This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Thor & Deb from BC Canada

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

2

Lodges stayed in

8

Excursions taken

0

My Oct 2021 "Alone in Africa Because of Covid" trip

Zambia and 1 other country between 25 Oct 2021 and 16 Nov 2021

Trip rating: Excellent
"A big shout-out to Maruska who held our hands through extraordinary times. We had to delay the trip by a year, and then became very much the vanguard of the African safari tourists because of Covid.

We felt as if we essentially had the continent to ourselves--which was wonderful but a bit weird too. The pandemic complicated things quite considerably because of the need for timely PCR tests, flights disappearing, places closing, etc., but Maruska helped get it all organized and all the facets of the trip she organized came together perfectly.

This is our second trip with Expert Africa, the first the result of a recommendation from a friend. Elizabeth, who organized our first trip, did a fabulous job, and now that high bar of service continues. We are likely to go on safari again, and we will most certainly use Expert Africa again--and will recommend your services to friends.

Again: thank you for taking such great care of us, Maruska. I very much appreciated your solicitous and friendly professionalism.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

Maintain that high standard!"

Arranged By Maruska Adye-Rowe


Mwamba Bushcamp

Mwamba Bushcamp

"Mwamba Bushcamp review"

3 nights Arrived 25 Oct 2021
"A fabulous start to our safari.

Perhaps our favourite camp because of the wonderful aesthetics of the camp itself, and the hide, from which we saw fabulous stuff. Guiding was excellent. Highly recommended.

Saw a leopard with her two cubs--which is apparently unheard of. From your list of animal sightings, I ticked off buffalo X3, elephant (too many to count), Giraffe X2, hippos (too many to count), leopard 2X different sitings, up close, lions (lots, and with kills), Hyena X1, porcupine X2, Honey badger X1, White Tailed Mongoose, Bushy tailed mongoose, Spotted genet, elephant shrew, crocodiles. I'm not listing the 'common' stuff.

Lots of birds, of course."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Tafika

Tafika

"Tafika review"

2 nights Arrived 28 Oct 2021
"Permanent camp, which is arguably less charming than the seasonal ones, but more plush. Setting is spectacular.

The family running it are the owners and founders, passionate about wildlife, Zambia, and the environment. Wonderful discussions. Food was excellent. Guiding was superb, except Makupa, who needs to be told to tone it down a bit. He's remarkably capable but way too "in your face".

Lloyd, however, was one of the best guides we've ever had--over the span of many safaris. Lots of encounters with a pack of 14 wild dogs, including a kill right in front of us--which was a bit sobering. a number of excellent leopard sightings, including a mother with her semi-grown cub.

Staff was entirely solicitous to our every need, and those cold towels at the end of the drive were divine!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Chikoko Tree Camp

Chikoko Tree Camp

"Chikoko Tree Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 30 Oct 2021
"This camp belongs to Tafika and is their temporary, seasonal camp, to which one walks, and then does walking tours.

This was our first experience with walking safaris, and we thoroughly enjoyed them, but suggest they may be more for seasoned safari-goers, who have 'seen it all', because the concentration is on the smaller flora and fauna--and birds. One sees fewer 'big things', but more in depth. Thoroughly enjoyed the slow pace and the silence. Camp amenities were wonderful, and make sure to get a tour of the kitchen!

Guiding is different when walking, but it was first rate!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Tafika

Tafika

"Tafika review"

3 nights Arrived 1 Nov 2021
"Same applies to our second stint at Tafika. Please see my previous entry. [Ed: See below]"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Sprayview Hotel

Sprayview Hotel

"Sprayview Hotel review"

2 nights Arrived 4 Nov 2021
"Sprayview Hotel at Livingston Falls was my discovery on line, so Expert Africa has no responsibility for our mediocre experience (at best).

It is well past its 'best before' date, the staff are young and untrained (but very nice), stuff in the room didn't work -- and the price was high! There are far better deals, and I recommend one of the many B&Bs, or a better hotel.

Its location was pretty good: walking distance to the town, and to the Falls. We weren't too excited about visiting Victoria Falls, but are very glad we did. It was wonderful. There's no need to hire a guide at the park. Yes, we sighted elephants--in the middle of the town!"
Poor
Location
Good
Service
Poor
Activities
Average
Rooms
Poor
Food
Average
Facilities
Average
Camp Hwange

Camp Hwange

"Camp Hwange review"

4 nights Arrived 6 Nov 2021
"Another permanent camp, so perhaps more plush but less charming than the small, temporary camps. It was the largest of the five camps we visited. Very pleasant with excellent food and friendly and helpful staff.

Moses and Robert were our guides, and we had a wonderful time with them. learned so much about local culture, as well as the flora and fauna--and we laughed a whole lot. We also did some walking safaris with the most amazing tracker whose name I'm embarrassed to have forgotten.

We heard the leopards mating, very close by, and he tried to lead us to them on foot, but they ended up enjoying their afterglow out of sight of us. Our Land Cruisers at other camps were entirely roof-less. Here they had the typical canvas roof. That was great for the scorching sun, but ultimately I prefer the roof-less variant."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Vundu Camp

Vundu Camp

"Vundu Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 10 Nov 2021
"Fabulous location on the Zambezi River. The main building is raised and very pleasant and plush. Lovely! The monkeys ran off with the granola jar.

The rooms are huge, but rather tired, and made of a canvas-like plastic material that wasn't very pleasant to live in. Three sinks, two toilets and two showers seem rather unnecessary. I'd rather have less, and smaller, but of better quality.

Food was excellent, and Dave, our guide, was wonderful. We did walking safaris to a pack of dogs, and to a pack of lions snoozing--and I'm not entirely sure who was more surprised, they or us, when we came upon them. Dave, however, reacted in the perfect way. We saw the elephant who stands on his hind legs to reach the best fruit, and he obliged us for a photo of that operation (and I forget his name). Also two hippos battling it out for control of the pond.

It was 44 degrees the day we arrived, and parched. We experienced the first rain of the season on our walk. Wonderful."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Average
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Image alt

Amanzi Lodge

"Amanzi Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 14 Nov 2021
"This was one hotel we found on our own on the web, and recommend very highly. The architecture is a beautiful interpretation of traditional thatched Africa huts, but the amenities inside are top notch.

The extensive gardens surrounding the 'huts' are absolutely splendid and an oasis of tranquility in a city that isn't exactly tranquil. Food and service was excellent. It is set out in one of Harare's 'leafy suburbs'.

We both enjoyed an exfoliation and a massage, which did wonders after three weeks in the bush."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team