This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Safari in Ngorongoro Crater

Safari in Ngorongoro Crater

Reviews: Safari in Ngorongoro Crater

Below are independent comments from 51 of our travellers who have done this activity and have kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa.

Showing 1-10 of 51
Date
Nick & Kate
London

"Garden of Eden Safari"

Based at Entamanu Ngorongoro on 13 Aug 2022
"Our guide was Kassim, a relatively newly-qualified guide, who worked exceptionally hard to give us a really enjoyable safari. He knew the park well and took us to every section in order to maximise the diversity of our experience. He was also very attentive to the need of our party for the washrooms! He served us a lovely picnic breakfast and lunch on a long, full day, leaving at 6.00 am and not returning until after 7 pm.

We travelled with another couple and their teenage daughter, in a closed vehicle, the roof of which could be opened to allow you to stand up and gaze around. This type of vehicle is essential here, as it’s quite cold for the first few hours (we had an overcast morning, and a sunny, warm afternoon).

The park is crowded, but it never felt oppressive (except once when we had to join a 10 minute queue to view a sleeping python by the roadside). We saw four good active lion sightings, a wonderful serval on the move, elephants, huge flocks of crowned cranes, hyenas and many antelope and gazelles. We might have glimpsed a sleeping rhino, but we didn’t count that.

All in all, this was a very enjoyable start to our African trip." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Mrs A.
Brisbane

"Safari in Ngorongoro Crater review"

Based at Entamanu Ngorongoro on 8 Aug 2022
"Driving was tough on our bodies.

Otherwise - amazing." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Good
Mrs A.
Brisbane

"Safari in Ngorongoro Crater review"

Based at Entamanu Ngorongoro on 9 Aug 2022
"Driving was tough on our bodies.

Otherwise - amazing" Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Good
Simona
London

"Safari in Ngorongoro Crater review"

Based at The Highlands on 25 Jul 2022
"As I mentioned at the beginning, David, our guide, made the difference in all the game drives, he was superb.

The best part of this safari, though, was the location." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
B & C
London

"Safari in Ngorongoro Crater review"

Based at Plantation Lodge on 26 Jun 2022
"The setting of the Ngorongoro crater is spectacular and it is a great opportunity to see the animals up close and in great concentrations.

It is a bit more touristy and more crowded compared to the Serengeti. But we still enjoyed the experience, and our (Chilli) was a fun and knowledgeable guide." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Good
Ms J.
Los Angeles

"A true highlight!"

Based at Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge on 8 Jun 2022
"Visiting the Crater was a highlight of an overall great trip as we saw a Black Rhino up close before it rambled off into the bushes and spent time watching a group of lions stalk a lone wildebeest before a jackal gave them away.

Poor lions, but lucky wildebeest.

We also started off the day with a packed breakfast by a hippo pond and watched them while we enjoyed a cup of hot coffee.

It was one of our favorite parts of the trip." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Mr & Mrs D.
New York

"Safari in Ngorongoro Crater review"

Based at Entamanu Ngorongoro on 26 Oct 2021
"Our experience at the Ngorongoro Crater was great but different from that of the Serengeti which was where we came from before visiting the crater.

There were definitely more vehicles around and we generally couldn't get as close to animals as we did in the Serengeti. Binoculars are a must here. The ecosystem inside the crater was so unique and varied from open savannah, to forest, to lakes.

There's definitely a large concentration of wildlife here but the roads, vehicles, picnic areas (that even had Wi-Fi), and toilet facilities kind of took away from the experience of being in the wild. We felt that one day in the crater was the right amount of time there." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Good
Mr & Mrs A.
Oregon

"Safari in Ngorongoro Crater review"

Based at Lemala Ngorongoro on 4 Oct 2021
"The first sight of the crater is awe-inspiring even if you have seen it in documentaries.

The amount of wildlife you can see is remarkable and although you don't always get as close to it as in the Serengeti we were still close enough to feel like we were part of the action.

From what we heard, the park was still not as crowded as in pre-pandemic days and I can see that if there were much more traffic, it might interfere, however, while we were there, I would say the number of vehicles did not distract from the experience." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Ms T.
Costa Mesa, CA

"Safari in Ngorongoro Crater review"

Based at The Highlands on 17 Sep 2021
"It was definitely very cool from a geography/ scenery perspective, and the density and variety of animals was great; that said, I think I would skip the crater on our next trip.

You lose a whole day getting there - the drive from the airstrip to the lodge area is 3 hours, the road is AWFUL (though apparently they’re fixing it), and due to the hours you can’t do a late afternoon/evening drive.

I was glad we stayed three nights and did two crater drives (shorter second day). Some of the other guests stayed only two nights which meant about a day and a half of travel time for one day in the crater." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Good
Mr J.
Atlantic Beach

"Safari in Ngorongoro Crater review"

Based at Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge on 22 Jul 2021
"Amazing decent into the crater.

We had the best driver ever. Festo is the besto.

Felt like we entered the cradle of civilization." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Showing 1-10 of 51
94%
51 reviews of this excursion by travellers since Aug-2007.
Overall rating by our travellers
38
10
3
0
0
Filter by month

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team