the floor by 6.15am. We were therefore one of the lucky few to see rhino that day. You need to access the crater early to avoid crowds and get good sightings.

We thought the area was amazing.

Once again much of our enjoyment was due to the organisation of our guide Freddy." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Mr & Mrs D
Hampshire

"Eleven hours crater visit - superb"

Based at Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge on 5 Sep 2019
"This and the migration were our main reasons for choosing this trip, and Ngorongoro did not disappoint. The range and volume of wildlife seen runs the risk of making most other safari locations seem tame. In fact if you were really short on time you could fly into Ngorongoro for a couple of days, then hop to the Northern Serengeti for another couple of days, and you would be almost guaranteed to see the vast majority of wildlife available. And amazingly there are clean flush toilets at various locations in the crater which is important if you want to stay there all day!" Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Showing 1-10 of 37
95%
37 reviews of this excursion by travellers since Aug-2007.
Overall rating by our travellers
30
4
3
0
0
Filter by month

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team