This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Mwamba Bushcamp
Mwamba Bushcamp
Mwamba Bushcamp
Mwamba Bushcamp
Mwamba Bushcamp
Mwamba Bushcamp
Mwamba Bushcamp
Mwamba Bushcamp
Mwamba Bushcamp

Reviews of Mwamba Bushcamp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

137 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Mwamba Bushcamp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jun-2018, 26 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Mwamba Bushcamp.
Lion

100% success

Leopard

92% success

Wild dog

43% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Buffalo

96% success

Zebra

96% success

Spotted Hyena

96% success

Wildebeest

88% success

Eland

48% success

Roan antelope

12% success

Sable antelope

6% success

Aardvark

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 137
Duration
Arrival date
Mr H & Ms E
London

"Mwamba Bushcamp review"

4 nights Arrived 8 Sep 2022
"It was brilliant, refreshing and rare to find a real bush camp! Mwamba combines simplicity with great professionalism and friendliness. You really feel out in the wild here with just 4 bamboo and reed huts for guests. We were in Sausage (under a sausage tree) which was probably even more private than the others and had a great view of the entrance to the famous Last Waterhole. The small, basic and comfortable space was attached to a lovely open-air bathroom under the trees, which contained that endangered species - a bucket shower! Such a treat.

The small team, led by Maddie and Paul, made us feel very welcome and the chefs, Franco and Johan, produced high-quality food in the well-organised bush kitchen. The camp also had an open-air bar and library, with eco chandeliers, and meals were taken close to the gully, sometimes accompanied by passing zebra and elephants.

As in the sister camp, Kaingo, the guiding was really superb. There are only ever 4 guests in an open vehicle. Our guide was the knowledgeable and kind Sylvester, who quickly got the measure of us. We saw many leopards and their cubs, lions (mating and roaring), hyenas, a herd of wildebeest, elegant giraffe, and lots of prey being eaten! It was a special treat to see a good few civet, genets and even a rare sable cat on the night drives. It was also great to spend time in the camp on a couple of mornings, going to the waterhole - where a herd of buffalo came down to drink - or just sitting looking down the gully to see who came by next.

We spent one night in the trees in the Numbu Star Bed, with just a mosquito net between us and the full moon. We had dinner by the camp fire before climbing up into bed and then awoke to a bruised dawn sky and a view over the open savannah plain. Then we climbed down from our eerie and lit the fire, before being joined by Paul who brought breakfast and we sat with him watching the bush wake up again. What a privilege!" See all these reviews: 9n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Leopard

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

Wild dog

1 sighting

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr & Mrs M
Bath

"Wild Mwamba"

4 nights Arrived 4 Sep 2022
"This was our first trip since Covid and Mwamba Bushcamp lived up to our expectations. Maddy was an engaging and congenial host and John, as always, provided outstanding meals which far exceeded the bush camp setting.

The accommodation was comfortable providing a rather luxurious bush camp experience. Sly was our excellent and committed guide with a real eye for photographic opportunities. Mwamba is a true bushcamp and we listened to lions at night, watched wild dogs while having breakfast, elephants strolling to the waterhole over lunch and shared the waterhole with a herd of 300 buffalo.

Our wildlife sightings were outstanding with multiple leopard, lion and elephant sightings.

We have visited Mwamba in June 2019 and 2018 and we found that this visit in September perfectly complemented our earlier trips. Our trips in June were great for photography with relatively clean air and vibrant colours in the lagoons and wooded areas forming a perfect backdrop to the cast of predator and prey. September was considerably hotter and the progress of the dry season was reflected in the dust in the atmosphere and the desiccated vegetation.

We did however see some fantastic lion and leopard sightings which reflect the struggle for survival, and the kill, as the water supply diminishes. Whilst the dust does make photography more challenging it also produces stunning sunsets and sunrises." See all these reviews: 9n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

7 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

9 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

9 sightings

Lion

10 sightings

Spotted Hyena

4 sightings

Wild dog

4 sightings

Wildebeest

2 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr A.
United Kingdom

"Mwamba Bushcamp review"

2 nights Arrived 23 Aug 2022
"An excellent camp in all respects with a lot of attention to detail. The host manager was particularly empathic in understanding any requirements we had and making sure they were delivered. The food was excellent.

The sightings were among the best we have ever had, including picking up a pack of 9 wild dogs on a morning drive and following them as they tracked their prey and then ate. There was a lot of opportunity for us to influence where we spent our time so we returned to where we knew the dogs had been resting during the day to watch them gradually gather themselves and head off for a further hunt. Many good lion and leopard sightings including a leopard with an impala up a tree and two lions taking down a warthog.

The camp has a hide which is interesting to visit as you get so close to the animals. Whilst we were there, a buffalo, zebra and impala came to drink with visits by a variety of birds." See all these reviews: 9n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

10 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

3 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

5 sightings

Lion

9 sightings

Spotted Hyena

3 sightings

Wild dog

9 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr & Mrs V
Harlow

"Mwamba Bushcamp review"

3 nights Arrived 18 Aug 2022
"Mwamba has even more of a bushcamp aspect than Kaingo.

A beautiful situation, excellent food and the same excellent guiding- Robert our guide at Kaingo transferred us to Mwamba and stayed with us (the two camps are both part of 'Shenton Safaris'). Being further back from the river there is less game than at Kaingo however drives easily extend back to the riverine areas so one does not lose out from this.

Their 'last waterhole' hide is worth visiting to get close to drinking game such as elephant and impala and a great many birds. Also saw a spitting cobra there a rare sight!" See all these reviews: 9n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Leopard

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr P & D
Australia

"Authentic bush camp experience"

3 nights Arrived 16 Jul 2022
"Great bush camp - close to nature, relaxed. More relaxed then Kaingo (different style). Rooms were comfortable. The outdoor loo and shower were good, no issues.

Being a smaller setup - it was more intimate and the other guests staying were like minded. That helps. The walk from Kaingo to Mwamba was great - must do.

Food delicious. Open bar.

Sitting by the camp fire after dinner was great too!

Often you need to stop and remember it's a holiday. Sometimes with all the timings and scheduling you forget this." See all these reviews: 16n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Eland

1 sighting

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

1 sighting

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Leopard

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Roan antelope

Multiple sightings

Sable antelope

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr & Mrs B
Surrey

"Mwamba Bushcamp review"

3 nights Arrived 28 Jun 2022
"This is our favorite -remains a special traditional bush camp We were also fortunate that we were the only guests there We returned partly for the waterhole -but last time we were there much later (in mid August ) This time too much water around so very little activity at the famous hide -in fact it was still being prepared.
However we still had an even better time than last time.
Maddie and our guide Yuram looked after us very well Also mention to the wonderful Batwell . The staff we also great -John ,Henry,Paul and Dave.

Amazing male lion sightings, chameleon and eland -plus more leopards

This is an amazing camp for the real safari experience !!" See all these reviews: 9n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Eland

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Leopard

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr T
Bangkok

"Mwamba is the ideal bushcamp"

4 nights Arrived 23 Jun 2022
"One of best camp that I have ever stayed and definitely my favorite in this trip. Traditional reed and thatch room with outdoor shower - as close to nature as it comes. Bar and dining area looks wonderful and I wish we have more relaxing time to enjoy the area a little more. Similar to Kaingo, food and service were excellent.

We did a few walking here including a transfer from Kaingo to Mwamba - very enjoyable and informative with Sylvester as our guide. Here, we tasted Baobab fruit and enjoyed a sundowner with Baobab tree in the background - it was magical.

Game drive in-land from Mwamba allows us to see Cooksons wildebeest (endemic to South Luangwa) and eland.

We also spent one night on a starbed sleepout (Numbu) and we love the whole experience." See all these reviews: 14n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

3 sightings

Eland

2 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

2 sightings

Hippo

8 sightings

Leopard

6 sightings

Lion

3 sightings

Spotted Hyena

3 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mrs L
Netherlands

"Wonderful bushcamp"

6 nights Arrived 18 Jun 2022
"This was my favorite camp during this trip, and it may well be my favorite out of nine safaris. The location along a dry river bed is beautiful, everyday I saw wildlife from my hut/room. The open air bathroom is very comfartable. The room is designed with a lot of taste. The meals very very good. Game drives were very productive, and there are very few cars in this area. My guide, Elias, was very knowledgeable and I learned a lot from him. The small team and Maddy the manager are very sympathetic and did everything to make my stay at Mwamba truely unforgettable." See all these reviews: 16n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Eland

2 sightings

Elephant

5 sightings

Giraffe

4 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

8 sightings

Lion

4 sightings

Spotted Hyena

3 sightings

Wildebeest

2 sightings

Zebra

5 sightings

Thor & Deb
BC Canada

"Mwamba Bushcamp review"

3 nights Arrived 25 Oct 2021
"A fabulous start to our safari.

Perhaps our favourite camp because of the wonderful aesthetics of the camp itself, and the hide, from which we saw fabulous stuff. Guiding was excellent. Highly recommended.

Saw a leopard with her two cubs--which is apparently unheard of. From your list of animal sightings, I ticked off buffalo X3, elephant (too many to count), Giraffe X2, hippos (too many to count), leopard 2X different sitings, up close, lions (lots, and with kills), Hyena X1, porcupine X2, Honey badger X1, White Tailed Mongoose, Bushy tailed mongoose, Spotted genet, elephant shrew, crocodiles. I'm not listing the 'common' stuff.

Lots of birds, of course." See all these reviews: 10n in Zambia; 10n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

3 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

2 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

2 sightings

Lion

8 sightings

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Wild dog

1 sighting

Zebra

5 sightings

Z
Z

"Mwamba Bushcamp review"

3 nights Arrived 18 Oct 2021
"Definitely my best camp choice for an October stay.

I was the only guest there throughout the stay and they gave me the room closest to the hide. The Last Waterhole hide was a hive of activity. Lions came everyday, and there is a constant parade of animals quenching their thirst eg elephants, buffalos, hyenas, guinea fowls, impalas, vultures. Both day and night. Astounding.

No camp manager onsite with covid reorg (common trend it seems with satellite/sister camps, not just with Shenton) but they bring in an interim one from Kaingo Camp whenever a guest is on site." See all these reviews: 16n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Leopard

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Showing 1-10 of 137
99%
137 reviews of Mwamba Bushcamp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
129
8
0
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zambia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zambia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in South Luangwa National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Tafika

Tafika

One of the best camps in Zambia, Tafika is naturally built, combining excellent service and food with top guiding skills for a superb wildlife experience.


98% (292 reviews)
Nkwali

Nkwali

On the banks of the Luangwa River, with its own access to the national park, the intimate Nkwali is open year round.


96% (215 reviews)
Kaingo Camp

Kaingo Camp

Small and owner-run, the riverside Kaingo occupies a a quiet but excellent game area, with a series of wildlife hides and a focus on photography.


97% (197 reviews)
Nsefu

Nsefu

One of the Luangwa's oldest camps, Nsefu is a great safari camp in a remote, beautiful and game-rich location with top-rate guiding.


98% (177 reviews)
Tena Tena

Tena Tena

One of the Luangwa's best camps, in a beautiful, remote bush location, Tena Tena is very small, exceedingly well-run and has top-rate guiding.


95% (141 reviews)
Chikoko Tree Camp

Chikoko Tree Camp

Chikoko Tree Camp is an excellent small, rustic bushcamp that concentrates on walking safaris, and is run by a top-quality operation.


99% (109 reviews)
Crocodile Bushcamp

Crocodile Bushcamp

Crocodile Bushcamp is a great little rustic bushcamp built to high standards that focuses on excellent walking safaris, with the emphasis on top wildlife guides.


98% (82 reviews)
Kapani Lodge

Kapani Lodge

Just on the south-east side of the national park, Kapani Lodge is the base camp for Norman Carr Safaris, one of the Luangwa's oldest safari operations. It's also a very solid safari camp that has retained lots of character, and runs very well indeed.


95% (78 reviews)
Flatdogs Camp

Flatdogs Camp

A relatively big safari camp, Flatdogs offers value for money with great guiding and good food in a comfortable, relaxed setting.


98% (68 reviews)
Kakuli Bushcamp

Kakuli Bushcamp

Beside the Luangwa River, Kakuli is a comfortable tented bushcamp offering 4WD safaris and walking safaris – the best of which are camp-to-camp walks linking Kakuli with its nearby sister camps.


97% (64 reviews)
Mchenja Bushcamp

Mchenja Bushcamp

Set in a shady ebony grove on the banks of the Luangwa, Mchenja is a smart tented bushcamp. It combines well with Kakuli and Nsolo – its sister camps with a focus on walking safaris.


98% (65 reviews)
Luangwa River Camp

Luangwa River Camp

Luangwa River Lodge is a small and consciously stylish lodge in the Mfuwe area, overlooking the Luangwa River and the South Luangwa National Park beyond – an area renowned for great game.


96% (63 reviews)
Nsolo Bushcamp

Nsolo Bushcamp

Nsolo is a small, comfortable bushcamp overlooking one or two pools in the usually dry Luwi riverbed. It concentrates on walking safaris in an interesting and diverse area, led by a knowledgeable guide.


97% (53 reviews)
Kafunta River Lodge

Kafunta River Lodge

Kafunta is a laid-back, friendly and good-value lodge on the outskirts of South Lunagwa National Park.


96% (39 reviews)
Luwi Bushcamp

Luwi Bushcamp

In a remote part of the South Luangwa National Park, Luwi is a rustic bushcamp whose emphasis is on walking safaris with great guiding and a chance of seeing some rarely seen and elusive antelope.


93% (38 reviews)
Robin Pope Safaris bush-camp

Robin Pope bush-camp

RPS bushcamping in South Luangwa National Park, Zambia


99% (28 reviews)
Lion Camp

Lion Camp

Lion Camp is an established and comfortable camp with a swimming pool, located near to the game-rich Lion Plain in the northern part of South Luangwa National Park.


94% (25 reviews)
Robin Pope Safaris Mobile Safari Camp

Robin Pope mobile

RPS mobile safari camps are at the heart of their set-itinerary walking safaris in South Luangwa National Park, which start and finish at a permanent camp.


98% (22 reviews)
Kapamba Bushcamp

Kapamba Bushcamp

In the remote far south of South Luangwa National Park, Kapamba is a small and very comfortable bushcamp offering good walks and game drives.


94% (18 reviews)
Puku Ridge

Puku Ridge

Puku Ridge is a luxurious designer camp set in a stunning location, high on a hill overlooking a floodplain within South Luangwa. Explore from here on 4WD safaris and walks.


96% (17 reviews)
Kuyenda Bushcamp

Kuyenda Bushcamp

Kuyenda Bushcamp is a classic bushcamp with particularly delightful hosts and offers top-class walking safaris in South Luangwa National Park.


99% (14 reviews)
Mfuwe Lodge

Mfuwe Lodge

In a game-rich area close to the South Luangwa’s main Mfuwe Gate, Mfuwe Lodge is relatively large by park standards, but it’s stylish, modern and family friendly.


93% (14 reviews)
Luangwa Safari House

Luangwa Safari House

Luangwa Safari House is a vast and very smart four-bedroom house specifically designed for families and small groups, and offering an exclusive and flexible safari experience.


100% (14 reviews)
Chinzombo

Chinzombo

Opened in early June 2013, Chinzombo offers luxurious and stylish accommodation with very high levels of service and excellent guiding.


98% (13 reviews)
Bilimungwe Bushcamp

Bilimungwe Bushcamp

A smart bushcamp with four very spacious chalets, Bilimungwe offers interesting walking safaris in pretty riverine woodland, as well as day and night safari drives.


95% (12 reviews)
Robin's House

Robin's House

With your own expert guide, private vehicle, chef and valet, the two-bedroom Robin's House offers an exclusive, flexible safari experience – and is open year round.


95% (11 reviews)
Kawaza Village

Kawaza Village

Kawaza Village – beside the South Luangwa National Park, offers guests the rare opportunity to appreciate local village life. Visit for a few hours or stay overnight.


95% (11 reviews)
Chindeni

Chindeni

Chindeni Bushcamp is a very modern and minimalist camp, which is a far cry from your traditional bushcamp and unlike most of the other camps in South Luangwa.


96% (11 reviews)
Three Rivers Camp

Three Rivers Camp

In the remote far south of South Luangwa National Park, Three Rivers Lodge is being constructed by the confluence of three of the valleys rivers.


93% (9 reviews)
Island Bush Camp

Island Bush Camp

Island Bushcamp is a good-value, rustic, walking-only camp, in arguably one of the most remote parts of the South Luangwa, well away from all other camps.


100% (9 reviews)
Chamilandu Bushcamp

Chamilandu Bushcamp

A very comfortable little bushcamp, Chamilandu has a picturesque setting by the Luangwa River, with a range of habitats that can be explored on foot and by 4WD, day and night.


100% (5 reviews)
Mwamba Camp-out

Mwamba Camp-out

The Mwamba-Camp Out allows you to have an incredibly adventurous night in the bush, sleeping under mosquito nets with activities led by some of the best guides in Zambia.


90% (4 reviews)
Zungulila

Zungulila

Zungulila is a small, comfortable tented bushcamp with an emphasis on walking safaris, in the remote southern section of the South Luangwa.


93% (3 reviews)
Chichele Presidential Lodge

Chichele Lodge

Chichele Presidential Lodge stands within the park on a hill with superb views. Its hotel-like, air-conditioned rooms and child-friendly attitude make it ideal for families or those who don't want to get too close to the bush outside.


100% (1 review)
Luwi Riverbed Sleepout

Luwi Riverbed Sleepout

For an adventurous night in South Luangwa National Park, come and sleep out in the bush, around a campfire, with an experienced guide and game scout.


100% (1 review)
Mapazi Camp

Mapazi Camp

Mapazi Camp is a basic safari camp in the far north of the South Luangwa, with walking safaris led by renowned guide Deb Tittle.


No reviews yet
Chikunto Safari Lodge

Chikunto

Chikunto Safari Lodge is a new property in Zambia's South Luangwa National Park, sitting on a peninsula of land created by the meandering Luangwa River.


No reviews yet
Shawa Luangwa Camp

Shawa Camp

Due to open in June 2020, we’re expecting Shawa Luangwa Camp to be a small, intimate and rustic camp, with a good location in a remote section of the South Luangwa National Park.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa