This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr D from Surrey

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

3

Countries visited

3

Lodges stayed in

13

Excursions taken

0

Enjoyable trip to Kikeche Laikipia and Lewa House

Kenya between 10 Feb 2020 and 20 Feb 2020

Trip rating: Excellent
"A thoroughly enjoyable trip to Laikipia and Lewa Downs, Comfortable accommodation,food and service with very friendly staff at each site. Guides very knowledgeable and with excellent eyesight at each location. 46 species of animal and 175 species of birds seen"

Arranged By Claire Scott


Four Points by Sheraton

Four Points by Sheraton

"Four Points by Sheraton review"

1 night Arrived 10 Feb 2020
"One night stay, comfortable room, good breakfast."
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Kicheche Laikipia

Kicheche Laikipia

"Very good 4 night stay at KiKeche Camp"

4 nights Arrived 11 Feb 2020
"I thoroughly enjoyed Kikeche Laikipia. Attentive staff, excellent food, spacious comfortable tents with a view of the lake. The guide Josphat was an excellent spotter and had a good knowledge of the wildlife."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Lewa House

Lewa House

"Enjoyable 4 nights at Lewa House"

4 nights Arrived 15 Feb 2020
"Lewa house is on a hill with excellent views of the savanna from the hobbit like cottages which are spacious and comfortable. Staff are charming and attentive. The guide Jimmy is an excellent spotter and has an extensive knowledge of the animals and birds and their habits. Would like to return given the opportunity."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Safari trip to Kenya/Tanzania

Kenya and 1 other country between 7 Jan 2019 and 18 Jan 2019

Trip rating: Excellent
"An excellent safari trip to 3 camps which were in quite varied terrain.

Saw wide variety of game and birds, 30 mammals plus other species, over 90 bird species.

All the camps were comfortable and the people staffing them were delightful

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

Quite happy with my experience so far"

Arranged By Richard Trillo


Crowne Plaza Nairobi Airport

Crowne Plaza Nairobi Airport

"A short overnight stay in a luxurious hotel "

1 night Arrived 7 Jan 2019
"I arrived late to a good welcome.

The room was spacious, well appointed and the comfortable bed was enormous.

There was a breakfast with a good choice of dishes. There staff were friendly and very helpful."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Rekero

Rekero

"Rekero is a lovely camp in a super location"

3 nights Arrived 8 Jan 2019
"Probably the best of the Asilia camps I have stayed. The location is ideal with views of the river with the hippos and also the wildlife on the other bank.

The weaver birds and kingfishers are a bonus. All the staff were friendly and helpful, particularly Peter and Stacey.

Nicholas the guide was exceptional, he had superb phenomenal eyesight and consequently our game drives were very successful. His knowledge of the ecology, wildlife and birds was extensive and I thoroughly enjoyed his company."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Namiri Plains Camp

Namiri Plains Camp

"Excellent game drives at Namiri Plains."

3 nights Arrived 11 Jan 2019
"A comfortable camp situated in the plains well East of Seronara.

As with the other camps, the facilities are good, the staff friendly and helpful, the tents and communal areas comfortable and the food good. My only reservation was that the light level at dinner was so low I could not see what I was eating, probably a function of the solar power so could be excusable.

Patena the guide was also a good spotter and knowledgeable about the game and birds.

All the game drives were very good indeed."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Olakira

Olakira

"Fine stay at Olakira"

3 nights Arrived 14 Jan 2019
"There have been some improvements to to Olakira from when I stayed in the North 3 years ago but although there have been some staff changes there was a warm welcome and everyone was friendly and helpful, Goodluck the manager in particular.

The accommodation is comfortable, the food produced by chef John tasty and varied.

Rama the guide is well experienced and has good knowledge of the flora as well as the wildlife and birds. We had a great time together. There is a good varied terrain within distance of the camp and in January thousands of wildebeest and zebra and so also predators so that I gained a long list of mammals, birds and other wildlife."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

My Tanzania trip, September 2015

Zanzibar and 1 other country between 31 Aug 2015 and 14 Sep 2015

Trip rating: Excellent
"A trip of a lifetime. An altogether wonderful experience among the delightful people of Tanzania. I would recommend all the camps visited to see game of every description and be cosseted by the staff. Missed out on seeing a rhino so need to go back

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

Not really, it all worked very well. Fishermans Tours were very helpful also"

Arranged By Claire Scott


Image alt

Sanctuary Ngorongoro Lodge

"Great stay at Sanctuary Camp."

2 nights Arrived 1 Sep 2015
"The camp has a good location foe easy access to the Crater. I was the only guest and had wonderful service. First time at a safari camp and was pleasantly surprised at how good the facilities were. Particularly liked the location among the acacia trees. An excellent camp overall with kind and attentive staff. Hamisi was a superb guide."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Dunia Camp

Dunia Camp

"Lovely time at Dunia Camp"

3 nights Arrived 3 Sep 2015
"The best facilities of each of the camps I stayed in, probably because it is more of a permanent one. All the staff are lovely, Angel, the camp manager was particularly helpful.

Good food but too much to eat at times. Joshua, the guide was extremely good at spotting and had a wide knowledge of the game and ecology. Some of the roads were horrendous and we had to be rescued after being stuck in the mud.

We were very late back to the camp in the dark and much to the relief of Angel I said I was not worried about it."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Olakira

Olakira

"Enjoyable stay at Olakira Mara-Ndutu"

3 nights Arrived 6 Sep 2015
"A camp with a superb location overlooking the Mara river. Again the service was excellent, the food extremely good and again they tried to feed me too much. The staff were excellent and tried to ensure we enjoyed our stay.

Olee the guide was particularly good and also had a wide knowledge of the game. I was sorry to leave the place. My only adverse comment is that the tent lighting was a bit inadequate compared with the other camps."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Dhow Palace Hotel

Dhow Palace Hotel

"Fine stay at Dhow Palace Hotel"

1 night Arrived 9 Sep 2015
"A hotel with a Colonial feel about it and located conveniently in the older part of Stone Town. The staff were very helpful and the facilities good.

Unfortunately there was not enough time to use the swimming pool. The food was good. The hotel is muslim therefore teetotal."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Chumbe Island Lodge

Chumbe Island Lodge

"Great snorkeling at Chumbe Island"

3 nights Arrived 10 Sep 2015
"An interesting "eco" lodge with staff lovely, just like the Tanzanians on the mainland.

Bungalow 6 had a beautiful view of the sea, and coral. Good food and service again. The guides Matata and Chaga were excellent and very helpful with equipment for snorkeling and also had good knowledge about the island flora and fauna.

Great variety of fish and coral types when snorkeling.

Did not want to leave."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Dhow Palace Hotel

Dhow Palace Hotel

"Return to Dhow Palace"

1 night Arrived 13 Sep 2015
"See previous comments. [Ed: see below!]

Staff again very helpful"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team