This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Namiri Plains Camp
Namiri Plains Camp
Namiri Plains Camp
Namiri Plains Camp
Namiri Plains Camp
Namiri Plains Camp
Namiri Plains Camp
Namiri Plains Camp

Reviews of Namiri Plains Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

30 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Namiri Plains Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 11 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Namiri Plains Camp.
Lion

100% success

Leopard

60% success

Cheetah

100% success

Wild dog

0% success

Spotted Hyena

100% success

Zebra

91% success

Elephant

82% success

Buffalo

80% success

Eland

80% success

Giraffe

80% success

Wildebeest

78% success

Hippo

60% success

Striped Hyena

25% success

Oryx

20% success

Roan antelope

13% success

Black Rhino

11% success

Aardvark

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Showing 21-30 of 30
Duration
Arrival date
Mrs D x 3
Newport

"Namiri Plains Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 19 Sep 2016
"We were met at the airstrip and taken on a half day safari before going back to camp. There were lions on a kill at the camp entrance and they were quite vocal most nights which was very exciting. We wanted to see cats especially cheetah and saw loads, our expectations were exceeded. We went on two full day safari's during our four night stay, we had the most amazing time.

There was a large party in the camp who did not all seem very interested in the safari experience and played some loud music one night. They had their own vehicle so this worked hugely to our advantage as we had our own vehicle with the head guide and his trainee who were excellent. We had dinner on our own with the head guide on our last night who was fantastic company." See all these reviews: 7n in Zanzibar; 5n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
The P family
Norfolk

"Namiri Plains Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 9 Sep 2016
"This isolated camp was special. Only saw one other vehicle from another camp. Come here for big cats, we saw plenty of cheetah and lion and even a leopard. Most other mammals to be expected.

The location was amazing looking out over a marsh. Lions very close by and even came through the camp one night. The hospitality at the camp was second to none.

Only downside was severe wind at night, shaking the tent. Kept us awake more than the wildlife.

Again 2 nights was only just enough and another would have been perfect." See all these reviews: 11n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mrs M & Mr R
San Fan

"Namiri Plains Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 5 Sep 2016
"Very nice tents with beautiful view and secluded.

We had five lions take down a buffalo about 200 meters from our tent and heard them roaring for two nights while they ate it. The spotting of cats was better by one guide than the other. They need more roads to get access to the animals.

The food here was exceptional." See all these reviews: 11n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms S
Hertfordshire

"Namiri Plains Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 26 Jul 2016
"I have been on 8 safaris and this place is like no other. The game viewing has been one of the best in all my safaris! This place is really wild and beautiful. This part of the Serengeti plains really lives up to being called, "plains". Endless expanse of golden plains broken up in places with beautiful kopjes and acacia trees. The long grasses look amazing as the day progresses and the light changes.

You wouldn't realise how much life there is until your amazing guide points out the animals! Yes, the guiding is brilliant! My guide Erasto is a super guide. One of the best guides I have been guided by.

The place is really wild. We saw different Cheetahs with cubs every day in my 4 day stay. Saw Cheetah kill successfully once and one unsuccessful cheetah hunt.

Saw huge numbers of lions everyday and lion cubs. There were lions in every area we went to - lions mating, hunting, sleeping, etc. On my last night there 5 lion brothers killed a buffalo right near my tent. They were roaring and growling/arguing all night. It was amazing.

As with all Asilia camps the staff are amazing and go out of their way to look after you. Food was brilliant and so are the tents. The location of the camp is very good as it is far away from the busy part. So quite exclusive.

I loved every minute of my stay there and will definitely be returning soon!" See all these reviews: 7n in Tanzania; 5n in Rwanda
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs W
Kent

"Beautifully furnished tented camp"

3 nights Arrived 30 Jun 2016
"Spent 3 nights here. Beautifully furnished tents while still maintaining the Safari-camp feeling. Great food, and discreet service.

Hamza, our guide was excellent at spotting the game, and extremely knowledgeable of not just the animals, but of the geology of the area too. Evening meals were taken at a large table, and we liked the fact that the guides ate dinner with the guests, it made for an interesting and lively mealtime.

An exclusive area of the otherwise crowded Serengeti, with lots of animals (especially Cheetah)." See all these reviews: 12n in Tanzania; 5n in Rwanda
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms S
Georgia

"Excellent Camp!"

2 nights Arrived 2 Dec 2015
"The staff, the food, and the game drives were everything we had hoped for and more.

Simply AMAZING!" See all these reviews: 3n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms F
California, USA

"Wonderful"

5 nights Arrived 8 Nov 2015
"Namiri Plains is my type of place. Tents with all the amenities needed for comfort but not over-the-top. Highly recommended.

The landscape was magnificent, lions and cheetah galore, and even saw a pangolin." See all these reviews: 12n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
CY
Norfolk

"My new favourite place in the world"

9 nights Arrived 2 Nov 2015
"I had the most fantastic nine night trip to Namiri Plains. I have a set of criteria that I look for when selecting a safari destination and started to research Namiri as soon as it opened. After a lot of research, I went there with (probably unfairly) very high expectations, but can say that they were all met and exceeded.

For the location I want somewhere that is quiet in terms of numbers of tourists but with good wildlife. We rarely saw other vehicles apart from those from our own camp during the stay and more often than not, we were the first vehicle at a sighting. My prime wildlife target was cheetah. We were very quickly at the stage where I was looking at a new sort of cheetah behaviour rather than just cheetah. Twenty-one different individuals, many with multiple sightings and behaviour ranging from hunting brothers (complete start to finish), courting / mating couple, sub adult cubs playing, mothers with younger cubs (playing), a male escorting another male from his territory, every imaginable pose; certainly met the wildlife criteria. Also into double figures for different full grown male lions, again with multiple sightings of some. Countless females and different aged cubs. There were also all sorts of other excellent wildlife sightings as well including a newborn giraffe struggling to its feet for the first time and taking its first teetering steps. The gory, harsh side of nature was also represented by a lone hyena taking down a wildebeest calf. There was not a single day where you could not pick out at least one excellent highlight and normally multiple ones. I was also lucky that the rains had brought the main migration within easy game drive distance, weeks earlier than expected.

For the camp I want something that I feel gives me a real bush experience but without any hardships you might associate with camping. Eight large, well spaced ground level guest tents with all the comforts you need but nothing “resort like” that would feel out of place, fits the bill perfectly. All of the staff were excellent – very friendly and attentive and quickly knowing you by name. Meals were communal which I like – allowing sharing the stories of the day and the food was very good – it was difficult not to eat too much. Dinner was preceded by drinks round the campfire and some nights all vehicles would meet up at a sundowner location outside camp. I had read about things like a hot water bottle provided at night and thought I would not need it – in practice it was very welcome.

A good guide is an essential and I had an excellent one along with spotter. How they see some of the things they do still amazes me even after several safaris. He had a great knowledge and understanding of the wildlife along with a real empathy with the animals. Also the ability to position for the best sighting angles and just to spend lots of time observing and learning about the wildlife.

I decided to stay at one camp for a longer period rather than the more usual move round every few days. I was delighted with this choice and could still easily have stayed longer – it allowed time to see things evolve – for example a pride of lions at the start had year old cubs looking in pretty poor condition. Several kills later you would barely recognise them as the same lions.
As far as Asilia goes, I think they do a brilliant job – the things like using refillable water bottles and saving the shower water before it runs through hot (solar heated), all add up. The results of a particularly destructive storm were dealt with very efficiently. If I was looking for a new area, my first search would be to see what camps Asilia had in the area.

So far I have only returned to one safari camp. Namiri Plains is now top of my list for a return visit. I would just love to go back and hope that I get the opportunity to do so.
" See all these reviews: 9n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Lauren
California

"Namiri Doesn't Disappoint!"

2 nights Arrived 16 Sep 2015
"I was most excited to visit Namiri, and I was not let down. We traveled with a group of 4, and everyone enjoyed this camp very much. It has perfected the definition and execution of "safari chic"- think Ralph Lauren meets Restoration Hardware gone glamping.

The tents were appointed in a way that was truly special- fluffy duvet, hot water bottle in the bed at night, luxurious throw on the bed, bathrobes, outdoor shower... Staying here was a real treat, and an experience I will not soon forget. The outdoor shower had a clear view of African buffalo, and while showering outside seemed like a good idea, the cold wind turned the experience into a quick yet entertaining one. Being woken up to tea and biscuits in the morning was a great way to start the day.

We loved the staff at Namiri- special shout out to Blessed and Alex, whom we were lucky enough to eat dinner with one night. Hearing their stories of growing up in rural Tanzania was so interesting, we could've talked for days! Everyone at the camp was wonderful and exuded friendliness and hospitality.

The food at Namiri was outstanding- how the chefs prepare such delicious meals in the bush is incredible, and we appreciated everything from the delicious starter soups and homemade bread to the wonderful curries and salads.

Bush tv and cocktails were awesome, we truly felt like we were the only people for miles around.

The wildlife at Namiri was fantastic- this is big cat country, and the lions, leopards, and cheetahs did not disappoint. We did a walking safari which we highly recommend, as you see, feel, and hear the animals and landscape in a way you just can't inside a vehicle.

Overall, an enthusiastic endorsement of Namiri Plains- wouldn't hesitate to return." See all these reviews: 12n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr D & Ms G
London

"Namiri Plains Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 20 Apr 2015
"Lots of cheetah and lions in the Serengeti but one guide not up to standard expected and staff generally poor on speaking English although both they and the manager were helpful." See all these reviews: 10n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Poor
Showing 21-30 of 30
97%
30 reviews of Namiri Plains Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
26
3
1
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Tanzania

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Tanzania.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Diving & snorkelling

Diving & snorkelling

Find captivating marine life beneath the waves

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Serengeti Migration Area

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Olakira

Olakira Camp

Comfortable, friendly and relaxed, Olakira Camp moves between the Mara River and the southern Ndutu area, in line with the wildebeest migration.


96% (60 reviews)
Sayari Camp

Sayari Camp

In the northern Serengeti, near the Mara River, luxurious Sayari Camp offers excellent wildife all year – boosted further by the wildebeest migration.


98% (58 reviews)
Nomad Serengeti Safari Camp

Nomad Serengeti Camp

Serengeti Safari Camp is a well-appointed tented camp that moves several times a year to follow the predicted path of the migration.


97% (48 reviews)
Dunia Camp

Dunia Camp

Dunia Camp is well located for the migration from December to March, and has excellent game viewing for the rest of the year.


93% (44 reviews)
Lamai Serengeti

Lamai Serengeti

Set high in the kopjes with fantastic views, Lamai Serengeti offers top service and guiding and good migration sightings from Jul-Oct.


99% (32 reviews)
Ubuntu Camp

Ubuntu Camp

Ubuntu Camp has several locations in the Serengeti, following the wildebeest migration, so it is often in a great location to see the herds.


99% (22 reviews)
Kati Kati Camp

Kati Kati Camp

Kati Kati is a small, simple camp, which is well-positioned to explore the wildlife-rich Seronera area.


91% (20 reviews)
Kimondo Camp

Kimondo Camp

Kimondo Camp is based in the remote Lamai Wedge in the northern Serengeti from Jul–Oct, and on the southern Kusini plains from Nov–Mar.


98% (11 reviews)
Ndutu Safari Lodge

Ndutu Safari Lodge

Large and economical, but not luxurious, Ndutu Safari Lodge is well located in the southern Serengeti, so book early to get space.


93% (11 reviews)
Serengeti under Canvas

Serengeti under Canvas

Two of the three Serengeti under Canvas camps move through the Serengeti National Park every few months to follow the wildebeest migration.


100% (10 reviews)
Kleins Camp

Klein's Camp

Klein's Camp, in a private area of the northern Serengeti, sets high standards. Activities include walks, nights drives and Maasai village visits.


98% (10 reviews)
Grumeti River Camp

Grumeti River Camp

Grumeti River Camp offers a laid-back atmosphere combined with top service, first-rate food, expert guiding and an excellent location.


93% (9 reviews)
Alex Walker's Serian Serengeti

Serian Serengeti

Serian Serengeti is a mobile tented operation run by Alex Walker which moves between two locations following the wildebeest migration.


98% (8 reviews)
Lobo Wildlife Lodge

Lobo Wildlife Lodge

The large Lobo Wildlife Lodge has simple, functional rooms in a stunning location. It's a good base for exploring the north-eastern Serengeti.


72% (5 reviews)
Lemala Ewanjan

Lemala Ewanjan

Lemala Ewanjan is a comfortable and stylish tented camp in the Seronera area of the central Serengeti National Park.


100% (4 reviews)
Kubu Kubu

Kubu Kubu

Kubu Kubu is a contemporary, tented lodge, well located in the central Seronera area of the Serengeti National Park.


100% (4 reviews)
Mbalageti Lodge

Mbalageti Lodge

Mbalageti is a well-run lodge in a quiet part of the Serengeti's western corridor – an ideal location during the Apr-Jun migration.


80% (4 reviews)
Lemala Kuria Hills

Lemala Kuria Hills

Lemala Kuria Hills is a luxury permanent camp that is ideally located for wildlife all year around, but especially during the wildebeest migration.


100% (4 reviews)
Kusini Camp

Kusini Camp

Kusini Camp is permanent, luxury camp located on a beautiful kopje in a quiet, wildlife-rich corner of the south-west Serengeti.


65% (4 reviews)
Serengeti Sopa Lodge

Serengeti Sopa Lodge

Serengeti Sopa Lodge is an international-style hotel offering good-value accommodation in the central Serengeti, with lovely views of the plains.


100% (3 reviews)
Serengeti Green Camp

Serengeti Green Camp

Serengeti Green Camp is a comfortable camping experience, in your own private safari camp and at the heart of a great wildlife area.


93% (3 reviews)
Singita Mara River Tented Camp

Singita Mara River

Singita Mara River Tented Camp is a luxurious camp in the isolated and rewarding Lamai wedge region of the northern Serengeti.


87% (3 reviews)
Serengeti Walking Mobile Camp

Serengeti Walking Mobile

This fairly simple camp offers only walking activities, but it's very well done and combines well with more conventional camps or lodges.


87% (3 reviews)
Faru Faru Lodge

Faru Faru Lodge

On the north bank of the Grumeti River, Faru Faru is a small, chic hideaway in this exclusive corner of the Serengeti.


100% (3 reviews)
Serengeti Migration Camp

Migration Camp

Serengeti Migration Camp is a smart tented camp, good for the wildebeest migration from Jul–Aug, or to explore the Lobo Kopjes any time.


93% (3 reviews)
Sasakwa Lodge

Sasakwa Lodge

On a hill looking over the Serengeti plains, Sasakwa Lodge is grand, luxurious safari camp, one of the most opulent properties in Tanzania.


100% (2 reviews)
Sabora Tented Camp

Sabora Tented Camp

Sabora Tented Camp is a smart tented camp – one of the most luxurious, professional and stylish properties to be found in Tanzania.


100% (2 reviews)
Lemala Mara-Ndutu

Lemala Mara-Ndutu

Lemala Mara-Ndutu is a semi-permanent camp that moves between the north and south of the Serengeti to witness the wildebeest migration.


100% (2 reviews)
Ndutu Kati Kati

Ndutu Kati Kati

Ndutu Kati Kati is a seasonal tented camp, based in the southern Serenget from Dec-Mar, ideal for the migration as it passes through.


80% (1 review)
Lake Masek Tented Camp

Lake Masek Tented Camp

Ideally located for the wildebeest migration from Dec–Apr, Lake Masek Tented Camp is a good, mid-market safari camp.


100% (1 review)
Olduvai Camp

Olduvai Camp

Olduvai Camp lies between Ngorongoro and the southern Serengeti plains. It's a good base for the southern plains during the rainy season.


60% (1 review)
Four Seasons Safari Lodge Serengeti

Four Seasons Serengeti

The Four Seasons Safari Lodge is the only hotel in the Serengeti offering international facilities such as a gym, spa and children’s club.


100% (1 review)
Serengeti Serena Safari Lodge

Serengeti Serena

The Serengeti Serena Safari Lodge is a large, hotel-style lodge and a good family-friendly base from which to explore the central Serengeti.


100% (1 review)
Seronera Wildlife Lodge

Seronera Wildlife Lodge

Seronera Wildlife Lodge is large hotel-style safari lodge in the heart of the Serengeti, offering good value and a great location.


80% (1 review)
Lemala Nanyukie

Lemala Nanyukie

Lemala Nanyukie is a comfortable and stylish tented camp that opened in 2018 in the central Serengeti.


100% (1 review)
Serengeti Bushtops

Bushtops

Serengeti Bushtops is a permanent luxury camp in the northern Serengeti, with spacious and private tents with their own hot tubs.


100% (1 review)
Mkombe's House Lamai

Mkombe's House Lamai

Mkombe's House Lamai is a fully staffed private house in the Wogakuria Kopjes district of Serengeti National Park.


100% (1 review)
Nimali Mara

Nimali Mara

Nimali Mara is a luxurious safari lodge in a quiet region of the northern Serengeti with good access to the wildebeest migration.


No reviews yet
Kirurumu Migration Camp

Kirurumu Migration Camp

Kirurumu is a rustic tented camp which moves around the Serengeti twice a year to follow the wildebeest migration.


No reviews yet
Mara Mara

Mara Mara

Mara Mara is a smart tented camp in the northern Serengeti, situated on a small hill close to the Mara River.


No reviews yet
Mara Kati Kati

Mara Kati Kati

Mara Kati Kati is a simple bush camp in the northern Serengeti, based from Jul-Oct near the Mara River for the wildebeest migration.


No reviews yet
Nimali Serengeti

Nimali Serengeti

Opened in July 2017, Nimali Serengeti is a smart, permanent tented camp located in the Seronera area of the central Serengeti.


No reviews yet
Taasa Lodge

Taasa Lodge

Taasa Lodge is a slightly quirky option offering guided walks and night game drives, which are not permitted in Serengeti National Park.


No reviews yet
Kirawira Camp

Kirawira Camp

Set high on a hill, in the Serengeti's western corridor, Kirawira is a relatively large tented camp in the Serena group.


No reviews yet
Mbuzi Mawe

Mbuzi Mawe

Mbuze Mawe is a comfortable tented camp in a convenient, central-north location when driving through the Serengeti.


No reviews yet
Serengeti Pioneer Camp

Serengeti Pioneer Camp

Serengeti Pioneer Camp is a luxurious tented camp in the central Serengeti, styled on African explorers' camps of the early 20th century.


No reviews yet
Mwiba Lodge

Mwiba Lodge

Mwiba Lodge is a luxurious property located on a private concession on the edge of the southern Serengeti.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa