This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr V from Birmingham

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

5

Countries visited

5

Lodges stayed in

15

Excursions taken

0

My Oct 2019 trip

Namibia between 17 Oct 2019 and 29 Oct 2019

Trip rating: Excellent
"As stated above; I got what I expected. I saw what I would wish to see in relation to animals, which was the point of the exercise. I enjoyed the landscape and the African people I met."

Arranged By Tracy Lederer


Olive Grove

Olive Grove

"My stay here"

1 night Arrived 18 Oct 2019
"The pool area is small; there is not enough space for seating. My room (number 9) was rather spartan though with plenty of room. The staff were ok. I would have appreciated a more relaxing experience. I understand the other Olive Grove next door offers a better experience."
Average
Location
Average
Service
Average
Rooms
Poor
Food
Average
Desert Rhino Camp

Desert Rhino Camp

"My thoughts on this Safari experience "

3 nights Arrived 19 Oct 2019
"This camp was the highlight of my holiday. Expert guiding in a desert environment which was stunning. This though is not an experience for those who are on a first time safari and want to see lots of animals. Although I was incredibly lucky in my experiences—see below, there are few animals given the desert, and they are hard to locate.
I had the great fortune to see desert adapted lion on two separate consecutive drives—different animals as well. Again another drive produced five black rhino, including the opportunity to approach them on foot. Desert elephant were also seen and included a close encounter at a water hole.
The camp and the team which run it deserve praise; particularly as it is in the middle of nowhere. It is also the case that guests may experience some cultural aspects of the local people."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Ongava Tented Camp

Ongava Tented Camp

"Ongava Tented Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 22 Oct 2019
"This was a good experience, with impressive guiding. The private reserve is well managed and has a very good functioning ecosystem. Lion,elephant black and white rhino were encountered along with various antelopes such as hartebeast, kudu, springbok, impala, as well as zebra in the reserve. I also saw a caracal, which was slightly unusual
In Etosha, I was fortunate enough to have a good siting of honey badgers, and the drive also produced other animals.
The location of the camp with its own water hole is great; even saw a black rhino at the water hole as well as elephants.
I would stress that given it is a reserve, guiding has to be inventive, and my guide Sven, certainly was able to do so."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Onguma Tented Camp

Onguma Tented Camp

"Onguma Tented Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 25 Oct 2019
"I consider this reserve did not seem to have the variety of animals that Ongava had, and the guiding was not so professional generally. I consider it was inappropriate to have four vehicles in a crowded space next to a lioness. Although my guide was enthusiastic and could explain what was being seen around the drive, this was not to the standard i had experienced at the previous two camps. That said, the drive into Etosha itself, was a good one, and the demand for lions by other guests was met.

However the camp itself is very well designed and very relaxing, and indeed modern in design, with very good service from the staff."
Average
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Average
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Olive Grove

Olive Grove

"Olive Grove review"

1 night Arrived 27 Oct 2019
"On arrival I was given the same room as my previous occupancy, which I have already commented on. However I wanted to eat in the restaurant at 7-45 pm, this was queried as being “late”, so I changed to 7-15pm. Fine, although the staff closed up the guesthouse around 8pm, and went home. I was left eating my desert with the night watchman! I appreciate that I was the only guest at dinner (the rest of the occupants had opted for taxis to take them out), and it was a Sunday, so that the staff wanted to be with their families, but I did feel neglected. I was also told that the restaurant was “expensive”.

I have to add that it is not the fault of the guesthouse, but there were 2 dogs continuously barking all night from the private house next door—this did not improver the atmosphere."
Poor
Location
Average
Service
Poor
Rooms
Average
Food
Average

September 2017; safari review

Zambia between 10 Sep 2017 and 20 Sep 2017

Trip rating: Excellent
"Very good"

Arranged By Claire Scott


Kaingo Camp

Kaingo Camp

"excellent range of game"

4 nights Arrived 11 Sep 2017
"The concentration of game to view was really impressive; this is the place for Leopard sightings! I thought the camp was well organised, and the guiding pretty good. Derek Shenton personally guided on our walk in the bush. My daughter and boyfriend considered their experience as great; large pride of lion, aformentioned leopards (8), wild dog, hippo fights; all seen, and much more.

The site of the camp was also appreciated on the banks of the river, with the hides providing an interesting focus.

Again if visited one must be prepared for photographers, as for understandable reasons the camp is promoted to this section of the market. They do not really get in the way."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Tafika

Tafika

"Return to Tafika"

4 nights Arrived 15 Sep 2017
"Again there is impressive guiding as usual; the important part is continuity at the Coppinger's camp. It is really impressive that the key staff are still present from my first visit 9 years ago. The store of experience and knowledge must be almost without challenge. I suppose this is shown by the number of returnees after their previous experience.

I do think that there is some restrictions as to where one can drive to view the game; the Salt Pan route appeared to have problems with mosquitos and tsetse fly and so visits were not frequent.

As usual the river though provided a pleasing focus, for sunsets.

Mona's food was excellent -- particularly lunch."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good

My Mar 2017 trip

South Africa between 15 Mar 2017 and 30 Mar 2017

Trip rating: Good
"Enjoyable"

Arranged By Claire Scott


Camps Bay Retreat

Camps Bay Retreat

"Camps Bay Retreat review"

4 nights Arrived 16 Mar 2017
"I have stayed at this residence on a number of occasions; location is very good. The menu at dinner now does not change, which gives consistency possibly at the expense of innovation. It's quite a restfiul place."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
The Last Word Franschhoek

The Last Word Franschhoek

"The Last Word Franschhoek review"

2 nights Arrived 20 Mar 2017
"Thought this was an excellent place to stay, with free alcohol and faculties to use (swimming pool). The decor and general maintenance was of a high standard."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Schoone Oordt Country House

Schoone Oordt Country House

"Schoone Oordt Country House review"

1 night Arrived 22 Mar 2017
"The owner was over anxious to please "he patrolled" the dining room; was unclear about whether the alcohol was free; he insisted that a bottle of wine of which a glass had been taken be paid for. The room was rather dark and gloomy. However dinner was very good"
Average
Location
Average
Service
Good
Facilities
Average
Rooms
Average
Food
Good
The Plettenberg

The Plettenberg

"The Plettenberg review"

4 nights Arrived 23 Mar 2017
"This was a good experience; my partner has a problem with her hip, and the first room provided did not have a walk in shower, However after complaint to the management we were upgraded to a junior suite. I would caution travellers to check the faculties they have booked; part of the hotel needs an upgrade. That said the position and helpful staff were very good."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Kwandwe Great Fish River Lodge

Kwandwe Great Fish River Lodge

"Kwandwe Great Fish River Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 27 Mar 2017
"Now this is part of a managed game park; it is not a proper safari in a National Park because the animals are managed for the purposes of conservation. Although an impressive size for its type, there is obviously a limit on animal numbers but they are in a natural location. This really caters for people new to a safari experience, and who want reasonably assured animal sightings in relative comfort. It cannot be compared to say South Luangwa in Zambia. It worked well for my partner whlo is only interested in the margins of the safari experience--she was able to see the "Big Five"."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

My Oct 2015 trip

Botswana between 28 Oct 2015 and 5 Nov 2015

Trip rating: Average
"I really think an indication should be given as to the likely preferences of other guests at the various camps. If the management at Selinda Explorers had not acted positively to my concerns my holiday would have been less enjoyable. Information should be given about private vehicles.

Please note the person who I booked with has left the firm. I have just selected a random to close this web site down."

Little Vumbura

Little Vumbura

"Review"

3 nights Arrived 29 Oct 2015
"This was a slick professional camp which would be expected from Wilderness given their huge operation.

As usual there is potential tension between people who are on Safari for may be the first time and want to see "everything", and those who want a more leisurely and specific drive from the camp may be focusing on a couple of animals. An example overheard is the US couple who did not want to look at wild dog but insisted the guide went to see the lions. Perhaps it is a good idea to advise people they can book private drives for themselves."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Facilities
Average
Selinda Explorers Camp

Selinda Explorers Camp

"Walking at Selinda"

4 nights Arrived 1 Nov 2015
"I wanted to come to this camp to walk in the bush, however it seemed to me that the camp rather focused on 4x4 drives, as walking was not offered to me when I arrived. I asked my guide about walking but he had injured his knee, and the other people in my vehicle were not really interested in walking.

Indeed and I understand their position, as this was a "holiday of a lifetime" for them, the other people in the 4x4 were just interested in doing a "check list" of the animals they saw rather then wanting to appreciate Africa and the bush as a whole.

The good news was that when I expressed my concerns to the management, I was given a guide to go walking with, which I did, and also a seperate 4x4 for drives. This I felt was an excellent response.

The camp itself is a bit rustic, but it is build like a bush camp; it is I suppose my taste being a bit more luxurious than it was!"
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Average
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Average

My Jul 2013 trip

Malawi between 23 Jul 2013 and 31 Jul 2013

Trip rating: Good
"Interesting - African Parks are doing a fantastic job given the previous situation in the Reserve. I guess the trip is for people who want something different from their safari experience. In my view the Reseve will progress in the years to come, because African Parks do have a clearly laid out plan of development. In terms of game, they need some more cats in the Reserve, because the antelope population could support this.

The natural beauty of the Reserve is again fantastic, and a rather different experience from other places in Africa."

Arranged By Claire Scott


Mkulumadzi Lodge

Mkulumadzi Lodge

"Mkulumadzi Lodge review"

7 nights Arrived 24 Jul 2013
"The lodge was fine, but I think that generally people should know that they are not necessarily going to see all the game they may think they are, given the developing situation in the reserve. Also they should realise that Malawi is hilly!

It can and does get cold in July - particularly in the evening. There is a slight problem with local people thinking--through RPS at Blantyre that they can pre book events to do, without any consultation with the lodge. Again apart from the weekend when the lodge was full of locals, for whom it is very popular, there were not a lot of other guests and so the atmosphere was a bit flat.

I would say though, Chris and Emma the lodge managers, and Jake, a relief manager, did their best to make sure the people present were happy."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team