This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Nomad Serengeti Safari Camp
Nomad Serengeti Safari Camp
Nomad Serengeti Safari Camp

Nomad Serengeti Safari Camp


2°17’16.2"S 34°27’4.4"E

Reviews of Nomad Serengeti Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

50 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Nomad Serengeti Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Sep-2018, 8 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Nomad Serengeti Camp.
Lion

88% success

Leopard

86% success

Cheetah

43% success

Wild dog

0% success

Buffalo

100% success

Eland

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Wildebeest

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Elephant

86% success

Hippo

83% success

Spotted Hyena

67% success

Striped Hyena

40% success

Oryx

33% success

Roan antelope

29% success

Aardvark

17% success

Black Rhino

17% success

Pangolin

0% success

Showing 21-30 of 50
Duration
Arrival date
Thor & Deb
BC Canada

"Of boy, here we go....."

4 nights Arrived 12 Sep 2015
"This was our introduction to Nomad's camps. We ended up staying at 4, and all were simply wonderful. Raj and his crew welcomed us and I liked that he and an alternating guide always had dinner with us. This allowed us to meet as fellow humans, and to allow us to hear stories from the guides--and to pick their brains. We were curious to see the cook tent and they facilitated this.

One night a leopard prowled through the edge of the camp as we were watching 'Bush TV' (campfire), and the enthusiasm with which the guides ran for torches and bade us follow them as we followed the animal made it clear that the staff are genuine enthusiasts. Great food, exemplary service at out tent. Guiding in the jeeps was superb.

What I didn't know was that I dropped my GoPro out of my bag. At the next camp (Katavi) I got word of this from the camp manager who had been contacted by Raj. There wasn't time to get it to me at Katavi, but there it was waiting for me at Mahale--having travelled half way through Tanzania. If that isn't honest and fabulous service, I don't know what is.

Because this camp is mobile, it is more spartan than the other Nomad camps, but that is a relative term. It was divine!" See all these reviews: 25n in Tanzania; 3n in Rwanda
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mrs & Mr K
Geneva

"Excellent camp location with nice staffs"

3 nights Arrived 9 Sep 2015
"This camp is about 45 mins. from the airstrap. On the way to the camp, we starts the safari experince already, The tent is spacious with all the facilities we need, it's as good as staying in a hotel with all the charm of staying in the wild.

The communal area is at the centre with tents at both sides. Staffs are attentive as well as kind and knowledgable. The guide is excellent, very knowlegeable and Professional. The guide asked for our interest and do the best he can to fullfil it.

Our main aim for the stay is to watch the grand migration which we did. As a bonus, we also saw the black rhino and a pair of cheetah. Excellent game viewing !" See all these reviews: 5n in Tanzania; 4n in Rwanda
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Ms S & Ms C
London

"Beautiful camp in the middle of the migration"

2 nights Arrived 6 Aug 2015
"A truly amazing setting where you are literally in the middle of the migration.

The camp takes glamping to another level with luxurious tents, great facilities, fresh linens and a welcoming mess tent, with fully stocked bar and a great place to gather after an evening drive.

The food was delicious and fresh - every meal a treat and with amazing variety considering the location." See all these reviews: 5n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs W-J
UK

"Nomad Serengeti Safari Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 4 Mar 2015
"Unfortunately the migration had started early so the thousands of gnus we’d hoped to see here had moved on but as we’d seen them earlier in the trip that didn’t faze us. There were lots of other animals around and many cheetahs. We even got to watch a mother cheetah teaching her cubs to hunt with the (unwilling!) assistance of a baby gazelle who did not survive the experience. Lion and leopard were around too as well as plenty of elephants, zebra and the rest of the usual suspects. A sighting of 7 (!) bat-eared foxes was a highlight.

Tents here are fairly basic as they have to be moveable; to quote manager Joseph ‘you have everything you need but nothing you don’t’. Beds are comfortable, towels fluffy and the eco – loo fine for a few days. Water for the bucket shower arrives just the right temperature and the quantity is fine. Be prepared to be awoken by the chomping of zebras outside the tent and the occasional swish of a tail against the canvas. The camp aims not to disturb the environment but we did think it might be a good idea to remove the zebra droppings from the path to the tents, especially as you have to negotiate it by torchlight.

Paul was a pleasant guide with excellent spotting skills. We had excellent cheetah viewings, at one of which we were the only vehicle. Despite knowing we were interested in birds we stopped for few and there was little attempt at detailed identification. However, when we found a baby wildebeest stuck in some mud he did get out and rescue it which endeared him to us!

Food here was OK but nothing special – the best thing was some fish cakes we had for lunch one day. An exception to this was the bush breakfasts which were excellent – bacon and egg sandwiches, good meaty sausages, cereal, muesli, fruit etc. Yes, the food is coming from a bush kitchen but we have enough experience of Africa to know what CAN be produced under these circumstances and it can be a lot better than what we got here.

On our last night we were the only guests in camp. However some senior managers from Nomad were visiting. Most of these were polite and introduced themselves. Mark made a point of sitting at the fire with us and discussing our experiences in Africa and our views of the camp. He also made a point of coming to say goodbye as we were leaving for our drive the following morning. However the Operations Director, Serena, turned her back on us as we arrived for pre-dinner drinks, did not introduce herself, made a point of wishing the manager goodnight and totally ignoring the fact that we were sitting at a table with him and generally behaved as if we were beneath her notice. We found this disdain for the guests whose money pays her salary an absolute disgrace. Subsequently we discovered that Nomad’s website describes her as ‘a people person’!!!!!" See all these reviews: 11n in Tanzania; 1n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Ms H & Ms P
BC

"Loved Nomad Serengeti Safari Camp!"

3 nights Arrived 2 Oct 2014
"Loved many thing about Nomad Serengeti Safari Camp, starting with the staff. The wait staff were fantastic (Babu for example :-)), the camp manager was wonderful to talk to and very attentive, and our guide Paul was excellent.

The tent was awesome (although Mom was a bit worried about security from animals and I do wonder if there are ever issues), the food was great, and the wildlife was absolutely outstanding." See all these reviews: 9n in Zambia; 3n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs F
Neterlands

"Nomad Serengeti Safari Camp"

3 nights Arrived 29 Sep 2014
"The second Nomad Camp we stayed at. It was also very well run and well organised by Joseph. All the staff were extremely helpful and kind. The chef produced some wonderful meals which we thoroughly enjoyed.

Philip was another exceptional guide who took us on some amazing game drives, notably to witness the migration of the wildebeest as they crossed the Mara river. We very appreciated his sense of humour, which took us in every now and again." See all these reviews: 9n in Tanzania; 8n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Family
London

"Wildlife at our doorstep"

3 nights Arrived 1 Aug 2014
"We were very happy here - we had incredible sights of wildlife, including spectacular wildebiest River Mara crossings . Due to the mobile character, we were very close to all animals, they were only short drives away from camp, whereas visitors from other camps/lodges were driving full days. We had an early drive (including picnic breakfast) of approx. 5 hours, then a long lunch break and another shorter drive in the early evenings of approx. 2 hours.

Very knowledgable, professional, friendly and competent guide who was the reasons that Serengeti was one of our highlights; very friendly and professional staff at the camp." See all these reviews: 12n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs G
EastEwell

"Nomad Serengeti Safari Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 31 Jul 2014
"Very very nice camp set on a hillside with a good view across the plaines when we were they. Exactly what we wished for. Very good main dining/sitting area and very well set out. Very good food. Very relaxed atmosphere.

Good game viewing trips across the Serengeti and exactly what is needed to get to the Mara River without too much of a drive and see the wilderbeast crossing. Also good sightings of most animals including lions, leopards, cheetah and also a back rhino and calf (if briefly).

Very good guide and knowledgable." See all these reviews: 15n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms C
Vista

"Great experience at Nomad Safari Camp"

3 nights Arrived 17 Feb 2014
"The camp was amazing, with a distant view of Ndutu Lake and quite luxurious for a semi-mobile camp. The beds were comfortable, lighting provided by solar lamps, hot water provided 3 times a day! The food was amazing as I have always found in safari camps. And, as always, the company fascinating. Our Nomad guide, Ally Kea was superlative with endless knowledge, entertaining stories with a quick wit and wonderful sense of humor. He made us feel so special on a daily basis. Anyone would be lucky to have him as their guide.

We were fortunate enough to experience the Serengeti from a hot air balloon and it's was an absolutely lovely perspective. Every day our safaris were exceptional and we always saw more than we ever expected partly thanks to Ally's keen eye." See all these reviews: 5n in Tanzania; 4n in Rwanda; 2n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
John
Australia

"Nomad Serengeti Safari Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 18 Jan 2014
"Great traditional safari camp, very charming.

There was a great community of people, with guides, camp host and other guests dinning together, really adding to the atmosphere. The service was impeccable, and the food pretty good." See all these reviews: 10n in Tanzania; 4n in Rwanda; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 21-30 of 50
97%
50 reviews of Nomad Serengeti Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
43
6
1
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Tanzania

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Tanzania.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Diving & snorkelling

Diving & snorkelling

Find captivating marine life beneath the waves

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Serengeti Migration Area

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Olakira

Olakira Camp

Comfortable, friendly and relaxed, Olakira Camp moves between the Mara River and the southern Ndutu area, in line with the wildebeest migration.


96% (66 reviews)
Sayari Camp

Sayari Camp

In the northern Serengeti, near the Mara River, luxurious Sayari Camp offers excellent wildife all year – boosted further by the wildebeest migration.


97% (60 reviews)
Dunia Camp

Dunia Camp

Dunia Camp is well located for the migration from December to March, and has excellent game viewing for the rest of the year.


94% (47 reviews)
Namiri Plains Camp

Namiri Plains Camp

Namiri Plains is one of the best camps in the Serengeti and its remoteness ensures a fantastic wildlife experience away from the crowds.


97% (36 reviews)
Lamai Serengeti

Lamai Serengeti

Set high in the kopjes with fantastic views, Lamai Serengeti offers top service and guiding and good migration sightings from Jul-Oct.


99% (34 reviews)
Ubuntu Camp

Ubuntu Camp

Ubuntu Camp has several locations in the Serengeti, following the wildebeest migration, so it is often in a great location to see the herds.


99% (21 reviews)
Kati Kati Camp

Kati Kati Camp

Kati Kati is a small, very simple bushcamp, which is well-positioned to explore the wildlife-rich Seronera area.


91% (22 reviews)
Ndutu Safari Lodge

Ndutu Safari Lodge

Large and economical, but not luxurious, Ndutu Safari Lodge is well located in the southern Serengeti, so book early to get space.


92% (12 reviews)
Kimondo Camp

Kimondo Camp

Kimondo Camp is based in the remote Lamai Wedge in the northern Serengeti from Jul–Oct, and on the southern Kusini plains from Nov–Mar.


98% (11 reviews)
Klein's Camp

Klein's Camp

Klein's Camp, in a private area of the northern Serengeti, sets high standards. Activities include walks, nights drives and Maasai village visits.


98% (10 reviews)
Alex Walker's Serian Serengeti

Serian Serengeti

Serian Serengeti is a mobile tented operation run by Alex Walker which moves between two locations following the wildebeest migration.


96% (10 reviews)
Serengeti under Canvas

Serengeti under Canvas

Two of the three Serengeti under Canvas camps move through the Serengeti National Park every few months to follow the wildebeest migration.


100% (10 reviews)
Grumeti River Camp

Grumeti River Camp

Grumeti River Camp offers a laid-back atmosphere combined with top service, first-rate food, expert guiding and an excellent location.


93% (9 reviews)
Lemala Nanyukie

Lemala Nanyukie

Lemala Nanyukie is a comfortable and stylish tented camp that opened in 2018 in the central Serengeti.


100% (6 reviews)
Lemala Mara-Ndutu

Lemala Mara-Ndutu

Lemala Mara-Ndutu is a semi-permanent camp that moves between the north and south of the Serengeti to witness the wildebeest migration.


100% (6 reviews)
Lemala Kuria Hills

Lemala Kuria Hills

Lemala Kuria Hills is a luxury permanent camp that is ideally located for wildlife all year around, but especially during the wildebeest migration.


100% (6 reviews)
Lemala Ewanjan

Lemala Ewanjan

Lemala Ewanjan is a comfortable and stylish tented camp in the Seronera area of the central Serengeti National Park.


96% (5 reviews)
Lobo Wildlife Lodge

Lobo Wildlife Lodge

The large Lobo Wildlife Lodge has simple, functional rooms in a stunning location. It's a good base for exploring the north-eastern Serengeti.


72% (5 reviews)
Kubu Kubu

Kubu Kubu

Kubu Kubu is a contemporary, tented lodge, well located in the central Seronera area of the Serengeti National Park.


100% (4 reviews)
Kusini Camp

Kusini Camp

Kusini Camp is permanent, luxury camp located on a beautiful kopje in a quiet, wildlife-rich corner of the south-west Serengeti.


65% (4 reviews)
Mbalageti Lodge

Mbalageti Lodge

Mbalageti is a well-run lodge in a quiet part of the Serengeti's western corridor – an ideal location during the Apr-Jun migration.


93% (3 reviews)
Serengeti Serena Safari Lodge

Serengeti Serena

The Serengeti Serena Safari Lodge is a large, hotel-style lodge and a good family-friendly base from which to explore the central Serengeti.


90% (4 reviews)
Singita Mara River Tented Camp

Singita Mara River

Singita Mara River Tented Camp is a luxurious camp in the isolated and rewarding Lamai wedge region of the northern Serengeti.


87% (3 reviews)
Serengeti Walking Mobile Camp

Serengeti Walking Mobile

This fairly simple camp offers only walking activities, but it's very well done and combines well with more conventional camps or lodges.


87% (3 reviews)
Serengeti Sopa Lodge

Serengeti Sopa Lodge

Serengeti Sopa Lodge is an international-style hotel offering good-value accommodation in the central Serengeti, with lovely views of the plains.


100% (3 reviews)
Serengeti Green Camp

Serengeti Green Camp

Serengeti Green Camp is a comfortable camping experience, in your own private safari camp and at the heart of a great wildlife area.


93% (3 reviews)
Serengeti Migration Camp

Migration Camp

Serengeti Migration Camp is a smart tented camp, good for the wildebeest migration from Jul–Aug, or to explore the Lobo Kopjes any time.


93% (3 reviews)
Faru Faru Lodge

Faru Faru Lodge

On the north bank of the Grumeti River, Faru Faru is a small, chic hideaway in this exclusive corner of the Serengeti.


100% (3 reviews)
Sabora Tented Camp

Sabora Tented Camp

Sabora Tented Camp is a smart tented camp – one of the most luxurious, professional and stylish properties to be found in Tanzania.


100% (2 reviews)
Kirurumu Migration Camp

Kirurumu Migration Camp

Kirurumu is a rustic tented camp which moves around the Serengeti twice a year to follow the wildebeest migration.


100% (2 reviews)
Sasakwa Lodge

Sasakwa Lodge

On a hill looking over the Serengeti plains, Sasakwa Lodge is grand, luxurious safari camp, one of the most opulent properties in Tanzania.


100% (2 reviews)
Olduvai Camp

Olduvai Camp

Olduvai Camp lies between Ngorongoro and the southern Serengeti plains. It's a good base for the southern plains during the rainy season.


60% (1 review)
Serengeti Bushtops

Bushtops

Serengeti Bushtops is a permanent luxury camp in the northern Serengeti, with spacious and private tents with their own hot tubs.


100% (1 review)
Ndutu Kati Kati

Ndutu Kati Kati

Ndutu Kati Kati is a seasonal tented camp, based in the southern Serenget from Dec-Mar, ideal for the migration as it passes through.


80% (1 review)
Mkombe's House Lamai

Mkombe's House Lamai

Mkombe's House Lamai is a fully staffed private house in the Wogakuria Kopjes district of Serengeti National Park.


100% (1 review)
Four Seasons Safari Lodge Serengeti

Four Seasons Serengeti

The Four Seasons Safari Lodge is the only hotel in the Serengeti offering international facilities such as a gym, spa and children’s club.


100% (1 review)
Lake Masek Tented Camp

Lake Masek Tented Camp

Ideally located for the wildebeest migration from Dec–Apr, Lake Masek Tented Camp is a good, mid-market safari camp.


100% (1 review)
Seronera Wildlife Lodge

Seronera Wildlife Lodge

Seronera Wildlife Lodge is large hotel-style safari lodge in the heart of the Serengeti, offering good value and a great location.


80% (1 review)
Mara Kati Kati

Mara Kati Kati

Mara Kati Kati is a simple bush camp in the northern Serengeti, based from Jul-Oct near the Mara River for the wildebeest migration.


No reviews yet
Kirawira Camp

Kirawira Camp

Set high on a hill, in the Serengeti's western corridor, Kirawira is a relatively large tented camp in the Serena group.


No reviews yet
Nimali Mara

Nimali Mara

Nimali Mara is a luxurious safari lodge in a quiet region of the northern Serengeti with good access to the wildebeest migration.


No reviews yet
Mwiba Lodge

Mwiba Lodge

Mwiba Lodge is a luxurious property located on a private concession on the edge of the southern Serengeti.


No reviews yet
Mara Mara

Mara Mara

Mara Mara is a smart tented camp in the northern Serengeti, situated on a small hill close to the Mara River.


No reviews yet
Mbuzi Mawe

Mbuzi Mawe

Mbuze Mawe is a comfortable tented camp in a convenient, central-north location when driving through the Serengeti.


No reviews yet
Serengeti Pioneer Camp

Serengeti Pioneer Camp

Serengeti Pioneer Camp is a luxurious tented camp in the central Serengeti, styled on African explorers' camps of the early 20th century.


No reviews yet
Taasa Lodge

Taasa Lodge

Taasa Lodge is a slightly quirky option offering guided walks and night game drives, which are not permitted in Serengeti National Park.


No reviews yet
Nimali Serengeti

Nimali Serengeti

Opened in July 2017, Nimali Serengeti is a smart, permanent tented camp located in the Seronera area of the central Serengeti.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa