This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr A from Great Falls

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

2

Lodges stayed in

9

Excursions taken

0

Absolutely incredible experience

Tanzania and 1 other country between 16 Jun 2016 and 13 Jul 2016

Trip rating: Excellent
"I generally plan my trips myself without a lot of input from agents. This time I relied heavily on your company and felt I was well rewarded for doing so. I never would have visited Akagera, Katavi, Mahale, Ruaha, or the Selous on my own. I likely would have confined my itinerary in Tanzania to the Serengeti and maybe Ngorongoro Crater. I'm really lucky to have taken James' advice.

In fact, one of my guides in the Serengeti was extremely impressed with my chosen itinerary, commenting that he didn't see many tourists who went that route.

Again, I'm very grateful for your help and would highly recommend your company in the future."

Ruzizi Tented Lodge

Ruzizi Tented Lodge

"Beautiful stay at Akagera Park"

3 nights Arrived 16 Jun 2016
"This was my first stop on my first trip to Africa. I had been warned that service standards might not be very high in Rwanda, but I didn't find that to be the case here at all. I had a spacious, private, very clean tent. The setting was amazing. I loved seeing the vervet moneys along the boardwalk. Food was very good as well.

The game viewing at Akagera was better than I had been led to believe. I saw elephant, giraffe, many buffalo, hippos, and crocs. The last day I managed to see a lion as well, no small task as there are only 14. I hadn't really known what to expect, but the experience was outstanding."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Mountain Gorilla View Lodge

Mountain Gorilla View Lodge

"Gorilla Mountain View Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 19 Jun 2016
"Very nice experience at Gorilla Mountain View. The lodge is quite a bit larger than the other places I stayed. The service was very friendly, and they certainly do an amazing job of cleaning boots. The area is rather chilly at night, but they always lit a fire in the cottage.

The gorilla and golden monkey treks were amazing, with outstanding guides. Truly an unforgettable experience. Food was simple but well prepared.

I really enjoyed taking a tour of the village of Gasura, which I would not have done without my guide, Bernard Munyankindi, who did a great job and was a terrific person to spend the week with. The village tour was enlightening and not the least bit touristy. I would highly recommend that to anyone."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Image alt

Own arrangements

"Own arrangements review"

1 night Arrived 22 Jun 2016
"Not much to say.
Stayed at the City Blue Hotel which was adequate if a bit uninspired.

Certainly met my need, which was a bed for the night and airport transportation."
Average
Nomad Serengeti Safari Camp

Nomad Serengeti Safari Camp

"Rustic luxury for the migration"

2 nights Arrived 23 Jun 2016
"This was my intro to the Serengeti, and I admit I didn't know what to expect.

The food, guiding, and accommodations were all excellent."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Nomad Serengeti Safari Camp

Nomad Serengeti Safari Camp

"Outstanding guides and camp life."

2 nights Arrived 25 Jun 2016
"Wonderful time here as well.

If I had it to do over again I maybe would have reversed the order of these two camps, as I probably would have appreciated the migration more if I had visited the north camp first.

My guide, Samuel, was very informative about the animals and the Maasai people alike. Saw three leopard, which was very exciting."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Chada Camp

Chada Camp

"Chada Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 27 Jun 2016
"Chada was a really fun trip into a more remote and less touristed area. It's been described as "simple," though as far as I could tell it lacked nothing in terms of food and accommodations. Julien was amazing as a host, very enthusiastic and great company.

We had lots of fun watching lion cubs. Maybe the only downside were the tse-tse flies, but even the were tolerable (more or less)."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Greystoke Mahale

Greystoke Mahale

"Greystoke Mahale review"

4 nights Arrived 30 Jun 2016
"I was a bit worried coming to Greystoke Mahale. It seemed so amazing in its descriptions I was afraid it would be a bit of a letdown. Rest assured it lived up to expectations.

We had three chimp treks. The first was a bit quiet, but the other two progressed nicely. Chimp trekking is a bit more hit and miss than, say, a gorilla trek, as the chimps don't stay in a tight group.

Out guide Mateus was top-notch, very conscience and extremely knowledgeable. And eating freshly caught sashimi was not something I expected on an African Safari."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Kigelia Camp

Kigelia Camp

"Kigelia Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 4 Jul 2016
"This was my fourth Nomad camp, and while they were all excellent Kigelia seemed to raise the bar another notch. Joel and his team ran a very tight ship, with excellent game viewing and great meals. Pinny was extremely personable and granted some terrific insight into Maasai life and culture.

I loved the tents, and this was far and away my favorite bucket shower, with an open-air view over the river bed.

It is a bit colder than the other camps in the mornings and evenings. Guests would be well advised to bring some cool weather clothing."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Beho Beho

Beho Beho

"Amazing setting and luxury."

5 nights Arrived 8 Jul 2016
"This was the perfect end to a month long safari. I had some misgivings on the way in, as other travelers had had less than stellar safari experiences in the Selous. But this was truly amazing.

I was delighted with the food served everywhere I stayed in Africa, but Beho Beho was the one place that had truly fine dining. Meals were served in a different setting every time. Hats off to Nico and the kitchen crew. We were treated to goat, duck, and lobster thermidor. Bar service was great.

Best of all, though, was the wide array of activities. After three weeks of game drives it was really nice to be able to get out and walk every day. The lake excursion was a tremendous experience as well.

And the guides, Heribert, Saningo, Godlisten, and Phil were all very professional.

The accommodations were simply stunning. I felt as though I was in Jurassic Park."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team