This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
Cape Grace

Reviews of Cape Grace

Wildlife sightings and reviews

12 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Cape Grace and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 1-10 of 12
Duration
Arrival date
JJ & AJ
Hinckley

"The Delightful Cape Grace "

7 nights Arrived 3 Dec 2022
"We had a Delightful stay at the Cape Grace.

Most importantly the staff were wonderful and a credit to the hotel.

We had a week there and it did not take them long to know our names." See all these reviews: 7n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Dr C & Mr P
BC

"Cape Grace review"

6 nights Arrived 3 Nov 2022
"As you know, we had a bumpy first day at the Cape Grace. Looking back, I think this was due to a new employee who dropped the ball a little, leaving us sitting in a room for 90 minutes until Jim call the front desk to find out what was going on. The employee had left for the day and the newly assigned room was not cleaned (empty wine bottle on the floor , broken mirror in the BR etc etc.) These were sorted out and the balance of our stay was good.

Don't think I would go back for six nights again, though--would rather stay at Babylonstoren and just do a few days in the city. The level of service is not yet back to what it was 10 years ago but there were moments where we saw that again so hopefully it will come back to what it was. (For example, the new employee just told Jim that he should just 'carry on ' to the plane the walking stick that had been hard carved for him by Niso at Kwandwe--a few days later when we asked the cashier about shipping options she immediately suggested tons of bubble wrap and quickly had someone do it for us with no extra charge).

The walking stick got home safely as hand luggage because it was not distinguishable as a walking stick That level of service was what it had been before covid." See all these reviews: 16n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs H
UK

"Cape Grace review"

3 nights Arrived 14 Jan 2022
"The Cape Grace is a fantastic hotel, perfectly situated on the waterfront and with excellent facilities.

One of my favourite hotels anywhere in the world." See all these reviews: 3n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr A
St Albans

"Cape Grace review"

2 nights Arrived 7 Nov 2021
"Cape Grace was very comfortable (as you'd expect from an international 5* hotel in a major city). Generally the staff were all very helpful and provided good service. Only minor issues were: swimming pool was not open and there were a couple of local power outages (although this was not really the hotel's fault).

We were upgraded to a "Table Mountain" view room which was nice (and we suspect that looking out over the marina towards Table Mountain/Signal Hill is an improvement over the harbour view).

The location of the hotel is great for the waterfront and is well connected by road." See all these reviews: 7n in Botswana; 6n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr&Mrs LS
Oxfordshire

"Short stay in Cape Town at the Cape Grace "

4 nights Arrived 5 Jan 2020
"Beautiful location, wonderful room overlooking the marina and Table Mountain.

Hotel is so convenient for the Waterfront amenities etc.

The hotel staff were all so graceful and friendly - nothing was too much trouble for them. Restaurant food and wine was excellent - we ate there every evening.

Courtesy chauffeur (Edward) to Table Mountain and back was a great plus. Ilios pick ups were so punctual, clean and very friendly. Great service.

We would definitely return to this hotel in future." See all these reviews: 13n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs D Newport P
UK

"The best hotel"

6 nights Arrived 1 Jan 2020
"This was the best hotel we have ever stayed in. This was because of its position but mostly because of the staff who knew our names as soon as we entered the door, and could not have been more helpful. They organised and helped us with most of our trips in and around the city.

The rooms were very well appointed with very comfortable beds. The breakfast was excellent too with a huge variety of beautifully presented food." See all these reviews: 8n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
JJ & AJ
Hinckley

"Elegant refined luxury"

6 nights Arrived 9 Nov 2019
"The Cape Grace is a wonderful hotel, centrally located on the V & A waterfront on its own quay. The staff were delightful, in fact after first meeting you, they knew your name, a lovely touch.

The breakfasts especially were wonderful, and comprehensive with lovely attentive service from the staff. We were upgraded to a larger luxury room with dressing room and balcony which was lovely for our 6 nights. Lovely heated pool. As a lovely gesture for our anniversary we received a bottle of MCC and a selection of handmade chocolates.

Thank you to everybody for making our stay so wonderful." See all these reviews: 7n in Botswana; 6n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr S & Mrs S
UK

"Cape Grace review"

5 nights Arrived 9 Oct 2019
"Superb hotel. Stylish and at the same time the right balance between formality and informal friendliness. A difficult thing to achieve but they were spot on.

Staff hospitality and helpfulness was unbeatable. They helped with tours and restaurant bookings and were first class.

The restaurant is also one of the best." See all these reviews: 6n in Botswana; 5n in South Africa; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs O
Somerset

"The Cape Grace"

1 night Arrived 9 Oct 2018
"We managed to stay at the Grace in Rosebank several times when passing through Johannesburg. Sadly it closed so it was lovely to be back in the embrace of the assured charm and efficiency of the Grace team in Cape Town.

We were offered a beautiful room upgrade to one with a balcony overlooking both marina and mountain. They then helped arrange a late check out with little fuss and a nominal charge. We felt instantly at home and had two most excellent lunches and dinner.

The Cape Grace is a top class operation in a fabulous setting. We loved our stay." See all these reviews: 12n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs Muriel B
USA

"You won't want to Check Out..."

1 night Arrived 12 Sep 2017
"Prepare to be greeted and treated with pure class from the moment you arrive until check-out. Excellently sited walking distance to so many interesting places in the Marina District.

I regret never getting to try the gorgeous looking carrot cake in the library!

The complimentary breakfast was off the charts." See all these reviews: 11n in Kenya; 2n in Zambia; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 1-10 of 12
98%
12 reviews of Cape Grace by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
11
1
0
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in South Africa

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in South Africa.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Cape Town

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Vineyard Hotel

Vineyard Hotel

In the quiet, leafy suburb of Newlands, the sophisticated Vineyard Hotel has close access to smart shops, sports facilities and the main sights of Cape Town.


93% (56 reviews)
Acorn House

Acorn House

Against the awe-inspiring backdrop of Table Mountain, Acorn House offers a traditional guesthouse welcome in a historic setting.


98% (32 reviews)
Victoria & Alfred Hotel

Victoria & Alfred Hotel

The Victoria & Alfred Hotel is a pleasant place to stay whilst visiting Cape Town. It's located at one of the Cape's most visited destinations, Victoria & Alfred Waterfront.


93% (24 reviews)
The Constantia

The Constantia

The five-star Constantia is an elegant, country-style boutique hotel with well-appointed rooms, situated close to Cape Town’s attractions, five world-class wine estates and many superb restaurants.


98% (21 reviews)
Camps Bay Retreat

Camps Bay Retreat

Camps Bay Retreat is a peaceful sanctuary set in a lush green private reserve overlooking the sea, close to one of Cape Town's most desirable beachfront areas.


84% (14 reviews)
Four Rosmead

Four Rosmead

Four Rosmead is a comfortable, very friendly guest house located very close to the city centre and all its nearby attractions.


97% (14 reviews)
Long Beach

Long Beach

Located on one of Cape Town's best beaches, the Long Beach is a great place to relax and explore, although it is further from the city than many other hotels and guesthouses.


100% (10 reviews)
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront

Radisson Blu Waterfront

The Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront is located beside the Victoria & Alfred Waterfront and has great views of the Atlantic Ocean


95% (8 reviews)
Cellars-Hohenort

Cellars-Hohenort

Cellars Hohenort is a luxury hotel set in stunning gardens. Situated in the wine-growing Constantia Valley it is not far from many of Cape Town's attractions.


93% (6 reviews)
Hotel Verde

Hotel Verde

The contemporary and comfortable Hotel Verde, within a stone’s throw of Cape Town International Airport, has a strong focus on sustainability and the environment.


84% (5 reviews)
Bay Hotel

Bay Hotel

On the beachfront at Camps Bay, the Bay Hotel has luxury 5-star amenities, plus close access to one of Cape Towns best beaches as well as lots of restaurants, bars and nightlife.


80% (4 reviews)
Mount Nelson Hotel

Mount Nelson Hotel

Mount Nelson Hotel is Cape Town's oldest and most famous hotel. It's a place to be seen and the best address for a delicious afternoon tea.


100% (2 reviews)
Twelve Apostles

Twelve Apostles

The welcoming Twelve Apostles Hotel has a great location overlooking the ocean, just a short drive to the beach and restaurants of Camps Bay.


100% (1 review)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa