This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr L & Mrs M from Coventry

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

2

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

5

Excursions taken

0

My Feb 2018 trip

Tanzania between 14 Feb 2018 and 24 Feb 2018

Trip rating: Excellent
"We had an amazing time. It was the holiday of a lifetime for us.

Thank you to everyone who made it possible.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

No, keep up the good work, we'll be back!"

Mount Meru Game Lodge & Sanctuary

Mount Meru Game Lodge & Sanctuary

" This is a great place for a overnight stay"

1 night Arrived 15 Feb 2018
"The staff were friendly and helpful. The grounds were lovely; our room looked over the lake, which meant we had a fabulous view of all the animals. The food was also really nice with huge portions.

I would have liked to stayed a little longer to have chilled and swam in the pool, but our time was limited.

This is a great place for a overnight stay before heading out on safari."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Nomad Serengeti Safari Camp

Nomad Serengeti Safari Camp

"Authentic experience"

3 nights Arrived 16 Feb 2018
"We stayed at the Nomad Serengeti for 3 nights in February. We had an absolutely fabulous time. All the staff are amazing, nothing was too much trouble. They were so welcoming and friendly; we felt like they were our family.

Our guide Gabriel was excellent. We saw so much wildlife, including a wildebeest being born and a cheetah kill. The wildebeest migration around the Hidden Valley was the most amazing sight. The abundance of wildlife in the area is astounding.

The bush breakfasts were amazing. The food in the camp was truly gourmet standard; goodness knows how it is prepared with such basic facilities.

The tent was very authentic, with a very comfy bed, bucket showers and a chemical loo, but this all added to the experience.

We met some lovely people chatting around the camp fire and at the communal dinner.

We had a fantastic time, well done to all staff at Nomad Serengeti for looking after us so well."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Lamai Serengeti

Lamai Serengeti

"Luxury in the wild"

4 nights Arrived 19 Feb 2018
"We absolutely loved the Lamai. The staff were so friendly and fun loving, nothing was too much trouble. The camp managers Eric and Natasha were also fab, very warm and welcoming.

We enjoyed the communal dining and met some really interesting people during our stay.

The camp itself is really luxurious, which was perfect for us to chill after safaris. The view is outstanding, we looked out onto the Serengeti and saw klipspringers, hirax and an abundance of birds from our decking.

We were blessed with our wildlife sightings (which has to be down to the knowledge and expertise of our wonderful guide Emanuel). We saw Leopards, Cheetahs, Rhino, Lions, just to name a few.

We had the holiday of a lifetime, thank you so much to all the wonderful people at Lamai"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

My Aug 2017 trip

Tanzania between 5 Aug 2017 and 12 Aug 2017

Trip rating: Excellent
"This is our second safari with Expert Africa, and on each occasion they have been exceptional experiences. The whole process with Expert Africa was seamless and exemplary, from the initial enquiry, planning the itinerary, right through to the completion of the trip.

Having safaried with other providers in the past, we now appreciate, that our future trips will be with the Experts....in Africa."

Arranged By Lyndsey Marris


Southern Sun Dar

Southern Sun Dar

"Southern Sun Dar review"

1 night Arrived 5 Aug 2017
"Having arrived mid afternoon in Dar Es Salaam, we transferred to the Southern Sun for an overnight stay prior to our early morning flight to Selous Game Reserve. We were warmly greeted at the hotel with welcome drinks and shown to our room which was spacious, comfortable and quiet.Our evening meal in the hotel restaurant, offered a reasonably priced varied menu with friendly prompt service. The hotel provides a full comprehensive breakfast service from 04.00 am, which met our requirements perfectly, prior to our early morning transfer to Dar Es Salaam domestic terminal, and our onward flight to Selous. The hotel more than met our needs for a one night stop over and we would certainly return......and indeed recommend."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Selous Impala Camp

Selous Impala Camp

"...a little bit of paradise in Selous"

6 nights Arrived 6 Aug 2017
"Having read the reviews of this camp prior to our visit, it transpired to be far more than we ever imagined, and worthy of those glowing reviews.
From the outset we were warmly greeted by the ever attentive Nick, Crystal and staff...enough to say it's an absolute credit to them all.
The camp has a lovely warm friendly informal ambiance....not regimented and pretentious. Consideration to your safety and well being is paramount, hence you are accompanied between your tent and the dining area, in the evenings and early morning.

The tent accommodation is well located overlooking the river, constant hot water on tap, comfortable bed, electric lighting.....all mod cons! The attention of the fine detail, to the interior tent decoration is remarkable, and the invisible "Tent Boy".....( I think I may have got a brief glimpse of him at "wake up" tea time !!) services the tent to a very high standard, turning the bed linen each night.....even your laundry is catered for !!....nothing is to much trouble or overlooked

A nice touch is that your evening meal dining table is set in a different location each night, there's even a table with it's own adjacent camp fire...how imaginative is that !... bush babies and the camp Genet are more than willing to join you for dinner !
The meals are beautifully prepared, with good ingredients, freshly cooked, and varied....and the wine's really good too !......a real fine dining experience.....Many thanks to our always attentive waiter...Evans....we had some great chats.

We were here for the wildlife, and a special thank you to Ezra....this guy is truly an exceptional guide, his polite friendly manner, knowledge, passion, all coupled with an unlimited enthusiasm in searching for wildlife....He knows no bounds when it comes to enhancing your safari experience
He would frequently search "off road" for those special sightings, and as a direct result of his persistence, we saw everything we hoped for, and so much more than we ever envisaged (too many to list here) We even realised our ambition to see Wild Dogs !

Selous Impala Camp, genuinely do go that extra mile in providing an amazing guest experience on all levels, on our last night boat safari we were surprised with "Sundowner" at an beautiful location on the river bank, sipping chilled champagne, to a breathtaking African sunset...what a memorable way to end our stay.

If after reading this review, and you're undecided where to stay in Selous, stay here, you won't be disappointed.This camp has got it so right!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team