This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Camps Bay Retreat
Camps Bay Retreat
Camps Bay Retreat

Reviews of Camps Bay Retreat

Wildlife sightings and reviews

14 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Camps Bay Retreat and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 1-10 of 14
Duration
Arrival date
Ms E
Richmond

"very special place"

4 nights Arrived 17 Oct 2017
"- we stayed in the honeymoon suite in the manor house

- but we did not really know much about the house and grounds till the day we left as we did not get the tour of the house and gardens we should have got when checking in, therefore we did not really appreciate everything... which was a pity

- our bedroom and dressing room was lovely, but despite the history of the manor house it would be great if the bathrooms would get an upgrade." See all these reviews: 11n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs R
Norwich

"good base for visiting the area"

2 nights Arrived 13 Oct 2017
"Lovely situation. on checking in we found that our request for twin beds and special diet had not been received. On production of diet sheet chef would be advised and they would do their best. Skimmed milk was not provided until second day when we left.

Twin bed situation was not sorted despite repeated requests. At no time were we offered another room. We asked to see the manager more than once. It seemed he was not available at any time." See all these reviews: 11n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Poor
Mr & Mrs M
Wales

"Bit of a let down"

2 nights Arrived 15 May 2017
"Billed as a quiet retreat with wonderful gardens.

However we had a building site behind our room, a crane in the view to the sea and on site chainsawing of trees and works. If we had known this was the situation then we might well have chosen a different hotel.

Staff variable. Some excellent, some poor. Wifi very poor. Rooms really nice, food and wine really good but over priced and on a limited menu.

Bit disappointing." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia; 12n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr V
Birmingham

"Camps Bay Retreat review"

4 nights Arrived 16 Mar 2017
"I have stayed at this residence on a number of occasions; location is very good. The menu at dinner now does not change, which gives consistency possibly at the expense of innovation. It's quite a restfiul place. " See all these reviews: 14n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Mr & Mrs T
Ireland

"Quiet retreat"

3 nights Arrived 26 Oct 2016
"Camps Bay was a very quiet place to stay. The suite was lovely and large. Privacy could be a problem because of the open plan type bathroom in the bed room. When using it the blinds need to be closed but this then makes the bedroom dark.

Camps Bay is in easy walking reach of Camps Bay itself.

The food was very good we had one dinner as well as breakfast." See all these reviews: 11n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs J
Godalming

"What a delighful retreat"

4 nights Arrived 1 Apr 2016
"What a lovely place this is. We stayed in the main house and loved our room.

The food was great and in fact it was the best steak we tasted on our whole trip. We would recommend Camps Bay Retreat although the view of the crane in the middle of the back garden vista in not ideal.

" See all these reviews: 11n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr N & Ms S
Zambia

"Tranquility under the Table"

3 nights Arrived 22 Oct 2015
"We very much enjoyed our stay at Camp's Bay. Comfortable accommodation, good food and wine list. Prime location too: sunset views across the bay; a short walk into Camp's Bay town proper (using the gate at the bottom of the garden); and just 20 minutes by cab to Cape Town Waterfront; and much more peaceful than the Waterfront area and Camp's Bay town. Pleasant walks in the hotel garden itself - with plenty of birdlife; and just to the north in the woods. We also commend the wi-fi connection for those who need/want it - better than most we encountered this trip." See all these reviews: 10n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs A
Hants

"Camps Bay Retreat in time warp"

3 nights Arrived 9 Feb 2014
"The main building (Earls Dyke Manor) at Camps Bay Retreat is lost in a time warp with antiques/junk everywhere which gave it a certain character.

Although it advertises as a five star establishment with a menu changing daily, the same four basic main courses were repeated over three days with only the accompanying sauces tweaked. We were provided with a courtesy car to be able to eat at a local restaurant after complaining on the third evening.

Although good, we find it hard to justify the fifth star.
" See all these reviews: 13n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs M
York

"Camps Bay Retreat review"

2 nights Arrived 6 Feb 2014
"Stylish and peaceful hotel a stones throw from the buzzing Camps Bay strip.

Lovely to be able to relax so much and yet be so close to the action.

Great service, allowed us use of the spa so we could shower the evening after we'd checked out before our flight back." See all these reviews: 6n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Mr & Mrs R
Yeovil

"Loved it."

4 nights Arrived 4 Feb 2014
"Another wonderful stay, this time in our own little stately home. Lovely, well appointed large room in the main house, complete with own lounge area and mini conservatory.

Location wonderful and the staff were absolutely top notch. Food wasn't bad either!

My husband is hoping to come into money so he can buy this place!" See all these reviews: 14n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Showing 1-10 of 14
84%
14 reviews of Camps Bay Retreat by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
7
4
2
1
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in South Africa

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in South Africa.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Cape Town

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Vineyard Hotel

Vineyard Hotel

In the quiet, leafy suburb of Newlands, the sophisticated Vineyard Hotel has close access to smart shops, sports facilities and the main sights of Cape Town.


93% (54 reviews)
Acorn House

Acorn House

Against the awe-inspiring backdrop of Table Mountain, Acorn House offers a traditional guesthouse welcome in a historic setting.


97% (31 reviews)
Victoria & Alfred Hotel

Victoria & Alfred Hotel

The Victoria & Alfred Hotel is a pleasant place to stay whilst visiting Cape Town. It's located at one of the Cape's most visited destinations, Victoria & Alfred Waterfront.


95% (23 reviews)
The Constantia

The Constantia

The five-star Constantia is an elegant, country-style boutique hotel with well-appointed rooms, situated close to Cape Town’s attractions, five world-class wine estates and many superb restaurants.


98% (20 reviews)
Four Rosmead

Four Rosmead

Four Rosmead is a comfortable, very friendly guest house located very close to the city centre and all its nearby attractions.


97% (12 reviews)
Long Beach

Long Beach

Located on one of Cape Town's best beaches, the Long Beach is a great place to relax and explore, although it is further from the city than many other hotels and guesthouses.


98% (10 reviews)
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront

Radisson Blu Waterfront

The Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront is located beside the Victoria & Alfred Waterfront and has great views of the Atlantic Ocean


95% (8 reviews)
Cape Grace

Cape Grace

The Cape Grace is set in the centre of Cape Town's Victoria and Alfred Waterfront. It's a perfect base for those wanting to be close to restaurants and shops.


100% (8 reviews)
Cellars-Hohenort

Cellars-Hohenort

Cellars Hohenort is a luxury hotel set in stunning gardens. Situated in the wine-growing Constantia Valley it is not far from many of Cape Town's attractions.


92% (5 reviews)
Hotel Verde

Hotel Verde

The contemporary and comfortable Hotel Verde, within a stone’s throw of Cape Town International Airport, has a strong focus on sustainability and the environment.


90% (4 reviews)
Bay Hotel

Bay Hotel

On the beachfront at Camps Bay, the Bay Hotel has luxury 5-star amenities, plus close access to one of Cape Towns best beaches as well as lots of restaurants, bars and nightlife.


80% (4 reviews)
Mount Nelson Hotel

Mount Nelson Hotel

Mount Nelson Hotel is Cape Town's oldest and most famous hotel. It's a place to be seen and the best address for a delicious afternoon tea.


100% (2 reviews)
Twelve Apostles

Twelve Apostles

The welcoming Twelve Apostles Hotel has a great location overlooking the ocean, just a short drive to the beach and restaurants of Camps Bay.


100% (1 review)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa