This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Lamai Serengeti
Lamai Serengeti
Lamai Serengeti
Lamai Serengeti
Lamai Serengeti
Lamai Serengeti
Lamai Serengeti

Reviews of Lamai Serengeti

Wildlife sightings and reviews

31 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Lamai Serengeti and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jul-2019, 2 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Lamai Serengeti.
Lion

100% success

Leopard

100% success

Cheetah

50% success

Wild dog

0% success

Buffalo

100% success

Eland

100% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Roan antelope

100% success

Spotted Hyena

100% success

Wildebeest

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Hippo

50% success

Oryx

50% success

Aardvark

0% success

Black Rhino

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Striped Hyena

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 31
Duration
Arrival date
Mrs B.
Basel

"Amazing camp"

3 nights Arrived 10 Oct 2019
"We loved Lamai!
We loved the food, the atmosphere, the rooms." See all these reviews: 8n in Tanzania; 7n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

10 sightings

Eland

10 sightings

Elephant

4 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Leopard

3 sightings

Lion

5 sightings

Oryx

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

5 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr M
Islington

"Lamai Serengeti - July 2019"

3 nights Arrived 19 Jul 2019
"Beautiful lodge, perfectly incorporated into the rocky hillside onto which it is situated.

Staff were all very friendly and helpful and the food was excellent. Our banda (number 7) was amazing - lots of space including a large outside terrace, very private and a breathtaking view over the Serengeti.

Most importantly for us, our guide Emmanuel was excellent and the wildlife was abundant. Cannot wait to visit again!" See all these reviews: 9n in Tanzania; 1n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Cheetah

1 sighting

Eland

Multiple sightings

Elephant

1 sighting

Giraffe

1 sighting

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Leopard

8 sightings

Lion

3 sightings

Roan antelope

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr L & Mrs M
Coventry

"Luxury in the wild"

4 nights Arrived 19 Feb 2018
"We absolutely loved the Lamai. The staff were so friendly and fun loving, nothing was too much trouble. The camp managers Eric and Natasha were also fab, very warm and welcoming.

We enjoyed the communal dining and met some really interesting people during our stay.

The camp itself is really luxurious, which was perfect for us to chill after safaris. The view is outstanding, we looked out onto the Serengeti and saw klipspringers, hirax and an abundance of birds from our decking.

We were blessed with our wildlife sightings (which has to be down to the knowledge and expertise of our wonderful guide Emanuel). We saw Leopards, Cheetahs, Rhino, Lions, just to name a few.

We had the holiday of a lifetime, thank you so much to all the wonderful people at Lamai" See all these reviews: 8n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms TG
London

"Lamai Serengeti review"

4 nights Arrived 19 Feb 2018
"The setting is simply stunning. This is a luxurious lodge, well run and, again, very welcoming. Staff, food, drinks, accommodation... everything was perfect.

However, tsetse flies remained the overwhelming problem they'd been on the two previous legs of my trip (Lake Manyara and Tarangire).

Emergency anti-histaminic pills and cream provided by the hugely helpful manageress Natasha rescued the final days of my trip." See all these reviews: 10n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs K
Guildford

"A special and memorable camp"

4 nights Arrived 12 Oct 2017
"We were due to stay in one of the mobile camps, however, it was destroyed by storm and Nomad moved us to Lamai.........a stroke of good fortune for us as it is an excellent camp and the game viewing exceeded any expectation we might have had.

Food was good and the Bandas excellent..........we were even able to get massage to ease our aching bones after a day in a jeep !

We were fortunate to see liion ( In numbers ), leopard and cheetah, big herds of zebra, elephant and wildebeest as well as giraffe and buffalo. The sighting of two kills and a crossing of the Mara ( complete with crocs ). Our guide ( Anufi ) was again excellent.........by now we had realised that Nomad's guides are the best !" See all these reviews: 20n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms G
Sarnia

"Beautiful Lamai Serengeti"

4 nights Arrived 19 Sep 2017
"This camp was even better than I thought a camp in the Serengeti would be. The staff were excellent (acting manager - Katie, Milton, Baracka, our guide - Emmanuel). The food was great. Once again, they did a great job of accommodating our vegan diets.

Our driver was highly knowledgeable and very courteous. He took care of us very well. We saw so many amazing animals thanks to Emmanuel's knowledge of the area and the behaviour of the animals.

The breakfast out in the plains every day was such a treat. Receiving tea and coffee in our room first thing in the morning was also very special.

We loved our time at Lamai! Thank you!" See all these reviews: 9n in Tanzania; 4n in Rwanda
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Martina
Austria

"In the Midst of Migration !"

3 nights Arrived 12 Jul 2017
"Apart from the fact that this was the first time we had to share the guide as well as the car with other people ( which went well ) we had now definitely left the solitude of the former parks ( the parking space near the airstrip was already overcrowded ).

Still our experiences were again outstanding: driving for nearly an hour among thousands and thousands of gnus (wilderbeests), watching a group of them crossing the Mara river (in this case fortunately unbloody !), spotting a male lion myself for the first time (just about four meters from the car !), the endless plain of the Seregeti alone is breathtaking........

Our guide Anafi was competent, but had to be asked to "share his wisdom" with us ....." See all these reviews: 21n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
EBL
Brookline

"Lamai Serengeti - exceptional"

3 nights Arrived 18 Feb 2017
"We saved the best for last - or perhaps Nomad set it up that way! It is hard to imagine anyone not loving Nomad Lamai. We thought we had dropped into an alternate universe or a spread from a glossy magazine. The views, the cottages, the common lounge, the private dining nooks, the food, the gracious hosting of Clyde and Helen, the spa-like swimming pool, and the giant granite rock clusters of the Kopje were all wonderful.

Our guide, Musa, was on the prowl for every animal we had not yet observed, and he tracked down the elusive black rhinos and then avoided a last minute charge by one of them. We spent the better part of a morning watching the huge Lamai lion pride (22) hanging out in the shade while one of the large males dragged a zebra kill from place to place - hogging it to himself with ferocious roars at the lionesses who actually made the kill.

Watching the dawn break from our bed was one of the most memorable things I have ever seen. Meals were buffet style and breakfast and lunch, and dinner was served by candlelight with other guests and shared stories. It was not migration season, and hence much more quiet with less obvious animal activity, which gave us time to watch things unfold without several jeeps converging at every sighting. We loved everything about Lamai and couldn't complain about a thing. Great, friendly staff who were so eager to please. Thank you!" See all these reviews: 10n in Tanzania; 5n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs B
Winchester

"Experienced the migration from Lamai "

2 nights Arrived 28 Oct 2016
"A fascinating location, high in the rocky outcrops, with great views. Well equipped rooms with great viewing balconies. Comfortable central dining area and bar.
Lamai was full with guests and travel agents on fam trips, so felt quite busy by comparison to Nomad serengeti, where we had been the only guests. The food was good, if a bit unimaginative, given the permanent kitchen facilities and staff.
Our guide, Moussa, appeared confident and competent, although we never managed to track down any cheetahs or rhinos. We did satisfy one big objective, which was to observe the wildebeest migration across the Mara river - quite unforgettable." See all these reviews: 12n in Tanzania; 1n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Ms J
Denmark

"Truly spectacular views, lovely service"

4 nights Arrived 24 Oct 2016
"The spectacular views alone would merit a visit to this lodge. We loved the views both from the lodge & from our room. Our room was very comfortably appointed, & the food & the service were superior. We had excellent guides & saw a wide variety of wildlife. Altogether, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Lamai Serengeti.

We found the trek up to our cabin from the lodge slightly challenging, but we are rather elderly.

Again, the personnel were most helpful" See all these reviews: 10n in Tanzania; 10n in Kenya; 3n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Showing 1-10 of 31
99%
31 reviews of Lamai Serengeti by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
29
2
0
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Tanzania

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Tanzania.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Diving & snorkelling

Diving & snorkelling

Find captivating marine life beneath the waves

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Serengeti Migration Area

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Olakira

Olakira Camp

Comfortable, friendly and relaxed, Olakira Camp moves between the Mara River and the southern Ndutu area, in line with the wildebeest migration.


96% (60 reviews)
Sayari Camp

Sayari Camp

In the northern Serengeti, near the Mara River, luxurious Sayari Camp offers excellent wildife all year – boosted further by the wildebeest migration.


98% (58 reviews)
Nomad Serengeti Safari Camp

Nomad Serengeti Camp

Serengeti Safari Camp is a well-appointed tented camp that moves several times a year to follow the predicted path of the migration.


97% (48 reviews)
Dunia Camp

Dunia Camp

Dunia Camp is well located for the migration from December to March, and has excellent game viewing for the rest of the year.


93% (44 reviews)
Namiri Plains Camp

Namiri Plains Camp

Namiri Plains is one of the best camps in the Serengeti and its remoteness ensures a fantastic wildlife experience away from the crowds.


97% (31 reviews)
Ubuntu Camp

Ubuntu Camp

Ubuntu Camp has several locations in the Serengeti, following the wildebeest migration, so it is often in a great location to see the herds.


99% (22 reviews)
Kati Kati Camp

Kati Kati Camp

Kati Kati is a small, simple camp, which is well-positioned to explore the wildlife-rich Seronera area.


91% (20 reviews)
Ndutu Safari Lodge

Ndutu Safari Lodge

Large and economical, but not luxurious, Ndutu Safari Lodge is well located in the southern Serengeti, so book early to get space.


93% (11 reviews)
Kimondo Camp

Kimondo Camp

Kimondo Camp is based in the remote Lamai Wedge in the northern Serengeti from Jul–Oct, and on the southern Kusini plains from Nov–Mar.


98% (11 reviews)
Kleins Camp

Klein's Camp

Klein's Camp, in a private area of the northern Serengeti, sets high standards. Activities include walks, nights drives and Maasai village visits.


98% (10 reviews)
Serengeti under Canvas

Serengeti under Canvas

Two of the three Serengeti under Canvas camps move through the Serengeti National Park every few months to follow the wildebeest migration.


100% (10 reviews)
Grumeti River Camp

Grumeti River Camp

Grumeti River Camp offers a laid-back atmosphere combined with top service, first-rate food, expert guiding and an excellent location.


93% (9 reviews)
Alex Walker's Serian Serengeti

Serian Serengeti

Serian Serengeti is a mobile tented operation run by Alex Walker which moves between two locations following the wildebeest migration.


98% (8 reviews)
Lobo Wildlife Lodge

Lobo Wildlife Lodge

The large Lobo Wildlife Lodge has simple, functional rooms in a stunning location. It's a good base for exploring the north-eastern Serengeti.


72% (5 reviews)
Kusini Camp

Kusini Camp

Kusini Camp is permanent, luxury camp located on a beautiful kopje in a quiet, wildlife-rich corner of the south-west Serengeti.


65% (4 reviews)
Kubu Kubu

Kubu Kubu

Kubu Kubu is a contemporary, tented lodge, well located in the central Seronera area of the Serengeti National Park.


100% (4 reviews)
Mbalageti Lodge

Mbalageti Lodge

Mbalageti is a well-run lodge in a quiet part of the Serengeti's western corridor – an ideal location during the Apr-Jun migration.


80% (4 reviews)
Lemala Ewanjan

Lemala Ewanjan

Lemala Ewanjan is a comfortable and stylish tented camp in the Seronera area of the central Serengeti National Park.


100% (4 reviews)
Lemala Kuria Hills

Lemala Kuria Hills

Lemala Kuria Hills is a luxury permanent camp that is ideally located for wildlife all year around, but especially during the wildebeest migration.


100% (4 reviews)
Faru Faru Lodge

Faru Faru Lodge

On the north bank of the Grumeti River, Faru Faru is a small, chic hideaway in this exclusive corner of the Serengeti.


100% (3 reviews)
Singita Mara River Tented Camp

Singita Mara River

Singita Mara River Tented Camp is a luxurious camp in the isolated and rewarding Lamai wedge region of the northern Serengeti.


87% (3 reviews)
Serengeti Walking Mobile Camp

Serengeti Walking Mobile

This fairly simple camp offers only walking activities, but it's very well done and combines well with more conventional camps or lodges.


87% (3 reviews)
Serengeti Sopa Lodge

Serengeti Sopa Lodge

Serengeti Sopa Lodge is an international-style hotel offering good-value accommodation in the central Serengeti, with lovely views of the plains.


100% (3 reviews)
Serengeti Green Camp

Serengeti Green Camp

Serengeti Green Camp is a comfortable camping experience, in your own private safari camp and at the heart of a great wildlife area.


93% (3 reviews)
Serengeti Migration Camp

Migration Camp

Serengeti Migration Camp is a smart tented camp, good for the wildebeest migration from Jul–Aug, or to explore the Lobo Kopjes any time.


93% (3 reviews)
Sabora Tented Camp

Sabora Tented Camp

Sabora Tented Camp is a smart tented camp – one of the most luxurious, professional and stylish properties to be found in Tanzania.


100% (2 reviews)
Lemala Mara-Ndutu

Lemala Mara-Ndutu

Lemala Mara-Ndutu is a semi-permanent camp that moves between the north and south of the Serengeti to witness the wildebeest migration.


100% (2 reviews)
Sasakwa Lodge

Sasakwa Lodge

On a hill looking over the Serengeti plains, Sasakwa Lodge is grand, luxurious safari camp, one of the most opulent properties in Tanzania.


100% (2 reviews)
Lake Masek Tented Camp

Lake Masek Tented Camp

Ideally located for the wildebeest migration from Dec–Apr, Lake Masek Tented Camp is a good, mid-market safari camp.


100% (1 review)
Four Seasons Safari Lodge Serengeti

Four Seasons Serengeti

The Four Seasons Safari Lodge is the only hotel in the Serengeti offering international facilities such as a gym, spa and children’s club.


100% (1 review)
Lemala Nanyukie

Lemala Nanyukie

Lemala Nanyukie is a comfortable and stylish tented camp that opened in 2018 in the central Serengeti.


100% (1 review)
Mkombe's House Lamai

Mkombe's House Lamai

Mkombe's House Lamai is a fully staffed private house in the Wogakuria Kopjes district of Serengeti National Park.


100% (1 review)
Ndutu Kati Kati

Ndutu Kati Kati

Ndutu Kati Kati is a seasonal tented camp, based in the southern Serenget from Dec-Mar, ideal for the migration as it passes through.


80% (1 review)
Serengeti Serena Safari Lodge

Serengeti Serena

The Serengeti Serena Safari Lodge is a large, hotel-style lodge and a good family-friendly base from which to explore the central Serengeti.


100% (1 review)
Seronera Wildlife Lodge

Seronera Wildlife Lodge

Seronera Wildlife Lodge is large hotel-style safari lodge in the heart of the Serengeti, offering good value and a great location.


80% (1 review)
Olduvai Camp

Olduvai Camp

Olduvai Camp lies between Ngorongoro and the southern Serengeti plains. It's a good base for the southern plains during the rainy season.


60% (1 review)
Serengeti Bushtops

Bushtops

Serengeti Bushtops is a permanent luxury camp in the northern Serengeti, with spacious and private tents with their own hot tubs.


100% (1 review)
Mara Kati Kati

Mara Kati Kati

Mara Kati Kati is a simple bush camp in the northern Serengeti, based from Jul-Oct near the Mara River for the wildebeest migration.


No reviews yet
Kirawira Camp

Kirawira Camp

Set high on a hill, in the Serengeti's western corridor, Kirawira is a relatively large tented camp in the Serena group.


No reviews yet
Kirurumu Migration Camp

Kirurumu Migration Camp

Kirurumu is a rustic tented camp which moves around the Serengeti twice a year to follow the wildebeest migration.


No reviews yet
Nimali Mara

Nimali Mara

Nimali Mara is a luxurious safari lodge in a quiet region of the northern Serengeti with good access to the wildebeest migration.


No reviews yet
Mwiba Lodge

Mwiba Lodge

Mwiba Lodge is a luxurious property located on a private concession on the edge of the southern Serengeti.


No reviews yet
Mara Mara

Mara Mara

Mara Mara is a smart tented camp in the northern Serengeti, situated on a small hill close to the Mara River.


No reviews yet
Mbuzi Mawe

Mbuzi Mawe

Mbuze Mawe is a comfortable tented camp in a convenient, central-north location when driving through the Serengeti.


No reviews yet
Serengeti Pioneer Camp

Serengeti Pioneer Camp

Serengeti Pioneer Camp is a luxurious tented camp in the central Serengeti, styled on African explorers' camps of the early 20th century.


No reviews yet
Taasa Lodge

Taasa Lodge

Taasa Lodge is a slightly quirky option offering guided walks and night game drives, which are not permitted in Serengeti National Park.


No reviews yet
Nimali Serengeti

Nimali Serengeti

Opened in July 2017, Nimali Serengeti is a smart, permanent tented camp located in the Seronera area of the central Serengeti.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa