This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Namiri Plains Camp
Namiri Plains Camp
Namiri Plains Camp
Namiri Plains Camp
Namiri Plains Camp
Namiri Plains Camp
Namiri Plains Camp
Namiri Plains Camp

Reviews of Namiri Plains Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

30 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Namiri Plains Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 11 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Namiri Plains Camp.
Lion

100% success

Leopard

60% success

Cheetah

100% success

Wild dog

0% success

Spotted Hyena

100% success

Zebra

91% success

Elephant

82% success

Buffalo

80% success

Eland

80% success

Giraffe

80% success

Wildebeest

78% success

Hippo

60% success

Striped Hyena

25% success

Oryx

20% success

Roan antelope

13% success

Black Rhino

11% success

Aardvark

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 30
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs G
Michigan

"Glamour in the Serengeti"

4 nights Arrived 14 Sep 2019
"We were delighted to discover that Namiri Plains had moved into their new camp just a few weeks before we arrived. The new bandas and lodge have a spacious, modern design ethic that took some time to get used to. It certainly doesn't have a traditional safari camp design, but the almost other-worldly appearance of the tents grew on us. Our banda had three rock walls and a screened fourth side that provided a private unobstructed view of the marsh.

The room was huge, and the well-lit bathroom had a large glass-walled shower plus an outdoor soaking bathtub. The room had a small refrigerator stocked with beverages, comfortable chairs, ample storage for clothing, a desk with charging station, and even a hair dryer. The lighting throughout was excellent. Besides the soaking tub, the deck had two lounges and a table and chairs.

Lunch was an excellent buffet provided individually at each table, with a variety of fresh salads and entrees. Dinner was served communally, but also presented as a buffet on the dining table. The guests gathered for cocktails in the lounge or around the campfire before dinner each evening. Game drives sometimes lasted so long that we went straight to lunch or dinner without going to our rooms first.

The two managers, Baracka and Brian, and our guide Manja were so gracious, welcoming, and knowledgeable.The game drives were excellent and we were able to find sightings of both cheetah and lions as well as many other species. The landscape is mostly vast expanses of open plains -- sometimes filled with gazelles, other times quiet. Because Namiri Plains is located in a remote east sector of the Serengeti, it is usually uncrowded. We did several game drives without seeing any cars from other camps -- heavenly!" See all these reviews: 15n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

4 sightings

Cheetah

7 sightings

Eland

2 sightings

Elephant

5 sightings

Giraffe

6 sightings

Hippo

3 sightings

Leopard

2 sightings

Lion

10 sightings

Spotted Hyena

9 sightings

Zebra

7 sightings

Prof W
Queensland

"Quiet spot"

2 nights Arrived 22 Jun 2019
"Namiri Camp feels a long way from other places- which it is- and we loved!

The area has far fewer vehicles trafficking it compared with the central part of the Serengetti.

The camp itself was very nicely appointed and again the staff were well trained, extremely knowledgable and friendly and the food was terrific." See all these reviews: 9n in Tanzania; 4n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

2 sightings

Cheetah

3 sightings

Giraffe

1 sighting

Lion

4 sightings

Spotted Hyena

4 sightings

Wildebeest

2 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr & Mrs H
Northwood

"Privacy on the Plains"

4 nights Arrived 28 Feb 2019
"Tucked away on the Plains, Namiri Camp was another excellent spot from which to experience the wide open vastness of the Southern Serengeti and the Kopjes which lie within. We were rewarded with good sightings of Lion and Cheetah. The grasses were high in anticipation of the arrival of wildebeest and zebra from further south. Where Olakiri sightings could be busy the seclusion of Namiri Plains made for very private viewings. An old guide friend of ours from Nairobi describes this are as his 'church'. I can see what he means.

If you head west toward Seronara and the Western Serengeti the sightings are 'radioed' in and so get extremely busy, a bit of a mud bath after any rains.

Nice to have both indoor and outdoor showers, the latter being a double." See all these reviews: 14n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Buffalo

1 sighting

Cheetah

6 sightings

Eland

1 sighting

Elephant

1 sighting

Giraffe

6 sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

6 sightings

Spotted Hyena

8 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr BG
Newport Coast

"Namiri Plains Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 31 Jan 2019
"Loads of big cats, but everything is extremely spread out so on most game drives you may go an hour or more without seeing that much. We had many cheetah, lion and leopard sitings as they promote. The facilities are nice but getting dated, they're building a more permanent lodge to open Summer of 2019." See all these reviews: 11n in Tanzania; 4n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Average
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Mr D
Surrey

"Excellent game drives at Namiri Plains."

3 nights Arrived 11 Jan 2019
"A comfortable camp situated in the plains well East of Seronara.

As with the other camps, the facilities are good, the staff friendly and helpful, the tents and communal areas comfortable and the food good. My only reservation was that the light level at dinner was so low I could not see what I was eating, probably a function of the solar power so could be excusable.

Patena the guide was also a good spotter and knowledgeable about the game and birds.

All the game drives were very good indeed." See all these reviews: 6n in Tanzania; 4n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Buffalo

10 sightings

Cheetah

9 sightings

Eland

10 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Lion

10 sightings

Spotted Hyena

10 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Ms P.
Minneapolis

"Namiri Plains Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 31 Oct 2018
"Another of our favorite camps and parks! Our guide Khahil was terrific and the wildlife sightings were fantastic.

We really enjoyed the camp manager Diana and the rest of the staff. Again, the food was so delicious.

We had developed colds and had to share a jeep with a loud talkative couple, so on our last afternoon we decided to slow down, get out of the jeep, and take a walking safari. It was such a good experience, finished by gin and tonics with the rest of the guests in the bush." See all these reviews: 12n in Tanzania; 4n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Cheetah

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

1 sighting

Lion

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

two professors
Albany

"Namiri Plains"

4 nights Arrived 1 Oct 2018
"We saw so many lions, but many males were emaciated because the migration had not yet returned to the Serengeti. Out our front porch we could watch a heard of 15-20 elephants (including babies) frolicking in a spring. What a daily site.
We saw a good number of cheetahs, females with cubs, and males with a very recent kill. We also had perfect opportunity to see leopards close up, including a female with two cubs licking the blood from a wildebeest carcass hauled up a tree.
Our driver even heard about a black rhino and drove like hell to successfully show us. When we could get a good photo, our driver was very good about taking our camera and delivering a magnificent photo. Once we were surrounded by a pride of 21 lions all around our land cruiser. It wasn't scary at all, our driver seemed to sense the animal moods quite well. I was impressed that the sleeping lionesses didn't even twitch an ear, when the driver started up again. We liked the surprises of the sun-downer. Once we were following a pride of two lionesses and cubs, we got ahead of them at a small pool they were headed towards. When they came to drink we are all shocked when a hippo rose out of the water and warded them off. There was an alpha male lion nearby nursing a face wound, the females came over and licked him." See all these reviews: 11n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

1 sighting

Cheetah

5 sightings

Eland

4 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Leopard

5 sightings

Lion

10 sightings

Oryx

3 sightings

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

Striped Hyena

Multiple sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Jenny
Faversham

"Namiri Plains Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 30 Sep 2018
"A first rate experience. The camp was comfortable, staff helpful and food delicious. The star of the show was the guide Patena who managed to locate animals as if by magic - the knowledge and skills of the guides never ceases to amaze. The hot water bottles for the morning drives were very welcome, and breakfast 'out' perfect. It's relatively remote location meant we saw few other vehicles, which was one of the things I wanted to avoid. I would heartily recommend and am keen to visit their women only staffed camp." See all these reviews: 5n in Rwanda; 4n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Cheetah

3 sightings

Eland

Multiple sightings

Elephant

2 sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

1 sighting

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

4 sightings

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

1 sighting

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr Peter P
USA

"Namiri Plains Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 9 Aug 2018
"Great food. Excellent staff. Really like the campfire sitting and watching the sunset.

The communal dining was fun. Enjoyed talking with other guets. Liked the lunch right next to the tent, and out by a tree overlooking the plains. Fantastic location away from it all.

One of the highpoints was the parade of elephants going through the camp while we were eating lunch. Beautiful sunsets. Fun drive from the park entrance to the camp.

Amos really ran a well organized camp." See all these reviews: 12n in Tanzania; 4n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

10 sightings

Cheetah

2 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

2 sightings

Lion

10 sightings

Roan antelope

Multiple sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr & Mrs P
Volcano

"Home of the Big Cats"

3 nights Arrived 2 Aug 2018
"Namiri Plains is located in a remote southeastern section of the Serengeti, and the camp itself is far from any other camp. This provides for excellent game viewing opportunities early and late in the day when other vehicles must leave the area to head back to their respective lodges. The camp is lovely, with each tent separated from others providing privacy. The common area is simple and inviting. It appears that the camp will be relocated next year, and new tents and commons will be constructed. Camp Manager Diana and Asst. Mgr. Amos made us feel at home. Staff was very friendly and attentive and food was excellent. Out guide, Walter, did a great job finding game and putting us in the right spot for viewing it.

Cheetah were not as easy to spot as we had hoped, although we were fortunate to see a mother and 2 cubs. Lions however were everywhere! Two large prides are nearby, and each pride has several males in a coalition. In back to back game drives we saw a total of 46 lions!

The open plains are spectacular, and the vistas go on forever. The wildebeast migration had moved north, but there were still thousands of gazelle around, as well as zebra, hartebeast, topi, eland, and other antelope.

If you want to experience the Serengeti without the crowds, Namiri Plains is the place to go!" See all these reviews: 18n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

2 sightings

Cheetah

1 sighting

Eland

3 sightings

Elephant

2 sightings

Giraffe

2 sightings

Hippo

2 sightings

Lion

5 sightings

Spotted Hyena

4 sightings

Showing 1-10 of 30
97%
30 reviews of Namiri Plains Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
26
3
1
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Tanzania

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Tanzania.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Diving & snorkelling

Diving & snorkelling

Find captivating marine life beneath the waves

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Serengeti Migration Area

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Olakira

Olakira Camp

Comfortable, friendly and relaxed, Olakira Camp moves between the Mara River and the southern Ndutu area, in line with the wildebeest migration.


96% (60 reviews)
Sayari Camp

Sayari Camp

In the northern Serengeti, near the Mara River, luxurious Sayari Camp offers excellent wildife all year – boosted further by the wildebeest migration.


98% (58 reviews)
Nomad Serengeti Safari Camp

Nomad Serengeti Camp

Serengeti Safari Camp is a well-appointed tented camp that moves several times a year to follow the predicted path of the migration.


97% (48 reviews)
Dunia Camp

Dunia Camp

Dunia Camp is well located for the migration from December to March, and has excellent game viewing for the rest of the year.


93% (44 reviews)
Lamai Serengeti

Lamai Serengeti

Set high in the kopjes with fantastic views, Lamai Serengeti offers top service and guiding and good migration sightings from Jul-Oct.


99% (32 reviews)
Ubuntu Camp

Ubuntu Camp

Ubuntu Camp has several locations in the Serengeti, following the wildebeest migration, so it is often in a great location to see the herds.


99% (22 reviews)
Kati Kati Camp

Kati Kati Camp

Kati Kati is a small, simple camp, which is well-positioned to explore the wildlife-rich Seronera area.


91% (20 reviews)
Kimondo Camp

Kimondo Camp

Kimondo Camp is based in the remote Lamai Wedge in the northern Serengeti from Jul–Oct, and on the southern Kusini plains from Nov–Mar.


98% (11 reviews)
Ndutu Safari Lodge

Ndutu Safari Lodge

Large and economical, but not luxurious, Ndutu Safari Lodge is well located in the southern Serengeti, so book early to get space.


93% (11 reviews)
Serengeti under Canvas

Serengeti under Canvas

Two of the three Serengeti under Canvas camps move through the Serengeti National Park every few months to follow the wildebeest migration.


100% (10 reviews)
Kleins Camp

Klein's Camp

Klein's Camp, in a private area of the northern Serengeti, sets high standards. Activities include walks, nights drives and Maasai village visits.


98% (10 reviews)
Grumeti River Camp

Grumeti River Camp

Grumeti River Camp offers a laid-back atmosphere combined with top service, first-rate food, expert guiding and an excellent location.


93% (9 reviews)
Alex Walker's Serian Serengeti

Serian Serengeti

Serian Serengeti is a mobile tented operation run by Alex Walker which moves between two locations following the wildebeest migration.


98% (8 reviews)
Lobo Wildlife Lodge

Lobo Wildlife Lodge

The large Lobo Wildlife Lodge has simple, functional rooms in a stunning location. It's a good base for exploring the north-eastern Serengeti.


72% (5 reviews)
Lemala Ewanjan

Lemala Ewanjan

Lemala Ewanjan is a comfortable and stylish tented camp in the Seronera area of the central Serengeti National Park.


100% (4 reviews)
Kubu Kubu

Kubu Kubu

Kubu Kubu is a contemporary, tented lodge, well located in the central Seronera area of the Serengeti National Park.


100% (4 reviews)
Mbalageti Lodge

Mbalageti Lodge

Mbalageti is a well-run lodge in a quiet part of the Serengeti's western corridor – an ideal location during the Apr-Jun migration.


80% (4 reviews)
Lemala Kuria Hills

Lemala Kuria Hills

Lemala Kuria Hills is a luxury permanent camp that is ideally located for wildlife all year around, but especially during the wildebeest migration.


100% (4 reviews)
Kusini Camp

Kusini Camp

Kusini Camp is permanent, luxury camp located on a beautiful kopje in a quiet, wildlife-rich corner of the south-west Serengeti.


65% (4 reviews)
Serengeti Sopa Lodge

Serengeti Sopa Lodge

Serengeti Sopa Lodge is an international-style hotel offering good-value accommodation in the central Serengeti, with lovely views of the plains.


100% (3 reviews)
Serengeti Green Camp

Serengeti Green Camp

Serengeti Green Camp is a comfortable camping experience, in your own private safari camp and at the heart of a great wildlife area.


93% (3 reviews)
Singita Mara River Tented Camp

Singita Mara River

Singita Mara River Tented Camp is a luxurious camp in the isolated and rewarding Lamai wedge region of the northern Serengeti.


87% (3 reviews)
Serengeti Walking Mobile Camp

Serengeti Walking Mobile

This fairly simple camp offers only walking activities, but it's very well done and combines well with more conventional camps or lodges.


87% (3 reviews)
Faru Faru Lodge

Faru Faru Lodge

On the north bank of the Grumeti River, Faru Faru is a small, chic hideaway in this exclusive corner of the Serengeti.


100% (3 reviews)
Serengeti Migration Camp

Migration Camp

Serengeti Migration Camp is a smart tented camp, good for the wildebeest migration from Jul–Aug, or to explore the Lobo Kopjes any time.


93% (3 reviews)
Sasakwa Lodge

Sasakwa Lodge

On a hill looking over the Serengeti plains, Sasakwa Lodge is grand, luxurious safari camp, one of the most opulent properties in Tanzania.


100% (2 reviews)
Sabora Tented Camp

Sabora Tented Camp

Sabora Tented Camp is a smart tented camp – one of the most luxurious, professional and stylish properties to be found in Tanzania.


100% (2 reviews)
Lemala Mara-Ndutu

Lemala Mara-Ndutu

Lemala Mara-Ndutu is a semi-permanent camp that moves between the north and south of the Serengeti to witness the wildebeest migration.


100% (2 reviews)
Ndutu Kati Kati

Ndutu Kati Kati

Ndutu Kati Kati is a seasonal tented camp, based in the southern Serenget from Dec-Mar, ideal for the migration as it passes through.


80% (1 review)
Lake Masek Tented Camp

Lake Masek Tented Camp

Ideally located for the wildebeest migration from Dec–Apr, Lake Masek Tented Camp is a good, mid-market safari camp.


100% (1 review)
Olduvai Camp

Olduvai Camp

Olduvai Camp lies between Ngorongoro and the southern Serengeti plains. It's a good base for the southern plains during the rainy season.


60% (1 review)
Four Seasons Safari Lodge Serengeti

Four Seasons Serengeti

The Four Seasons Safari Lodge is the only hotel in the Serengeti offering international facilities such as a gym, spa and children’s club.


100% (1 review)
Serengeti Serena Safari Lodge

Serengeti Serena

The Serengeti Serena Safari Lodge is a large, hotel-style lodge and a good family-friendly base from which to explore the central Serengeti.


100% (1 review)
Seronera Wildlife Lodge

Seronera Wildlife Lodge

Seronera Wildlife Lodge is large hotel-style safari lodge in the heart of the Serengeti, offering good value and a great location.


80% (1 review)
Lemala Nanyukie

Lemala Nanyukie

Lemala Nanyukie is a comfortable and stylish tented camp that opened in 2018 in the central Serengeti.


100% (1 review)
Serengeti Bushtops

Bushtops

Serengeti Bushtops is a permanent luxury camp in the northern Serengeti, with spacious and private tents with their own hot tubs.


100% (1 review)
Mkombe's House Lamai

Mkombe's House Lamai

Mkombe's House Lamai is a fully staffed private house in the Wogakuria Kopjes district of Serengeti National Park.


100% (1 review)
Nimali Mara

Nimali Mara

Nimali Mara is a luxurious safari lodge in a quiet region of the northern Serengeti with good access to the wildebeest migration.


No reviews yet
Kirurumu Migration Camp

Kirurumu Migration Camp

Kirurumu is a rustic tented camp which moves around the Serengeti twice a year to follow the wildebeest migration.


No reviews yet
Mara Mara

Mara Mara

Mara Mara is a smart tented camp in the northern Serengeti, situated on a small hill close to the Mara River.


No reviews yet
Mara Kati Kati

Mara Kati Kati

Mara Kati Kati is a simple bush camp in the northern Serengeti, based from Jul-Oct near the Mara River for the wildebeest migration.


No reviews yet
Nimali Serengeti

Nimali Serengeti

Opened in July 2017, Nimali Serengeti is a smart, permanent tented camp located in the Seronera area of the central Serengeti.


No reviews yet
Taasa Lodge

Taasa Lodge

Taasa Lodge is a slightly quirky option offering guided walks and night game drives, which are not permitted in Serengeti National Park.


No reviews yet
Kirawira Camp

Kirawira Camp

Set high on a hill, in the Serengeti's western corridor, Kirawira is a relatively large tented camp in the Serena group.


No reviews yet
Mbuzi Mawe

Mbuzi Mawe

Mbuze Mawe is a comfortable tented camp in a convenient, central-north location when driving through the Serengeti.


No reviews yet
Serengeti Pioneer Camp

Serengeti Pioneer Camp

Serengeti Pioneer Camp is a luxurious tented camp in the central Serengeti, styled on African explorers' camps of the early 20th century.


No reviews yet
Mwiba Lodge

Mwiba Lodge

Mwiba Lodge is a luxurious property located on a private concession on the edge of the southern Serengeti.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa