This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Vundu Camp
Vundu Camp
Vundu Camp
Vundu Camp
Vundu Camp
Vundu Camp
Vundu Camp
Vundu Camp
Vundu Camp

Reviews of Vundu Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

38 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Vundu Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 13 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Vundu Camp.
Lion

77% success

Leopard

17% success

Cheetah

0% success

Wild dog

75% success

Elephant

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Buffalo

92% success

Eland

92% success

Spotted Hyena

92% success

Roan antelope

31% success

Sable antelope

15% success

Aardvark

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Wildebeest

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 38
Duration
Arrival date
Wiljo
Norfolk

"Vundu Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 1 Oct 2019
"The accommodation, catering and guiding were all excellent.

We had morning and afternoon game drives and the latter incorporated night drives in the final hour driving back to camp after dark. There is an elevated hide overlooking a waterhole behind the Camp which afforded some great animal and bird sightings in between game drives.

Being able to walk from the vehicle provided a unique perspective and we were privileged to see a couple of "tree climbing" elephants "performing" and the local wild dog pack with their pups. The area was parched and at least 2 of the 4 Pools were long since dry. The wildlife was clearly struggling which made for some interesting interactions." See all these reviews: 16n in Botswana; 10n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

4 sightings

Eland

6 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Leopard

10 sightings

Lion

1 sighting

Roan antelope

1 sighting

Sable antelope

1 sighting

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Wild dog

2 sightings

Zebra

8 sightings

B family
Surrey

"Great stay"

4 nights Arrived 14 Sep 2019
"An authentic experience. Des was a wonderful hostess and Mitchell Riley an absolutely excellent guide.

The wild dog experience is in danger of being over hyped, as they are not easy to see even close to the den.

But there is plenty of other wildlife and great area for walking. Scenically beautiful." See all these reviews: 13n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs R
Hants

"Wild dogs and standing elephant at Vundu Camp"

3 nights Arrived 12 Sep 2019
"Vundu Camp is a simple bush camp with everything you need but no frills, not even biscuits with your coffee or crisps with sundowners! But it is lovely...set between the Zambezi and a muddy waterhole the camp is open to wildlife. We were met by a large elephant standing feet away from the main building. The tents are well equipped with indoor and outdoor bathrooms with plumbed showers and generous supplies of hot water. The central area under a large tree is cosy and friendly.

The wildlife sightings were fascinating although drought meant many grazing animals looked poor. It was a wonderful to see wild dogs at their den with young puppies. Also to see one of the famous Mana Pools elephants standing on his back legs to reach the higher branches. Lovely sightings of carmine bee eater, racket-tailed roller and other birds. Despite feeling busier than the other areas of Zimbabwe we visited, there were seldom other vehicles in sight.

Our guide was excellent and we had the chance to walk towards the dogs and a group of lions. The camp's owners are committed to working for the protection of wildlife, especially the "painted wolves" in the area." See all these reviews: 12n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

5 sightings

Eland

10 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Lion

5 sightings

Spotted Hyena

3 sightings

Wild dog

1 sighting

Zebra

10 sightings

Mrs B
Oxon

"Real Bush Safari at Vundu Camp"

3 nights Arrived 7 Jul 2019
"First Class guiding and sightings

Authentic bush camp atmosphere

Food was too copious in quantity and needs a little more refinement and imagination.

" See all these reviews: 13n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Eland

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Roan antelope

Multiple sightings

Sable antelope

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr & Mrs J
Oxforshire

"Vundu Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 7 Jul 2019
"Again staff all very welcoming rooms a little more basic than previous camp. Food was very good just too much on your plate at dinner.

Would have preferred the buffet service that all the other camps used you could always go back for more food therefore less waste.

Overall we had an amazing holiday, very well looked after by all concerned." See all these reviews: 13n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Buffalo

1 sighting

Eland

1 sighting

Elephant

1 sighting

Hippo

1 sighting

Lion

1 sighting

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Zebra

1 sighting

Mr & Mrs L
Hinckley

"Vundu Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 20 Jun 2019
"Good points: guiding from Jim Mackie was excellent ... knowledgeable, helpful, caring. Situation by the river was lovely, giving some beautiful moments both early morning and at sundowner time. Both of us were suffering from heavy colds when we arrived and we were very sympathetically looked after. Cabin/tent was spacious and comfortable. Elephant encounters were, at times, magical. Specifically, to spend time (approx 45 mins) on foot in the close company of "Spike" and, equally, to see "Boswell" do his "standing on his back legs" trick.
Not so good points: one of the major reasons for choosing to visit Mana Pools was to see the wild dogs ... alas we didn't. We also didn't see any of the large cats or hyenas. We do appreciate that the wildlife cannot be "planned" - but it was nevertheless disappointing. Regarding the room: water is heated by an open fire under a boiler. This is efficient in producing hot water, but at times we were aware of smoke smells in the room and on returning home we noticed that all our clothes smelt of wood smoke ... even our bags had to washed. We have been in camps elsewhere with similar systems without problems. Perhaps Vundu should invest in solar panels?" See all these reviews: 10n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Sightings Report

Buffalo

6 sightings

Eland

5 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr & Mrs C
Berwick

"Dogs... but much,much more"

5 nights Arrived 3 May 2019
"We were the first visitors of the season and had the camp to ourselves for a couple of nights. Owner Nick Murray and his wife were away at a trade fair and we were well looked after by manager Natalie and very experienced freelance guide Jim Mackie, who has an encyclopaedic knowledge of wildlife (no doubt helped by being a former park warden).

The scenery here is spectacular, from the views over the Zambezi as you fly in to the different landscapes as you explore the area.

Most people come here hoping to see painted dogs and we did so on three occasions (once on our own). Again it had been a poor wet season so waterholes were all but dry with animals relying on the river. Elephants were swimming or walking across the shallower parts.

Jim's night drives were very productive with sightings of genets, civets, hyena and white tailed mongoose. And he was brilliant at spotting and identifying birds. It's worth taking the afternoon canoe trip - avoiding the hippos and crocs! - to gain a different perspective.

We enjoyed several excellent bush walks including tracking three lionesses who had left their prints in camp overnight.

Breakfasts were a bit spartan so you were ready for the excellent lunches. The tents are extremely spacious and right on the edge of the Zambezi, giving this place a special atmosphere.

It's worth noting that in Mana Pools as a whole there are now no tsetse precautions being taken, though at one time they were eradicated." See all these reviews: 17n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Sightings Report

Buffalo

10 sightings

Eland

10 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Wild dog

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr C & Mr K
Oxon

"Vundu - one of our favourite African Lodges"

4 nights Arrived 3 Oct 2018
"For us it provided the perfect balance between "wild" and "comfortable". 24 hour electricity and fans in the room are great in October but it was also good to have an outside bathroom. It is the first lodge we have encountered with a gym (too hot to use in October). The accommodation is unbelievably spacious and the vehicles used for game viewing were excellent with plenty of space and a useful storage box between the seats. Our guide, Simeon was first class and all the staff at the camp were helpful and attentive. We put it in our top 3 of African Lodges (along with Musekese and Tafika in Zambia). The canoeing was excellent. The food was good but the steak we had for dinner the last night was the best we have had in Africa, so we are unsure whether to grade the food as good or excellent. Nick's nephew, Ethan, was an asset to the camp as he has a good sense of humour and excellent "people skills"." See all these reviews: 15n in Zimbabwe; 2n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

10 sightings

Eland

10 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Lion

4 sightings

Spotted Hyena

10 sightings

Wild dog

7 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr & Mrs R
Glos

"Undue camp review"

3 nights Arrived 16 Sep 2018
"We loved the fact that here you got out of the car and got up close and personal on foot with elephants and wild dogs. Terrific. Quite different to any other lodge we have visited in Africa. Great views of a honey badger foraging in the daylight. Good birding.

Simeon was a very knowledgable and experienced guide. He got us great views and wildlife experiences.

The camp was slightly more basic, but with all the essentials. The food was plentiful, but the choice was a bit limited especially between deliveries. " See all these reviews: 10n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Buffalo

2 sightings

Eland

10 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Hippo

1 sighting

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Wild dog

2 sightings

Zebra

5 sightings

Mr S.
Clontarf

"Fabulous stay at great camp "

3 nights Arrived 2 Sep 2018
"From the time we were met at the strip by Melanie to the morning we left we felt at home - very friendly, extremely keen to ensure we had great experiences and close encounters with the game (especially lion, painted dogs and elephant) whilst always respecting the animals and their environment.

Daryl is a fabulous guide and committed to protecting the wildlife. Melanie is a great host and included all the staff ensured they got credit for their involvement in our stay. Daryl and Melanie seemed as excited as us to see the animals, especially the dog pups.

We will always remember our canoeing along the Zambezi and the unique views of hippos. The accommodation and food were excellent. It was also fascinating to hear about Nick and Daryl’s efforts with their Conservancy protecting the wildlife in the park.

Thoroughly recommended for any trip to Zimbabwe. " See all these reviews: 15n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Elephant

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Lion

3 sightings

Roan antelope

2 sightings

Spotted Hyena

2 sightings

Wild dog

10 sightings

Zebra

6 sightings

Showing 1-10 of 38
96%
38 reviews of Vundu Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
30
8
0
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zimbabwe

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zimbabwe.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Mana Pools National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Kanga Bush Camp

Kanga Bush Camp

Unspoiled and peaceful, Kanga Bush Camp is located in a remote and exclusive part of Mana Pools National Park, overlooking the Kanga Pan.


93% (14 reviews)
Stretch Ferreira Safaris Camp

Stretch Ferreira Safaris

Stretch Ferreira Safaris Camp is a small, owner-run camp on the banks of the Zambezi River in Mana Pools National Park, with the emphasis on great guiding.


94% (14 reviews)
Ruckomechi Camp

Ruckomechi Camp

In a very scenic spot beside the Zambezi, Ruckomechi is a smart camp offering excellent walking and river safaris, as well as canoe trips and night and day 4WD game drives.


93% (14 reviews)
Zambezi Expeditions

Zambezi Expeditions

Zambezi Expeditions is a simple, semi-permanent camp along the Zambezi River that offers excellent guiding and standards of service.


96% (10 reviews)
Mana Pools Canoe Trail

Mana Canoe Trail

The Mana Canoe Trail is a multi-day trip, canoeing down the Zambezi with some of the best guides in Africa, camping on the banks of the river in dome tents each evening.


100% (4 reviews)
Nyamatusi Camp

Nyamatusi Camp

Overlooking the Zambezi River, the luxury Nyamatusi Camp occupies a pristine wilderness environment.


90% (2 reviews)
John's Camp

John's Camp

John's Camp is a semi-mobile tented camp offering walking safaris, game drives, and fishing in Zimbabwe's Mana Pools National Park.


90% (2 reviews)
Little Vundu

Little Vundu

Closely associated with Vundu Camp, Little Vundu has the same great location and quality of guides, and is occasionally used for private group bookings.


90% (2 reviews)
Nyamatusi Mahogany

Nyamatusi Mahogany

Nyamatusi Mahogany is a family-friendly, yet remote and luxurious safari camp in Mana Pools National Park.


100% (1 review)
Kavinga Safari Camp

Kavinga Safari Camp

Kavinga is a comfortable tented camp tucked away in a less-visited area of Mana Pools National Park with surprisingly good wildlife and an excellent hide.


No reviews yet
Little Ruckomechi

Little Ruckomechi

In a shady spot beside the Zambezi, Little Ruckomechi is a small but luxurious camp offering a reange of activities including walking and canoe trips.


No reviews yet
Sapi Springs Camp

Sapi Springs Camp

Sapi Springs Camp offer the chance to feel closer to the bush than almost any other camp in the Mana Pools Area.


No reviews yet
Chikwenya Camp

Chikwenya Camp

One of the original properties in Mana Pools area we are excited to be featuring Chikwenya Camp again.


No reviews yet
Ingwe Pan Camp

Ingwe Pan Camp

Ingwe Pan Camp is due to open in May and will be located in a remote area in the north of the Mana Pools National Park


No reviews yet
Sapi Explorers Camp

Sapi Explorers Camp

Sapi Explorers Camp is an exciting new riverside camp in a true African wilderness.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa