This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr & Mrs M from E Sussex

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

4

Countries visited

5

Lodges stayed in

16

Excursions taken

0

My September 2016 holiday

Kenya between 22 Sep 2016 and 30 Sep 2016

Trip rating: Excellent
"We had the most amazing time. We were a family of six adults who have all had a lot of experience in Africa.

We felt that Laikipia Wilderness Camp was truly special and suited us perfectly as we are all country people who adore the bush. We loved the amount of freedom and lack of routine which meant that every day was different. We could relax in a bush environment, seeing animals, birds, fishing etc. and feel that we were in 'proper' Africa.

This was balanced well with more luxury at Elsa's Kopje which we all enjoyed. Elsa's is in a fabulous location and there is always very good game and birding there. The managers, Philip and Charlie, run the camp extremely well and are very attentive to guests needs. We did a lot of driving on this trip, first to Laikipia and then between Laikipia and Elsa's. The drivers were good but each drive was a bit long and bumpy, although very interesting. This was not helped that on both occasions, the drivers were very late.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

None"

Arranged By Richard Trillo


Eka Hotel

Eka Hotel

"Perfect Overnight stop"

1 night Arrived 22 Sep 2016
"Eka is a very good business type hotel, suitable for a one/two night stop over. We arrived late from London and were leaving early the next morning.

Everyone was very pleased to have a great meal in the Spur restaurant next door when we arrived!"
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Laikipia Wilderness

Laikipia Wilderness

"Amazing Experience at Laikipia Wilderness Cam"

4 nights Arrived 23 Sep 2016
"This is one of the best camps we have been to in Africa and was perfect for our family of six adults. Because it is so small and not part of a conservancy or national park, there is an amazing freedom here. We were made to feel like family and each day was different.

We saw plenty of game, and all the big five. We tracked the wild dogs on several occasions, and spent time watching them hunt and interact which was incredibly special.

We did some great walks, went swimming in a waterfall, spent time fishing, camped out one night, had meals out in the bush, and felt that it was as how Africa should be. The food was very good and everyone in the camp was friendly and looked after us very well."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Elsa's Kopje

Elsa's Kopje

"Very Special Camp"

3 nights Arrived 27 Sep 2016
"This was our fourth time to Elsa's Kopje. Obviously, we love it here.

The game is excellent as are the birds. The camp itself is beautifully situated on the Kopje with lovely rooms and incredible views, and a beautiful infinity pool that looks over the plains. The food is delicious and the whole camp is run extremely well.

We enjoy going into the Rhino enclosure to spot the rhino and always find it amazing that considering how many rhino are in there, it is still hard to find them!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

December Tanzanian trip 2013

Tanzania and 1 other country between 23 Dec 2013 and 9 Jan 2014

Trip rating: Excellent
"Our trip was brilliant and we had a fantastic time. We found the wildebeest migration excellent, and saw a huge amount of game in the varying places. Some of it, very special. Our guide, Godwin, provided by Nomad, was great fun and very enjoyable to spend time with. He was also very good at finding the animals. Very much enjoyed the Nomad camp and met some great people. Although, Kirurumu was in a great location, we probably would have preferred to go somewhere not quite so bush, especially after the Nomad experience. We all were ready to have proper showers and toilets! The Crater itself was beautiful and well worth visiting. The good thing about our location was that we could get into the Crater early and avoid some of the crowds.

Zanzibar was great and we really loved Pongwe Beach Hotel. It's a beautiful place with a great bar, restaurant and sitting area. It was very relaxing and we enjoyed walking to a local restaurant for lunch one day. Only negative thing was being in the garden rooms, rather than the sea facing, as they were much better rooms with more breeze. We left one night early so that we could go to Stone town and had a great night there at Emerson Spice. We very much enjoyed Stone Town.

Beho Beho and the Selous were fantastic. Our room had a magnificent view and it was very luxurious. The whole lodge emphasises the luxury and it is very comfortable with great food. Unfortunately, we were the only ones there for the majority of our stay, so it felt a bit empty. However, the managers, guides and staff were extremely friendly and knowledgeable and did their utmost to make us feel at home. We saw a lot of game and did some walking, although it was extremely hot while we were there so could not walk as much as I would have liked.

Once again, Expert Africa organised a brilliant trip for us and everything went extremely smoothly. Only one issue was with Echo Tours in Zanzibar who failed to pick us up on time on two occasions. In their defence, we had changed the times, but had given them plenty of notice."

Arranged By Elizabeth Chapman


Nomad Serengeti Safari Camp

Nomad Serengeti Safari Camp

"Great Location at Nomad"

4 nights Arrived 24 Dec 2013
"Very much enjoyed the Nomad camp. Although a mobile camp and fairly temporary, the tents were good and the main mess tent was very comfortable. Very much situated in the bush and the atmosphere at the camp was fabulous.

The service was extremely good and friendly, and the food was excellent. It was great sitting around the campfire each night.

We had a brilliant guide, called Godwin, who was very knowledgeable, and who we all enjoyed spending time with. We were extremely lucky in that the wildebeest migration was happening around us and we also saw so much game it made it all very special.

We were at the camp for Christmas and the management went out of their way to make this a special time for us. It was very much appreciated."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Kirurumu Ngorongoro Lodge

Kirurumu Ngorongoro Lodge

"Kirurumu Ngorongoro Lodge"

2 nights Arrived 28 Dec 2013
"The location of this lodge was great as it was right on the rim and it was easy to access the crater, enabling us to be one of the first people down in the crater in the morning. We found the camp a bit basic and it felt that it had just been put in this clearing fairly recently. Our tents were on a slope and our shower area was quite uneven, although I don't think it was as bad in the other tent. The food was not very good either.

However, the staff were very friendly and accommodating. The best thing about the camp was its location, and we felt more kindly about it when we saw how far away some of the other camps were."
Average
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Rooms
Average
Food
Average
Pongwe Beach Hotel

Pongwe Beach Hotel

"Idyllic Beach at Pongwe"

5 nights Arrived 30 Dec 2013
"Pongwe is a fabulous place to stay. Situated on a lovely beach and the lodge itself has a great bar and dining room, all open to the beach. The food here was excellent as was the friendly service with a few special touches, such as bringing fruit down to the beach each day.

The infinity swimming pool was a wonderful extra, especially when the tide was out. We had a brilliant New Year's Eve celebration here with a delicious seafood BBQ on the beach, followed by dancing. Great fun, and very well organised.

It was very hot while we were here although there was a strong sea breeze. As we were in the garden rooms, we didn't really benefit from the sea breeze. Our only disappointment with Pongwe was that we were not in sea facing rooms."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Beho Beho

Beho Beho

"Beho Beho"

5 nights Arrived 4 Jan 2014
"Very much enjoyed Beho Beho where we spent five nights. The quality of the lodge is superior and our banda was very well designed with lovely views. The managers and staff were very friendly and their game and bird knowledge was superb. We really enjoyed the water hole and seeing the animals come up at night.

We had an excellent day trip to Lake Tagalala with very good game and bird viewing, and I did a very enjoyable morning walk in the bush.

Unfortunately, apart from two nights, we were the only ones in the lodge which made it rather quiet. It would have made for a more social atmosphere if there had been other people staying."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

South Luangwa Trip Jun 2012

Zambia between 16 Jun 2012 and 23 Jun 2012

Trip rating: Excellent
"We had a tremendous trip which was very enjoyable.

Once again, Ellie and Expert Africa had organised everything very well which meant that we had no worries about the connections between the camps and everything went very smoothly.

In retrospect, everyone preferred Tafika to Mwamba and all thought they would go back. We were disappointed with the Camp Out and all felt that it was Patrick who made Mwamba. Perhaps Mwamba was a little too rustic.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

We are very pleased with the high quality of service that you offer, and your personal knowledge of the camps."

Tafika

Tafika

"Memorable Tafika"

4 nights Arrived 16 Jun 2012
"From the moment we all arrived at Tafika, we were made to feel at home and part of the family. We were lucky to see leopard the first night, and the excellent game and bird viewing continued from there. All the staff were very friendly and helpful, and John and Heather looked after us extremely well. Rhoda's food was delicious every day and we were impressed with the amount of vegetables and salad grown in their own garden.

We all gained knowledge from Brian's excellent guiding and expertise and never felt hurried when we wanted to stop and look at birds or watch animals. The evening drives with the sundowners beside the river listening and watching the hippos, and then the spotting in the dark meant that we saw a huge number of nocturnal animals.

That part of the South Luanga Park is slightly restricted, so after four days, we became familiar with the drives. However, it was not a problem as we continued to see new animals and birds. Our walk with Brian was interesting and informative and it was impressive to watch Brighton make a fire with a stick. The three of us who went up in the micro-light with John found the experience exhilarating and very worthwhile. Crossing the South Luangwa by canoe to go to our next camp was part of the fun.

In all, a superior camp where we all felt very relaxed and saw a lot of game and birds."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Mwamba Bushcamp

Mwamba Bushcamp

"Mwamba Bushcamp Review"

1 night Arrived 20 Jun 2012
"Mwamba is a small and fairly rustic camp with the main dining/living area set outside in the bush.

The staff were very attentive and friendly, and looked after us well. The game and bird viewing were good and Patrick is a superior guide with excellent knowledge and skills, and a very pleasant companion. Two of the party who stayed in the camp while the rest of us went to the Camp Out were well looked after by Myam."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Mwamba Camp-out

Mwamba Camp-out

"Mwamba Camp Out"

1 night Arrived 21 Jun 2012
"The four of us had a fabulous walk into the Camp Out with Patrick and Gideon. We felt very safe with them and saw lion, leopard, hyena, buffalo and elephant, amongst other things. Very unusual for a bush walk. However, we all felt that the standard of the Camp Out was not good enough, in spite of having very good support staff who travelled by vehicle to set the camp up. There were only two chairs for the four of us and no table. We slept on mattresses covered by mosquito nets, with no privacy for undressing and the toilet arrangements were behind a bush. Our supper was a stew, which although tasty was rather sparse. The next morning we walked to meet the support staff at another location, where they cooked a very good breakfast for us.

We felt that although we wanted a 'bush' experience and sleeping out, we would have like fly tents, chairs and a table."
Average
Location
Average
Service
Good
Rooms
Poor
Food
Average
Mwamba Bushcamp

Mwamba Bushcamp

"Mwamba"

1 night Arrived 22 Jun 2012
"See previous comments on Mwamba [Ed: see below]"
Good

A great holiday

Namibia between 16 Sep 2010 and 28 Sep 2010

Trip rating: Excellent
"Overall we thoroughly enjoyed the holiday.

Desert Rhino was our favourite place, followed by Ongava, Serra Cafema and then last would be Doro Nawas. We wouldn't stay at the Heinitzburg again.

The driving around was easy. You provided us with excellent information and all your arrangements were very well organised so we always knew where we were meant to be. If we did a trip again to Namibia, I think we would self-drive more or sort out a tented safari.

A negative we found with Namibia is that because of limited accommodation and because there are well-known sights, there is a sort of circuit that everyone appears to be doing, which made it feel a bit touristy.

On the positive side, the people are lovely and very helpful, and the country felt very safe to move around in.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

Not really, we felt that Expert Africa did a very good job and were very helpful. however, having spent many holidays and lived in Africa, we did feel that Namibia is a very expensive destination."

Arranged By Sabina Hekandjo


Heinitzburg Hotel

Heinitzburg Hotel

"Surreal night at the Heinitzburg Hotel"

1 night Arrived 16 Sep 2010
"Although the hotel couldn't be faulted for its service or comfort, it wasn't our type of hotel. It would have been well suited in a European city, but had no 'African' feel or connection to Namibia.

We decided to eat there that night, as the view was so good from the terrace. However, the wine list was very over-priced and the food, although good, was rather pretentious. Having waiters wearing white gloves and whisking off silver tureens in unison, felt very peculiar in the middle of a small African city."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Desert Rhino Camp

Desert Rhino Camp

"Fantastic atmosphere at Desert Rhino Camp"

3 nights Arrived 17 Sep 2010
"We loved Desert Rhino Camp.

Everyone was very welcoming and friendly. It has a great atmosphere and we enjoyed the communal dining with our guides and the camp managers. It has a very relaxed feel and the scenery is fantastic.

We enjoyed the rhino tracking immensely."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Ongava Tented Camp

Ongava Tented Camp

"Ongava Tented Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 20 Sep 2010
"We enjoyed having a waterhole in front of the main area which is very busy with game.

Although everyone was very friendly here, we didn't feel it had the same relaxed feel as at Desert Rhino. There seemed to be much more of a separation between managers and staff.

Our tent was right next to the main area, which meant it was a little public at times. However, the quality of the room itself was extremely good.

We had fanatastic game viewing and had a great day in Etosha."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Doro Nawas

Doro Nawas

"Below Par Doro Nawas"

2 nights Arrived 23 Sep 2010
"Doro Nawas was the least favourite part of our trip.

It was too large and did not have the personal touch. At times, it felt like a Butlin's holiday camp with the Activities Manager coming round to ask about what we wanted to do the next day.

We had to complain about lack of hot water, which although they tried to sort out, and did offer to move us, we declined as was told it was fixed, only to find no hot water again the next day... We were shocked at the cost of the activities from the camp. Luckily, we did not do full board and had already done all the local activities.

We had pre-paid for the desert elephant safari which was lucky as the cost from the camp was again totally excessive. To make matters worse, they put 9 people in the game truck, which is far too many for comfort or being able to take photos, especially in light of what they were charging.

The food was also not good at this camp.

Normally, we don't enjoy the singing from the staff, but at Doro Nawas they obviously really enjoyed themselves and the singing was very good."
Average
Location
Good
Service
Average
Activities
Poor
Rooms
Average
Food
Average
Serra Cafema

Serra Cafema

"Beautiful Serra Cafema"

3 nights Arrived 25 Sep 2010
"The scenery at Serra Cafema is unbelievable. The camp is very special in a great location.

We couldn't fault it and had a great time there as the food is very good and there are interesting activities. However, it was too luxurious for us as we prefer to be part of the bush a bit more and prefer a simpler African experience.

We also suffered with lack of hot water here too!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team