This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Mwamba Bushcamp
Mwamba Bushcamp
Mwamba Bushcamp
Mwamba Bushcamp
Mwamba Bushcamp
Mwamba Bushcamp
Mwamba Bushcamp
Mwamba Bushcamp

Reviews of Mwamba Bushcamp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

124 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Mwamba Bushcamp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jun-2018, 13 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Mwamba Bushcamp.
Lion

100% success

Leopard

92% success

Wild dog

50% success

Buffalo

100% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Spotted Hyena

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Wildebeest

92% success

Eland

45% success

Roan antelope

13% success

Aardvark

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Sable antelope

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 124
Duration
Arrival date
B & G
California

"Great camp!"

4 nights Arrived 24 Sep 2019
" After four nights at Kaingo camp, we transferred for four nights at the smaller, more intimate Mwamba Bushcamp. We were glad that we did both camps as each one has its own personality. Again, the staff here went out of their way to make sure we had a wonderful time. We enjoyed the rustic feel of the camp and having breakfast and lunch out in the open, feeling very much like having meals out in the bush. Our guide here, Shane, was great and in addition to finding lots and lots of game for us, also gave us valuable suggestions for taking photos and managing our camera settings.

Incidentally, we spent a night at the Mwamba Star Bed and loved it. It was pretty much a moonless night and we spent a long time just lying in bed looking up through the mosquito netting and the silhouette of the tree branches above to a spectacularly starry sky. Would do this again in a heartbeat." See all these reviews: 12n in Zambia; 4n in Malawi
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr T
Salt Lake City

"Three Nights at Mwamba in Early July"

3 nights Arrived 1 Jul 2019
"Abundant wildlife. Excellent location. Excellent guides.

A stunning sighting of herds of eland, wildebeest, and zebra together and a large breeding herd of roan antelope.

A bush camp that is taken down at the beginning of the rainy season and rebuilt in May of the following year!" See all these reviews: 8n in Zambia; 7n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

5 sightings

Eland

2 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

5 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

2 sightings

Lion

2 sightings

Roan antelope

6 sightings

Spotted Hyena

6 sightings

Wild dog

1 sighting

Wildebeest

5 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

F family
Sherborne

"Remote, wonderful Mwamba Bushcamp."

4 nights Arrived 24 Jun 2019
"Like walking into an Edgar Rice Burroughs novel. A love of wild nature embodies this place and we loved it. It's taken down and rebuilt every year in traditional materials and is perfectly in keeping with its surroundings and most comfortable!

There is a good emphasis on photography: a photographers' hide overlooks a water hole on site from which I saw an elephant (I needed a wide angle to take the picture he was so close), and numerous birds and impala, and there are other hides a short drive away to visit. The open vehicles allow for unrestricted viewing and come equipped with camera pods for long lenses to rest on. The game drives and our walking safari rendered numerous sightings, with Andrew identifying sounds and tracking with expertise.

Lots of leopard, hyenas, lion (+ cubs), giraffe, Cookson's wildebeest, zebra, buffalo, mongoose, kudu and an eland. Plentiful bird sightings: fish eagles, hawks, vultures, storks, heron, ibis, snake eagles, Egyptian geese, lilac breasted rollers, blue eared starlings, love birds, ground hornbills and guinea fowl - wonderful! The night safaris allowed for late returns with sundowners supplied for the photogenic sunset stops.

My only recommendation would be to consider red filtering the night safari lights (photos easily corrected in a software programme) and I've found the animals don't seem to notice the lights as much. My thanks to our excellent hostess, Yvonne, and her attentive staff who on our penultimate night went to the trouble of preparing a romantic supper for us on a viewing platform lit up with candles and torches - a lot of work much appreciated.

Glorious experiences! " See all these reviews: 7n in Zambia; 4n in Malawi; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

6 sightings

Eland

1 sighting

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

2 sightings

Hippo

7 sightings

Leopard

4 sightings

Lion

3 sightings

Spotted Hyena

5 sightings

Wildebeest

4 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr & Mrs M
Bath

"We love Mwamba Bushcamp!"

3 nights Arrived 21 Jun 2019
"This was our second visit to Mwamba - we loved it last time - and it was even better this time. The accommodation is both rustic and comfortable and you get a real feel that you are in the bush - visiting elephants, returning pythons. monkeys, baboons and the sound of roaring lions. Yvonne was an excellent and entertaining host and, as last year, the food provided in bush conditions was excellent.

We were also going to stay at the sister camp Kaingo so we chose to get away from the river routes and go inland while at Mwamba. This provided good sitings of Buffalo, Wildebeest and Eland and we were fortunate to follow the Mwamba-Kaingo pride over a two day period as they pursued a head of Buffalo. We had Sylvester (Sly) as our guide and benefitted from his deep understanding of the wildlife and his uncanny ability to predict its behaviour!

Shenton Safaris offer the opportunity to walk between Mwamba and Kaingo and we would recommend this option - we saw plenty of game - including the Mwambe-Kaingo pride - a different experience when on foot - and we may have walked off some off the excellent food!" See all these reviews: 11n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

7 sightings

Eland

2 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

2 sightings

Hippo

5 sightings

Leopard

2 sightings

Lion

4 sightings

Spotted Hyena

3 sightings

Wildebeest

4 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Ms P
London

"Still a favourite after all these years..."

4 nights Arrived 12 Oct 2018
"Six years after my first visit, and Mwamba is still one my favourite camps in Africa: South Luangwa's unbeatable game density and a remote, intimate bush camp is a winning combination. The camp itself has benefited from a gentle face-lift making it lovelier than ever: Craig and Lindie, who have managed the camp for three years, deserve much credit for their work.

Chalets now have charging stations of their own (as well as a fan, which I didn't use) but haven't lost their rustic allure. Sly was, once again, a reliably strong guide with a nose for leopards (we saw seven different ones in three days).

Sighting highlights also included large herds of elephant and buffalo, as well as lions hunting and feasting." See all these reviews: 13n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Leopard

9 sightings

Lion

5 sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr & Mrs D
Oxon

"Mwamba Bushcamp review"

2 nights Arrived 8 Oct 2018
"See previous feedback as stayed 6th - 10th October" See all these reviews: 11n in Zambia; 7n in Malawi
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Mr & Mrs D
Oxon

"Great bushcamp"

1 night Arrived 6 Oct 2018
"An authentic bushcamp. Up close and personal with the wildlife - If staying both here and Kaingo - possibly too close as shares the same drive area " See all these reviews: 11n in Zambia; 7n in Malawi
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

10 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

7 sightings

Lion

10 sightings

Spotted Hyena

10 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr + Mrs M
Vancouver

"Mwamba Bush Camp Review"

2 nights Arrived 1 Oct 2018
"The staff and management of Mwamba did a remarkable job, providing a luxury experience in a camp setting which reverts to bush in the rainy season.

Sylvester was a great guide, but the best experience came in replacing an early morning a drive with session in the hide.

The proximity of the animals, including the mud sprayed from an elephant having a mud bath, was unbelievable." See all these reviews: 5n in Zambia; 3n in Rwanda
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms G.
USA

"Experience Africa in a Unique Setting"

3 nights Arrived 24 Sep 2018
"What a lovely Bushcamp Mwamba was.

The hosts, Lindsey and Craig, were so very pleasant and helpful and provided such a delightful experience in the wilds of Zambia. The guide, Sandy, showed us some lovely terrain on safari and the wildlife was everywhere. We experience hundreds of Cape Buffalo running to the river for a drink one day.

Many elephants and impala, baboons and vervet monkeys were seen around the camp. The location seemed to be on many of the animals normal route so wildlife were frequently seen. We really enjoyed the hide as a way to view the animals and birds in close proximity without disturbing their behavior.

All of the staff were very accommodating, helpful and so polite. You just felt very welcome from the moment you arrived.

We enjoyed the story about how every year this camp is completely dismantled at the end of the safari season when it begins to rain and then rebuilt from scratch in the dry season. It was very comfortable and showering and sleeping under the stars in the privacy of our chalet was a delightful experience. The food was very good and we had no problems with eating even fresh produce." See all these reviews: 11n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

1 sighting

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Leopard

3 sightings

Lion

5 sightings

Spotted Hyena

7 sightings

Zebra

4 sightings

Mr & Mrs F
California

"Mwamba Bushcamp review"

3 nights Arrived 10 Sep 2018
"Craig and Lindy were amazing managers.

Sylvester may have been our best guide ever. He probably saved our lives from a charging elephant, we were on a walking safari.

" See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia; 6n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

1 sighting

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

6 sightings

Lion

10 sightings

Spotted Hyena

6 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Showing 1-10 of 124
99%
124 reviews of Mwamba Bushcamp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
117
7
0
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zambia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zambia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in South Luangwa National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Tafika

Tafika

Tafika is one of the best camps in Zambia: naturally built, with few apparent luxuries, but actually very high quality. Service and food are excellent, but the real focus is on top guiding skills and wildlife experience.


98% (274 reviews)
Nkwali

Nkwali

In the heart of South Luangwa, overlooking the river, Nkwali is unusual in being open year round. It offers great safaris; a high standard of food, service and care; and an excellent springboard for Robin Pope's various safaris in the park.


96% (202 reviews)
Kaingo Camp

Kaingo Camp

Kaingo Camp is a small, owner-run camp in a quiet but excellent game area of the Luangwa. Photographers will particularly appreciate the camp’s series of wildlife hides.


96% (188 reviews)
Nsefu

Nsefu

One of the Luangwa's oldest camps, Nsefu is a great safari camp in a remote, beautiful and game-rich location with top-rate guiding.


98% (166 reviews)
Tena Tena

Tena Tena

Tena Tena is one of the Luangwa's best camps in a beautiful location – it's very small, feels very remote and 'in the bush', is run exceedingly well and has top rate guiding.


95% (137 reviews)
Chikoko Tree Camp

Chikoko Tree Camp

Chikoko Tree Camp is an excellent small, rustic bushcamp that concentrates on walking safaris, and is run by a top-quality operation.


99% (105 reviews)
Crocodile Bushcamp

Crocodile Bushcamp

Crocodile Bushcamp is a great little rustic bushcamp built to high standards that focuses on excellent walking safaris, with the emphasis on top wildlife guides.


98% (82 reviews)
Kapani Lodge

Kapani Lodge

Just on the south-east side of the national park, Kapani Lodge is the base camp for Norman Carr Safaris, one of the Luangwa's oldest safari operations. It's also a very solid safari camp that has retained lots of character, and runs very well indeed.


95% (80 reviews)
Mchenja Bushcamp

Mchenja Bushcamp

Set in a shady ebony grove on the banks of the Luangwa, Mchenja is a smart tented bushcamp. It combines well with Kakuli and Nsolo – its sister camps with a focus on walking safaris.


98% (63 reviews)
Kakuli Bushcamp

Kakuli Bushcamp

Beside the Luangwa River, Kakuli is a comfortable tented bushcamp offering 4WD safaris and walking safaris – the best of which are camp-to-camp walks linking Kakuli with its nearby sister camps.


97% (62 reviews)
Flatdogs Camp

Flatdogs Camp

A relatively big but very good safari camp, Flatdogs offers value for money with great guiding and good food in a comfortable, relaxed setting.


98% (61 reviews)
Luangwa River Camp

Luangwa River Camp

Luangwa River Lodge is a small and consciously stylish lodge in the Mfuwe area, overlooking the Luangwa River and the South Luangwa National Park beyond – an area renowned for great game.


96% (60 reviews)
Nsolo Bushcamp

Nsolo Bushcamp

Nsolo is a small, comfortable bushcamp overlooking one or two pools in the usually dry Luwi riverbed. It concentrates on walking safaris in an interesting and diverse area, led by a knowledgeable guide.


97% (52 reviews)
Kafunta River Lodge

Kafunta River Lodge

Kafunta is a laid-back, friendly and good-value lodge on the outskirts of South Lunagwa National Park.


96% (39 reviews)
Luwi Bushcamp

Luwi Bushcamp

In a remote part of the South Luangwa National Park, Luwi is a rustic bushcamp whose emphasis is on walking safaris with great guiding and a chance of seeing some rarely seen and elusive antelope.


93% (38 reviews)
Robin Pope Safaris bush-camp

Robin Pope bush-camp

RPS bushcamping in South Luangwa National Park, Zambia


99% (25 reviews)
Lion Camp

Lion Camp

Lion Camp is an established and comfortable camp with a swimming pool, located near to the game-rich Lion Plain in the northern part of South Luangwa National Park.


94% (22 reviews)
Robin Pope Safaris walking safari

Robin Pope walking

A seven-day Robin Pope Walking Safari in South Luangwa National Park starts and finishes at a permanent camp, with five days walking between comfortable mobile camps.


98% (21 reviews)
Kapamba Bushcamp

Kapamba Bushcamp

In the remote far south of South Luangwa National Park, Kapamba is a small and very comfortable bushcamp offering good walks and game drives.


94% (17 reviews)
Luangwa Safari House

Luangwa Safari House

Luangwa Safari House is a vast and very smart four-bedroom house specifically designed for families and small groups, and offering an exclusive and flexible safari experience.


100% (14 reviews)
Chinzombo

Chinzombo

Opened in early June 2013, Chinzombo offers luxurious and stylish accommodation with very high levels of service and excellent guiding.


98% (13 reviews)
Kuyenda Bushcamp

Kuyenda Bushcamp

Kuyenda Bushcamp is a classic bushcamp with particularly delightful hosts and offers top-class walking safaris in South Luangwa National Park.


98% (13 reviews)
Bilimungwe Bushcamp

Bilimungwe Bushcamp

A smart bushcamp with four very spacious chalets, Bilimungwe offers interesting walking safaris in pretty riverine woodland, as well as day and night safari drives.


95% (12 reviews)
Kawaza Village

Kawaza Village

Kawaza Village – beside the South Luangwa National Park, offers guests the rare opportunity to appreciate local village life. Visit for a few hours or stay overnight.


95% (11 reviews)
Robin's House

Robin's House

With your own expert guide, private vehicle, chef and valet, the two-bedroom Robin's House offers an exclusive, flexible safari experience – and is open year round.


94% (10 reviews)
Three Rivers Camp

Three Rivers Camp

In the remote far south of South Luangwa National Park, Three Rivers Lodge is being constructed by the confluence of three of the valleys rivers.


94% (10 reviews)
Mfuwe Lodge

Mfuwe Lodge

In a game-rich area close to the South Luangwa’s main Mfuwe Gate, Mfuwe Lodge is relatively large by park standards, but it’s stylish, modern and family friendly.


90% (10 reviews)
Island Bush Camp

Island Bush Camp

Island Bushcamp is a good-value, rustic, walking-only camp, in arguably one of the most remote parts of the South Luangwa, well away from all other camps.


100% (9 reviews)
Puku Ridge

Puku Ridge

Puku Ridge is a luxurious designer camp set in a stunning location, high on a hill overlooking a floodplain within South Luangwa. Explore from here on 4WD safaris and walks.


93% (9 reviews)
Chindeni

Chindeni

Chindeni Bushcamp is a very modern and minimalist camp, which is a far cry from your traditional bushcamp and unlike most of the other camps in South Luangwa.


94% (7 reviews)
Chamilandu Bushcamp

Chamilandu Bushcamp

A very comfortable little bushcamp, Chamilandu has a picturesque setting by the Luangwa River, with a range of habitats that can be explored on foot and by 4WD, day and night.


100% (5 reviews)
Mwamba Camp-out

Mwamba Camp-out

The Mwamba-Camp Out allows you to have an incredibly adventurous night in the bush, sleeping under mosquito nets with activities led by some of the best guides in Zambia.


90% (4 reviews)
Zungulila

Zungulila

Zungulila is a small, comfortable tented bushcamp with an emphasis on walking safaris, in the remote southern section of the South Luangwa.


93% (3 reviews)
Chichele Presidential Lodge

Chichele Lodge

Chichele Presidential Lodge stands within the park on a hill with superb views. Its hotel-like, air-conditioned rooms and child-friendly attitude make it ideal for families or those who don't want to get too close to the bush outside.


100% (1 review)
Luwi Riverbed Sleepout

Luwi Riverbed Sleepout

For an adventurous night in South Luangwa National Park, come and sleep out in the bush, around a campfire, with an experienced guide and game scout.


100% (1 review)
Mapazi Camp

Mapazi Camp

Mapazi Camp is a basic safari camp in the far north of the South Luangwa, with walking safaris led by renowned guide Deb Tittle.


No reviews yet
Shawa Luangwa Camp

Shawa Camp

Due to open in June 2020, we’re expecting Shawa Luangwa Camp to be a small, intimate and rustic camp, with a good location in a remote section of the South Luangwa National Park.


No reviews yet
Chikunto Safari Lodge

Chikunto

Chikunto Safari Lodge is a new property in Zambia's South Luangwa National Park, sitting on a peninsula of land created by the meandering Luangwa River.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa