This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Namiri Plains Camp
Namiri Plains Camp
Namiri Plains Camp
Namiri Plains Camp
Namiri Plains Camp
Namiri Plains Camp
Namiri Plains Camp
Namiri Plains Camp
Namiri Plains Camp
Namiri Plains Camp
Namiri Plains Camp

Reviews of Namiri Plains Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

43 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Namiri Plains Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 22 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Namiri Plains Camp.
Lion

100% success

Leopard

57% success

Cheetah

100% success

Wild dog

6% success

Spotted Hyena

100% success

Zebra

95% success

Elephant

91% success

Giraffe

90% success

Wildebeest

89% success

Buffalo

85% success

Eland

68% success

Hippo

47% success

Oryx

23% success

Striped Hyena

19% success

Roan antelope

13% success

Pangolin

7% success

Black Rhino

6% success

Aardvark

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 43
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs K
Maidstone

"Namiri Plains Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 5 Mar 2024
"This a well located camp in an area where there are no others and as such provides the opportunity to get away from the crowds of vehicles so prevalent in other areas of Ngorongoro and Serengeti.

A high level of accommodation throughout and with flexibility in the ability to discuss menu selection and to take on special requests.

Once again excellent service levels." See all these reviews: 10n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

10 sightings

Cheetah

2 sightings

Eland

10 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

4 sightings

Lion

10 sightings

Spotted Hyena

6 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Jenny
Faversham

"Namiri Plains Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 8 Feb 2024
"My third visit and I am already planning a return! I come for cheetah and haven't been disappointed.

I was delighted that my request for a certain guide was met. Being more remote than many other camps means there are fewer vehicles. Most of the time we were one vehicle on our own, sometimes joined by one or two others. It is a privilege to experience ethical guiding.

The 'tents' are spacious and comfortable, the food tasty and varied, and staff friendly and attentive." See all these reviews: 12n in Tanzania; 1n in Zanzibar; 1n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

8 sightings

Cheetah

6 sightings

Eland

6 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Lion

10 sightings

Spotted Hyena

10 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Ms T.
OC, CA

"Namiri Plains Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 7 Nov 2023
"We came to Namiri specifically because of its location for cheetah, and it didn’t disappoint! Anderson was our guide and he was the absolute best - genuinely funny and of course extremely knowledgeable. We saw 9 cheetahs in our first 24 hours there!

One thing to be aware of - this area of Serengeti is not animal dense like northern Serengeti or Tarangire. You will always see something, but you might also be driving around for two hours seeing almost nothing until you do. Not a complaint, but good to set expectations accordingly.

The camp is truly stunning, and the food was top notch. Dickson and Dickson (camp managers), Heja, and Andrew all provided excellent services. We really appreciated the bush send-off on our last night, and the wind blankets for the chilly mornings and evenings." See all these reviews: 11n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Cheetah

10 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

4 sightings

Lion

10 sightings

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr R.
Salisbury

"Namiri Plains Camp review"

5 nights Arrived 30 Aug 2023
"This camp is a Big Cat enthusiast dream. In four whole days we saw 18 adult cheetahs & 10 kittens. There was one time where we had in sight of two hundred yards from us three female cheetahs two with three kittens & one with four kittens. Our guide said he hadn't ever seen two within sight of each other before let alone three! That was in addition to wonderful Lion sightings.

Our guide, who was the head guide, was absolutely brilliant. Chris & I have been lucky to have had some pretty amazing guides on our previous Safaris but this was was exceptional.

The management team were of the highest quality & the team around them were very friendly & professional. The food too was superb." See all these reviews: 10n in Tanzania; 1n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Cheetah

10 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

1 sighting

Lion

10 sightings

Spotted Hyena

10 sightings

Wildebeest

1 sighting

Zebra

1 sighting

Jamie B
Palo Alto

"Namiri Plains Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 29 Jul 2023
"Namiri was my favorite camp in Tanzania (along with Greystoke Mahale - but that's a different kind of experience).

I loved my guide, The combination of the camp and the location can not be beat. It is a long ways away from the airport (about 1.5 hours), so be prepared for a long, bumpy ride to get there. But it is so, so worth it. My guide was the only female guide I had for my whole trip, but she was awesome. We had a lot of fun tracking down leopards, cheetahs, and lions.

They say this is a camp you go to if you want to see the cats and this is no lie. We say one lion pride with 14 cubs!! I almost cried it was so incredible to see them playing around with their parents, siblings, and cousins. The cheetah experience was also a big payday. I think we saw three families of mothers with cubs.

As for the camp - it's beautiful. I expected it to be after staying at Sayari and it was everything I imagined when I planned this whole thing out. Like Sayari, everything is done to near perfection- from service and food to management guiding.

This is a camp I hope to bring my kids to in a few years time." See all these reviews: 16n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Cheetah

Multiple sightings

Eland

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mrs M
Japan

"Migration and cats!"

3 nights Arrived 28 Apr 2023
"This camp was far luxurious than I had expected. Room had a nice view and it has a large and beautifull bathroom.

On the deck, there were lounge chairs and a large bathtub. One afternoon, staff prepared bubble bath for me.......nice experience in the wild. All of the staff were very friendly and attentive.

Game viewing here was really wondeful. Migration has just arrived at this area, so I could see huge number of wildbeasts and zebras in addition to a lot of cats (lions, cheetahs).

Fortunately, I had a private vehicle for 2 days. On the 3rd day, I shared vehicle with an another guest but still only 2 guests on the vehicle. It is a real advantage to travel in this season." See all these reviews: 7n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Cheetah

6 sightings

Eland

10 sightings

Elephant

3 sightings

Giraffe

2 sightings

Leopard

Multiple sightings

Lion

10 sightings

Spotted Hyena

10 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr & Mrs K
Maidstone

"Namiri Plains Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 25 Feb 2023
"An excellent location with a modern camp and facilities. Its location ensures you do not encounter the large number of vehicles present in the more easily accessible and therefore popular areas of this part of the Serengeti.
A good location for finding cheetah. We had the opportunity to witness a successful chase - the first time in 25 years of going on safari that we have had that experience. Our guide used his experience to position us to excellent effect." See all these reviews: 11n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Dr & Mrs B
Altrincham

"Namiri Plains Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 2 Oct 2022
"Wow. We'd booked this in 2020 and didnt get to travel until now due to Covid issues. It looked amazing and it didnt disappoint. You have to chuckle really seeing the specification of this camp, so far away from anywhere. So, yes, the 'tents' are amazing and actually are even better inside than the pictures suggest.

The view is private and you look right onto the bush. The communal area is significantly upgraded and extremely comfortable.

Perhaps not quite the simpler charm of the previous camp at Namiri? But we absolutely loved both our visits and would definitely return. As with Olivers we were assigned a host for our stay. Dickson the camp manager was on the staff when we visited in 2017, and it was great to see how Asilia develop their employees. Moses our host was attentive and great company, and we took home a recipe or two from him.

Food was of excellent quality, and the level of cooking in these camps is impressive. Nothing got left on a plate. The wine choices, which are the same in all camps were certainly not the quality of our previous trip, and the company might give this some consideration

In keeping with our experience in Tarangire, no camp and drive experiences were like the previous trip, we saw different animals and different behaviours. Last time we'd seen lots of lion families, but this time we didnt. However we repeatedly saw a baby Leopard, a pair of Cheetahs narrowly missing an antelope and a trio of Lionesses attacking a baboon troop, with resulting casualties. Early rains had displaced the game a little, so sightings were harder won, but still plentiful. Our love of Namiri was further strengthened.

Our last night saw us treated to a private sunset drink on the rocks near the camp, which was magical, and accompanied by the persistent call of a nightjar.

In summary, an astonishingly high specification camp set amongst the big cats. A contrast to the other two camps, which we loved, and if you want to see big cats this camp will certainly deliver." See all these reviews: 11n in Tanzania; 5n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

6 sightings

Cheetah

2 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

1 sighting

Leopard

6 sightings

Lion

6 sightings

Oryx

1 sighting

Pangolin

1 sighting

Roan antelope

1 sighting

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Striped Hyena

1 sighting

Wild dog

1 sighting

Wildebeest

6 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Jenny
Faversham

"Another wonderful stay at Namiri"

3 nights Arrived 7 Sep 2022
"This is my second stay at Namiri and my first experience of the new lodge. I missed the intimacy of the 'old' camp but enjoyed the new comforts!

The guiding, accommodation and food are first rate; the staff charming, friendly and helpful. There is nothing not to like or enjoy!

I went wishing to see cheetah and saw seven. My guide, Suleman correctly anticipated animal behaviour which meant I got some great sightings - including two cheetah bringing down a topi; he also has binocular vision!" See all these reviews: 7n in Zanzibar; 5n in Tanzania; 1n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Cheetah

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

1 sighting

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

1 sighting

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr L.
Solihull

"Namiri Plains Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 4 Aug 2022
"What a fabulous camp.

As ever the guides were exceptional and went to enormous lengths to show us some wonderful cats of which cheetah cubs and mother was the highlight.

A two day old baby elephant was extra special." See all these reviews: 8n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Cheetah

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Leopard

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Oryx

1 sighting

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

1 sighting

Zebra

1 sighting

Showing 1-10 of 43
98%
43 reviews of Namiri Plains Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
39
3
1
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Tanzania

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Tanzania.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Diving & snorkelling

Diving & snorkelling

Find captivating marine life beneath the waves

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Serengeti Migration Area

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Olakira

Olakira Camp

Comfortable, friendly and relaxed, Olakira Camp moves between the Mara River and the southern Ndutu area, in line with the wildebeest migration.


96% (73 reviews)
Sayari Camp

Sayari Camp

In the northern Serengeti, near the Mara River, luxurious Sayari Camp offers excellent wildife all year – boosted further by the wildebeest migration.


96% (62 reviews)
Nomad Serengeti Safari Camp

Nomad Serengeti Camp

Serengeti Safari Camp is a well-appointed tented camp that moves several times a year to follow the predicted path of the migration.


97% (55 reviews)
Dunia Camp

Dunia Camp

Dunia Camp is well located for the migration from December to March, and has excellent game viewing for the rest of the year.


94% (52 reviews)
Lamai Serengeti

Lamai Serengeti

Set high in the kopjes with fantastic views, Lamai Serengeti offers top service and guiding and good migration sightings from Jul-Oct.


99% (37 reviews)
Ubuntu Camp

Ubuntu Camp

Ubuntu Camp has several locations in the Serengeti, following the wildebeest migration, so it is often in a great location to see the herds.


99% (23 reviews)
Kati Kati Camp

Kati Kati Camp

Kati Kati is a small, very simple bushcamp, which is well-positioned to explore the wildlife-rich Seronera area.


92% (24 reviews)
Ndutu Safari Lodge

Ndutu Safari Lodge

Large and economical, but not luxurious, Ndutu Safari Lodge is well located in the southern Serengeti, so book early to get space.


91% (15 reviews)
Alex Walker's Serian Serengeti

Serian Serengeti

Serian Serengeti is a mobile tented operation run by Alex Walker which moves between two locations following the wildebeest migration.


92% (13 reviews)
Klein's Camp

Klein's Camp

Klein's Camp, in a private area of the northern Serengeti, sets high standards. Activities include walks, nights drives and Maasai village visits.


98% (12 reviews)
Kimondo Camp

Kimondo Camp

Kimondo Camp is based in the remote Lamai Wedge in the northern Serengeti from Jul–Oct, and on the southern Kusini plains from Nov–Mar.


98% (11 reviews)
Serengeti under Canvas

Serengeti under Canvas

Two of the three Serengeti under Canvas camps move through the Serengeti National Park every few months to follow the wildebeest migration.


98% (11 reviews)
Grumeti River Camp

Grumeti River Camp

Grumeti River Camp offers a laid-back atmosphere combined with top service, first-rate food, expert guiding and an excellent location.


93% (9 reviews)
Lemala Kuria Hills

Lemala Kuria Hills

Lemala Kuria Hills is a luxury permanent camp that is ideally located for wildlife all year around, but especially during the wildebeest migration.


100% (8 reviews)
Lemala Mara-Ndutu

Lemala Mara-Ndutu

Lemala Mara-Ndutu is a semi-permanent camp that moves between the north and south of the Serengeti to witness the wildebeest migration.


100% (7 reviews)
Lemala Nanyukie

Lemala Nanyukie

Lemala Nanyukie is a comfortable and stylish tented camp that opened in 2018 in the central Serengeti.


100% (6 reviews)
Lemala Ewanjan

Lemala Ewanjan

Lemala Ewanjan is a comfortable and stylish tented camp in the Seronera area of the central Serengeti National Park.


97% (6 reviews)
Kubu Kubu

Kubu Kubu

Kubu Kubu is a contemporary, tented lodge, well located in the central Seronera area of the Serengeti National Park.


100% (5 reviews)
Lobo Wildlife Lodge

Lobo Wildlife Lodge

The large Lobo Wildlife Lodge has simple, functional rooms in a stunning location. It's a good base for exploring the north-eastern Serengeti.


72% (5 reviews)
Kusini Camp

Kusini Camp

Kusini Camp is permanent, luxury camp located on a beautiful kopje in a quiet, wildlife-rich corner of the south-west Serengeti.


65% (4 reviews)
Mbalageti Lodge

Mbalageti Lodge

Mbalageti is a well-run lodge in a quiet part of the Serengeti's western corridor – an ideal location during the Apr-Jun migration.


93% (3 reviews)
Serengeti Serena Safari Lodge

Serengeti Serena

The Serengeti Serena Safari Lodge is a large, hotel-style lodge and a good family-friendly base from which to explore the central Serengeti.


90% (4 reviews)
Serengeti Walking Mobile Camp

Serengeti Walking Mobile

This fairly simple camp offers only walking activities, but it's very well done and combines well with more conventional camps or lodges.


85% (4 reviews)
Serengeti Sopa Lodge

Serengeti Sopa Lodge

Serengeti Sopa Lodge is an international-style hotel offering good-value accommodation in the central Serengeti, with lovely views of the plains.


100% (3 reviews)
Singita Mara River Tented Camp

Singita Mara River

Singita Mara River Tented Camp is a luxurious camp in the isolated and rewarding Lamai wedge region of the northern Serengeti.


87% (3 reviews)
Serengeti Green Camp

Serengeti Green Camp

Serengeti Green Camp is a comfortable camping experience, in your own private safari camp and at the heart of a great wildlife area.


93% (3 reviews)
Serengeti Migration Camp

Migration Camp

Serengeti Migration Camp is a smart tented camp, good for the wildebeest migration from Jul–Aug, or to explore the Lobo Kopjes any time.


93% (3 reviews)
Mkombe's House Lamai

Mkombe's House Lamai

Mkombe's House Lamai is a fully staffed private house in the Wogakuria Kopjes district of Serengeti National Park.


100% (3 reviews)
Faru Faru Lodge

Faru Faru Lodge

On the north bank of the Grumeti River, Faru Faru is a small, chic hideaway in this exclusive corner of the Serengeti.


100% (3 reviews)
Sasakwa Lodge

Sasakwa Lodge

On a hill looking over the Serengeti plains, Sasakwa Lodge is grand, luxurious safari camp, one of the most opulent properties in Tanzania.


100% (3 reviews)
Kirurumu Migration Camp

Kirurumu Migration Camp

Kirurumu is a rustic tented camp which moves around the Serengeti twice a year to follow the wildebeest migration.


100% (2 reviews)
Sabora Tented Camp

Sabora Tented Camp

Sabora Tented Camp is a smart tented camp – one of the most luxurious, professional and stylish properties to be found in Tanzania.


100% (2 reviews)
Olmara Camp

Olmara Camp

With just eight guest tents, including two family tents and three signature stargazer tents, Olmara is a simple, family-friendly camp with a wonderfully attentive team. The camp captures an authentic bush experience, welcoming travellers of every kind.


100% (2 reviews)
Ndutu Kati Kati

Ndutu Kati Kati

Ndutu Kati Kati is a seasonal tented camp, based in the southern Serenget from Dec-Mar, ideal for the migration as it passes through.


80% (1 review)
Olduvai Camp

Olduvai Camp

Olduvai Camp lies between Ngorongoro and the southern Serengeti plains. It's a good base for the southern plains during the rainy season.


60% (1 review)
Serengeti Bushtops

Bushtops

Serengeti Bushtops is a permanent luxury camp in the northern Serengeti, with spacious and private tents with their own hot tubs.


100% (1 review)
Mara Mara

Mara Mara

Mara Mara is a smart tented camp in the northern Serengeti, situated on a small hill close to the Mara River.


100% (1 review)
Esirai Migration Camp

Esirai Migration Camp

A season migration camp, with only 8 tents and 1 family tent and plenty of character. Esirai is ideally placed for excellent wildlife and enjoys a simplistic and comfortable under-canvas experience.


80% (1 review)
Mwiba Lodge

Mwiba Lodge

Mwiba Lodge is a luxurious property located on a private concession on the edge of the southern Serengeti.


100% (1 review)
Nimali Mara

Nimali Mara

Nimali Mara is a luxurious safari lodge in a quiet region of the northern Serengeti with good access to the wildebeest migration.


100% (1 review)
Four Seasons Safari Lodge Serengeti

Four Seasons Serengeti

The Four Seasons Safari Lodge is the only hotel in the Serengeti offering international facilities such as a gym, spa and children’s club.


100% (1 review)
Lake Masek Tented Camp

Lake Masek Tented Camp

Ideally located for the wildebeest migration from Dec–Apr, Lake Masek Tented Camp is a good, mid-market safari camp.


100% (1 review)
Seronera Wildlife Lodge

Seronera Wildlife Lodge

Seronera Wildlife Lodge is large hotel-style safari lodge in the heart of the Serengeti, offering good value and a great location.


80% (1 review)
Mara Kati Kati

Mara Kati Kati

Mara Kati Kati is a simple bush camp in the northern Serengeti, based from Jul-Oct near the Mara River for the wildebeest migration.


No reviews yet
Kirawira Camp

Kirawira Camp

Set high on a hill, in the Serengeti's western corridor, Kirawira is a relatively large tented camp in the Serena group.


No reviews yet
Mbuzi Mawe

Mbuzi Mawe

Mbuze Mawe is a comfortable tented camp in a convenient, central-north location when driving through the Serengeti.


No reviews yet
Serengeti Pioneer Camp

Serengeti Pioneer Camp

Serengeti Pioneer Camp is a luxurious tented camp in the central Serengeti, styled on African explorers' camps of the early 20th century.


No reviews yet
Taasa Lodge

Taasa Lodge

Taasa Lodge is a slightly quirky option offering guided walks and night game drives, which are not permitted in Serengeti National Park.


No reviews yet
Nimali Serengeti

Nimali Serengeti

Opened in July 2017, Nimali Serengeti is a smart, permanent tented camp located in the Seronera area of the central Serengeti.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa