This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Safari in Ngorongoro Crater

Safari in Ngorongoro Crater

Reviews: Safari in Ngorongoro Crater

Below are independent comments from 83 of our travellers who have done this activity and have kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa.

Showing 1-10 of 83
Date
Mr & Mrs K
Maidstone

"Safari in Ngorongoro Crater review"

Based at Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge on 29 Feb 2024
"Recent years have seen increased rainfall which has caused an increase in the vegetation in certain areas and we have lost a few of our regular and favourite photo sites as the animals no longer frequent those areas.

We only had time for a three hour visit so did not explore as much as on previous visits." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Average
Mrs CH
Guildford

"Safari in Ngorongoro Crater review"

Based at Lemala Ngorongoro on 18 Feb 2024
"The crater offers fabulous and varied wildlife viewing against the backdrop of the crater walls.

In addition to the wildlife usually talked about we saw baby crowned cranes, two types of flamingo and many other birds.

The herds of buffalo and zebra were particularly large on over the two days, more so than our previous visit." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Puchto
Buffalo

"Safari in Ngorongoro Crater review"

Based at Ngorongoro Farmhouse Lodge on 16 Feb 2024
"The crater itself is absolutely stunning.

As I indicated before, our vehicle broke down in the crater but the situation was rectified in short order as we were able to join another couple in their vehicle to finish our day.

I wish they would further limit the number of vehicles allowed in the crater each day. Seemed like too many." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Good
Brydon
UK

"Safari in Ngorongoro Crater review"

Based at The Manor on 22 Jan 2024
"Absolutely extraordinary from beginning to end … I was blown away by the first crater view" Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
J+G
Portstewart

"Safari in Ngorongoro Crater review"

Based at Gibb's Farm on 5 Dec 2023
"Great day trip to the Crater, absolute abundance of animals everywhere. Backdrop of the crater against the animals is incredible. Density of animals is unlike any safari we have been on before. Felt a bit more 'touristy' compared to our Serengeti safari, with many more vehicles about. Would definitely recommend doing if you are nearby or passing, one day is definitely enough though" Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Mr C
north London

"Safari in Ngorongoro Crater review"

Based at Entamanu Ngorongoro on 25 Oct 2023
"Our guide, Anaeni, was excellent. He suggested an early start, which paid dividends as we were one of the first groups onto the crater floor and saw a lioness with her cubs at our first stop.

The rest of the day was a wonderful experience in which we saw many different animals and birds in beautiful locations, often in close proximity. Anaeni worked hard to ensure we got the very best from our visit; he is very knowledgeable and willing to discuss many aspects of the safari.

The Ngorogoro can be busy, so to get the most from your visit, a stay at Entamanu is certainly a good plan." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Kris
Arizona

"Safari in Ngorongoro Crater review"

Based at Lemala Ngorongoro on 23 Oct 2023
"The crater was beautiful and saw a lot of animals.

The crater had water and marsh land as well as forest and grasslands.

My driver MJ was very knowledgeable and friendly." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Gina Dai
NYC

"Safari in Ngorongoro Crater review"

Based at Plantation Lodge on 10 Oct 2023
"Ngorongoro Crater is magical, the drive down from crater rim early in the morning was breathtaking.

My favorite part about Ngorongoro (other than the scenary) was observing hippos in the hippo pool.

It was fascinating to watch them so close up! Would definitely recommend at least a full day in Ngorongoro!" Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Mrs Schwamb
USA

"Safari in Ngorongoro Crater review"

Based at Gibb's Farm on 29 Sep 2023
"Amazing experience LOVED!" Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
JMKPBJ
USA

"Safari in Ngorongoro Crater review"

Based at Entamanu Ngorongoro on 29 Sep 2023
"See feedback from the previous entry.

Early morning game drive was key to avoiding the large crowds of safari vehicles. Thank you!" Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Showing 1-10 of 83
94%
83 reviews of this excursion by travellers since Aug-2007.
Overall rating by our travellers
63
15
5
0
0
Filter by month

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team