This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Vundu Camp
Vundu Camp
Vundu Camp
Vundu Camp
Vundu Camp
Vundu Camp
Vundu Camp
Vundu Camp
Vundu Camp

Reviews of Vundu Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

40 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Vundu Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 15 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Vundu Camp.
Lion

79% success

Leopard

21% success

Cheetah

0% success

Wild dog

79% success

Elephant

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Buffalo

93% success

Eland

87% success

Spotted Hyena

87% success

Roan antelope

29% success

Sable antelope

14% success

Wildebeest

8% success

Aardvark

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 40
Duration
Arrival date
Andy
Queens, NY, USA

"Vundu Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 18 Aug 2021
"I can't imagine a better spot to put at the back end of a trip. Des and Nick have a place that is relaxed with wonderfully good food and even better people.

Mitch (my guide) and I really got around: walking, driving, and doing a bit of fishing.

And I truly enjoyed being able to talk candidly to Mitch, Des, and Dave (the other guide) about things going on in Zimbabwe and around the world (especially during the current pandemic).

Mana will be back in the rotation some time in the near future, and there's no doubt I'll be getting back together with Mitch and hopefully make my way over to Vundu." See all these reviews: 18n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Eland

10 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

2 sightings

Spotted Hyena

4 sightings

Wild dog

8 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr A
Washington DC

"Vundu Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 23 Jul 2021
"Vundu is a fine camp, magnificently located on the middle Zambezi in Mana Pools National Park. Comfortable, if somewhat dated, tents on a crest just steps away from the beautiful Zambezi. Ensuite and outdoor showers supplied with endless hot water from a wood-fired boiler. Pre-safari breakfast (including local delicacy Beefy Boveril) around the fire pit. Other meals taken in the main hall, buffet style, with all in attendance and presided over by host Nick Murray.

The highlight of Mana Pools is game, and especially elephants (which are amazingly numerous and largely habituated to human presence). Thanks to the resourcefulness of our guide, David Amyot, we had an exceptionally close encounter (1 meter) with the famous bull Boswell and even saw him rear up on his hind legs to feed in the trees. Really amazing. David also led us on a close approach to a den of wild dogs who were on the verge of weening their recently-born pups. A unique experience for us. Truly fascinating.

Any assessment of Vundu must take into account the conservation and anti-poaching efforts of Nick Murray, his impressive staff, and the Bushlife Conservancy foundation. A presentation on those efforts, and the problems they address, was truly eye-opening (if occasionally somewhat discouraging.)

We are glad to think that our stay at Vundu might have contributed in some small way to the protection of Mana Pools and its wildlife. We wish Nick and the foundation all the best." See all these reviews: 12n in Tanzania; 12n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

10 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Lion

5 sightings

Wild dog

10 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Wiljo
Norfolk

"Vundu Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 1 Oct 2019
"The accommodation, catering and guiding were all excellent.

We had morning and afternoon game drives and the latter incorporated night drives in the final hour driving back to camp after dark. There is an elevated hide overlooking a waterhole behind the Camp which afforded some great animal and bird sightings in between game drives.

Being able to walk from the vehicle provided a unique perspective and we were privileged to see a couple of "tree climbing" elephants "performing" and the local wild dog pack with their pups. The area was parched and at least 2 of the 4 Pools were long since dry. The wildlife was clearly struggling which made for some interesting interactions." See all these reviews: 16n in Botswana; 10n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

4 sightings

Eland

6 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Leopard

10 sightings

Lion

1 sighting

Roan antelope

1 sighting

Sable antelope

1 sighting

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Wild dog

2 sightings

Zebra

8 sightings

B family
Surrey

"Great stay"

4 nights Arrived 14 Sep 2019
"An authentic experience. Des was a wonderful hostess and Mitchell Riley an absolutely excellent guide.

The wild dog experience is in danger of being over hyped, as they are not easy to see even close to the den.

But there is plenty of other wildlife and great area for walking. Scenically beautiful." See all these reviews: 13n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs R
Hants

"Wild dogs and standing elephant at Vundu Camp"

3 nights Arrived 12 Sep 2019
"Vundu Camp is a simple bush camp with everything you need but no frills, not even biscuits with your coffee or crisps with sundowners! But it is lovely...set between the Zambezi and a muddy waterhole the camp is open to wildlife. We were met by a large elephant standing feet away from the main building. The tents are well equipped with indoor and outdoor bathrooms with plumbed showers and generous supplies of hot water. The central area under a large tree is cosy and friendly.

The wildlife sightings were fascinating although drought meant many grazing animals looked poor. It was a wonderful to see wild dogs at their den with young puppies. Also to see one of the famous Mana Pools elephants standing on his back legs to reach the higher branches. Lovely sightings of carmine bee eater, racket-tailed roller and other birds. Despite feeling busier than the other areas of Zimbabwe we visited, there were seldom other vehicles in sight.

Our guide was excellent and we had the chance to walk towards the dogs and a group of lions. The camp's owners are committed to working for the protection of wildlife, especially the "painted wolves" in the area." See all these reviews: 12n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

5 sightings

Eland

10 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Lion

5 sightings

Spotted Hyena

3 sightings

Wild dog

1 sighting

Zebra

10 sightings

Mrs B
Oxon

"Real Bush Safari at Vundu Camp"

3 nights Arrived 7 Jul 2019
"First Class guiding and sightings

Authentic bush camp atmosphere

Food was too copious in quantity and needs a little more refinement and imagination." See all these reviews: 13n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Eland

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Roan antelope

Multiple sightings

Sable antelope

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr & Mrs J
Oxforshire

"Vundu Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 7 Jul 2019
"Again staff all very welcoming rooms a little more basic than previous camp. Food was very good just too much on your plate at dinner.

Would have preferred the buffet service that all the other camps used you could always go back for more food therefore less waste.

Overall we had an amazing holiday, very well looked after by all concerned." See all these reviews: 13n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Buffalo

1 sighting

Eland

1 sighting

Elephant

1 sighting

Hippo

1 sighting

Lion

1 sighting

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Zebra

1 sighting

Mr & Mrs L
Hinckley

"Vundu Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 20 Jun 2019
"Good points: guiding from Jim Mackie was excellent ... knowledgeable, helpful, caring. Situation by the river was lovely, giving some beautiful moments both early morning and at sundowner time. Both of us were suffering from heavy colds when we arrived and we were very sympathetically looked after. Cabin/tent was spacious and comfortable. Elephant encounters were, at times, magical. Specifically, to spend time (approx 45 mins) on foot in the close company of "Spike" and, equally, to see "Boswell" do his "standing on his back legs" trick.
Not so good points: one of the major reasons for choosing to visit Mana Pools was to see the wild dogs ... alas we didn't. We also didn't see any of the large cats or hyenas. We do appreciate that the wildlife cannot be "planned" - but it was nevertheless disappointing. Regarding the room: water is heated by an open fire under a boiler. This is efficient in producing hot water, but at times we were aware of smoke smells in the room and on returning home we noticed that all our clothes smelt of wood smoke ... even our bags had to washed. We have been in camps elsewhere with similar systems without problems. Perhaps Vundu should invest in solar panels?" See all these reviews: 10n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Sightings Report

Buffalo

6 sightings

Eland

5 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr & Mrs C
Berwick

"Dogs... but much,much more"

5 nights Arrived 3 May 2019
"We were the first visitors of the season and had the camp to ourselves for a couple of nights. Owner Nick Murray and his wife were away at a trade fair and we were well looked after by manager Natalie and very experienced freelance guide Jim Mackie, who has an encyclopaedic knowledge of wildlife (no doubt helped by being a former park warden).

The scenery here is spectacular, from the views over the Zambezi as you fly in to the different landscapes as you explore the area.

Most people come here hoping to see painted dogs and we did so on three occasions (once on our own). Again it had been a poor wet season so waterholes were all but dry with animals relying on the river. Elephants were swimming or walking across the shallower parts.

Jim's night drives were very productive with sightings of genets, civets, hyena and white tailed mongoose. And he was brilliant at spotting and identifying birds. It's worth taking the afternoon canoe trip - avoiding the hippos and crocs! - to gain a different perspective.

We enjoyed several excellent bush walks including tracking three lionesses who had left their prints in camp overnight.

Breakfasts were a bit spartan so you were ready for the excellent lunches. The tents are extremely spacious and right on the edge of the Zambezi, giving this place a special atmosphere.

It's worth noting that in Mana Pools as a whole there are now no tsetse precautions being taken, though at one time they were eradicated." See all these reviews: 17n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Sightings Report

Buffalo

10 sightings

Eland

10 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Wild dog

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr C & Mr K
Oxon

"Vundu - one of our favourite African Lodges"

4 nights Arrived 3 Oct 2018
"For us it provided the perfect balance between "wild" and "comfortable". 24 hour electricity and fans in the room are great in October but it was also good to have an outside bathroom. It is the first lodge we have encountered with a gym (too hot to use in October). The accommodation is unbelievably spacious and the vehicles used for game viewing were excellent with plenty of space and a useful storage box between the seats. Our guide, Simeon was first class and all the staff at the camp were helpful and attentive. We put it in our top 3 of African Lodges (along with Musekese and Tafika in Zambia). The canoeing was excellent. The food was good but the steak we had for dinner the last night was the best we have had in Africa, so we are unsure whether to grade the food as good or excellent. Nick's nephew, Ethan, was an asset to the camp as he has a good sense of humour and excellent "people skills"." See all these reviews: 15n in Zimbabwe; 2n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

10 sightings

Eland

10 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Lion

4 sightings

Spotted Hyena

10 sightings

Wild dog

7 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Showing 1-10 of 40
96%
40 reviews of Vundu Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
32
8
0
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zimbabwe

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zimbabwe.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Mana Pools National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Stretch Ferreira Safaris Camp

Stretch Ferreira Safaris

Stretch Ferreira Safaris Camp is a small, owner-run camp on the banks of the Zambezi River in Mana Pools National Park, with the emphasis on great guiding.


94% (14 reviews)
Ruckomechi Camp

Ruckomechi Camp

In a very scenic spot beside the Zambezi, Ruckomechi is a smart camp offering excellent walking, river safaris, night and day 4WD game drives.


93% (14 reviews)
Kanga Bush Camp

Kanga Bush Camp

Unspoiled and peaceful, Kanga Bush Camp is located in a remote and exclusive part of Mana Pools National Park, overlooking the Kanga Pan.


93% (14 reviews)
Zambezi Expeditions

Zambezi Expeditions

Zambezi Expeditions is a simple, semi-permanent camp along the Zambezi River that offers excellent guiding and standards of service.


96% (10 reviews)
Mana Pools Canoe Trail

Mana Canoe Trail

The Canoe Trail is a multi-day trip, along the Zambezi with some of the best guides in Africa. Each night you'll camp on the banks of the river.


100% (4 reviews)
Little Vundu

Little Vundu

Closely associated with Vundu Camp, Little Vundu has the same great location and quality of guides, and is occasionally used for private group bookings.


90% (2 reviews)
Nyamatusi Camp

Nyamatusi Camp

Overlooking the Zambezi River, the luxury Nyamatusi Camp occupies a pristine wilderness environment.


90% (2 reviews)
John's Camp

John's Camp

John's Camp is a semi-mobile tented camp offering walking safaris, game drives, and fishing in Zimbabwe's Mana Pools National Park.


90% (2 reviews)
Nyamatusi Mahogany

Nyamatusi Mahogany

Nyamatusi Mahogany is a family-friendly, yet remote and luxurious safari camp in Mana Pools National Park.


100% (2 reviews)
Kavinga Safari Camp

Kavinga Safari Camp

Kavinga is a comfortable tented camp tucked away in a less-visited area of Mana Pools National Park with surprisingly good wildlife and an excellent hide.


100% (1 review)
Little Ruckomechi

Little Ruckomechi

In a shady spot beside the Zambezi, Little Ruckomechi is a small but luxurious camp offering a reange of activities including walking and canoe trips.


No reviews yet
Sapi Springs Camp

Sapi Springs Camp

Sapi Springs Camp offer the chance to feel closer to the bush than almost any other camp in the Mana Pools Area.


No reviews yet
Chikwenya Camp

Chikwenya Camp

One of the original properties in Mana Pools area we are excited to be featuring Chikwenya Camp again.


No reviews yet
Ingwe Pan Camp

Ingwe Pan Camp

Ingwe Pan Camp is due to open in May and will be located in a remote area in the north of the Mana Pools National Park


No reviews yet
Tembo Plains Camp

Tembo Plains Camp

Building commenced on Tembo Plains Camp in February 2021. Details are sparce at this stage but we'll update this page once we know more.


No reviews yet
Sapi Explorers Camp

Sapi Explorers Camp

Sapi Explorers Camp is an exciting new riverside camp in a true African wilderness.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa