This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr & Mrs H from UK

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

2

Countries visited

3

Lodges stayed in

6

Excursions taken

0

Botswana and Victoria Falls August 2018

Botswana and 1 other country between 8 Aug 2018 and 18 Aug 2018

Trip rating: Excellent
"An excellent and memorable trip that probably surpassed our expectations. Botswana is a fantastic place to visit."

Arranged By Lucy Copson


Chitabe Camp

Chitabe Camp

"Chitabe is superb"

5 nights Arrived 8 Aug 2018
"We had four objectives at Chitabe - Wild Dogs, Cheetah, Cats with Cubs and Leopards - and saw all four in our first 2 days out of 5. The variety of wildlife and habitats is excellent and although 5 nights is a long time to stay in one camp, we could quite happily have stayed longer. The guides were excellent and the people incredibly helpful and friendly. A superb experience and seeing a white rhino was an unexpected bonus."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Jacana Camp

Jacana Camp

"Jacana was a great experience"

3 nights Arrived 13 Aug 2018
"Jacana was surrounded by water at the time we visited and a deliberately chosen as a water based safari. To be honest we didn't really know what to expect and it was difficult to set any objectives. The wish list was really a Pels Fishing Owl and a Malachite Kingfisher. On arrival the team said they hadn't seen a Pels for three weeks! Great start. We saw a Malachite on the first boat trip along with some great elephant viewing in the water and a wide variety of birds.

The highlight of the stay was probably the trip in a Mokoro, so peaceful and relaxing and a great opportunity to quietly get close to birds, animals and frogs. The highlight was a great sighting of a Pels Fishing Owl but the birds and frogs were fascinating as well.

The camp was really good with friendly people and a great guide but on balance three nights was probably enough because there is a limited number of things to do. However we really enjoyed the experience."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Royal Livingstone Hotel

Royal Livingstone Hotel

"A great base for the awesome Victoria Falls"

2 nights Arrived 16 Aug 2018
"The Royal Livingstone is a high quality hotel in a perfect position on the banks of the Zambezi above the Victoria Falls. Whilst the main objective was to see the falls again and relax for a day or two between our safari in Botswana and the long trip home, we did fit in a walking safari in the Mosi-Oa-Tunya National Park where they have all the big animals including white rhino that are guarded 24/7 without any predators. To get close to the Rhino on foot was great.

A great base to see the falls."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Good

A memorable trip - the safari was brilliant

Zambia and 1 other country between 28 Sep 2016 and 12 Oct 2016

Trip rating: Excellent
"A brilliant holiday.

We wanted a mix of safari and relaxation which was exactly what we got. The choice of Kaingo and Mwawba was perfect given my interest in photography and really is a top quality location. On reflection we should have spent more time there - 4 days at each would have been good but that was our fault as we only wanted 6 days on safari we will know better next time.

Pumulani was lovely but 7 nights was a bit long, 4 would have been ideal.

All the connections and transfers worked well and the level of service in both locations was really good.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

Not that I can think of."

Kaingo Camp

Kaingo Camp

"Great experience would love to go back"

4 nights Arrived 29 Sep 2016
"We thoroughly enjoyed our time at Kaingo.

The accommodation, setting, service and food was excellent and the enthusiasm of all of the team was really great. The idea of having three activities a day is really good as it minimises the downtime. The hides are a great idea although it is a slight pity that you can't just pop into them.

The night drives were good as were the low density of people and camera equipped vehicles."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Mwamba Bushcamp

Mwamba Bushcamp

"Mwamba was brilliant - just want to go back"

2 nights Arrived 3 Oct 2016
"It was difficult to fault Kaingo but Mwamba was just a little bit better.

We started with a bush walk between the two camps which was really good.

Mwamba has everything that is good about Kaingo but also benefits from the proximity of the hide where there was always something going on and the fact that rather than being in the trees, it is more open so you are always aware of animals and birds moving to/from the hide.

We could have done with more time here - two nights wasn't really enough we could quite happily have done 4."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Pumulani

Pumulani

"Beautiful location, very relaxing"

6 nights Arrived 5 Oct 2016
"In terms of somewhere to chill out after safari, Pumulani was perfect.

The room and service was excellent. We enjoyed a number of sundowner trips on the dhow, the snorkeling with the fish trip and the early morning walk through the bush and kayak back but generally laid on the beach relaxing. As it was quite late in the season the lake level was low which meant that the beach was quite muddy at the water line and swimming in the lake was not really an option. The pool is lovely but quite small so could be a little busy.

The warning about the number of steps was really important, not a problem for us, in fact quite useful exercise, but could be a problem for others.

Best not to rely on the internet access, it was down a lot of the time due to power cuts and when it was working was very slow. However that is a minor gripe.

We spent 7 nights there which was really a bit long, 4 would be ideal"
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Good

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team