This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Nomad Serengeti Safari Camp
Nomad Serengeti Safari Camp
Nomad Serengeti Safari Camp

Nomad Serengeti Safari Camp


2°17’16.2"S 34°27’4.4"E

Reviews of Nomad Serengeti Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

47 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Nomad Serengeti Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Sep-2018, 6 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Nomad Serengeti Camp.
Lion

83% success

Leopard

80% success

Cheetah

50% success

Wild dog

0% success

Buffalo

100% success

Eland

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Wildebeest

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Elephant

80% success

Hippo

80% success

Spotted Hyena

60% success

Striped Hyena

40% success

Aardvark

20% success

Black Rhino

20% success

Oryx

20% success

Roan antelope

20% success

Pangolin

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 47
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs D.
New York

"Nomad Serengeti Safari Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 22 Oct 2021
"The Serengeti was our first stop in our trip to Tanzania's northern circuit. Our stay at the Nomad Serengeti Camp and experience in the Serengeti was the best part of our Africa trip. Our time there was nothing short of magical. We flew in from Kigali after seeing gorillas and golden monkeys and as we were making our descent onto the Kogatende Airstrip, we were in awe of the plains and herds of wildebeest that we could see from the air. Upon landing, we were met by our guide Mussa in an open-air safari vehicle and on the way to camp, we saw so many animals--so much so that we saw 4 of the big 5 on that first drive (only the elusive black rhino was missing!). Mussa said that was not normal and that we were very lucky. He joked that he wasn't sure what else he'll be able to show us during the next 2.5 days.

The camp itself was very well-maintained. We felt like we were in the middle of nowhere which added a lot of authenticity to the experience. We were warmly welcomed by the camp manager at the main mess where he explained how the camp works. We had the entire camp to ourselves up until the last day which made for a private getaway. The main area was a cool place to hang out at and also the only place where we could charge our electronics and have access to Wi-Fi (to think you have Wi-Fi in the middle of nowhere! It wasn't the fastest though but why do you need Wi-Fi anyway while out here anyway?).

The bar was always open and there was a wide selection of drinks and spirits. Meals were provided in the main area and were very gourmet. We were so impressed by the quality of the food given how remote the camp was. Dinner would always be a three-course affair. Breakfast would typically include eggs made to order if eaten at camp alongside fruits, granola, yogurt, toast, sausages and bacon. But if you're having a bush picnic, you'll get a breakfast sandwich instead of the eggs made to order. Lunch would be two courses and depending on your planned activities, would be eaten either at camp or while you're out on your game drive. Food was as much a highlight as seeing animals and was always delicious.

Our tents were spacious and comfortable. The bucket showers were nice, easy to operate, and always provided the right water temperature. We were nervous using them at first, fearing that we wouldn't have enough water but one bucket always sufficed for each person in our group (conservation!). We didn't have any issues with our eco-flush toilets and daily laundry was a great service (note that they will not wash lady undergarments but provide detergent to do it yourself in the sink in your tent). The beds were comfortable and hot water bottles in bed were provided in case you get too cold at night. Because you're out in a remote area of the Serengeti, animals can come through camp or come quite close to it at night. A herd of wildebeest was nearby on our first night which made for a noisy night so if you're a light sleeper, earplugs are highly recommended.

We started each morning very early with a wake up call from the staff where they bring coffee/tea/hot chocolate (whatever you decide the night before) to your tent. We'd leave camp by 6 AM to catch the diurnal animals and they start their day as well. We saw just about everything we wanted to see during our time in the Serengeti including two magnificent wildebeest river crossings, a foiled cheetah hunt, the aftermath of an elephant birth, two hyenas eating a wildebeest alive, and a black rhino and its calf. Mussa was very knowledgeable and experienced as a guide and we would often be the first to find something before he would radio it to others. Compared to the other guides we had during our whole trip, we thought Mussa was the best and he made our experience very memorable.

When we returned from our afternoon game drives each day, the staff would always prepare a fire prior to dinner which was a nice touch. We can't say enough good things about the staff and service in general. They were fantastic and made sure we were well taken care of throughout our stay. We loved our time here and miss it dearly. It's going to be hard to top the experience we had with Nomad in the Serengeti." See all these reviews: 8n in Tanzania; 5n in Rwanda
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

1 sighting

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Cheetah

1 sighting

Eland

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Leopard

2 sightings

Lion

3 sightings

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr & Mrs A.
Oregon

"Nomad Serengeti Safari Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 9 Oct 2021
"A completely different experience than Namiri even though both are essentially open-air accommodations.

Here you really feel as if you are in the thick of nature with animals all around (the wildebeests during our visit). In part, this was due to the timing of our visits and I'm sure Namiri would have a similar feel when the migration is in that area.

Amazingly comfortable rooms and bed for a mobile camp! Great staff as well." See all these reviews: 11n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Eland

Multiple sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

4 sightings

Lion

6 sightings

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Marilyn & Duane
CA

"Superb camp"

3 nights Arrived 5 Aug 2019
"Nomad Serengeti Safari Camp was our favorite stay. Tents were a step up from Kati Kati, no know on their’s. Dining tent was our favorite setup with a standard communal table for dinner with always interesting people to chat with about their experiences.
Service was excellent, food was fine. Food is never going to be great given the logistics of getting food into any of these camps and lodges.
But, the price was very high. When I look back at the rack rate prices for Kati Kati and Nomad I don’t think Nomad offers that much more value than Kati Kati.
Location is great. We had zebras grazing right on the edge of our tent one late afternoon, oblivious as I sat in a chair outside the tent less than 2m from them. Wildebeests at times were within sight, and smell, of the tent. Loved all that." See all these reviews: 12n in Tanzania; 2n in Rwanda
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Lisa & hubs
Nashville

"Unfortunately, migration skipped this area"

4 nights Arrived 17 Jun 2019
"It's not this camp's fault that there were few animals here, but having to drive 30-60 minutes before seeing ANYTHING, became very disheartening. The camp is far away from all other camps (and the river). I guess if the migration is in the area, it would be nicely located to avoid a lot of other vehicles, but for us, it was a major burden. Also, the tsetse flies were vicious and it was difficult to escape them.

Service was fantastic, friendly, and always rapid with any responses. Food and drinks were delicious. Eating under the stars at dinner was really special. Tents were huge, and the shower arrangement kept everything else in the bathroom dry. Bed was big and comfortable. The entire camp was always very clean. Fresh towels every day was an unexpected treat.

We really liked the "eco-toilet" that used minimal water and had no odor." See all these reviews: 15n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Average
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

10 sightings

Cheetah

1 sighting

Eland

1 sighting

Elephant

4 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Lion

1 sighting

Spotted Hyena

4 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr. A
Canada

"Nomad Serengeti Safari Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 5 Mar 2019
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Cheetah

2 sightings

Eland

2 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

6 sightings

Striped Hyena

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Dr & Mrs N
USA

"Wonderful camp"

4 nights Arrived 7 Feb 2019
"Loved seeing the incredible zebra and wildebeest herds" See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia; 16n in Tanzania; 10n in Botswana; 1n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Jane
Colne

"Nomad Serengeti Safari Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 20 Sep 2018
"This is a nomadic camp so the facilities are a little more spartan but all the staff were terrific from the water boy sorting the water for the bush showers, to the Chef Barrack who was excellent (no idea how he makes such great food in the arse end of nowhere) the whole team including our fab guide Musa.

We were lucky that the other guests, mainly from the USA, were all really nice which is important in such a small camp when you are all sat together at dinner.

We went to see the Wilderbeest migration and we saw it, heard it, tasted it and felt it (a little too much at times) the wildebeest are so load at night that ear plugs, sleeping pills and loads of red wine are essential if you want to get any shut eye at all. They tripped over the guy ropes all night!

My only negative comment is about the number of vehicles round the animals; 12 round 1 leopard and 40 watching a Wilderbeest crossing. The Tanzanian authorities need to restrict vehicles and place time limits on them for that reason alone I may not return to Tanzania." See all these reviews: 6n in Zanzibar; 3n in Tanzania; 1n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Aardvark

1 sighting

Buffalo

7 sightings

Eland

10 sightings

Elephant

3 sightings

Giraffe

5 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

6 sightings

Oryx

Multiple sightings

Roan antelope

3 sightings

Striped Hyena

3 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr L & Mrs M
Coventry

"Authentic experience"

3 nights Arrived 16 Feb 2018
"We stayed at the Nomad Serengeti for 3 nights in February. We had an absolutely fabulous time. All the staff are amazing, nothing was too much trouble. They were so welcoming and friendly; we felt like they were our family.

Our guide Gabriel was excellent. We saw so much wildlife, including a wildebeest being born and a cheetah kill. The wildebeest migration around the Hidden Valley was the most amazing sight. The abundance of wildlife in the area is astounding.

The bush breakfasts were amazing. The food in the camp was truly gourmet standard; goodness knows how it is prepared with such basic facilities.

The tent was very authentic, with a very comfy bed, bucket showers and a chemical loo, but this all added to the experience.

We met some lovely people chatting around the camp fire and at the communal dinner.

We had a fantastic time, well done to all staff at Nomad Serengeti for looking after us so well." See all these reviews: 8n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mrs M
Japan

"Small, intimate camp"

4 nights Arrived 6 Aug 2017
"The camp is simple, but comfortable enough. I love this small, intimate camp with bush feel.
I was very welcomed by the Manager John and camp staff. They are very kind and friendly, I was able to relax at my room as if I were in my home. I enjoyed bucket shower, and it was my favorite moment to have coffee in front of my room at dawn. Meals were great.

I was picked up by my private guide David at Kogatente Airstrip. He was a friendly, experienced guide. We saw wildebeests' river crossing on the way to the camp from the airstrip. Next day, we saw black rhinos.
I really enjoyed chatting with him about amimals, cultures, etc.

It was nice to meet and talk with other guests during meal times." See all these reviews: 10n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms J
USA

"Nomad Serengeti Safari Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 28 Jul 2017
"Although not as luxurious as Kuro camp this was still extremely nice considering that it is a mobile tent camp. The toilets could be a little nicer but still, very wonderful." See all these reviews: 8n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Showing 1-10 of 47
97%
47 reviews of Nomad Serengeti Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
41
5
1
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Tanzania

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Tanzania.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Diving & snorkelling

Diving & snorkelling

Find captivating marine life beneath the waves

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Serengeti Migration Area

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Olakira

Olakira Camp

Comfortable, friendly and relaxed, Olakira Camp moves between the Mara River and the southern Ndutu area, in line with the wildebeest migration.


97% (63 reviews)
Sayari Camp

Sayari Camp

In the northern Serengeti, near the Mara River, luxurious Sayari Camp offers excellent wildife all year – boosted further by the wildebeest migration.


98% (59 reviews)
Dunia Camp

Dunia Camp

Dunia Camp is well located for the migration from December to March, and has excellent game viewing for the rest of the year.


93% (46 reviews)
Namiri Plains Camp

Namiri Plains Camp

Namiri Plains is one of the best camps in the Serengeti and its remoteness ensures a fantastic wildlife experience away from the crowds.


97% (34 reviews)
Lamai Serengeti

Lamai Serengeti

Set high in the kopjes with fantastic views, Lamai Serengeti offers top service and guiding and good migration sightings from Jul-Oct.


99% (33 reviews)
Ubuntu Camp

Ubuntu Camp

Ubuntu Camp has several locations in the Serengeti, following the wildebeest migration, so it is often in a great location to see the herds.


99% (21 reviews)
Kati Kati Camp

Kati Kati Camp

Kati Kati is a small, very simple bushcamp, which is well-positioned to explore the wildlife-rich Seronera area.


91% (22 reviews)
Ndutu Safari Lodge

Ndutu Safari Lodge

Large and economical, but not luxurious, Ndutu Safari Lodge is well located in the southern Serengeti, so book early to get space.


93% (11 reviews)
Kimondo Camp

Kimondo Camp

Kimondo Camp is based in the remote Lamai Wedge in the northern Serengeti from Jul–Oct, and on the southern Kusini plains from Nov–Mar.


98% (11 reviews)
Klein's Camp

Klein's Camp

Klein's Camp, in a private area of the northern Serengeti, sets high standards. Activities include walks, nights drives and Maasai village visits.


98% (10 reviews)
Alex Walker's Serian Serengeti

Serian Serengeti

Serian Serengeti is a mobile tented operation run by Alex Walker which moves between two locations following the wildebeest migration.


96% (10 reviews)
Serengeti under Canvas

Serengeti under Canvas

Two of the three Serengeti under Canvas camps move through the Serengeti National Park every few months to follow the wildebeest migration.


100% (10 reviews)
Grumeti River Camp

Grumeti River Camp

Grumeti River Camp offers a laid-back atmosphere combined with top service, first-rate food, expert guiding and an excellent location.


93% (9 reviews)
Lemala Nanyukie

Lemala Nanyukie

Lemala Nanyukie is a comfortable and stylish tented camp that opened in 2018 in the central Serengeti.


100% (6 reviews)
Lemala Mara-Ndutu

Lemala Mara-Ndutu

Lemala Mara-Ndutu is a semi-permanent camp that moves between the north and south of the Serengeti to witness the wildebeest migration.


100% (6 reviews)
Lobo Wildlife Lodge

Lobo Wildlife Lodge

The large Lobo Wildlife Lodge has simple, functional rooms in a stunning location. It's a good base for exploring the north-eastern Serengeti.


72% (5 reviews)
Lemala Kuria Hills

Lemala Kuria Hills

Lemala Kuria Hills is a luxury permanent camp that is ideally located for wildlife all year around, but especially during the wildebeest migration.


100% (5 reviews)
Lemala Ewanjan

Lemala Ewanjan

Lemala Ewanjan is a comfortable and stylish tented camp in the Seronera area of the central Serengeti National Park.


100% (4 reviews)
Kubu Kubu

Kubu Kubu

Kubu Kubu is a contemporary, tented lodge, well located in the central Seronera area of the Serengeti National Park.


100% (4 reviews)
Kusini Camp

Kusini Camp

Kusini Camp is permanent, luxury camp located on a beautiful kopje in a quiet, wildlife-rich corner of the south-west Serengeti.


65% (4 reviews)
Mbalageti Lodge

Mbalageti Lodge

Mbalageti is a well-run lodge in a quiet part of the Serengeti's western corridor – an ideal location during the Apr-Jun migration.


93% (3 reviews)
Serengeti Serena Safari Lodge

Serengeti Serena

The Serengeti Serena Safari Lodge is a large, hotel-style lodge and a good family-friendly base from which to explore the central Serengeti.


90% (4 reviews)
Singita Mara River Tented Camp

Singita Mara River

Singita Mara River Tented Camp is a luxurious camp in the isolated and rewarding Lamai wedge region of the northern Serengeti.


87% (3 reviews)
Serengeti Walking Mobile Camp

Serengeti Walking Mobile

This fairly simple camp offers only walking activities, but it's very well done and combines well with more conventional camps or lodges.


87% (3 reviews)
Serengeti Sopa Lodge

Serengeti Sopa Lodge

Serengeti Sopa Lodge is an international-style hotel offering good-value accommodation in the central Serengeti, with lovely views of the plains.


100% (3 reviews)
Serengeti Green Camp

Serengeti Green Camp

Serengeti Green Camp is a comfortable camping experience, in your own private safari camp and at the heart of a great wildlife area.


93% (3 reviews)
Serengeti Migration Camp

Migration Camp

Serengeti Migration Camp is a smart tented camp, good for the wildebeest migration from Jul–Aug, or to explore the Lobo Kopjes any time.


93% (3 reviews)
Faru Faru Lodge

Faru Faru Lodge

On the north bank of the Grumeti River, Faru Faru is a small, chic hideaway in this exclusive corner of the Serengeti.


100% (3 reviews)
Sabora Tented Camp

Sabora Tented Camp

Sabora Tented Camp is a smart tented camp – one of the most luxurious, professional and stylish properties to be found in Tanzania.


100% (2 reviews)
Kirurumu Migration Camp

Kirurumu Migration Camp

Kirurumu is a rustic tented camp which moves around the Serengeti twice a year to follow the wildebeest migration.


100% (2 reviews)
Sasakwa Lodge

Sasakwa Lodge

On a hill looking over the Serengeti plains, Sasakwa Lodge is grand, luxurious safari camp, one of the most opulent properties in Tanzania.


100% (2 reviews)
Olduvai Camp

Olduvai Camp

Olduvai Camp lies between Ngorongoro and the southern Serengeti plains. It's a good base for the southern plains during the rainy season.


60% (1 review)
Serengeti Bushtops

Bushtops

Serengeti Bushtops is a permanent luxury camp in the northern Serengeti, with spacious and private tents with their own hot tubs.


100% (1 review)
Ndutu Kati Kati

Ndutu Kati Kati

Ndutu Kati Kati is a seasonal tented camp, based in the southern Serenget from Dec-Mar, ideal for the migration as it passes through.


80% (1 review)
Mkombe's House Lamai

Mkombe's House Lamai

Mkombe's House Lamai is a fully staffed private house in the Wogakuria Kopjes district of Serengeti National Park.


100% (1 review)
Four Seasons Safari Lodge Serengeti

Four Seasons Serengeti

The Four Seasons Safari Lodge is the only hotel in the Serengeti offering international facilities such as a gym, spa and children’s club.


100% (1 review)
Lake Masek Tented Camp

Lake Masek Tented Camp

Ideally located for the wildebeest migration from Dec–Apr, Lake Masek Tented Camp is a good, mid-market safari camp.


100% (1 review)
Seronera Wildlife Lodge

Seronera Wildlife Lodge

Seronera Wildlife Lodge is large hotel-style safari lodge in the heart of the Serengeti, offering good value and a great location.


80% (1 review)
Mara Kati Kati

Mara Kati Kati

Mara Kati Kati is a simple bush camp in the northern Serengeti, based from Jul-Oct near the Mara River for the wildebeest migration.


No reviews yet
Kirawira Camp

Kirawira Camp

Set high on a hill, in the Serengeti's western corridor, Kirawira is a relatively large tented camp in the Serena group.


No reviews yet
Nimali Mara

Nimali Mara

Nimali Mara is a luxurious safari lodge in a quiet region of the northern Serengeti with good access to the wildebeest migration.


No reviews yet
Mwiba Lodge

Mwiba Lodge

Mwiba Lodge is a luxurious property located on a private concession on the edge of the southern Serengeti.


No reviews yet
Mara Mara

Mara Mara

Mara Mara is a smart tented camp in the northern Serengeti, situated on a small hill close to the Mara River.


No reviews yet
Mbuzi Mawe

Mbuzi Mawe

Mbuze Mawe is a comfortable tented camp in a convenient, central-north location when driving through the Serengeti.


No reviews yet
Serengeti Pioneer Camp

Serengeti Pioneer Camp

Serengeti Pioneer Camp is a luxurious tented camp in the central Serengeti, styled on African explorers' camps of the early 20th century.


No reviews yet
Taasa Lodge

Taasa Lodge

Taasa Lodge is a slightly quirky option offering guided walks and night game drives, which are not permitted in Serengeti National Park.


No reviews yet
Nimali Serengeti

Nimali Serengeti

Opened in July 2017, Nimali Serengeti is a smart, permanent tented camp located in the Seronera area of the central Serengeti.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa